728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

The four smoking racks provide a total of 721 sq. in. of cooking area. This smoker has a viewing window so you can watch your food cook and a digital control panel. It's fully insulated and has a black powder coated body and a stainless steel door. The side wood chip loading system makes loading chips convenient. Removable wood chip tray, drip pan and water bowl. The air damper allows for better smoke control. This smoker has an 800 watt heating element.
Overall rating:
4.465 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(228 reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product186 of 210reviews
Rating Breakdown 228 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(169)
4
(32)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product186 of 210reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Review 1 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Very easy to use, smoke everything now

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far I love the smoker, holds temperature nicely even in freezing temperatures. Smoke everything now, makes for a great dinner plus left overs for lunch meat. Would recommend to a friend. Only "problem" I had was some smoke leaking out from the door seal. Readjusted the door and that seems to be fixed. Not all drippings hit the pan either, found some juices to run out the front of the unit all over the patio.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, like the remote
Cons: leaks from front door
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

A great buy

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery was fast and the unit was very easy to assemble. I pre-seasoned it as the manual states and it got up to temperature in no time at all, considering it was 35 degrees outside. I have since made a pork butt and ribs and both were exceptional. The smoker works great and the outside never got hot to the touch, so it's very well insulated. I set an oven thermometer in the smoker and the temp stayed right on the money. Very good unit for the money. Make sure to clean up the walls and glass while it is still warm or you will have a black mess on your hands.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+52points
53out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

The kids thought their mom had lost it when I told them I wanted a smoker!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got it and out of the chute...smoked ribs and a chicken...perfect! Tomorrow is brisket, more ribs and chicken...they can't get enough...it'll be fantastic this summer, too! And clean up is a snap! Thanks, Kids!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Swansea, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Value and Easy To Use

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Keeps it temp steady even on a very cold , and windy day. The remote has a long distance and is point on with readings on the smoker. The meat temp prob is a great feature. I would buy this item again.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from simi ca. 93063
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the remote and view window. Excelent product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this smoker for baby backs,Tri Tip, Brisket, and chicken.Can't wait to try fish in it. Great reviews on the flavor this smoker produced from my friends and employees whom I have cooked for in it.This unit is easy to use and easy to clean. I've used three different types of wood chips in it Apple , Hickory, and Mesquite. All have produced good smokey flavor and work well with my dry and wet rubs. I would recommend this product to a friend without hesitation. It doesn't require too much wood chips to get a deep smoke ring in the meat. It maintains the heat you set it to and the timer works well also. The internal tempt prob work well also.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Pompano Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Set it and forget it!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For entry level smoking, even for condos since it is electric, I use mine every weekend! I have cooked Boston butts, ribs, chicken, etc. The 14 hour slow smokes required for a decent sized butt, this thing is so easy! Love the remote control so I can check meet temp from inside. Read some on the internet about 3-2-1 method of ribs, it is absolutely fantastic. Use a good rub on your pork, let it sit for overnight, had better results with butts right from the fridge, but i try and let the ribs get up to room temp for 1/2 hour first. You won't regret buying this grill, get a cover! Electronics are not water proof!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very disappointed

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After assembly and seasoning, I put a rack of ribs into the smoker. After an hour, I realized the smoker had shut itself off. I finally got it working and the ribs were delicious. A week later, the control unit completely stopped working - constant beeps and blank screen. Less than 10 hours of operation and already dead. My father-in-law bought the same unit I did at the same time, his didn't even last 10 hours before the controller broke.
From the outset, the remote control was not reading the unit's temperature, nor seems to have had any impact on the unit. On/Off/Temp set/time set - no effect on unit.
Looked online: LOTS of controller issues with this smoker.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: fell apart almost immediately
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Bethesda, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Masterbuilt is an outstanding product...performed every bit as expected!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I took a risk and ordered my smoker about 10 days before Thanksgiving...Home Depot's staff made no absolute commitments regarding delivery (which I understood) but told me not to worry. Had the unit in 3 days and put together in 15 minutes.
The smoker worked like a charm smoking a 20 pound turkey (which I cut into parts). It was in the low 30's the night before Thanksgiving (DC area) so I used my remote control to check time and temperature from my bedroom! The whole thing was intuitive and easy to use! The turkey was excellent, injected and smoked with a hickory-apple combination.
By the way, used my Masterbuilt Turkey Fryer XL to fry another which was excellent as well...thanks Home Depot and Masterbuilt for making this a great holiday and family get together!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship, digital controls and remote
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Hull, Ma.

