728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Masterbuilt propels the art of smoking to the next level with this 30 in. electric smoker. Masterbuilt pulled out all the stops with this smoker, starting with a portable design. The smoker goes where the crowd is, with built-in wheels and a rear handle for easy mobility. The smoker takes it a step further with a large viewing window and an internal light, so you can see the food smoking inside. Add in a remote control, 4 smoking racks, and a side chip loader and you have a true next generation smoker.
Overall rating:
4.483 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(203 reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product165 of 185reviews
Rating Breakdown 203 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(152)
4
(27)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product165 of 185reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Review 1 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Very easy to use, smoke everything now

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far I love the smoker, holds temperature nicely even in freezing temperatures. Smoke everything now, makes for a great dinner plus left overs for lunch meat. Would recommend to a friend. Only "problem" I had was some smoke leaking out from the door seal. Readjusted the door and that seems to be fixed. Not all drippings hit the pan either, found some juices to run out the front of the unit all over the patio.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, like the remote
Cons: leaks from front door
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

A great buy

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast and the unit was very easy to assemble. I pre-seasoned it as the manual states and it got up to temperature in no time at all, considering it was 35 degrees outside. I have since made a pork butt and ribs and both were exceptional. The smoker works great and the outside never got hot to the touch, so it's very well insulated. I set an oven thermometer in the smoker and the temp stayed right on the money. Very good unit for the money. Make sure to clean up the walls and glass while it is still warm or you will have a black mess on your hands.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Swansea, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Value and Easy To Use

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Keeps it temp steady even on a very cold , and windy day. The remote has a long distance and is point on with readings on the smoker. The meat temp prob is a great feature. I would buy this item again.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

The kids thought their mom had lost it when I told them I wanted a smoker!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got it and out of the chute...smoked ribs and a chicken...perfect! Tomorrow is brisket, more ribs and chicken...they can't get enough...it'll be fantastic this summer, too! And clean up is a snap! Thanks, Kids!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used the smoker a few times now for pork butts and brisket. Easy to use and maintains temperature very well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Pompano Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Set it and forget it!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For entry level smoking, even for condos since it is electric, I use mine every weekend! I have cooked Boston butts, ribs, chicken, etc. The 14 hour slow smokes required for a decent sized butt, this thing is so easy! Love the remote control so I can check meet temp from inside. Read some on the internet about 3-2-1 method of ribs, it is absolutely fantastic. Use a good rub on your pork, let it sit for overnight, had better results with butts right from the fridge, but i try and let the ribs get up to room temp for 1/2 hour first. You won't regret buying this grill, get a cover! Electronics are not water proof!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from simi ca. 93063
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the remote and view window. Excelent product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this smoker for baby backs,Tri Tip, Brisket, and chicken.Can't wait to try fish in it. Great reviews on the flavor this smoker produced from my friends and employees whom I have cooked for in it.This unit is easy to use and easy to clean. I've used three different types of wood chips in it Apple , Hickory, and Mesquite. All have produced good smokey flavor and work well with my dry and wet rubs. I would recommend this product to a friend without hesitation. It doesn't require too much wood chips to get a deep smoke ring in the meat. It maintains the heat you set it to and the timer works well also. The internal tempt prob work well also.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glass Leaked Grease and is a Poor Insulator

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this smoker because the window is pointless it clouds up the first 5 min of smoking and after you smoke two times the smoke on the window is so heavy you can't wipe it clean. If you plan to smoke in the winter it will be harder to maintain the temperature because the glass releases a lot of heat. Also the window that I had just leaked grease even after smoking multiple times.
I bought this smoker on 6/2/13 when i unpacked the smoker it was missing the screws and two pans. I called up Masterbuilt and they said I was missing the hardware kit so they sent me the kit which I received on 6/7/13. When I assembled the smoker I noticed there was a bracket missing screws so I called up again and sent them photos. This time they waited till the 13th and said just exchange it where you bought it. I would of hoped they would just mail me a new smoker and pickup the bad smoker since I had to wait so long for their responses and I don't have a truck to hull back and forth.
If you look at the picture you can see how dark the window is and this is after I scrubbed it for 20 min you can also see all of the grease the window leaked out this did not leak from the bottom at all.
Cons: glass seal leaked, glass poor insulator
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
22out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Virginia City, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works great!!

