728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Dirty laundry calls for a solid machine that can get the job done. This high-efficiency Centennial Top Load Washer features the IntelliFill automatic water level sensor and 11 automatic wash cycles to give you plenty of options. Low Water Wash with EcoConserve helps you save energy, while its spacious capacity means plenty of room for your largest loads. Inside, the stainless steel wash basket resists chips, scratches, and odors, as well as maintaining a smooth surface so it won’t snag or pill fabrics. You get all that and still use 70 percent less water and energy in a model that pays for itself in four years. This no-nonsense machine does what you want.
Overall rating:
3.766 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(1545 reviews) 1544
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product1,085 of 1,508reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,545 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(762)
4
(323)
3
(87)
2
(82)
1
(291)
Features 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product1,085 of 1,508reviews
Customer questions and answers:
55 Questions | 178 Answers
Customer reviews for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 Breakdowns in 13 Months

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Maytag washing machine based in large part on memories of my parents' Maytag machine that lasted forever. Sadly, they don't seem to make them like that any more... In 13 months of ownership, I have had two major breakdown issues with this machine.
The first issue happened about 2 months after purchase. After noticing a very strong, foul chemical odor coming from the machine for a few weeks, we discovered that there was an oily puddle underneath the machine. It turned out that the transmission had failed and leaked fluid all over our floor. The transmission was replaced under warranty, and the odor was mostly gone, but the machine was making an odd noise and clothes didn't seem to be completely wet at the end of the cycle. Turns out that the drive belt was slipping (big surprise - it was covered in transmission oil), so another service call was required to get the belt replaced.
The second issue occurred 13 months after purchase. Again, the first telltale sign was a puddle underneath the machine. This time, it was water. The main tub seal has now started to leak on the machine, and luckily, Maytag agreed to fix it under warranty ('as a one-time courtesy' they told me) due to my earlier issue with the transmission. After two service calls (one to diagnose the leak and order the part, one to install the new tub seal) the leak is gone, but guess what? In the process of replacing the tub seal, the transmission is now broken again and the impeller is not turning! This will be the second transmission in a machine just 13 months old! I am now stuck without a working machine and will have to go to the laundromat to do my laundry until the part arrives. The lack of reliability is appalling.
When the machine is working, wash performance is so so. I was happy about the idea of saving water with this machine, but have had problems with clothes coming out of the load partially dry and apparently not fully washed, or with what appears to be soap residue on the clothes. You DO need to read the manual and follow the directions listed in order to get decent results with this machine, but the manual is pretty vague in its guidance. A few tips based on real-world use of this machine:
- Set the 'Fabric Softener Added' setting to 'Yes', even if you're not using fabric softener. (This was recommended by the service tech - I don't know what it does, but the clothes do seem to be cleaner.)
- If you're washing heavy or bulky clothes that you know won't turn over well with the wash plate, use the 'Bulky' setting. The machine will fill up with water like the old machines you remember.
- The 'Delicate' setting seems to make the machine fill with more water. Perhaps this is to avoid the clothes rubbing against the wash plate and machine too much and damaging the clothes? Anyway, it's a good trick to know...
- For durable clothes like cottons, use the 'Heavy Duty' settings. Again, the clothes seem to get cleaner this way...
- If you want to get some more water to be added to the machine, wait for it to start the 'Wash' portion of the cycle, then pause the cycle and lift the clothes, fluffing them somewhat. The machine will sense that there's not enough water in the machine and will add a bit more.
I'd really like to be able to recommend this machine, but I have had WAY too many problems with it. The next time it breaks I will be buying a new machine from someone OTHER than Maytag / Whirlpool. Guess the reason you don't see the TV commercials with the Maytag repairman sitting around bored anymore is that he's not sitting around bored - he's really busy fixing sub-par machines!
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Missouri