Perfect, perfect, perfect

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the perfect smoker, easy to use, holds alot of meat, and the finished product is amazing. I would give this five stars for anyone who is looking to get into smoking their own food. the first things I smoked where 2 full chickens, 3 full racks of ribs and 6 chicken breasts, all at the same time. Took six hours to smoke, and the amazing thing was it only took two 12 oz. cups of wood chips. If I had one downpoint it would be, there really is no need for the glass door. Once u start smoking, it's so filled with smoke that u can't see in, but hey it looks cool. I call it my redneck Tv, it even has a remote control. Buy it, u won't be sorry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glass Leaked Grease and is a Poor Insulator

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this smoker because the window is pointless it clouds up the first 5 min of smoking and after you smoke two times the smoke on the window is so heavy you can't wipe it clean. If you plan to smoke in the winter it will be harder to maintain the temperature because the glass releases a lot of heat. Also the window that I had just leaked grease even after smoking multiple times.
I bought this smoker on 6/2/13 when i unpacked the smoker it was missing the screws and two pans. I called up Masterbuilt and they said I was missing the hardware kit so they sent me the kit which I received on 6/7/13. When I assembled the smoker I noticed there was a bracket missing screws so I called up again and sent them photos. This time they waited till the 13th and said just exchange it where you bought it. I would of hoped they would just mail me a new smoker and pickup the bad smoker since I had to wait so long for their responses and I don't have a truck to hull back and forth.
If you look at the picture you can see how dark the window is and this is after I scrubbed it for 20 min you can also see all of the grease the window leaked out this did not leak from the bottom at all.
Cons: glass seal leaked, glass poor insulator
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
26out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Conway, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Little Smoker that could!!!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The smoker came to me in great shape and was easy to assemble. I tried a couple racks of ribs and they came just fine. I have a 6' long, "2-ton" smoker if I want to smoke a lot of meat, but this smoker fits great on the porch and it is easy to use. So if my wife & I want some smoked meat this unit is the ticket.
I wish the manufacturer had put swivel locking swivel wheels on the front.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Brentwood, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome smoker!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love to BBQ and realized that I needed a smoker to complete the backyard cooking arsenal. I went with an electric because I usually don't have the time to attend to the traditional kind of smokers (charcoal/wood/gas) to make sure the heat stays within the meat-specific cooking temperature range. This model ensures that the temperature will always be right where the recipe calls for. The built-in meat probe isn't as accurate as a stand-alone meat thermometer, so I would suggest using one that you may already have and you trust its performance. Smoking meat requires trial and error, so don't be disappointed if your first few attempts don't go exactly as planned. I've basically smoked everything you can think of in the 5 weeks I've owned it. Only thing I haven't is pulled pork and shellfish (lobster and shrimp). Everything has turned out great with the excpetion of beef brisket which I did not cook long enough.
As far as the unit goes, the window is a cool feature but it honestly isn't necessary. The window stays generally clear in the first hour and then steams up with condensation, smoke, and grease. It just adds about 5 minutes to your cleanup. Since you're not supposed to use any chemical cleaning solutions on the inside of the smoker, I found a tip online where you wad up a few wet paper towels, dab ash from the wood chip tray, and spread all over the inside glass. Once you do that, wipe with a wet paper towel until the residue is gone, then hit it with a dry paper towel and it should look good as new. Strange process, but it works! If you want to shave 5 minutes off cleanup, get the window-less version. Definitely watch the manufacture video suggestions on YouTube on what to line with tin foil prior to cooking and I would suggest removing all unused racks during the cooking process. No need to dirty any more than you have to. The inside walls will become discolored and greasy-like over time. That is natural and some argue that it helps add flavor to your smoking, so no need to clean the walls of the inside. Additionally, there is a cover for this unit that you can purchase, but it is not weather resistant, but more so a dust cover. I just wheel it into the garage when rain is in the forecast.
As far as the price, Home Depot is the most expensive for this model and it's baffling. I had gift cards to use, so I was OK with it, but it still hurt to pay $45 over what most retailers were selling, even Masterbuilt through Amazon. Since Home Depot price-matches online (at time of this review), I was able to get the lowest advertised price, so it all worked out in the end. I ordered it and then called for the price-match a few days later, which they were more than happy to do. That would be my suggestion if you want to give your business to this company. This is the first generation model, but the second generation has the controls on the front of the unit instead of the back sticking up. I wish Home Depot offered the second generation because it looks more clean. Recently, Masterbuilt also came out with a bluetooth model which you can control with your smartphone via an app. It is not widely available yet, but it can be found at some retailers.
All in all, a great purchase and would recomment to anyone!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, Easy to Use
Cons: meat probe not accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

