728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

The four smoking racks provide a total of 721 sq. in. of cooking area. This smoker has a viewing window so you can watch your food cook and a digital control panel. It's fully insulated and has a black powder coated body and a stainless steel door. The side wood chip loading system makes loading chips convenient. Removable wood chip tray, drip pan and water bowl. The air damper allows for better smoke control. This smoker has an 800-Watt heating element.
Overall rating:
4.472 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(231 reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product189 of 213reviews
Rating Breakdown 231 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(172)
4
(32)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product189 of 213reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Review 1 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Very easy to use, smoke everything now

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far I love the smoker, holds temperature nicely even in freezing temperatures. Smoke everything now, makes for a great dinner plus left overs for lunch meat. Would recommend to a friend. Only "problem" I had was some smoke leaking out from the door seal. Readjusted the door and that seems to be fixed. Not all drippings hit the pan either, found some juices to run out the front of the unit all over the patio.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, like the remote
Cons: leaks from front door
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

A great buy

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery was fast and the unit was very easy to assemble. I pre-seasoned it as the manual states and it got up to temperature in no time at all, considering it was 35 degrees outside. I have since made a pork butt and ribs and both were exceptional. The smoker works great and the outside never got hot to the touch, so it's very well insulated. I set an oven thermometer in the smoker and the temp stayed right on the money. Very good unit for the money. Make sure to clean up the walls and glass while it is still warm or you will have a black mess on your hands.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+57points
58out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

The kids thought their mom had lost it when I told them I wanted a smoker!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got it and out of the chute...smoked ribs and a chicken...perfect! Tomorrow is brisket, more ribs and chicken...they can't get enough...it'll be fantastic this summer, too! And clean up is a snap! Thanks, Kids!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Swansea, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Value and Easy To Use

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Keeps it temp steady even on a very cold , and windy day. The remote has a long distance and is point on with readings on the smoker. The meat temp prob is a great feature. I would buy this item again.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this Master-built Pro Digital Smokehouse with remote recently and found it to be easy to unpack,assemble and use. The directions were very clear and easy to understand. I find the construction to be very good despite it being built in China. The temperature controller runs about 5 degrees hotter than what you set it for,but is easily compensated. Other than the temperature anomaly I really like this smoker. I would recommend it to anyone. Home Depot was prompt in their handling and shipping of this smoker to me. BTW, don't be concerned about cleaning the window, I used the dollar store version of "AWESOME ORANGE SPRAY CLEANER" and it cut through the gunk and cleaned the door window like new in 5 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, holds temperature steady
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very disappointed

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After assembly and seasoning, I put a rack of ribs into the smoker. After an hour, I realized the smoker had shut itself off. I finally got it working and the ribs were delicious. A week later, the control unit completely stopped working - constant beeps and blank screen. Less than 10 hours of operation and already dead. My father-in-law bought the same unit I did at the same time, his didn't even last 10 hours before the controller broke.
From the outset, the remote control was not reading the unit's temperature, nor seems to have had any impact on the unit. On/Off/Temp set/time set - no effect on unit.
Looked online: LOTS of controller issues with this smoker.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: fell apart almost immediately
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from simi ca. 93063
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the remote and view window. Excelent product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this smoker for baby backs,Tri Tip, Brisket, and chicken.Can't wait to try fish in it. Great reviews on the flavor this smoker produced from my friends and employees whom I have cooked for in it.This unit is easy to use and easy to clean. I've used three different types of wood chips in it Apple , Hickory, and Mesquite. All have produced good smokey flavor and work well with my dry and wet rubs. I would recommend this product to a friend without hesitation. It doesn't require too much wood chips to get a deep smoke ring in the meat. It maintains the heat you set it to and the timer works well also. The internal tempt prob work well also.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Pompano Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Set it and forget it!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For entry level smoking, even for condos since it is electric, I use mine every weekend! I have cooked Boston butts, ribs, chicken, etc. The 14 hour slow smokes required for a decent sized butt, this thing is so easy! Love the remote control so I can check meet temp from inside. Read some on the internet about 3-2-1 method of ribs, it is absolutely fantastic. Use a good rub on your pork, let it sit for overnight, had better results with butts right from the fridge, but i try and let the ribs get up to room temp for 1/2 hour first. You won't regret buying this grill, get a cover! Electronics are not water proof!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Bethesda, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Masterbuilt is an outstanding product...performed every bit as expected!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I took a risk and ordered my smoker about 10 days before Thanksgiving...Home Depot's staff made no absolute commitments regarding delivery (which I understood) but told me not to worry. Had the unit in 3 days and put together in 15 minutes.
The smoker worked like a charm smoking a 20 pound turkey (which I cut into parts). It was in the low 30's the night before Thanksgiving (DC area) so I used my remote control to check time and temperature from my bedroom! The whole thing was intuitive and easy to use! The turkey was excellent, injected and smoked with a hickory-apple combination.
By the way, used my Masterbuilt Turkey Fryer XL to fry another which was excellent as well...thanks Home Depot and Masterbuilt for making this a great holiday and family get together!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship, digital controls and remote
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Hull, Ma.

