728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED

1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED

Peel Stop is a clear, flexible, binding primer. It is designed for surfaces that are peeling, chalking, or cracking. This item is fast drying, and can be recoated in 2 hours. Peel Stop can be used for any interior or exterior application.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED

Does the job well

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used Peel Stop on a 70-year old cottage on a lake in Canada. The siding was peeling as a result of years of old oil base enamel paint applied under non-ideal conditions. With proper sanding, cleaning (TSP and bleach), drying (1-2 days of hot windy weather), a coat of Peel Stop, a coat of high quality primer, and a top coat of high quality latex paint, the siding has held up well.
As most painters say, the key to a good paint job is surface preparation.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED

Best product to seal problem surface walls

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After painting the walls in an older home and then having all of the new and old layers of paint peel off, I purchased this product to seal the chalking and damaged walls. The product sealed the walls in one application and stopped all of the chalking problems. The product also glued down any pieces of the paint that had not completely peeled. The product is very thin, so you should be careful when using a roller for application. I would definitely purchase this product again to seal problem surface walls.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the old peeling wood surfaces

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Need to get as much of the old stuff off. This primer provides the undercoat that will both keep the old stuff sealed and provide the new coat to adhere. Provides a slight sheen once dry.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED

Works as advertised. A trusty old friend.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used to sell this product to professional contractors. It works just as advertised. Used it on the severly peeled railings of a wood deck. It loocked down the areas that still had some peeling paint on them after sanding and pressure washing.
I only wish they had the Triple Thick version. I could have used the extra body to fill some of the gaps.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED
from South San Francisco

Priced right for a great product.

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
HD has this on sale for $20 so I picked up 3 cans to do 2 big exterior walls. I had previously purchased some HD paint that had primer in it thinking that it might do the job but boy was I wrong. 2 years later after the weather did it's damage I had peel spots everywhere. So out came the Pressure washer, Patch and caulk. Sanding and finally a clean prep surface. This is a clear thin primer that goes on easily. Dries in less than an hour. So for a bit of more protection I did use an additional primer over top of this product just to be sure. So far 1 Gal. was more than enough !
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made by the same company which has brought you Guardz.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Another good use for this product is sealing damaged drywall after removing wallpaper. It is exceptionally thin so you need to apply it lighter then paint or primer. Exceptional adhesion.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow the instructions!! Prepare the surface, scrape loose paint and sand and wash. Apply as specified getting the primer under the edges. Excellent result - saved me from having to replace the kitchen ceiling. I did some light spackling to even the surface and painted - nice outcome.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED

Average

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought that this stuff worked okay, but it was nothing special. That other primer, I don't think Home Depot sells it, I can't remember what it's called, but it works a lot better. There is a dog in the name of it. I don't remember, it's been a long time since I used it. That's also because it's still holding things together so I haven't had to look at the can for a while and actually couldn't find it when I looked for it, which is why I initially bought this peel stop stuff.
Cons: average, smells strange, doesn't last long
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED
from Madera, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

went on easy with a roller

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went on easy with a roller, house is made of wood siding and was near replacement condition, along with primer and paint, home should last at least ten more years without more paint
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Clear Peel Stop Primer-DISCONTINUED
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hope it works

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to apply (very thin glue) and covers well. Would advise getting primer and paint on as soon as possible. Since it is so thin, the sun would probably start to break it down quickly. If I could write this three or four years from now, could probably give a better review.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.