728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

Masterbuilt propels the art of smoking to the next level with this 30 in. electric smoker. Masterbuilt pulled out all the stops with this smoker, starting with a portable design. The smoker goes where the crowd is, with built-in wheels and a rear handle for easy mobility. The smoker takes it a step further with a large viewing window and an internal light, so you can see the food smoking inside. Add in a remote control, 4 smoking racks, and a side chip loader and you have a true next generation smoker.
Overall rating:
4.476 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(208 reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product168 of 190reviews
Rating Breakdown 208 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(156)
4
(27)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product168 of 190reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Review 41 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Spring Creek, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks nice leaks EVERYWHERE.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this as a gift for my husband for Fathers day. It looks very nice but lt leaks everywhere, is very messy but cooks well it seems. We thought about taking it back but it sounds like a headache.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly, Large Cooking Space
Cons: leaks everywhere, messy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Maryland
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent smoke food while on the couch

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To say this smoker does all the work for you is not much of an exaggeration. After the easy assembly and brief break-in period the smoker is ready to do what it does best: that is smoke food for you while you watch TV. Once the meat is on the grills and the liquid is in the pan the only involvement from you is to occasionally add wood chips. The entire smoking process can be controlled by the remote control while you are inside. That is simply... genius!!! A bit of advice: add wood chips in smaller increments and smaller time intervals. Too many chips at once will not allow all of them to completely burn. The smoker is tightly sealed so most all the smoke produced will go toward flavoring the food. A little experimenting with the smoke flavor will be required but the results will not be disappointing either way.
Clean-up is relatively easy but I recommend the smoker be warm so any unwanted residue can more easily be removed. The glass front is nice for aesthetics but will only let you view smoke (assuming you put chips in) and much the same can be said about the light. They are not totally useless but you really don't need them.
Overall this is one of the easiest and most convenient smokers on the market. The professional smokers may argue about specifics but this smoker will produce great results for any amateur. Enjoy.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Tallahassee, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Enjoy while you can

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for a while then shorted out. Blew out all my patio lights when it did. My brother in law had the same experience and couldn't find parts.
Pros: good when it worked
Cons: blew out
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, shipped very quickly and easily assembled. I highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Snohomish Wa

Great Smoker

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have never used a smoker before but we watch alot of shows that use old school smokers. We dont need to make 400 lbs of ribs so I bought this one. It is very easy to clean and add wood chips as you smoke. We did a whole chicken, some ribs and even a flat iron steak. I take it in my truck to my cabin so it is portable after I made up a plastic travel box for the racks, trays and chips. The plactic on the top hinge has cracked but I dont think portable means hauling it in the truck but in and out of the garage. I like it! I am going to do flat iron steak again tonight. For the price it should include a cook book thats why the 4 rating. I have had trouble finding a cook book for an electric smoker with cooking times we have our own rub recipes. Hope this helps. Mike
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Northern Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome, easy to use smoker.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this smoker over the weekend because I really wanted some smoked chicken. I have owned a Luhr-Jensen Big Chief for about 20 years, and it still works, but trying to keep a consistent temp in a smokehouse with the thim aluminum walls was a constant headache during the winter. I decided to give this model a try.
Out of the box, it took me around 15 minutes to assemble. I turned it on and did the initial seasoning, like the manuals said. I can see why this is important too, because during the seasoning, it did not smell very good. There is a lot of packing materials in this smoker, so be very sure that you get it all out before turning it on.
The meat probe, remote, and everything else worked like a dream. I really enjoyed having the remote so that I did not have to keep walking outside to check on my chicken. In the end, it actually cooked the chicken really fast, I will try it slower next time. The smokey flavor was so delicious, and the chicken was moist and very flavorful. I even had some bark on the outside.
I was also glad that I got the window. I was hesitant because some of the reviews say that it just smokes up and doesn't do anything... mine did not. It got a little messy, but I just wiped it off while the unit was still hot, and it cleaned up nicely. Some other reviews said that the window caused the smoker to lose too much heat - Mine stayed a consistent 272-279 without any problems.
It was a little spendy, and time will tell on the quality - but right now, I am really happy with my purchase, and can only imagine what will get smoked in the coming months.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, looks nice
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

