728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED

12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED

Provide a stylish entertainment space for your backyard, or just a place to relax, with the 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo. This gazebo is built around a durable steel frame and features 2 section privacy walls and mosquito netting that can be unfurled to help suit your particular preference. A candle lantern is also included. Assemble this gazebo quickly and easily with the included hardware.
Overall rating:
3.024 / 5
3
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product24 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(15)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(15)
Appearance 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product24 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Niles, IL

Looks great but...

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Takes about 2 hours to put it together. Looks great, gives nice protection against sun.
But mine lasted only 2 weeks. Even though it was properly secured to the ground it ended on the roof of my garage after a storm that hit my area. Canopy fabric, netting are pretty strong and were not damaged, but all the metal parts, especially 4 long corner posts and top bars that connect those 4 posts are way too weak.
Thank you Home Depot in Lincolnwood, IL for allowing me to return it for a full refund.
If you're living in a windy and stormy area think twice before buying it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED

Poor Canvas cover quality

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The frame of the gazebo is nice. We used stronger stakes to secure the gazebo to the ground. However, the material for the cover is weak and very thin. It was stressed from the first day we put it up. Within 8 months under "normal" conditions, the material was starting to rip on the "reinforced" corners. The quality of the material is extremely poor and is not UV protected material. We have tried to buy another cover from the company, however, they refuse to return our phone calls and emails. We wanted to purchase another cover or a more sturdy cover that would fit. I would not reccomend this product and I am so disatisfied with company customer service.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Washington, USA

Nice canopy!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We really like this canopy. It's 12x12 which is what we needed to fit our furniture and it has been sturdy enough in 30 mile per hour gusts. Just keep in mind this is not for really windy conditions or snow. I will take the canopy off if I know a very significant wind system is going to roll through and will take it apart for the winter months. I like the mesh and solid curtain walls that come with it too!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: metal framing could be a little thicker
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from NY

Waste of Money

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews, bought it anyway. It's been up for about 2 weeks and is already rusting!! I'm doubtful it will make it through the season. (I had the my previous 10 x 10 gazebo for 4 years and bought this bc I wanted a larger one) Additionally, the material for the roof and panels is incredibly cheap and poorly made. I can already see through it in spots where it was creased for packaging. I'm sure it will disintegrate as the season wears on. It's not a true 12 x12 either. The actual 'living area' only measures 11x11 from pole to pole. There is a 6 inch overhang on the roof that accounts for the missing foot. Save your money and buy another brand.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Rye, NY

Nice gazebo

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband and I put this together. It looks charming but is a little flimsy. We have it tied from the top to our house and plan to remove the canopy for the winter. In our experience this will keep it for next year. It does look lovely and the corners make it a cozy outside room on the patio. It is also staked into the ground in 3 corners. Strong winds will destroy it if not. All in all, I would recommend it. A plus is the extra privacy screen which blocks two sides of the gazebo.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED

Love it

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this gazebo to place on a conrete slab in our backyard where a work shed used to stand. We've had it up for a little over a month now and so far we are very happy with it.
The positives:
- It's larger than most other gazebos we've seen so it fits a table and chairs for 6 comfortably.
- The metal panels that create the corners of the gazebo add weight and surface area to make the gazebo more stable. We actually bolted it to the concrete so it is VERY stable.
- The screens and privacy tarp are easy to install and are quite effective.
The negatives:
- It's not easy to assemble and put up. Luckily, there were three of us working together, so it only took a couple hours, but putting the top on the gazebo was extremely challenging even for the three of us.
- The lantern that came with the gazebo is pretty lame. There's no glass panels so any old breeze will blow out the tea light. We chucked the lantern and bought a much nicer one for $20 somewhere else.
Overall, we are loving it. We'll see how it weathers over the next year.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from GA

12' x 12' Gazebo

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Looked at many of these online and in the stores and this is the one I selected. Easy to put together with 2 people. It took an afternoon with my wife and I working on it but the instructions were easy to follow. We had it up and had a party for family over easter. Everyone commented positively on the gazebo and were impressed with how sturdy it is. We plan to attach it to the concrete patio to make it more permanent. Very impressed with the gazebo. We looked at Frontgate, Target and Lowes and decided to purchase this one.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from GA

Lovely Gazebo - Highly Recommend, but Patience and Proper Planning is a MUST!

