728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Night Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light

LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light

Our battery-powered portable light activates whenever motion is detected. They are perfect for dorms rooms and travel, as well as anywhere in the house. It turns off automatically 30 seconds after motion ceases. It includes a convenient hanging hook to have it on a door knob, on a hook or in the closet.
Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
Review 1 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light

Perfect for Dark Hallway

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed this for my elderly mother so she can see the hallway when getting up in the middle of the night. It's the right amount of light for a nightlight without being too bright. I like the hook which we use on a closet door and no installation is required. It's also great that it has an off switch so it doesn't have to go on and off all day when you don't need it - just turn it to "auto" at bed time and it's good to go. I put rechargable batteries in so I'll see how that works out.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, has on-off switch, battery operated
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Fayetteville, AR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works well for bathroom night light

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light is easy to set up, works well in a bathroom where there are no outlets for a regular night light. Bright enough to prevent stubbed toes, not so bright to wake you so you can't go back to sleep.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light

Motion activated porta-light

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After several weeks, units are performing well with no problems as yet. Light is not that bright, but adequate for purposes as a night light.
Pros: Functional, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Trenton, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Night Light that Comes On When You Need It

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have now bought 4 of these neat little night lights that come on only when they sense movement. Placed one on the bathroom vanity, one in the kitchen/dining room, gave one as a gift and now deciding where to put the fourth. Only $9.99 each. Look nice and give just the right amount of light to show the way. Turn off automatically after 20-30 seconds when no movement is sensed. Put batteries in, set the light on automatic and you're ready to go. Highly recommend. Great value for the price.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Use, simple set-up
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Perfect Product

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is just what I needed. I needed a nightlight for the bathroom for the cats (no windows in the bathroom) and this was perfect. I am saving on electricity and batteries since it is motion activated and only lights up when someone enters the room. It also has a setting to keep the light on should you choose. You can hang it on a doorknob (it comes with a hook) or place it on a table. I plan to purchase more for the rest of the house in the future. Also, my local Home Depot didn't actually carry it, but I ordered it online and was able to pick it up at the store. Pretty cool.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well, easy to install

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lights worked well and provide adequate lighting (4 units) in garage to assist in moving around after doors are closed, considering buying additional lights for family
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great night lights

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When our 3 year old started to get up and go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, we needed a light that she could work since the light switch in the bathroom is too high for her to reach and there is not a power outlet in the room. We bought 2 of these to try in the hallway (also no outlet) and bathroom. After a couple of weeks, we decided to buy 3 more for our living room, second bath, and kitchen. The sensor works about 12-15 feet away and is sensitive enough that our 18 month old will trigger it (when it is placed about door handle height or lower).
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Quincy, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great safety light especially for elderly

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
first purchased on for myself for dark hallway at night and found it to be excellent since then have purchased 5 additional ones for elderly relatives who need a safety light but not all the time. When light is in motion sensor it stays on long enough that you don't have a fear of it going out before you get to your destination. The light is very bright and has a good range. It has 3 modes motion sensor mode, stays on like a flashlight and has an off position. Very convenient can be attached to a wall or comes with a hander that lets you hang it on a door knob.
Best thing I have ever found. Would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy set up and works like a charm

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install the batteries and works likes it says it will.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from USA

A great little device for dark corners

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auto-light is wonderful. It takes up little room and does a decent job of providing light in small areas. It will not, however, light up a large area with much light. As a night light it would be perfect. It works very well and is simple to set up, or hang on a wall.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: not a light for large areas.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Allyn, Allyn-Grapeview, WA 98524, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are very sensitive and can pick up movement from about 15 feet away. They are bright enough to see clearly when moving around but not too bright if you have to get up in the middle of the night.
Having the hangar handles make this useful in many room and you do not need to have a outlet attached to it. Baby friendly to keep out of reach!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great little lights

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had them for about 3 weeks now and they are working great, I don't know how long the batteries or non-replaceable bulb will last but so far so good.
The best part about these lights are you don't have to be right on top of them for them to turn on.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a motion-sensored light for my hallway. It is made with a doorknob hook, so no installation is required (all you need is 3 AA batteries). It is so nice to walk by and the light clicks on just as I reach the dark spot in my hallway. I love this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Marietta Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Susan R.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is my favorite hang in bathroom I walk in their to pp and light came on it was great I loved the fact it goes off and on weight is good and price to I give this a super thumbs up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light

Best motion actived light ever

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this light for above the bathroom door at night. Easy to install and works great. The timing for the light staying on is perfect. I truly appreciated it after superstorm sandy when we lost power. I'm even going to buy more. Well worth the money.
Pros: Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This light is easy to install.

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Though it was not as bright as hoped, it makes a great nightstand light for getting up in the night with the motion sensor feature.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: could be brighter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Works as well as I expected.

PostedJune 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works ideally for my grand-kids as a night light. I shopped at several stores and could not find anything like it. And the price could not be beat.
Pros: Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for those areas with no power!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product, exactly as described, works excellent and has a great motion sensor. The 30 second off timer when motion stops is perfect. Great lights, and great value
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light
from Benton,LA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This products does exactly what the add says it will do, I and my wife are very happy with it. It lights up a dark hallway where their are no lights nor plugs for a light.
Pros: Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LED Motion-Activated Porta-Light

is this a night light?

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed upon receiving these LED Porta-lights. They were very small in appearance. When I put the batteries in them, my sense was that my cell phone gives off more light (it truly does). These do not at all light up any amount of space. they barely light up an object enough to see it in the otherwise dark. One remains unopened and will probably remain that way. Sorry, but a complete disappointment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>