A head scratcher

PostedApril 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
PROS: super quiet, low water usage, uses less soap, service manual included
CONS: goofy onboard computer, long cycle times, bad large load cleaning
As a different setup from traditional washers i was excited to see how much better this was than my 15 year old amana.I picked this one instead of the MVWx500X since its the same washer only difference was the 400w had dials and the 500x had electronic controls not worth the extra 100 bucks if you ask me. My first load was a very large heavy blanket after a couple minutes of loading it we were away (According to directions you must load garments on the side only and not the middle) You also notice in filling up the machine (sensing mode as displayed) that it spins the tub slightly 3-4 times to make sure its balanced than it switches over to wash mode.
When it started wash mode i noticed the bare bulb in my basement laundry room flickered everytime the tub turned
Uhh? So obviously this washer uses less water but more electricity even though the specs says it uses the same electricity than the old amana
But back to my blanket, I Stopped it halfway through the wash cycle to check on it (Like i do with most of my loads)
part of the blanket fell into the middle no big deal right?
umm.. it was BONE DRY what? What? Which tells me it has no up/down agtation only side to side which i was able to observe was very good. (once you set your dials/buttons and press start the onboard "computer" takes over and there is nothing you can do after the wash mode begins except stop/start and reset)So i tried putting water but since there is no water level dial/button was unable to do that.from a bucket i put some extra water started back on the wash mode Instead of washing again it started draining????? in middle of the wash cycle OK.
The other loads i did like shirts pants came out very clean no stains so this washer works...but not for everything One thing that irked me about this thing was the "computer" that controlled the washer. First you cannot open the lid until the tub completely stops. So you have to wait and wait (big waste of time) being "old school" what i mean by that is someone who watches there laundry wash instead of loading and forgetting about it. a BIG waste of time And the big one for me was how it worked in general. its acts like its confused all the time which in turn takes the whole cycle and extra 15 minutes longer than my old one to get done. uh..if the washer is on longer how is that more efficent? Another thing is the extra cubic foot of space you get. But the way you have to load clothes in this thing i cant put anything more extra than my old washer
Having said all that i feel very mislead by Maytag/Whirlpool.
I believe this is a good design but it needs more work/engineering to be a great washer
So do you buy this washer? Depends who you are, Say your a family of 4 or 5 NO. Say your a empty nester or live by yourself Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

I've tried to like it, but I just don't

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this washer for almost a year, and waited to write the review just to give it time and see how I liked it after using it for a while. The truth is, I didn't like this machine from the start, gave it time, and still don't care too much for it.
I mean,I don't hate it to the point of buying a new machine, but if someone asked me, I wouldn't reccommend it.
The problems I have encounted or just don't like about it:
*Just doesn't use enough water for my taste and there is no way to select water level. It senses the load and fills up accordingly (which means without much water): When I first started using this and would open it up, I couldn't even see the water in some cases. The clothes would be wet, but there was no standing water. There were even several instances when after the wash was finished, there were some of the clothes that never even got wet. I just didn't feel like the clothes were getting very clean. I finally started washing every cycle on bulky. That is the only way I have found that it get enough water in the drum.
*If I forget to put something in and want to run down and throw it in real quick, sometimes it takes quite a while for the lid to unlock. I know that's not a huge deal, but when your in a hurry it seems like it takes forever.
*Takes way to long to finish a cycle.
*With towels and whites, I like to add bleach to the wash cycle. I add it in the bleach dispenser. I have found that sometimes when I wash darks after a load of towels, some of my things will come out with bleach spots. I have ruined several items of clothing because of this. I think it's because of the way the bleach runs out and that there is not a lot of water to help rinse it away. I have remedied this problem somewhat by keeping a cup in my laundry room and pouring a cup of water into the dispenser after the bleach and wiping down the tub before I put in a load of darks after bleaching towels.
*I could leave the lid up on my old washer and it would stop at beginning of rinse cycle so I could add vinegar,etc. to rinse water. With the locking lid function with this one, I can't do that. There is a rinse and spin option and I have had to do this several times after already washing them because I couldn't catch the rinse cycle in time (would get busy and forget).
All in all, I have made this washer work and don't hate it bad enough to have to go to the trouble of replacing it. But when it goes kaput, I will do much more research before buying another washer. I would not buy this one or one like it again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Other reviews confusing