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I LOVE MY GAZEBO. Ok, I searched high and low to find a gezebo, and not just ANY gazebo, but one that would withstand the GA windstorms! I purchased this gazebo from Home Depot about a month ago and my 15 yr-old son and his friends put it up immediately (under the supervision of my husband with no drama, and no hassles - THAT EASY!). Due to the fact we live in the Atlanta area (known for wind, hail, and all other storms), we had to ensure it was bolted to the ground so my husband bolted it to the concrete patio in our back yard (Gazebo comes with 8 pre-drilled holes (2 per post - more holes would be nice, but two is good enough to start), this is a plus). And no sooner had we mounted it, and relaxed in it for a day, the storms came! Before the storm, we made sure to close the gazebo GOOD, zipped it all around with the privacy drapes and the screens, this way, NO AIR WOULD GO UNDERNEATH (Catch in the roof) and shift the gazebo up or down, etc. THIS HELPS! After the storm, we checked, ALL was fine! No dings, dents, tears, broken pieces, NADA. We have had the gazebo for over a month and have survived about 6 wind and rain storms. For those who complain about the material being flimsy, I really disagree. I just think that you have to prepared and plan to close up the gazebo when not in use. Overall GREAT GAZEBO, beautiful view, and we even added some Christmas lights around the top corners and the room which provides EXCELLENT LIGHTING. My advice, take your time, plan where you will put it, be sure to secure it ( to the ground, or deck) and use the privacy and screens to keep it closed when not in use. It should and ill last longer that way. Thanks Home Depot, great price-point too!
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Manchester NJ

Great Gazebo!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased our Gazebo about a month ago. We read the reviews online, our only concern was the quality of materials.
It took us about 6 hours to put together, from cutting the first strap on the box, to sitting under it at the table with cold drinks. We took our time, and took frequent breaks, as it was hot out.
We ran screws into it, in the provided holes, to secure it to our deck. We also purchased a seperate outdoor lantern to use instead of the cangle lit lantern that came with it. While that is a nice lantern, tall enough to put up to an 8 inch candle into it, but trying to light it would be a challenge we feel, and not offer much light. We instead hung the lantern above a bench in the yard, just for show.
The quality, look, and comfort of the gazebo far exceeded our hopes! We love it, and found that a very few bugs may get in, to get to the lantern if we have it on, But the type of bugs that go for light, not mosquitos. last night we sat outside for hours, in absolute comfort. We did have a bad storm a few days back, with high winds. The gazebo stayed put, no issues.
We get alot of compliments om the gazebo, and would highly recommend it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Minneapolis MN

Do not buy this item!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our gazebo did not last for 24 hours. We put it up and that night we had some strong winds and even with the anchors, the gazebo pulled out of the ground. It was badly bent and twisted and we are unable to get through to the manufacturer's customer service
NOTE: In the Assembly Instructions, it is mentioned that with formidable weather, one should remove the canopy, screen. shade walls and lanterns.
NOTE: In warranty area, they recommed disassembly witn any formidable weather approaching. Also, the warranty is void by acts of God, rain, hail, sleet, snow or wind.
When you purchase a gazebo, you get it for outdoors enjoyment and should not have to worry about weather and taking the time to take down a gazebo.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Michigan

overall good

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The gazebo has been up for only two weeks, and we like it very much. However, I sm not very happy with the manufacturers customer service. There waer a few broken pieces on the lantern, for which I submitted a warranty claim, but have not heard a word from them in over a week. Hopefully I will not need to deal wtih them much.
GaryV
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Jupiter, Fl

Save your money!

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. It will last less than a year. I bought this gazebo last April, the fabric for the top will start to deteriorate in about 4 months and a new one is $90. The frame will get weak with just a little wind and if you don't rescrew it together every 3 months pieces will come off. I contacted the company to get replacement parts but by the time they responded and dealt with the issues it was too damaged to fix. I just had to put it in the trash. Unless you plan to take it down every time you use it Save your money or have one built.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Knoxville, TN

Gazebo

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this gazebo last Spring. It has not held up well. The canopy is ripped on every corner. Approx. 2 wks after assembly, one of the support struts broke. The frame is still intact, but we have to constantly replace the screws. I would not recommend purchasing this gazebo. It should have lasted more than one summer especially considering that it cost $399.00.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Warner Robins, GA

Can not recommend

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had two of these gazebos within 6 months, and the joints kept breaking. Unfortunately, I can not recommend this gazebo.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Florida