So So Quality! Does smoke food well!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here are the highlights:
1) Unit construction leaves a lot to be desired. Sheet metal work is poor... I wouldn't expect it to last more than a couple of years.
2) Meat probe failed on second use and had to get a replacement. Their customer service was responsive.
3) The food cooked in this smoker was very tasty, which is really all this unit has going for it.
4) I did like the remote because I could monitor the unit from inside the house. You just need to be close enough to the smoker to get a signal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly, Dishwasher Safe, Large Cooking Space
Cons: Difficult to Clean, poor construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Greenville, NC

Masterbuilt 30 in Smoker

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh folks, the ribs! Best I've ever eaten. And the pork roast, and don't forget the chicken! If you love to eat good food, this smoker is for you!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Yankton, SD 57078, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have for any level of experience, very user friendly!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a fishing guide in SE Alaska and have been looking for a smoker that remains cool enough to smoke salmon properly. Well, this is definitely the one! I have been able to keep it as cool as 105 degrees and the smoke keeps coming out. Very very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend this smoker to anyone. My Dad and Brother are both getting one after they tasted my smoked salmon, chicken, and pork. My mom even wants me to smoke a prime rib for Xmas. I would definitely get the smoker with the remote control as well. How easy to sit in the nice warm house by the fireplace and not be nervous about whats going on inside the smoker, unbelievably cool! I hope it last for many years to come.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Masterbuilt has terrible quality control

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one I received was broken. Took it back and got another one in March, 2012. Worked great until August 2012 when the temperature just stopped working (when I had 4 racks of meat waiting to go in). I checked online and these smokers have this problem often. Home Depot is wonderful, they took it back and gave us a store credit. I hope to find another smoker here at HD.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Hurricane
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product. Few instructions. Great food!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The smoker works great! It has decent quality, although it was missing 2 screws in the wood chip cover. They should have been preinstalled. I found one screw in the drain, but I couldn't find the nut or lock washer to install it.
Use foil on water pan and drip tray, it makes cleanup much easier. Overall, cleanup is not bad considering its a smoker.
The only problem I have with performance is the limited use instructions. It would be nice if there were some cook time information in the manual or instructions on how often to add wood chips. Too much smoke will make food bitter. My first use required me to find recipes online of other people using this smoker. Not much help is available from Masterbuilt.
So far I'm fairly happy. If I can find more recipes or instructions, I may upgrade this to excellent. I'm sure I'll have more information as summer progresses.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: few instructions, no recipes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Garbage. Look elsewhere

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
If you are looking to get an electric smoker don't waste your money on this model. I suggest getting the cheapest Masterbuilt electric. I have this model and the remote control for it is a gimmick. The stainless finish is not worth the extra money. The thermometer included in this package is so far off it serves no purpose. Lastly, these things are disposable and when they break, they are hard to throw away. Ask me how I know, my second one (which was replaced by Masterbuilt) just broke.
Overall, this a cheap, poor quality Chinese smoker which you should not expect to last very long. Ask me how I know.
Pros: electric is set and forget
Cons: waste of money., poor quality, will break before you know it
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best electric smoker ever!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for my husband 2 years ago and have loved every thing about it. Decided to get one for my dad and he is very happy with it and wants to smoke everything now.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from New york
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simply Awesome!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, great price, love the remote! The temperature controlis there, meat probe is perfect, window is great for viewing. Two spots in bottom rack for wetbox are awesome, allows you to add beer, fruit juice, whatever you want!
Pros: Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Willmar MN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great when it works...which isn't for long

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it one summer. Heating element failed. Sent a cut chord and plate in...recieved another heating element. Worked great for 2 months. Stored it in garage. Got it out in April. Control unit doesn't work. Really like this when it works.......but I give up. I am writing this to save someone else the frustration. The company people are real nice....product is just not reliable.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great electric smoker for the price