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is odd to read other reviews of this machine. Some say built in Mexico, mine said made in USA on the box, so yes, they could be built in both places. People talk about the motherboard going bad, this has a mechanical timer, I bought the machine because I had read of the cost of replacing the digital parts on the higher end machines and their likely shorter life.
One little thing that might be some folks problem with poor wash quality, it is a sensitivity issue, when you put the dial on regular wash, it is very easy to click past regular to express, once I noticed this, I just paid attention that I did stop on the first click.
I bought this not only for the mechanical timer and price, and the energy star rating, but it will easily wash king size quilts and comforters. In the past, had to go to the laundromat to do those, and I have washed these items often.
Another issue I read about is the fact that when you open the lid, it adds water when you close it. This is just how it works. It weighs the clothes in the basket to see how much water to add, this is the heart of the efficiency rating, it cuts out overusing hot water and saves on energy. When you open the lid, it overrides this feature and adds more water, as since it has already added some water, it cannot accurately weigh the clothes now. This is how I often will add more water to a load I think might particularly be very dirty, grass stains and dirt on socks, really dirty towels I might have wiped up a spill with, etc. But 90% of the time I just let the machine choose and I also do smaller to medium size loads as a rule. This is true for all machines, they are going to work better when not filled to the limit. I hope this lasts as long as my mom's Maytags, and not overloading any machine is a way to extend its life. My mom had two Maytags, one was still running when she died, and this is my second. I gave the first one away when it was 22 years old. Frankly, when they get to be over 20 years old, they do become a bit weak. But still would wash clothes. I figure that one I gave away probably did over 8000 loads and is still going. So I am 58 years old and have had my clothes washed by only four Maytags since I was a year old. The one I have now, this one, is three years old and has not had one issue.
I also have the matching Maytag Centennial dryer, it also works flawlessly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, High Quality, comforter setting, more durable mechanical timer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Stopped working the 5th day we owned it!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well, we bought this washer (on sale, thankfully). It was replacing a 4 year old washer that needed $300 in repairs, so we figured it would just be better to buy something new and more efficient.
I was SO excited when I did my first loads of laundry. The clothes came out clean and smelling great. No residue and really only damp, not wet like with other washers. Sure the wash cycle took a bit longer than my other washers, but it was made up for by greatly reduced dry time.
I was so NOT excited when, on the fifth day, of ownership the machine just sort of got stuck and stopped working mid-load. Of course, it was a Friday. Maytag sent someone out on Monday the next week to check it out. We had a mother board (main board, circuit board whatever it's called) failure. The part had to be ordered and installed and it would be a WEEK before they could get back out to do it. I lost a load of laundry and had a stinky house for nearly a week. Since the lid locks and we were told not to do anything with/to the washer till someone came out, there was no way to save the laundry and de-stink the washer till it got fixed.
Since I am the mom in a family of 5, I put in another call to Maytag and the nice lady rushed the part order and someone came out 3 days later on Thursday. Our washer is fixed and working again. It's been about 5 days of use again and so far it's back to working just fine.
I immediately ordered the extended warranty from the after the first failure. After learning the repair could have been $300+ if paid out of pocket, I was more than happy to pay just $99 to extend our warranty to the 5th year of ownership just in case this, or anything else, happens.
Also, PLEASE be sure to read the directions. This is a HE washer that does not have an agitator. You can't fill the machine with water while loading. You can't use liquid fabric softener without a Downy Ball. You can't use regular detergent- you have to use HE detergent. Don't use too much soap and don't expect bubbles. (I added this after reading so many comments by people who clearly don't know what an HE washer needs to operate correctly).
Pros: Energy Efficient, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Low Water Usage
Cons: Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