Perfect, perfect, perfect

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the perfect smoker, easy to use, holds alot of meat, and the finished product is amazing. I would give this five stars for anyone who is looking to get into smoking their own food. the first things I smoked where 2 full chickens, 3 full racks of ribs and 6 chicken breasts, all at the same time. Took six hours to smoke, and the amazing thing was it only took two 12 oz. cups of wood chips. If I had one downpoint it would be, there really is no need for the glass door. Once u start smoking, it's so filled with smoke that u can't see in, but hey it looks cool. I call it my redneck Tv, it even has a remote control. Buy it, u won't be sorry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glass Leaked Grease and is a Poor Insulator

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this smoker because the window is pointless it clouds up the first 5 min of smoking and after you smoke two times the smoke on the window is so heavy you can't wipe it clean. If you plan to smoke in the winter it will be harder to maintain the temperature because the glass releases a lot of heat. Also the window that I had just leaked grease even after smoking multiple times.
I bought this smoker on 6/2/13 when i unpacked the smoker it was missing the screws and two pans. I called up Masterbuilt and they said I was missing the hardware kit so they sent me the kit which I received on 6/7/13. When I assembled the smoker I noticed there was a bracket missing screws so I called up again and sent them photos. This time they waited till the 13th and said just exchange it where you bought it. I would of hoped they would just mail me a new smoker and pickup the bad smoker since I had to wait so long for their responses and I don't have a truck to hull back and forth.
If you look at the picture you can see how dark the window is and this is after I scrubbed it for 20 min you can also see all of the grease the window leaked out this did not leak from the bottom at all.
Cons: glass seal leaked, glass poor insulator
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
27out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

awesome

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It helps greatly in larger meal preparation and saves time.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

30" Digital Smoker

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had our smoker for about a month and so far it's been awesome. It came the day that it was scheduled for delivery and was easy to put together (only a few small parts had to be installed). We've smoked a couple of racks of ribs and a Boston pork butt and they came out succulent and juicy with that great smoked flavor that we bought it for. The smoking is effortless and almost too easy. You just pop it in, adjust the time and temperature for the meat that your cooking and set back and monitor the hand held controller while you go through your daily routine. I would definitely recommend this smoker to anyone who loves the taste of smoke flavored meats but doesn't have the time to roll out the massive charcoal cookers and tend to the varying temperature fluctuations that those type smokers are known for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Tasty Meat - Lot of Mess

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A big puddle of greasy water leaked around the gaskets on the door on each smoking event. Boston but, ribs and chicken have all cooked tender and flavorful, but clean up is quite labor intensive. I like the temperature and time remote and loading wood chips is a breeze. My old electric smoker was easier to clean, as you just removed the electric burner and hosed the whole unit off, can't easily remove the electronics and burner on this unit to do the same.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Long Island , NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Had high hopes for this smoker

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 uses, the internal probe was stuck on 169 degrees, The smokers internal temperature regardless of it's digital reading was 350 degrees. I spoke with a person at masterbilt, who wanted an invoice prooving I purchased the item, after I provided that, they wanted me to provide them the backing plate, and, a chopped off piece of the electrical cord. After which they would mail me a cabniet, which I must re-assemble with parts from my origional smoker. It would only take me 3 hours to repair, so I should be happy right... I am not masterbilts office help. mail room clerk or service person.... Very vexing experience. The product was returned to Home Depot.
+34points
44out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Service from Masterbuilt

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product worked great until the element broke. I tried to contact Masterbuilt via website and phone. I was unable to get anyone to order a new heating element. I would not recommend this product until Masterbuilt gets their support and maintenance act together.
Cons: poor support
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Washington, IL

Delivers delicious smoke flavour with convenience.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love the fact that I can monitor temperature/time with the wireless remote. Smoker has a relatively small footprint, maintains temperature well and has multiple racks to facilitate volume smoking capability. Adding wood chips is conveniently done from the side, w/o requiring opening the main door, or experiencing any noticeable loss of heat. Relatively easy to clean, with removeable racks and drip trays. My only complaint is that the paint surrounding the door opening (i.e. in contact with the seal) bubbled up and later flaked off after initial seasoning. Not a big deal - easily removed with a little steel wool/sandpaper - but I expected the paint to be a little more heat/moisture resistant. Otherwise, a great unit, all-around.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Virginia City, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works great!!

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this for the first time this last weekend. I smoked two turkeys and they came out wonderful. Brined them for 15 hours first then into the smoker. Filled the side loader with chips, chunks don't work, and let it go. It was done after about four to five hours at 250 degrees. I lowered it to 190 degrees and added a couple more hours of smoke. Only had to load it three times. Never had to open the door the remote tells it all. It will get even better once I learn to use it.
I had one of those tall bullet shaped ones and it died. This unit is far far easier to work with and better in every way.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, uses small amounts of wood chips.
Cons: d/rip tray is way too small and overflows easily
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Worth a couple extra bucks

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After researching smokers, I decided to spend a few extra bucks and go with this one, and am I ever glad I did. Just the fact that it's so easy to use makes me use it so much more than I would one that I had to monitor and control the temp. You just set it to the temp you want, throw in the attached thermometer, and keep the remote with you as you monitor the internal temp of the meat. Check the smoke every once in a while, as you'll need to add chips. HIGHLY RECOMMEND, worth a few extra bucks. I have zero experience with smoking and everything I've done has come out perfectly.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Oregon

Excellent results!!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the third smoker of this brand and size we have purchased. One for ourselves, one for our daughter and family and one for our son and family. Nothing but raves from them and everyone who eats anything from this smoker.
Everything is built first class: the probe you stick in the meat for the internal temperature is easily washed, the remote control is handy if it is rainy or cold outside, nice stainless steel racks inside, the water pan is stainless, even has wheels on the back so it can be rolled from place to place.
So far we have cooked turkey breasts, whole chickens, jerky, smoked pork loin, pork chops, salmon:it couldn't get easier and tastier. Once you preset the temperature and timer for the internal meat temperature, add some water and chips, it all but cooks itself.
Thank you for a wonderful product.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>