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smoker is wonderful ribs,brisket,pork,chicken,sasuage, and veggies this smoker is great! Keeps temp. Well nice glass door allows for viewing. Can use wood chips for this machine. Everyone loves the high quality BBQ it produces and remote temp control is great!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from O'Fallon, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes smoking effortless!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smoking meat has never been easier. Put a rub on the meat, load the meat, put a little liquid in the drip pan, set the temperature and timer, and add a cup of wood chips. Smokes for hours and holds the temperature perfectly. Clean up is even fairly easy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, lots of smoke
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control
from Delaware, Ohio

First Smoker

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First Smoker I have bought and used I have had it just over a month and love it so far I have smoked ribs and chicken querters both came out very flavorfull and juicey.
I bought for use at campground and love the remote and built in meat thermometer, load the smoker set your time and temp sit back have a few drinks and load chips every so often. I see this used a lot over the camp season. I wish it came with some simple recipies and what temprature the meet needs to be when done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

awesome smoker

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This smoker is as good as advertised, if not better. It heats up quickly and regulates temperature very well. The remote has excellent range, as I am able to use it from inside my house, which allows me to check food temperature and change smoker temperature remotely. I've had no problems with it and the food tastes awesome. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a smoker.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Remote Control

8 months later

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so extremely disappointed in my 8 month old Masterbuilt digital electric smoker. I loved it at first. So much that about a month after purchasing mine I got another one for my father in SC as a gift. After the 2nd Masterbuilt addition to the family my brother came for a visit and less than 3 weeks later we had a set of triplet Masterbuilt electric smokers in the family with cute little matching covers to protect our $***.00(ea) investments. However, the honeymoon is over.
My smoker is falling apart. It has been handled with care, cleaned only with vinegar, dawn and hot water and lauded as the favorite appliance in or out of the house. 1st the plastic in the door is cracking around the rivets much like any other plastic fastened on too tightly it cracked. 3 of the rivets in the top of the door have this defect. 2nd the paint is chipping around the door. No I am a logical person. I expect any and every product I buy to eventually break down BUT not in less than a year. The paint is only gone on the unit on the inside where the door seal meets the unit. It is not peeling on the outside (where you would expect if it was left uncovered or abused), It is not peeling anywhere but that area where the door meets the unit.
I called the company, sent pictures of the defects and the receipt. I was sent a door (which I appreciate) and that is all. I called back to advise them they must have missed the pictures of the defective paint. Again I expect all paint to wear off eventually but not only in 1 area and not so soon. If it was time for the paint to be old and need to just be repainted I would expect to see wear and tear everywhere or at least in another general location. The unit looks as good as new except for around the door seal where it seems most important since it prevents heat from escaping through the door.
I was told that they do not cover paint. I of course expected this to mean normal wear and tear of paint over time. I did not know this meant they would not stand by their product in case of either defective paint or defective application in 1 area. I was advised that I was free to buy another unit if the rust bothered me that much at full price plus shipping and handling. Or just paint it. I asked the representative if she could ever expect me to purchase another Masterbuilt product if this was their standard of quality. She advised me that it was not by any means the standard (which I can attest 2 because the other 2 units in the family do not have this problem). She spoke to a supervisor who agreed that even though it is not a common issue, they will not be able to stand by the poor quality of this particular unit. I am having visions of the new kid in the factory painting his 2 unit ever and I was just lucky enough to get that one.
I am beyond disappointed at this point because I have had so many cookouts which involved this product and told so many people how great it is and I am so embarrassed because if they have the same experience that I am having it will reflect negatively on me. I can’t even imagine how a company who sells a higher end product could turn their backs so completely on an issue that even they admit is unusual and not standard. My unit is still under warranty. It is not paint chipping all over. It is not chipping on the outside, It has not been exposed to the elements. I even roll it onto the front porch when it rains and I want to cook something because I don’t want the electric elements to be effected.
Cons: poor craftsmanship
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>