worst washer I have ever used

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-If I could give 0 stars, I would
-Have owned 13 months
-On 30th load, machine locked up: service call
-On 45th load, machine locked up AGAIN; this time repair co. couldn't even get it open. Three weeks later, new computer board finally arrived and was installed.
-I have studied the owner maual from cover-to-cover and tried every setting for every possible kind of load. I have found exactly ONE that does not leave 1. dry clothes, or 2. clothes left soggy, and that is the 'Normal', 'Heavy' setting.
-Too little water BY FAR, no matter what setting, and with locking lid, no way to 'add more water to load' as suggested by Whirlpool #yes, Whirlpool owns & manufactures 'Matag' now#
-Because so little water in wash cycles, rinse water is still quite dirty, even when a second rinse is selected.
-Also because not enough water, cannot use the Downy Ball, as it just dumps undiluted softener on top of clothes, and it does not disperse; I have to mix softener in a seperate container of water, then push the clothes down & away from center, just to get a puddle of water to pour it into.
-Since there is no way for the user to regulate the amount of water in drum #apparently it fills according to the weight of contents# there is no way to really know when to add the softener; it can be anywhere from 20 to 40 minutes, on the same laundry-basket-size load
-Also because of this, loads can take anywhere from 40 - 70 min. start to finish, and this is without the 'deep cleaning' or 'second rinse' setting selected.
-I read every review I could find online for nearly 2 weeks before I bought, when it was brand-new to the market, and they were all glowing. After the problems started, I went looking again, only to find scathing reviews and low scores on the very same websites I had visited before #saved in favs.# I thought at first maybe I just got a lemon, but virtually every neg. review I have seen revolves around the same issue I've listed.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, poor manual
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Stopped working after 9 months!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, I would like to say that I have nothing but nice things to say about Home Depot. My complaint is against Maytag. We purchased this washing machine on January 28, 2011. At the end of October, when it was 9 months old, it stopped spinning and draining. It was still under the manufacture's warranty so they sent out a repairman....and another...and another until today was our 8th visit. We are now 3 MONTHS into not having a working washing machine. Every imaginable part including the transmission (which was a $600 part and cost more than the washing machine itself) was replaced. As of today, it is still not working and there is nothing else they can do. Maytag has been terrible telling us that they would give us an additional year warranty (we had already purchased a 4 year extended warranty, but who wants a washing machine that doesn't work for months at a time and at this point there is no chance it will ever work again). After the 6th visit, they told us that they rely on their repairmen to be their "eyes and ears", but the repairmen have been saying for weeks that there is nothing else they can do. We've had 2 motherboards, a motor, a timer, belts, 2 actuator motors, springs, and a transmission replaced. The cost of parts alone could have purchased several new washing machines. We are currently waiting to hear from Maytag as to what they plan on doing to resolve this issue. We purchased a Maytag because my parents' washing machine lasted for 30+ years and it came highly recommended by family and friends. I would NOT recommend a Maytag at this point to anyone. It has been nothing but frustration the past 3 months.The repairmen have all said that they are made very cheap now with plastic parts. Check out Maytag's Facebook page where they have complaint after complaint about their products. Sad that we cannot trust American made products anymore.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I like this washing machine

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product because of the Maytag name. I did not research prior to buying. The day before delivery I decided to check reviews fully expecting that they would be mostly favorable. I was wrong. I was surprised and dismayed by the number of negative reviews. I had not realized that Maytag had been sold to Whirlpool until I read the reviews.
The first thing I did upon installation was to read all the instructions. I then washed a fairly heavy load of clothes(4 bath towels, 4 pairs of jeans, 2 hand towels and 2 face cloths. It took almost an hour to complete the load which made me wonder about the energy savings. During the spin cycle I thought the vibrating excessive but it was not prolonged. I thought maybe the installer had not leveled it properly. After the wash was finished I used a level to check and it was indeed leveled correctly.
I checked each item for dry spots because some reviewers had mentioned this. I found none. All the clothes were completely damp. The long wash was made up for by the short drying time. The spin cycle had removed so much of the water that the clothes dried in half the usual time.
I then washed what I thought was a light load so I selected the normal light cycle. When I checked for dry spots I found that a pair of workout pants did have a dry spot. The load had mostly cotton knit items. I am thinking that maybe I should have chosen the normal regular cycle. There was way less vibration during the spin cycle this time.
I washed a third load with fewer items than above selecting the normal light cycle again. This time there were no dry spots and hardly any vibration during the spin cycle.
The clothes came out clean and fresh smelling. I am happy with the performance of this washer. Hopefully it will remain so. I would recommend to a friend.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Low Water Usage, Quiet, Powerful, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Vibrates
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

So Far, So Good...

