728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Masterbuilt propels the art of smoking to the next level with this 30 in. electric smoker. Masterbuilt pulled out all the stops with this smoker, starting with a portable design. The smoker goes where the crowd is, with built-in wheels and a rear handle for easy mobility. The smoker takes it a step further with a large viewing window and an internal light, so you can see the food smoking inside. Add in a remote control, 4 smoking racks, and a side chip loader and you have a true next generation smoker.
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(221 reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product181 of 203reviews
Rating Breakdown 221 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(165)
4
(31)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product181 of 203reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Review 41 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Love my smoker!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to operate and can find great recipes on YouTube. We've had it for two weeks and have smoked ribs, a pirk shoulder and a whole chicken. Totally delicious results. Only thing I would have done differently is that I would have saved a few bucks by purchasing the unit without the glass door. After the 1st use the glass was black from the smoke so you can't see thru it. Cleaning the glass according to the manufacturers recommendations was no help.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great smoker / survived bear attack

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this smoker for 2 years now, and it has worked like a charm. Smoked plenty of ribs, chicken and pork shoulders and they came out perfect every time. Temperature is accurate and consistent, and this one holds 6 slabs of baby backs. After smoking some ribs for a BBQ this past weekend, I made the mistake of leaving the smoker out on a table in our backyard overnight. I found it the next morning laying on the ground with the door open. All 4 racks were pulled out as well as the water pan, drip tray, and chip loader. The cover was shredded and it was obviously a bear had gotten to it. After hooking everything back up, it turned right on and works just as well as the day I bought it. Also, the bear licked the inside of the smoker fairly clean, so I am thinking of leaving it outside all the time now. :)
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Spring Creek, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks nice leaks EVERYWHERE.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this as a gift for my husband for Fathers day. It looks very nice but lt leaks everywhere, is very messy but cooks well it seems. We thought about taking it back but it sounds like a headache.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly, Large Cooking Space
Cons: leaks everywhere, messy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Maryland
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent smoke food while on the couch

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To say this smoker does all the work for you is not much of an exaggeration. After the easy assembly and brief break-in period the smoker is ready to do what it does best: that is smoke food for you while you watch TV. Once the meat is on the grills and the liquid is in the pan the only involvement from you is to occasionally add wood chips. The entire smoking process can be controlled by the remote control while you are inside. That is simply... genius!!! A bit of advice: add wood chips in smaller increments and smaller time intervals. Too many chips at once will not allow all of them to completely burn. The smoker is tightly sealed so most all the smoke produced will go toward flavoring the food. A little experimenting with the smoke flavor will be required but the results will not be disappointing either way.
Clean-up is relatively easy but I recommend the smoker be warm so any unwanted residue can more easily be removed. The glass front is nice for aesthetics but will only let you view smoke (assuming you put chips in) and much the same can be said about the light. They are not totally useless but you really don't need them.
Overall this is one of the easiest and most convenient smokers on the market. The professional smokers may argue about specifics but this smoker will produce great results for any amateur. Enjoy.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Tallahassee, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Enjoy while you can

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for a while then shorted out. Blew out all my patio lights when it did. My brother in law had the same experience and couldn't find parts.
Pros: good when it worked
Cons: blew out
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Newport Beach, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

30 in. digital electric smoker

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Ready to go right out of the box. Cooked Pork ribs the first time, after five hours they were perfect.
Pros: Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Snohomish Wa

Great Smoker

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have never used a smoker before but we watch alot of shows that use old school smokers. We dont need to make 400 lbs of ribs so I bought this one. It is very easy to clean and add wood chips as you smoke. We did a whole chicken, some ribs and even a flat iron steak. I take it in my truck to my cabin so it is portable after I made up a plastic travel box for the racks, trays and chips. The plactic on the top hinge has cracked but I dont think portable means hauling it in the truck but in and out of the garage. I like it! I am going to do flat iron steak again tonight. For the price it should include a cook book thats why the 4 rating. I have had trouble finding a cook book for an electric smoker with cooking times we have our own rub recipes. Hope this helps. Mike
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The smoker is good looking and sure cooks great. I have never smoked before so got a smoking meat cook book and tried my first meat and it came out wonderful and the smoker was so easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Lompoc, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product has good features and is a great value for the price.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've smoked a picnic shoulder, baby back ribs, and two beef briskets since buying the smoker. It is great! This is by far the best small smoker I have ever used. The remote control feature is very useful. Using the smoker is a no brainer. Just set the temperature and time, then go about your business and check the remote and load more smoking chips on occasion.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Greenville, NC

