728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This afternoon his best shirt was second base, tomorrow he’ll wear it to the awards ceremony. You can rely on this Centennial Top Load Washer with commercial-grade drive system and DependableClean wash system. Its LoadFlex agitator handles large loads, while the QuietSeries 100 sound package won't disrupt your home's peace and quiet. The white porcelain basket helps prevent snags, while automatic temperature control ensures you’re washing under ideal conditions, regardless of what his shirt may be used for next.
Overall rating:
4.189 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(1314 reviews) 1312
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product1,081 of 1,297reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,314 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(756)
4
(308)
3
(92)
2
(59)
1
(99)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product1,081 of 1,297reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 79 Answers
Customer reviews for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Review 1 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value washer

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our first Maytag washer, have used it for 5 months and I couldn't be happier. I wanted a simple washer without all the bells and whistles. This washer is easy to use with multiple water levels, 4 different water temperatures, multiple wash cycles with heavy or regular cycles and an option to use fabric softener or not. We had a real old machine without all the new safety features, so it took me some time to get used to the locking lid (I like to peek). The only thing that it doesn't have which would be nice is a buzzer to tell me the cycle is finished (not a deal breaker). It is real quiet and does a great job of cleaning our clothes.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Asheville, NC

Basic is a good thing!

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this washer to replace a Maytag Cenntenial Model that was "energy effecient"(?). Machine determined the water level. It broke down twice. Hated the machine. Deceided to go with a lower model Maytag without all the extras and one I could select how much water I wanted to use. This unit is just what I was looking for. Some useres have complained about noise, but I find this unit quieter than the one it replace. I could have done without the lid locking feature, but it is easy to open the lid during washing if needed. Overall I am most pleased. Now time will tell on the reliability factor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Kinnelon, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Dont Waste Your Money!

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the WORST machine Ever!...When we first got it, I thought that maybe I was doing something wrong, I could only put in a quarter of a load in & hope it got cleaned. Now it wont spin. The repair man has been here 3 times & it is still broken. Maytag wont take it back & they told me that they will just keep sending a repair man till it works. It is only 4 months old & so far they have replaced the CAPACITOR, POWER SUPPLY BOARD, HARNS-WIRE, CNTRL-ELEC.....1st visit 226.33, 2nd 426.10, 3rd 514.71...yes Maytag is paying this for the 1st year, then im on my own. One last thing, it might save money on water, but not electric....I have to dry a load 3 times, because it wont spin!
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Use, Performance, wont clean, wont spin
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple Washer

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BUYER BEWARE!!!! When your new washer arrives make sure the delivery man takes out the support bar in the lower right side of the washer. It almost destroyed my washing machine. Once we figured out why the machine was banging like a jackhammer and took out the support bar, {which we kept}. Now the washing machine is as quiet as a mouse. I wasn't looking for alot bells and whistles. I hope I don't experience some of the negative reviews I read concerning this product. So far so good. If it last me 5 years without a problem I'm happy. It is better than going to the public laundry.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Glad I bought this machine despite reading a negative review

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This conventional top-loader does a wonderful job on all size loads. It does have electronic sensing built in to detect when the load is not distributed. (This prevents damage to the machine). Put detergent in first, then load it loosely. I learned to turn it on and let it do its job. The machine does lock itself, but has a pause button if you need to open it. If it senses imbalance, it will unlock itself and continue to balance then lock when ready and proceed to the wash cycle. The wait is short (seconds) and does not take the time one reviewer indicated. I did something in a nearby room at first, till I realized that the machine could take care of itself. Clothes get clean, sounds are comparable to the new high efficiency front loaders (not bad at all) and I am hoping for years of laundry with this machine. I gave it four stars instead of five, as I can not attest to longevity and can review it again after a year. I am very glad I bought it.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

LESS THAN ONE STAR

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst washing machine I have ever owned. It takes more than an hour to wash a load of clothes. Washing clothes on the "Normal" cycle does not get the clothes clean. It has been ripping and tearing my towels to shreds. I have tried using different wash cycles and adding smaller loads, but every time I wash a load another towel, sock, or piece of clothing comes out ripped and torn. Maytag will not admit to any problem, however, I have been doing laundry for 40 years and I have owned several washing machines. This is the first washing machine I have owned that actually shreds my towels and clothing. Maytag will not do anything to replace the agitator or even admit that there is a problem with this machine.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Middleboro, Massachusetts

just wondering...