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This washing machine was a replacement for the first washer I bought from HD 7 months ago. I purchased the Centennial with the agitator and after 6 months, it simply stopped after filling up with water and never started again. I complained to HD, as I did not want to fix the new washer, I wanted to replace it. They had no more in stock with the agitator, so offered me this one instead. I can't tell you in 6 months it will still be running, but so far, so good. I have not had the issues others seem to have. I think the key is not to just dump your clothes in there, as is. You do need to layer it a bit so it has a chance to soak the clothes evenly and doesn't get lopsided. Also, I noted a few who had issues with the Downy ball. With all due respect, I don't think this has as much to do with the washer as it does with the ball. The ball needs a lot of movement and something to hit on to open it up and release the Downy. If the machine is overloaded, or if it doesn't get enough momentum to whack it open during the rinse cycle, it may open later on, when it's too late. I learned a good trick with my old machine, which actually had an agitator, but the ball still didn't always open. If you fill the ball with however much Downy you plan to use, then an equal amount of water and shake before tossing it in, the Downy is diluted and will not stain your clothes no matter when it opens up. And it is much more apt to open when it's suppose to because the contents are heavier and there is more weight to pop open the top during the rinse cycle. Good luck and yeah...so far I am liking my new machine. :)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Beaumont, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this washing machine on 3/11. I hate this machine! It is loud, it does not spin dry the sheets or towels. It takes at least 2 times to spin it to dry. On top of that I have been having spots on our cloths so I thought perhaps it was the soap. I finally got fed up and went back to Home Depot thinking that it will be a hassel getting anything done on this. I spoke to the store manager and showed him what it does to our clothing. He suggested I call someone out to have the machine checked. When the repair man came out he took the machine apart and he said whoever put the machine together at the factory used too much gease and that is why it is putting spots on our cloths. I went back to Home Depot and spoke to the manager again and told him what they said. He told me from the begining that he would be willing to work with me and boy did he. He made sure that Maytag would take back my machine and repair it so he would not be out of
anything. Once Maytag said yes he called me and told me to come back and pick another washer. I might add that when I called Maytag to have someone come out the person told me the reason why the machine is putting spots on my cloths is because I use fabric softner! Really... So Maytag is not the best with people skills. I am so pleased with Home Depot and all the help I received from them. Home Depot manager has been amazing. Great customer service. I would not every recommand this machine to anyone......... I hope this helps anyone who is thinking of buying it. I now have the Maytag Bravo and I love it :)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Albany, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I see no problem

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm really unsure why this washer has received such bad reviews. I have had this machine for over a month and have waited to write a review just to be sure I honestly feel the way I do about the machine.
If you read the instructions and operation instructions you will have a much better understanding of this machine.
Yes it does make a different noise than the traditonal washers however once I became use to the different sounds it doesn't make any more noise than my old washer did.
I have never once had a problem with the clothes not getting clean. The water fill level works much different than the traditional style washers. Maybe some of these complaints of the clothes not being wet it because 1) you either did not read instructions and filled the clothes wrong in the basket or 2) you have over filled the washer as I read one review with all the clothes they put in the washer I would never do that to a washer.
I don't think this washer takes any longer to wash a load of clothes than my old washer took unless it is a larger, bulky load such as jeans and I'm still not sure if it is longer.
My clothes have always come out clean...maybe unclean clothes could be from the type of laundry detergent you are using. You must use detergent that is HE..not the cheap laundry deterent from like Dollar Tree.
Also if you read the instructions you can unlock the washer...you need to read and follow directions and I do believe that you will enjoy this washer for many years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unhappy with the performance

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this machine and have not been pleased at all. Below are the reasons:
*It takes 57 min. to complete a medium or normal size load. I called to place a service call but Maytag assures the 57 min. to be accurate.
*When using the normal cycle the tub does not fill up with water for the rinse cycle. The tub spins and squirts in water. It does not remove all the soap. (I use liquid soap) - the owners manual does state this. I did not read the owner's manual before purchase! So, to get the cycle to fill the tub for rinse, I wash my loads on Heavy.
*Due to the lid locking it is not possible to put in the clothes and soap while the water is running in. So, if I fail to set the timer to add the soap - I have missed the cycle. When adding the soap first and placing the clothes on top, the soap does not rinse out throughly, then I have to run the load again.
*There is no reset option. If the load has started and 10 min. into the wash cycle I want to add a couple of items, I cannot restart the wash cycle. The machine starts where it left off. So, I can waste additional water, by having to do another load, instead of the machine being able to be set to the start of the wash cycle.
Maytag stated the changes from their washer of 2 years ago are due to EPA re: water efficency.
I fail to see how running the washer for 1 hour to complete a cycle and then having to rerun the load to remove all the soap is efficient. I am disappointed with this purchase.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Indiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't let the bad reviews scare you!