Masterbuilt 30 in Smoker

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh folks, the ribs! Best I've ever eaten. And the pork roast, and don't forget the chicken! If you love to eat good food, this smoker is for you!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Yankton, SD 57078, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have for any level of experience, very user friendly!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a fishing guide in SE Alaska and have been looking for a smoker that remains cool enough to smoke salmon properly. Well, this is definitely the one! I have been able to keep it as cool as 105 degrees and the smoke keeps coming out. Very very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend this smoker to anyone. My Dad and Brother are both getting one after they tasted my smoked salmon, chicken, and pork. My mom even wants me to smoke a prime rib for Xmas. I would definitely get the smoker with the remote control as well. How easy to sit in the nice warm house by the fireplace and not be nervous about whats going on inside the smoker, unbelievably cool! I hope it last for many years to come.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from milwaukee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

just what i expected

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the product was researched by me and it was easy to assemble and operate.turned out delicious foods as expected.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Willmar MN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great when it works...which isn't for long

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it one summer. Heating element failed. Sent a cut chord and plate in...recieved another heating element. Worked great for 2 months. Stored it in garage. Got it out in April. Control unit doesn't work. Really like this when it works.......but I give up. I am writing this to save someone else the frustration. The company people are real nice....product is just not reliable.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Masterbuilt has terrible quality control

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one I received was broken. Took it back and got another one in March, 2012. Worked great until August 2012 when the temperature just stopped working (when I had 4 racks of meat waiting to go in). I checked online and these smokers have this problem often. Home Depot is wonderful, they took it back and gave us a store credit. I hope to find another smoker here at HD.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Garbage. Look elsewhere

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
If you are looking to get an electric smoker don't waste your money on this model. I suggest getting the cheapest Masterbuilt electric. I have this model and the remote control for it is a gimmick. The stainless finish is not worth the extra money. The thermometer included in this package is so far off it serves no purpose. Lastly, these things are disposable and when they break, they are hard to throw away. Ask me how I know, my second one (which was replaced by Masterbuilt) just broke.
Overall, this a cheap, poor quality Chinese smoker which you should not expect to last very long. Ask me how I know.
Pros: electric is set and forget
Cons: waste of money., poor quality, will break before you know it
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great electric smoker for the price

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smoker is wonderful ribs,brisket,pork,chicken,sasuage, and veggies this smoker is great! Keeps temp. Well nice glass door allows for viewing. Can use wood chips for this machine. Everyone loves the high quality BBQ it produces and remote temp control is great!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Want great tasting food?

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Buy this smoker. Luv it. This is my second one. Fabulous.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Lubbock, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Purchase

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The smoker is exactly was is advertise and works great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from North highlands,ca

Good Smoker if it doesn't shut off in the middle of smoking something!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would recomend this product if it would perform as programed. I must watch the smoker constantly for when it shuts off randomly. this defeats the purpose of a digital electric/remote control. Don't know why it does this? Will go to masterbuilt and ask....
Pros: great smoker if it works
Cons: shuts off randomly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Delaware, Ohio

First Smoker

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First Smoker I have bought and used I have had it just over a month and love it so far I have smoked ribs and chicken querters both came out very flavorfull and juicey.
I bought for use at campground and love the remote and built in meat thermometer, load the smoker set your time and temp sit back have a few drinks and load chips every so often. I see this used a lot over the camp season. I wish it came with some simple recipies and what temprature the meet needs to be when done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>