728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control

30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control

Masterbuilt propels the art of smoking to the next level with this 30 in. electric smoker. Masterbuilt pulled out all the stops with this smoker, starting with a portable design. The smoker goes where the crowd is, with built-in wheels and a rear handle for easy mobility. The smoker takes it a step further with a large viewing window and an internal light, so you can see the food smoking inside. Add in a remote control, 4 smoking racks, and a side chip loader and you have a true next generation smoker.
Overall rating:
4.49 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(194 reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product157 of 176reviews
Rating Breakdown 194 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(147)
4
(24)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product157 of 176reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Review 41 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
new2thegame
from St. louis Mo.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Better than ever

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced a less expensive version of this smoker with the bells & whistle type. I probably won't use the light too often as the glass in the door is difficult to keep clean enough to see in, but it is a good feature to not have to open the door. The best features are the temperature probe & the remote control. The reason the temp. probe is so valuable now is because you can read it on the remote inside the house without ever going outside. If your smoker is positioned in sunlight the controls can be difficult to read in the sunlight, but no more as the remote is readable at the press of a button. If you are smoking over night the results can be read bedside without having to go outside for results. The only drawback to any smoker is the cleanup after you're threw, which means, chose several items to smoke at a time
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Jdslee
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great for parties

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Gave it to hubby right before Christmas. Used it three times since then and planning on many more times. Great for entertaining since you don't have to keep on checking the regular grill/smoker. Portable too; we can take it on the road!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
lsoley
from Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

my husband loves the new smoker, and has used it at least 5 times in the week since he got it.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This smoker has all of the features that we were looking for. it keeps the temperature that is needed very well, and has just enough space for our needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Mike
from Lucama, NC 27851, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gift

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product earlier this year and enjoyed it so much that I purchased another one for my stepson. He is enjoying his as much as I have been enjoying mine.
Pros: Durable, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Trinabeana
from Louisiana

Looks nice and easy to clean!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my husband and he absolutely loves it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Southerndaughter
from Greenville, NC

Masterbuilt 30 in Smoker

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh folks, the ribs! Best I've ever eaten. And the pork roast, and don't forget the chicken! If you love to eat good food, this smoker is for you!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
fword
from Snohomish Wa

Great Smoker

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have never used a smoker before but we watch alot of shows that use old school smokers. We dont need to make 400 lbs of ribs so I bought this one. It is very easy to clean and add wood chips as you smoke. We did a whole chicken, some ribs and even a flat iron steak. I take it in my truck to my cabin so it is portable after I made up a plastic travel box for the racks, trays and chips. The plactic on the top hinge has cracked but I dont think portable means hauling it in the truck but in and out of the garage. I like it! I am going to do flat iron steak again tonight. For the price it should include a cook book thats why the 4 rating. I have had trouble finding a cook book for an electric smoker with cooking times we have our own rub recipes. Hope this helps. Mike
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Moona
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great electric smoker for the price

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smoker is wonderful ribs,brisket,pork,chicken,sasuage, and veggies this smoker is great! Keeps temp. Well nice glass door allows for viewing. Can use wood chips for this machine. Everyone loves the high quality BBQ it produces and remote temp control is great!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
GannMan
from Orting, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Smoker

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If I would have known how easy it was to clean and smoke with this smoker I would have bought one years ago. I started with a couple chickens the first day I got it...simple and good. Made 2 pork shoulders for the football game and they were a hit. Put the meat in and walk away with the meat probe and remote. The glass door is cool too so you can look at your masterpiece while it smokes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Shibby
from Willmar MN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great when it works...which isn't for long

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it one summer. Heating element failed. Sent a cut chord and plate in...recieved another heating element. Worked great for 2 months. Stored it in garage. Got it out in April. Control unit doesn't work. Really like this when it works.......but I give up. I am writing this to save someone else the frustration. The company people are real nice....product is just not reliable.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Bagsnone
from Clinton, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like it!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My new toy for 2013. Used several times so far, flawless. Wish the glass didn't get so smokey but then again it is a smoker. I especially like automatic time the cooking and temperature control, Yes, I am a lazy smoker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Reece

