728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED

5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED

Zinsser Gardz Drywall Sealer is a water base low order that dries clear.Gardz penetrates and seals torn or damaged drywall.It seals down damaged paper,eliminates bubbles and protects new drywall.This high performance sealer also seals textured walls and popcorn ceilings.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED

Good at what it does

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied Gardz after wallpaper had been removed in several rooms. The walls were in good shape, but had some residual paste, peeling paint, old patches, etc. Gardz covers the surface and embeds a lot of the wall imperfections. It doesn't take the place of a good skim coat, but it does smooth out the rough edges where paint has chipped away. The real advantage is that it encapsulates the wallpaper paste, so water-based paint does not bubble later.
It takes some time to get used to applying Gardz. It has the consistency of water and tends to splatter. There is a very fine line between applying a "heavy" coat and having it drip down the wall. When using a roller, part of the trick is to spend most of the time rolling upwards.
The odor is fairly strong and the windows needed to stay open for longer than I would have liked in the middle of winter. On the plus side, cleanup just takes some water and is a lot easier than latex paint. Overall, Gardz seems to be worth the trouble and it leaves a smooth, shiny surface to paint.
Pros: Looks Great, Even Application, Easy to Clean
Cons: strong odor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED
from Northeast
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for sealing contractor grade finishes

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am finally getting around to painting my new house after 10 years :) (I was giving the house time to settle!) and was looking around for a primer/sealer for the walls. I had to do some patching and repairs in the drywall and in other rooms and seen a lot of dull spots and the paint just soaked into the walls. This sealer went on easily and my paint is the smoothest in this 18 foot room than any other room in the house. I used it on the walls and the ceiling. The application is a bit tricky on the ceiling until I learned to stop pressing on the roller - the product is very thin and will drip off the ends if you press to hard. I ended up doing two coats of the sealer since it seemed to soak into some places a little more than in others. Especially over the areas where I had to do some drywall repairs. The second coat went very easily. I only ended up needing one coat of paint.
The only con is the odor - I recco having windows open while applying and while it's drying. Once the product is dry, there is no more odor.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED

Good product - does what it says it will

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to seal old drywall after removing wallpaper and after preparing the wall with joint compound, used it again for a final paintable surface. Excellent results.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED

This is a great drywall sealer and primer

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied the guardz Over new drywall and it left the surface real smooth. It not only seals but it primes the surface for painting. You can tell the difference when you paint The new drywall doesn't soak up the paint. I used at least 30% less Paint then with ordinary primer
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: doesnt say no primer needed after application
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, TX

Great product, poor shipping

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We stripped wallpaper that had multiple coats of paint over it, and this left the sheetrock in bad shape. We applied a coat of Gardz to seal in any residual wallpaper glue and to patch the sheetrock where the paper facing was scraped. The Gardz sealed everything perfectly and created a good surface for us to skimcoat before texturing, priming, and painting.
However, the 5-gal pail is shipped without any protection, and the first pail cracked open in the UPS truck so my order was delayed by a week. HD should provide some packaging to avoid this.
I wish HD would carry this product in their stores, it is hard to find retail.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED
from Hernando, MS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I loved this stuff

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it does a great job. strange watery consistancy is not easy to get used too. However, did a great job on the fresh new drywall. took a light sanding after drying to paint a smooth wall.
Pros: Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED
from Aberdeen, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect sheen match, great bonding

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked at this product because I hung new drywall and patched a lot of old. Had primed and painted other rooms before and poor sheen effect and some patches with drywall spackle actually pulled off with the tape test. This product sealed the new wall, gave it a ever so slight texture (matches) and sealed/ bonded to drywall spackle and I can look at my patches from any angle and see not one bit pf evidence of patchwork. This stuff is awesome
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED

Works Great

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the Gardz on some sheet rock that was damaged by the removal of wall paper. It did a great job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-gal. Gardz Drywall Sealer-DISCONTINUED
from Helena, MT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Peeled popcorn from ceilings leaving some 'shaggy' paper. Near impossible to mud over. Used Gardz and couldn't believe the outcome. Goes on super simple. Little smell.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.