728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

Watertite Mold & Mildew Proof Water Proofing Paint provides a beautiful finish guaranteed to keep water, mold, and mildew out. It is a ready to use coating formulated to waterproof interior and exterior concrete, stucco, cement, cinder block and other masonry surfaces. It is ideal for interior basement walls and for sealing concrete basement slabs prior to installing flooring. Watertite is also great for exterior foundations and retaining walls, above and below grade.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

Thick paint

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good... in keeping my leaky storm shelter dry. It has not rained hard so I don't know for sure, but for light rain - it has held up. It took three 1 gallon cans of the Watertite paint to cover the floor and 3/4 of the walls in my storm shelter. My storm shelter is a concrete rectangle - about 5' by 6'. The paint goes on thick and it took about a week for my 'liberal' coating to dry. Another reviewer mentioned that the can's lid may pop off during shipment... but they have fixed that by installing a heavy duty plastic ring around the lid and can. You will need a heavy duty box cutter blade to cut through that plastic ring. The color is a nice white and there is little 'paint' odor. I've read that this version is 'stronger' than the latex version in keeping the water out. Hope this helps with your decision.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Morgantown, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working better than ALL other products that I have tried.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product SEEMS to be doing what it was advertised to do....which is waterproof. It hasn't been on the walls a very long time yet.
I was having a terrible time with other products letting discoloration come through at the bottom of my basement walls, but so far no discoloration with this paint. It is a little difficult to apply, as it is thick and sort of "sticky" but if it works it is worth the extra effort in application.
One other thing....the can was crushed pretty badly on the bottom when it arrived but not leaking.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

Good Product, does what it says

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Painted on some crumbling basement walls with 50 years of water soaking. Solidified the wall when dried. Nice hard coating and bonded well to bare block walls. Much better quality than the standard in-store latex basement wall paints, probably due to being an oil based product. If you are looking for a good quality wall sealant paint, this is a good choice.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive, but easy to apply and extremely effective

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product. As with any painting project, the key is in doing a thorough job with the prep work so that the sealant has a clean surface to bond do. I rented a Clark machine with a diamond-flap disk and spent 10 hours getting old goopy tile adhesive off the floor. Then I etched with a Behr concrete etchant product and did a lot of mopping. Then I applied the Zessner's waterproofing sealant. Each step was easier than the one before it. Applying the sealant was quick and easy and after 2 coats, the result was excellent. No more water-wicking concrete... ready for carpet in the basement.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

Produces a nice hard finish with 2 coats

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice results with 2 coats. Spreads pretty well using a roller. Finish looks quite hard-hoping it will work well to prevent moisture.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

Great product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this to use as my base coat for all the walls and ceilings in the bathrooms and it covered fairly well. If you have popcorn ceilings, this isn't the product as it is fairly sticky and will likely remove some of the popcorn ceiling. Outside of that great coverage and great product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

Zinsser Products are TOP NOTCH.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All of the Zinsser products I have used--especially the Milder PROOF formulas---have performed as advertised. Not just Mildew Resistant--Mildew PROOF. Incredible.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

Excellent paint, but the odor stays for weeks.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked very well on my 50y old basement walls. Used about 12 gallons on a 400sf basement which was more than what I estimated, but inline with the 75-100sf per gallon as per the paint label. Second coat takes as much paint as the first. Buy it from store or get it shipped to store if you can. Both time I ordered from HD online with home delivery the package came badly damaged with paint spilled inside and dripping from the box - big mess and waste of paint.
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED

coverage is better than listed

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has performed as labeled. It is some what sticky witch makes it a little toughf to apply but the coverage rate is better than listed, we got a 115 square fett as opposed to the 100 that the can listed. It filled in the pours in the block wall well with a second coat. All in all it has preformed well but we are still waiting for rain to see if it keeps the water out.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I hope this stuff works

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't say how well this product works because time will tell. I can say that it is difficult to apply at the recommended rate. You really have to lay the stuff on thick and it is very heavy. No odor and dries to a nice finish.
+3points
24out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Watertite Mildew Proof Waterproofing Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was easy to apply and had no ordor

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to apply and had no ordor, only time will tell how good it works, but so far it is working great, no sign of any water
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.