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am VERY picky when it comes to my laundry.
After reading what seemed like a million reviews of this washer, we decided to give it a shot. I've been using it for a couple of months now and have zero complaints. I flipping love this thing! We got a great deal through home depot with free delivery, installation, and removal, and was also able to save an additional 10% with a promo code. The deal was so good in fact that a competitor who advertises "price matching" would NOT match this price. Anyway -- Like many reviewers before have said: If you read the instruction manual, you will like this machine. There's really nothing difficult about it. It does make different noises than my old washing machine but they're not unusually loud or obnoxious. The clothes are ALWAYS clean. The washing machine doesn't smell musty (I remember reading that) The water level sensor seems to be working perfectly. I can throw in a load of 4-5 towels or my entire bedding set (Full size - sheets, comforter, pillow cases) and it all gets thoroughly washed. I remember reading complaints about the Downy Ball staining clothes. This did happen 1 time to me. The ball got tangled in my pants leg and the softener was not rinsed well from the pants so I just re-washed the load. Not that big of deal. That happens in any washing machine that you use a downy ball in. I would definitely recommend buying this product. I love it.
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The worst new product purchase I have ever made.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
From the first day we brought this washing machine home it was obvious it was a bad purchase.
1. When you start a load of clothes the lid locks. You can not open the lid to add that one last item without stopping the cycle, waiting for the lid to unlock then restarting the cycle.
2. It takes FOREVER to wash a load of clothes. From 1 hour for a short cycle to well over 2 hours for the full heavy duty cycle.
3. It doesn't do a good job of cleaning clothes. I thought low water consumption was a good idea. In reality, it just doesn't clean clothes well.
4. The first break down was at about 6 months old. The transmission failed. Maytag did pay for repair since it was under warranty. I went to the laundry mat for 2 weeks while waiting for parts to arrive and the service man to return.
5. The second break down was at about 7 months, the main circuit board this time. Again it was under warranty so Maytag paid for it. Again I had to use the laundry mat while waiting for parts.
6. The next break down was after the warranty expired. 23 months old. The transmission again. I paid for the diagnosis but I'm no longer willing to pour bad money after good. After several phone calls to Maytag trying to get them to pay for repairs, I gave up. I hauled it down to a used appliance store and brought home an old fashioned used standard washing machine.
Maytag is not the company it use to be. Buyer beware.
Cons: Not Durable, takes to long to complete a cycle, it's a maytag.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+44points
47out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Colorado Springs

For a large family -- a waste of money and time!

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this washing machine a little over a year ago trusting the Maytag brand. BIG mistake. It is horrible and frustrating. We have a family of 5, soon to be 6, and this machine was and is a waste of money because we first spent money to purchase it then and now it's a waste of money because it NEVER fills more than half way with water, no matter the load size, and as a result my clothing don't come out clean. So, to remedy the problem I have to rewash clothing. Which defeats the purpose of buying it for "efficiency". I am wasting both water, soap, and softener, and my time. Which when you have small children is almost worse than wasting your money. It's a waste of time because if I want it to fill more, I have to hang around the laundry room waiting for it to finish it's original fill cycle then lift the lid, which will cause it to fill more, but who has the time? And if I leave the room and forget and come back too late, I have to rewash just to get the clothes cleaner, but truth be told, it doesn't even clean well. Should have stuck to our other washing machine brand with load levels I could control and a better cleaning capacity. This is not a machine that I would recommend to anyone and really wish I could just unload it and get a new one. Total pain and total waste of time and money yet again!
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

very frustrating

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband purchased this washer a couple months ago when our old maytag stopped working after many years. Since we had good luck with our old one we opted to go with Maytag again. Now after a few months I think it was a mistake. I like to add about 1/4 bleach to some of my load when I'm doing towels, sheets or anything that I think could use some sanitizing. Tonight it ruined my third item. I had a brand new shirt, not even worn, that I threw in with some towels and when I took it out it out to hang up for drying I noticed it had a big bleach stain on the sleeve. This has happened twice before and after the first time I thought I may have inadvertently dripped some bleach onto the clothes, so since that time I have been so careful. I know for a fact that I didn't drip any bleach on my clothes both the second time and tonight . I guess in the future I will no longer be able to use chorine bleach.
If we had know that more about this washer I definitely would not have purchased it. Although generally it washes things fine I don't like the fact that I am no longer able to use chlorine bleach, I don't like the locking mechanism and delay in being able to open it once a cycle is in progress.
If I had it to do over again I would purchase a non-high efficiency washer.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Quieter than our old agitator. Good buy