returned this product-pass on this one

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for Christmas for my husband. He loved it! The remote was awesome. He smoked twice before the external wood chip loader completely broke. I knew someone else who purchased the same smoker and guess what... the wood chip loader broke on his too. My husband emailed the manufacturer about the warranty. Thought maybe they would send him a new part. No reply. Emailed again. Still no reply. So back to the store it went.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Amarillo, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best investment ever

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the price and quality, it is well worth the buy. It is amazing!!! We have enjoyed it, and gotten our money's worth out of it. It works great, it registers time and temperature the way it should, it is very reliable. The one downside is that it is hard to clean, but that's a given.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Tasty Meat - Lot of Mess

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A big puddle of greasy water leaked around the gaskets on the door on each smoking event. Boston but, ribs and chicken have all cooked tender and flavorful, but clean up is quite labor intensive. I like the temperature and time remote and loading wood chips is a breeze. My old electric smoker was easier to clean, as you just removed the electric burner and hosed the whole unit off, can't easily remove the electronics and burner on this unit to do the same.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Long Island , NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Had high hopes for this smoker

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 uses, the internal probe was stuck on 169 degrees, The smokers internal temperature regardless of it's digital reading was 350 degrees. I spoke with a person at masterbilt, who wanted an invoice prooving I purchased the item, after I provided that, they wanted me to provide them the backing plate, and, a chopped off piece of the electrical cord. After which they would mail me a cabniet, which I must re-assemble with parts from my origional smoker. It would only take me 3 hours to repair, so I should be happy right... I am not masterbilts office help. mail room clerk or service person.... Very vexing experience. The product was returned to Home Depot.
+34points
44out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Virginia City, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works great!!

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this for the first time this last weekend. I smoked two turkeys and they came out wonderful. Brined them for 15 hours first then into the smoker. Filled the side loader with chips, chunks don't work, and let it go. It was done after about four to five hours at 250 degrees. I lowered it to 190 degrees and added a couple more hours of smoke. Only had to load it three times. Never had to open the door the remote tells it all. It will get even better once I learn to use it.
I had one of those tall bullet shaped ones and it died. This unit is far far easier to work with and better in every way.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, uses small amounts of wood chips.
Cons: d/rip tray is way too small and overflows easily
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Service from Masterbuilt

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product worked great until the element broke. I tried to contact Masterbuilt via website and phone. I was unable to get anyone to order a new heating element. I would not recommend this product until Masterbuilt gets their support and maintenance act together.
Cons: poor support
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from buffalo, ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent results and easy to use

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy assembly, and very easy to use on the first go around. Made brisket - fantastic results. I lined some areas with foil based on some other comments and that does help in the clean-up. The window does get clouded easily and so is of limited value; in addition, like some others, I got moisture leakage around the window which then ran out on the floor.
The temp seemed accurate and having the remote and the internal meat probe really helps. Can't wait to try ribs and pork shoulder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used the smoker a few times now for pork butts and brisket. Easy to use and maintains temperature very well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>