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i read a lot of the reviews about this machine before buying it...all were quite good except for one thing. So many complained about the fact that the top locked once the machine was in operation. Just wondering what the fuss is about. I see nothing to complain about. if you just simply push a button the door unlocks and allows one to put more in or whatever is needed to be done....close the top, push the start button again and presto...it starts again. Much ado about nothing. I think the machine is a great washer. Does a fabulous job with the cloths.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Gpt, Ms
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sorry excuse for a washer

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is by far the worse piece of machinery I have ever owned that is called a washing machine. Within the first 6 month's, a bearing/seal had to be replaced. OK, so stuff happens. Then, just after a year, the timer starts acting stupid along with the lid lock. Several cycles have quit working and the machine will lock up with the red lid lock light flashing, but it will not release the lid lock so that your load of laundry is held hostage. Calling Maytag is a waste of fresh air, time and phone lines. The machine is a little over a year old and is truly a piece of junk. Other posters have gone into the noise of the machine and the time it takes to run through the cycles. All true, when the thing is working. This will be the last anything we ever buy that is built by or caries the name Maytag. Our old (20yr plus) Kenmore washer did a better job with the clothes on it's death bed that this thing does being almost new. Do not buy one of these machines. You will be very, very disappointed.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Nassau, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I hate this machine!

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have only use it three times, and each time was a problem. First the machine has to scan. What it is scanning I don't know. But it seems to be quite a wait before it begins.
Most times I wait to make sure that it does start the wash. Last night it didn't. I pulled the plug and tried again. The lights went on and wash lit up, but that was it. I pulled the plug again, the wash lit up, the door lock lit up, but that was it again!
Had I realized there was an electronic scanner I never would have made the purchase. Just one more expense when it breaks down, and that it does quite well.
I have never had problems with a washer purchased in 50 years.
Please do yourself a favor and buy something else!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Gender:Male

Will never purchase anything made by Maytag again

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this machine for a eight months now and what a piece of junk it is. The washer determines the amount of water needed and it it never enough. It takes 3x to 4x longer to complete a load of wash as compared to my old one and things do not even come out as clean. Might save water, but I'm spending more in time and on electric. Now, if it says Maytag, I'm going in the opppsite direction. One can not get any lower then having a Maytag washer.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointed in quality brand name

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this machine because of the Maytag brand name. It is extremely noisy, takes an hour to do a load of laundry, and you cannot prefill tub while adding clothes, If I try to go back during a cycle, as to add a few minutes to the washing cycle, or decide to add more clothing and need to increase size of load, the machine will not just recycle itself. It empties itself, and restarts the whole process right from the beginning. I am buying a new washer for my mother today, and will definitely not purchase a Maytag. What a dissapointment in a brand I've known and trusted since I was a child. I would not consider buying any more Maytag merchandise. I had repairman come to my home to check the noise. He stated it was normal, and since nothing was wrong with the machine, that I should be charged for calling when there was no problem. Another ridiculous situation and insult to your customers. I've had people in my home while the washer is running and ask me what that "wierd" noise is.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

23 Months = Dead Timer

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
23 months old and the timer has died, quoted $250 parts/labor to replace.
VERY loud wash cycle.
Washes clothes well.
Do NOT recommend purchase.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Washer is adequate, but would not recommend to others.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wash cycle much too long. Load balance shut-off feature is too sensitive.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from new jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

I would not buy this again!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had the washer for just over 2 years. The washing machine "decides" how much water to put into the drum. It's often not enough. Many times, the detergent hasn't dissolved in the amount of water the machine provides (clothes have sticky white laundry detergent on them) and many times clothes do not come out clean. I'm talking about womens panties, clothes with food on them or dirt from gardening, kitchen towels, toddler's clothes... We have taken to using the soak cycle for most loads- which is not efficient because the machine will fill to the brim with water if you open the lid between soak and wash cycles. It also means every load takes hours to get through. We also have problems with laundry not being spun dry thoroughly enough. It doesn't matter what sort of clothes- these are not problems with just heavy loads or just jeans... I would just throw those dripping clothes in the dryer... Then I finally tried just putting the machine on only the spin part of the wash cycle and found that it usually spun out most of the water. These problems did not show up for the first couple of months, so to the people who review after using the machine for less than 10 loads- please come back after 6 months or a year and confirm or add to your review.
Today, the machine just stopped working- it's filled with water and won't do anything. I do believe that an appliance that cost over $400 should last longer than 2.5 years. I will most likely not trust Maytag in the future and will not purchase anything with that brand name.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Elk Grove, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