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This washer was bought on special, and therefore had more features than others at that pricepoint. Compared to our old agitator washer, this one is more quiet by far. The house is an older house so the washer is housed in the kitchen. This washer makes washing clothes a lot more bearable. People can watch tv in the living room without having to close the doors to the kitchen. The washer does vibrate/shake a bit but I haven't seen a top loader that doesn't. I haven't experienced "hopping" as one reviewer says and I don't feel as if the walls are in danger. I currently like the results so far from washing clothes. I feel like my clothes are clean and fresh. Overall I say this washer is a good buy and upgrade, especially if you get it for a great price.
After reading people's reviews I feel like some may be using the washer improperly and may even be using the wrong soap i.e. not HE soap or maybe too much soap.
One thing that could be a con is that if you pause the cycle so you can add another item or something, you only have a short time before the cycle "forgets" itself and you have to start over. This isn't a problem to us and really if you forget something mid way through the cycle you might as well just put it in another load.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Kansas City
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So far, we're pleased.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading all the negative reviews here, we almost didn't purchase this machine; and only time will tell the reliability story. After ordering online and waiting two weeks for delivery to our rural home, there was a considerable stack of laundry to be done. Delivery guys were extremely cordial, quick, and informative. About 15 minutes after their arrival, we were running the "Clean Machine" mode with the included substance, which gave us some clue as to all the weird noises and the occasional silence. Following the instructions, the wife blew through two weeks worth of laundry in about six hours. I couldn't resist opening the lid (YES, it CAN be done--follow the instructions), and was amazed at how little water was being consumed. And, YES, all the clothes were wet and were being washed. Everything came out clean, including heavily soiled work clothes. The final spin cycle extracts so much water that the clothes were barely damp, reducing dryer time drastically. The noise level is somewhat distracting initially, but actually seemed to reduce with use--or we became accustomed to it--not sure which. We did purchase the extended warranty due to all the reviews indicating reliability issues.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, water/energy efficient
Cons: noise level
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from La Grange Park, Illinois

Easy to operate, cleans clothes well

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just received this washer a few days ago, and after several loads of laundry I feel confident in recommending it. It is very easy to use. I was accustomed to a 35-year-old Maytag that had only three cycles, so I didn't want something too high tech or complex. Let me stress that you do have to read the manual to determine which cycle is appropriate, as there are many options and they aren't always what you'd logically choose for certain types of items. I really don't understand the comments about clothes coming out dirty or dry. If you follow the instructions and use the correct type of detergent (HE) and cycle you won't have any problems. The wash time is a bit longer and the machine makes some strange sounds at times, and doesn't appear to be doing anything at others. But again, this is all explained in the user manual.
The Home Depot shopping experience was very positive overall. Our salesperson was extremely helpful and knowledgeable, the delivery and haul-away service was efficient and professional, and we paid an outstanding price after price matching and a rebate from our local electric utility. All in all, we'd definitely purchase another appliance from Home Depot.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good bang for the buck!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We replaced an 18 year old Whirlpool, and with two children in the house we needed a quick replacement. Washers are like cars, they change significantly between purchases. Needed to not spend a fortune or have anything fancy, just need something that did a good job and that would be reliable. I wash an average of 8 -10 loads of laundry per week. The settings offer a lot of options. The washer makes lots of clicking and growling noises, but it is just the way of these new creatures. The washer is in the basement so I don't hear it - but note that it is NOT unusually loud, just different kinds of noises than the old washer - spin cycle is nearly silent. I was advised by the salesman to load as specified in the owners manual, start the washer, and walk away. That's what I do, and I've had absolutely no problems. Do not be misled by wrinkling, it spins the clothes dryer, requiring less drying time - and if you're drying the wrinkles are a non-issue. It does require high efficiency detergent - but, I'm already finding that I use less detergent. Clothes come out smelling clean. Read the manual, follow the instructions, and you should be very pleased with the washer.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>