Nice Looking Gazebo

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this about two weeks ago and it was setup in one day with little or no difficulty. Definitely need two persons to help put the top pieces on, but not a difficult assembly. We added some additional brackets to the bottom rails to hopefully help with any wind issues that might arise. Overall we like this item, nice setup with screening, top and overall look.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED

We love it!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this gazebo early last summer. So far we have been very pleased with it. We actually drilled holes in the bottom metal pieces and used large pieces of bent rebar to stake the gazebo down. The gazebo and the canopy held up well to summer storms and high winds. The only issue we encountered is that the canopy eventually tore when we failed to remove it before an early winter snow storm. We will either repair or replace the torn canopy and be more diligent about remembering to remove it in the future.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Baltimore, MD

Quality is very poor- would not recommend~!

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Short review: I would not purchase this product! It is poorly made and I will be lucky to get 1 1/2 seasons out of it before the canopy and the metal frame are both destroyed. The canopy has a small tear in it after 3 months and the welds on the metal frame are ripping apart. For $400 I expected much better quality!
Full Story: I purchased this in the early spring of last year, but wanted to stain my deck before setting this up. It was the end of July before I was able to complete 2 coats of stain on the deck so I did not set this up until August 2010. Set up was pretty easy, but I noticed that when tightening the screws on the lower sections that the metal tubing was easily crushed when tightening the screws. Even after all screws were tight and I had screwed the unit to the deck using screws and huge washers in all holes the unit still had a lot of sway in it. As it swayed some it also crushed the tubing where the screws are. Since the unit is in the corner of my deck I took 3 ratcheting straps and secured them from the top supports in 3 of the corners down to the bottom of the railing on my deck. This took almost all of the sway out of the unit… almost. I really like the look of the canopy and the mosquito netting that goes around it. My wife hates bugs so she likes being enclosed in the netting. It is just a shame that due to the very thin walled tubing, the screws falling out, some rust already showing up, the canopy ripping after just 3 months and most concerning the metal brackets holding the tubing for the canopy ripping from their welds I think we’ll be lucky if the unit survives this season. The canopy was only up for ~2 ½ months last year (Aug- early Oct.) and I reinstalled it May 1st of this year. I am keeping an eye on the supports at the top of each of the corner posts as I expect to see them ripped apart and flapping in the wind at any time. It is a real shame that for $400 this unit isn’t built with better/thicker material and better designed to handle the outdoor elements. The unit is large at almost 12x12 so the manufacturer should have known the unit would be under more forces when the wind blows, even with the nice wind vent at the top. I would have even paid a little more for a much better built unit. I would not recommend this unit simply due to the poor construction and low quality materials used in it’s construction. A friend purchased a $200 unit that is 10x10, but has held up much better for 2 years and counting.
-T
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Charlotte, NC

Nice at first, but....

PostedJune 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had the Harbor Gazebo just over a year now. After an uneventful last summer with it up, it was damaged during the winter. Contacting the manufacturer took three months to get a response to attempt to purchase a replacement part for one of the upper roof/canopy supports that was bent beyond repair.
They finally DID send me the part I needed, under warranty even (my mistake it was damaged, I was initially impressed.) Although the canopy is about 15% duct tape at this point to keep it together, things were going well. Last night a storm came by, enough rain fell that the entire top started to collapse, bending all of the upper supports and the NEW one is bent beyond repair again. Additionally the upper frame was also bent this time.
At this point I'm looking to replace, not repair this thing. If $300 is a good deal to you for one year of use, it might cut it...if you're lucky. Otherwise, steer clear.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good buy for money, looks great .

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The assembly instructions were writen very well and easy to understand. Before assembly i went thru the directions and watched the video. I did however manage to assemble it alone with the help of a ladder. Would like to see better ground anchors but still highly recommend removing the covers and panels with high winds aproaching.
Also There are some gromet holes in top that i see no use for except to allow rain to drip thru. Theses could have been left out in my opinion.
Only reason I didnt give it 5 stars completely is the fabric in top is very very tight and i can see issues with the stiching coming in the future because of the UV rays acting on the threads and fabric.
All in All a great value and lots of bang for the buck.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 ft. x 12 ft. Harbor Gazebo-DISCONTINUED
from Northern VA

Great addition to our patio

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was delivered 4 days sooner that scheduled, which was great. Setup was easy with my wife and son helping. The only concern is that the top canopies are VERY tight when installing. Was nervous about tearing but it never did. Hopefully it stretches out during the summer to make it easier to remove at the end of the season.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>