8 months later

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so extremely disappointed in my 8 month old Masterbuilt digital electric smoker. I loved it at first. So much that about a month after purchasing mine I got another one for my father in SC as a gift. After the 2nd Masterbuilt addition to the family my brother came for a visit and less than 3 weeks later we had a set of triplet Masterbuilt electric smokers in the family with cute little matching covers to protect our $***.00(ea) investments. However, the honeymoon is over.
My smoker is falling apart. It has been handled with care, cleaned only with vinegar, dawn and hot water and lauded as the favorite appliance in or out of the house. 1st the plastic in the door is cracking around the rivets much like any other plastic fastened on too tightly it cracked. 3 of the rivets in the top of the door have this defect. 2nd the paint is chipping around the door. No I am a logical person. I expect any and every product I buy to eventually break down BUT not in less than a year. The paint is only gone on the unit on the inside where the door seal meets the unit. It is not peeling on the outside (where you would expect if it was left uncovered or abused), It is not peeling anywhere but that area where the door meets the unit.
I called the company, sent pictures of the defects and the receipt. I was sent a door (which I appreciate) and that is all. I called back to advise them they must have missed the pictures of the defective paint. Again I expect all paint to wear off eventually but not only in 1 area and not so soon. If it was time for the paint to be old and need to just be repainted I would expect to see wear and tear everywhere or at least in another general location. The unit looks as good as new except for around the door seal where it seems most important since it prevents heat from escaping through the door.
I was told that they do not cover paint. I of course expected this to mean normal wear and tear of paint over time. I did not know this meant they would not stand by their product in case of either defective paint or defective application in 1 area. I was advised that I was free to buy another unit if the rust bothered me that much at full price plus shipping and handling. Or just paint it. I asked the representative if she could ever expect me to purchase another Masterbuilt product if this was their standard of quality. She advised me that it was not by any means the standard (which I can attest 2 because the other 2 units in the family do not have this problem). She spoke to a supervisor who agreed that even though it is not a common issue, they will not be able to stand by the poor quality of this particular unit. I am having visions of the new kid in the factory painting his 2 unit ever and I was just lucky enough to get that one.
I am beyond disappointed at this point because I have had so many cookouts which involved this product and told so many people how great it is and I am so embarrassed because if they have the same experience that I am having it will reflect negatively on me. I can’t even imagine how a company who sells a higher end product could turn their backs so completely on an issue that even they admit is unusual and not standard. My unit is still under warranty. It is not paint chipping all over. It is not chipping on the outside, It has not been exposed to the elements. I even roll it onto the front porch when it rains and I want to cook something because I don’t want the electric elements to be effected.
Cons: poor craftsmanship
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
ER1981
from Yankton, SD 57078, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have for any level of experience, very user friendly!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a fishing guide in SE Alaska and have been looking for a smoker that remains cool enough to smoke salmon properly. Well, this is definitely the one! I have been able to keep it as cool as 105 degrees and the smoke keeps coming out. Very very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend this smoker to anyone. My Dad and Brother are both getting one after they tasted my smoked salmon, chicken, and pork. My mom even wants me to smoke a prime rib for Xmas. I would definitely get the smoker with the remote control as well. How easy to sit in the nice warm house by the fireplace and not be nervous about whats going on inside the smoker, unbelievably cool! I hope it last for many years to come.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Riverbendcamper
from Delaware, Ohio

First Smoker

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First Smoker I have bought and used I have had it just over a month and love it so far I have smoked ribs and chicken querters both came out very flavorfull and juicey.
I bought for use at campground and love the remote and built in meat thermometer, load the smoker set your time and temp sit back have a few drinks and load chips every so often. I see this used a lot over the camp season. I wish it came with some simple recipies and what temprature the meet needs to be when done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
smokerdude

awesome smoker

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This smoker is as good as advertised, if not better. It heats up quickly and regulates temperature very well. The remote has excellent range, as I am able to use it from inside my house, which allows me to check food temperature and change smoker temperature remotely. I've had no problems with it and the food tastes awesome. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a smoker.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
HDshopper
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Masterbuilt has terrible quality control

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one I received was broken. Took it back and got another one in March, 2012. Worked great until August 2012 when the temperature just stopped working (when I had 4 racks of meat waiting to go in). I checked online and these smokers have this problem often. Home Depot is wonderful, they took it back and gave us a store credit. I hope to find another smoker here at HD.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
BobV
from Vienna, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Electric Smoker!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this on the reccomendation of a friend. Ours is not as pictured, it has a stainless finished front with a window so you can see the meat inside. We love this smoker - it works great! Even on freezing (32F) days, with the smoker on the back porch we turn it on and it comes up to smoking temps in 30 minutes or less. The chip-loading port is easy to use, and four racks give it plenty of room inside. I did four dozen chicken wings in at once in under 90 minutes for the Super Bowl! The controller works intuitively and the thermometer is very accurate. There is also a built-in meat thermometer which is very accurate and handy. The only thing I found a bit frustrating is that there are no reccomended cooking times (well - it comes with two recipes, but this is not that helpful) - Masterbuilt publishes separate cookbooks which have great recipes and cooking times and unless you want to experiment a lot you pretty much have to but one of these cookbooks for about $15.00 to figurre out cooking times for various cuts and weights of meat.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: recipes and cooking times not included
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Steph
from Grafton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile and outstanding combination of features!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You like versatility in preparing foods, you need one of these. Very easy to set up and get started. excellent temperature control, even in cold weather conditions. Very easy to clean and maintain. The wheels make it a cinch to move. Smoke (hot or cold), jerk, roast it does it all with precise control. Plenty of rack space, and not having to open the door to add wood keeps cook times consistant.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, versatile
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
rock
from florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product, short lifespan......

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great smoker, easy to use. I do like the termperature control and timer. However this is the second master built smoker I have purchased. After two or three years the heating element shorts out and the unit pops the house breakers after you turn it on. Then if you try and buy a replacement element for it you find out it is not offered for sale because this product is made in China.......
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker with Remote Control
Shep
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I was looking for!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This smoker is perfect for a beginner pit master. You literally just prep your meat, plug it in, add some wood chips, and go! So far I've made a whole chicken, ribs, and beef jerky--all turned out perfect! Would def recommend to anyone looking for something that doesn't require a ton of effort.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>