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this for the first time this last weekend. I smoked two turkeys and they came out wonderful. Brined them for 15 hours first then into the smoker. Filled the side loader with chips, chunks don't work, and let it go. It was done after about four to five hours at 250 degrees. I lowered it to 190 degrees and added a couple more hours of smoke. Only had to load it three times. Never had to open the door the remote tells it all. It will get even better once I learn to use it.
I had one of those tall bullet shaped ones and it died. This unit is far far easier to work with and better in every way.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, uses small amounts of wood chips.
Cons: d/rip tray is way too small and overflows easily
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Bethesda, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Masterbuilt is an outstanding product...performed every bit as expected!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I took a risk and ordered my smoker about 10 days before Thanksgiving...Home Depot's staff made no absolute commitments regarding delivery (which I understood) but told me not to worry. Had the unit in 3 days and put together in 15 minutes.
The smoker worked like a charm smoking a 20 pound turkey (which I cut into parts). It was in the low 30's the night before Thanksgiving (DC area) so I used my remote control to check time and temperature from my bedroom! The whole thing was intuitive and easy to use! The turkey was excellent, injected and smoked with a hickory-apple combination.
By the way, used my Masterbuilt Turkey Fryer XL to fry another which was excellent as well...thanks Home Depot and Masterbuilt for making this a great holiday and family get together!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship, digital controls and remote
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from North highlands,ca

Good Smoker if it doesn't shut off in the middle of smoking something!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would recomend this product if it would perform as programed. I must watch the smoker constantly for when it shuts off randomly. this defeats the purpose of a digital electric/remote control. Don't know why it does this? Will go to masterbuilt and ask....
Pros: great smoker if it works
Cons: shuts off randomly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Fort Worth
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Smoker

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Love, Love, Love my new smoker. I smoke whiule my husband is on the golf course.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Smithton, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Satisfied

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall I'm very satisfied with this smoker. About the only thing I didn't like was the attachment of the handle on the back of the smoker. This seemed flimsy to me. You have to be careful moving the smoker around by this handle or the screws will pull out of the back or at least bulge around the screw holes. It does mention this in the instructions but I think they should have made this part a little sturdier instead of advising about it.
As far as the cooking goes I'm very pleased with the function and operation of the smoker. It takes a little while to get up to temperature but seems to have no difficulty maintaining the set temperature within a couple degrees. We've used it several times now and are still experimenting with recipes but no question this thing will smoke food. I like the meat probe too. That was a good idea so you don't have to keep opening the door to check on the food. I'm glad we bought it. It adds a new dimension to our cookouts. It smells great too while it's cooking.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Hull, Ma.

Perfect, perfect, perfect

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the perfect smoker, easy to use, holds alot of meat, and the finished product is amazing. I would give this five stars for anyone who is looking to get into smoking their own food. the first things I smoked where 2 full chickens, 3 full racks of ribs and 6 chicken breasts, all at the same time. Took six hours to smoke, and the amazing thing was it only took two 12 oz. cups of wood chips. If I had one downpoint it would be, there really is no need for the glass door. Once u start smoking, it's so filled with smoke that u can't see in, but hey it looks cool. I call it my redneck Tv, it even has a remote control. Buy it, u won't be sorry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Service from Masterbuilt

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product worked great until the element broke. I tried to contact Masterbuilt via website and phone. I was unable to get anyone to order a new heating element. I would not recommend this product until Masterbuilt gets their support and maintenance act together.
Cons: poor support
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Tasty Meat - Lot of Mess

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A big puddle of greasy water leaked around the gaskets on the door on each smoking event. Boston but, ribs and chicken have all cooked tender and flavorful, but clean up is quite labor intensive. I like the temperature and time remote and loading wood chips is a breeze. My old electric smoker was easier to clean, as you just removed the electric burner and hosed the whole unit off, can't easily remove the electronics and burner on this unit to do the same.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Logan, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glad I purchased this smoker.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The smoker required simple assembly. Instructions were great. I use a lot less wood and water than I used to in my old smoker but get the great smoke taste. Easy clean up. I love the temperature and timer. I can set the temperature just where I want it then set the timer for the amount of time I want it to cook and leave it without worrying. First dish was pork shoulder. Set it in the evening to cook all night. Worked perfectly. Pulled pork was awesome!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Long Island , NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Had high hopes for this smoker

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 uses, the internal probe was stuck on 169 degrees, The smokers internal temperature regardless of it's digital reading was 350 degrees. I spoke with a person at masterbilt, who wanted an invoice prooving I purchased the item, after I provided that, they wanted me to provide them the backing plate, and, a chopped off piece of the electrical cord. After which they would mail me a cabniet, which I must re-assemble with parts from my origional smoker. It would only take me 3 hours to repair, so I should be happy right... I am not masterbilts office help. mail room clerk or service person.... Very vexing experience. The product was returned to Home Depot.
+30points
40out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelievably efficient and easy to use! Love it.

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this new Masterbuilt smoker. Goes through hardly any chips.
Pros: Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Nebraska City, NE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Smoker

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love my Masterbuilt smoker! Easy to use and have smoked every weekend since we bought it! The smoker does not come with a cookbook, which would have been helpful, but found several books online to use. I love to cook, and the smoker has opened up an entirely different world of possibilities!
Pros: love my model with wheels to move it around
Cons: no cookbook included with it
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>