728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Night Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light

Motion Activated LED Porta-Light

Save money and energy with the GE Motion-Activated Porta-Light Night Light. This battery-operated portable night light activates when motion is detected, making it perfect for a bedroom, bathroom, closet, utility room and more! You can also mount the night light on a wall, hang it from a doorknob or in a closet with the included hook. The non-replaceable, long-life LED bulb costs pennies a year to operate and generates virtually no heat. For indoor use only.
Overall rating:
4.194 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
Review 1 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light

Perfect for Dark Hallway

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed this for my elderly mother so she can see the hallway when getting up in the middle of the night. It's the right amount of light for a nightlight without being too bright. I like the hook which we use on a closet door and no installation is required. It's also great that it has an off switch so it doesn't have to go on and off all day when you don't need it - just turn it to "auto" at bed time and it's good to go. I put rechargable batteries in so I'll see how that works out.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, has on-off switch, battery operated
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light

Worked well but not sturdy

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The lights worked well, but of the four, the attachment hook broke on one (as I tried to make it stick better) and the motion sensor broke on one. One got stolen, but can't blame the manufacturer for that! We needed to use adhesive or duct tape to hold the hooks on, but I would buy them again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from New York State
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awful. Terrible.

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered two. Neither worked. Had to be right in front of the light and wave your hand for it to light up.
Will be returning both Monday morning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Tech SupportDecember 16, 2014By Tech SupportDecember 16, 2014
JR73, not sure what happened to your lights because the one I have been testing will turn on when it “sees” movement from over 20 feet away. If you are crossing in front of it then you will need to be closer to it for the light to register the movement. Jasco Products Tech Support (Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 4 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely functional and reliable so far.

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought five of them. They give off sufficient amount of light for you to walk around. I have one in each room. They work exactly as they are described. I like them because they don't turn on if there is another light source as they are photo-sensed. I've used them for six weeks. They've been very reliable. They are well-made. I'm glad I purchased them.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light

the jury is still out

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You have to be moving at a moderate or quick pace for the motion detection to light it up. If you move slowly, it seems to be temperamental. It does give off a decent amount of light when lit. Not sure whether I would recommend this, although for the price, it works okay.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Eco-Friendly
Cons: temperamental
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Monroe, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great for a Few Months

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this in May 2014 and it worked great until November 2014. I even bought a 2nd light as a gift. Now the light stays on continuously in AUTO mode. There are 3 modes: OFF, AUTO, and ON. It came with a 90 day warranty, so I'm out of luck.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Nice Design
Cons: motion detection stoppped working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportNovember 5, 2014By Tech SupportNovember 5, 2014
SammyJo, since this light uses passive infrared sensors to detect movement, the light will see different temperatures. This means that if the light is close to a vent or is close to something that changes temperature quickly it will cause the light to come on. if this object keeps changing temperature or the A/C or heater keep kicking on then this will cause the light to keep coming on. Once triggered the light will stay on for 2 minutes so again if something is triggering it every 2 minutes and the room will need to be dark enough this could cause it to appear that the light never turns off.
Jasco Products Tech Support (Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 7 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Trenton, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Night Light that Comes On When You Need It

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have now bought 4 of these neat little night lights that come on only when they sense movement. Placed one on the bathroom vanity, one in the kitchen/dining room, gave one as a gift and now deciding where to put the fourth. Only $9.99 each. Look nice and give just the right amount of light to show the way. Turn off automatically after 20-30 seconds when no movement is sensed. Put batteries in, set the light on automatic and you're ready to go. Highly recommend. Great value for the price.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Use, simple set-up
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light

Works great!!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to Navigate the Bathroom at night. And for our 4 yr old who is afraid of the dark. Motion detector actually works better than I thought it would.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great light!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use it for a night light in the bathroom -- but it would be great for a closet as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Fayetteville, AR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works well for bathroom night light

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light is easy to set up, works well in a bathroom where there are no outlets for a regular night light. Bright enough to prevent stubbed toes, not so bright to wake you so you can't go back to sleep.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great night lights

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When our 3 year old started to get up and go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, we needed a light that she could work since the light switch in the bathroom is too high for her to reach and there is not a power outlet in the room. We bought 2 of these to try in the hallway (also no outlet) and bathroom. After a couple of weeks, we decided to buy 3 more for our living room, second bath, and kitchen. The sensor works about 12-15 feet away and is sensitive enough that our 18 month old will trigger it (when it is placed about door handle height or lower).
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light

Motion activated porta-light

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After several weeks, units are performing well with no problems as yet. Light is not that bright, but adequate for purposes as a night light.
Pros: Functional, Stylish
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Perfect Product

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is just what I needed. I needed a nightlight for the bathroom for the cats (no windows in the bathroom) and this was perfect. I am saving on electricity and batteries since it is motion activated and only lights up when someone enters the room. It also has a setting to keep the light on should you choose. You can hang it on a doorknob (it comes with a hook) or place it on a table. I plan to purchase more for the rest of the house in the future. Also, my local Home Depot didn't actually carry it, but I ordered it online and was able to pick it up at the store. Pretty cool.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Quincy, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great safety light especially for elderly

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
first purchased on for myself for dark hallway at night and found it to be excellent since then have purchased 5 additional ones for elderly relatives who need a safety light but not all the time. When light is in motion sensor it stays on long enough that you don't have a fear of it going out before you get to your destination. The light is very bright and has a good range. It has 3 modes motion sensor mode, stays on like a flashlight and has an off position. Very convenient can be attached to a wall or comes with a hander that lets you hang it on a door knob.
Best thing I have ever found. Would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Allyn, Allyn-Grapeview, WA 98524, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are very sensitive and can pick up movement from about 15 feet away. They are bright enough to see clearly when moving around but not too bright if you have to get up in the middle of the night.
Having the hangar handles make this useful in many room and you do not need to have a outlet attached to it. Baby friendly to keep out of reach!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a motion-sensored light for my hallway. It is made with a doorknob hook, so no installation is required (all you need is 3 AA batteries). It is so nice to walk by and the light clicks on just as I reach the dark spot in my hallway. I love this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from USA

A great little device for dark corners

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auto-light is wonderful. It takes up little room and does a decent job of providing light in small areas. It will not, however, light up a large area with much light. As a night light it would be perfect. It works very well and is simple to set up, or hang on a wall.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: not a light for large areas.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy set up and works like a charm

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install the batteries and works likes it says it will.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great little lights

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had them for about 3 weeks now and they are working great, I don't know how long the batteries or non-replaceable bulb will last but so far so good.
The best part about these lights are you don't have to be right on top of them for them to turn on.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motion Activated LED Porta-Light
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well, easy to install

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lights worked well and provide adequate lighting (4 units) in garage to assist in moving around after doors are closed, considering buying additional lights for family
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>