Broken 14 months after purchase

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mother board fried after 14 months; $180 for parts and $210 for labor plus diagnostic $129. Warranty expired and Maytag won't throw me a bone.
Sensor mechanism is a real pain, washed well.
Will never buy Maytag product again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought in 2011. Clothes came out super dirty as if not washed at all. Broke down within 8 mos.

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this washer for a cheaper price than most washers in 2011 because of the actual old-school spinner. It was the closest thing to the simple style washer I was accustomed to using most of my life. However, immediately after the first few washes I was greatly disappointed with the results. The clothes came out with the original stains. Much of our clothing came out dry as if water never reached the items, not to mention that many items came out just as dirty as when it went in. The locking system went kaputs after 8 months, and I had to utilize the extended warranty program paid in addition to the actual set of Maytags. The whole experience was very frustrating.
The repairman came to the house and told me the part (the motherboard) needed to be replaced and it was going to take a while to come in. This was right before the holidays (thanksgiving). I could not wait since I had children with lots of soiled clothes and linens piling up so I went out and bought a very expensive (interest-free) "SMART" washing machine and never looked back at our MayTag Centennial Washer. The machine is flimsy, unreliable, quirky and loud to say the least. I really didn't care for the locking device either especially after it broke , wouldn't not unlock and release until the repair man came. It was supposed to be a simple machine yet it pretends to be smart, and instead is extremely unreliable. Buyer beware you may end up with a lemon!
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Good product and good service. Definitely recomment the product and Home Depot.

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first washer purchase after 37 years with a "no repairs needed" washer. It is a no frills washer, but it does exactly what I want. I can set my water levels where they need to be based on the size and type load I have. The tub is plenty large for what I need and I find it is a quiet washer ( those little noises some complain about are really nothing). I especially liked the fact that Home Depot doesn't charge for delivery, set up and removal of my old washer. The delivery was right on schedule and the two men were courteous, professional, and efficient. They took care not to hit any walls and the entire process took less than 1/2 hour. I would definitely recommend Home Depot for serious consideration when purchasing an appliance. And all of this was done on line which was very convenient for me.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

horrible washer

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this washer because i was told that it was a great machine but i realize now i should have read reviews before i listened to the sales associate lol!!!!!!!!!!! Doesnt even get the clothes clean my clothes always come out with spots from the soap and fabric softener. I cant use bleach in it cuz for some reason it will leave bleach spots on the next load so nooooooo dont waste your money
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY THIS WASHER

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible Washer. I had for a few months, and had to call repairman because spin cycle would not work and clothes were sopping wet when cycle supposedly done. repairmen came out and said nothing was wrong that loads were too heavy, but same problem happened with light loads and heavy loads, Contiuned to have same problem for next year then warranty ran out and Maytag would not repair, (if they had repaired it when problem first occurred, then no later repairs would have been needed. now i have to buy new washer out of my own pocket. I will never purchase MAYTAG EVER AGAIN. I have a dryer also and it has numerous problems and only 2 years old Terrible product and customer service AWFUL
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, uses way too much water
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Centennial 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Lemont
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a great washer for the money!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just purchased this washer a week ago and I normally do 3-4 loads daily. Honestly, I think it works great. As I pull the clothes out to throw in the dryer they smell good and the spin cycle works great too.
The only thing I have to say that's a negative about this washer is that it's a little bit loud, not really, but kind of.
While the washer is running it sounds like a computer printer as it's washing the load. It sounds like that for 5 mins and then it's fine. It's not a big deal, but our last washer was so quiet. Again, that's the only thing I can say negative about it, but it works great. We are really happy we purchased it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>