728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Flashlights & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight

18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight

The Ryobi One Plus Xenon 18-Volt Spotlight features a high-intensity beam for superb lighting in dim areas. This 2,800-lumen light runs up to 60 minutes with Ryobi 18-volt ONE+ high capacity lithium-ion batteries (not included). Designed with a lock-on, the light can be used continuously without having to hold the trigger switch.
Overall rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
Review 1 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from St. Pete, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SPOTLIGHT IS SPOT ON!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This spotlight is really a great buy. Very bright, light weight and lasts for hours and hours. I recommend it to anyone needing portable light. Easy to swop out battery if you run low. Ryobi is good stuff!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best work light ever.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light is extremely bright. Perfect for looking underunder your home or seeing objects great distance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Light Weight, extremely bright light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Tehachapi, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Handy

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great purchase and great value! We bought this light for our 1 1/2 acre property to spot critters at night. It exceeded our expectations and has a great distance. We have had alot of entertainment shining the light into the trees and watching the raccoons scramble away. We spotted many deer too, still waiting to see the wild boar. The lock on the trigger is handy so you don't have to continuously squeeze to keep the light on. Battery lasts a while and is handy because you can switch it out with other "Ryobi One+" tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight

Clarification why the bulb is not replaceable.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To everyone who dislikes the fact that the bulb is not replaceable you need to realize that this type of bulb has to be very carefully handled. If you get fingerprints on the HID by replacing it it will break from the heat difference in the oils from your fingerprints on the glass. Also the Bulbs are very expensive and most good ones like this are around $50 or more to replace. So if you're replacing a $50 bulb in a $50 light that you have to treat like its a fragile explosive isn't it just easier and nicer to get a whole new light with the bulb in it and a fresh brand new clean tool? Also to those who say its dim at first you shouldn't knock off stars because of that complaint because HID bulbs have about a minute of warm up period until they reach 100 percent brightness. Overall this is a great light and I hope I helped clarify why the bulb is not replaceable. I've seen people break these HID bulbs in cars because they touched them when installing them.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Spot Light for searching

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have used it numerous times to look for our cat when it goes missing. It works great in long distances.
I very much recommend this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No Problems

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one of these for at least 2 years and still works. I don't use it everyday, because it's really just too much light. It's heavy and almost blinding at close range. A lot of other people find fault with a non-replaceable bulb, but HID bulbs are more durable than standard xenon bulbs and last longer. The bulb can replaced: just take it anyone familiar with small electronics. It does eat up batteries, especially the old NiCad (yellow & black) ones. I get around an hour or better from one of the large lithium batteries. I use mine primarily to spot pigs with. I took a piece of red stained glass (DO NOT use plastic!) and ground it to the size of the lens and it works great & preserves my night vision. I can set it on the ground and it lights up quite a ways ahead while I'm taking the shot. The brightness of most LED's diminishes when under red filtration, but this stays pretty bright. Only downside is lugging around around 4 big batteries, but at least I can keep it running. When the rechargeable lights die, they're out of action until being plugged in. I've used it in a slight drizzle, but I'm not sure how environment-proof this light is. But, it's about 1/10th the cost of a tactical HID searchlight, what would you expect? I do wish Ryobi would make an LED light on the One+ system. Using Cree XML U2's in 3 separate reflectors and have an infinite dimmer from 1 to 1800+ lumens. I think I'd get a lot more use out of one of those! (Hint...)
Pros: Very Bright, replaceable batteries, inexpensive
Cons: too bright for some applications
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great very bright

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Its a little overpriced burt i got it a great price of 25 dollars which quite frankly is what is is worth
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very bright! Like that I can use my ryobi batteries for this light!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sheding light on a great product!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bright, clean light... great for attic work, auto repair and camping trips! Great product, great addition to my Ryobi toolkit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Grayslake, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light…if it keeps working

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
First off, the beam on this light is just incredible. I also have the older P715 spotlight, and the xenon p716 puts it to shame. No comparison. Brighter, whiter light, reaches farther, greater area. It's awesome.
BUT
The bulb burnt out after 2 months. And I only rarely used it, there was maybe 20 minutes of runtime on the lightbulb total for that entire duration. I called Ryobi to inquire about a bulb replacement, and they told me there are no user serviceable parts. That's right! It's a flashlight with a NON REPLACABLE BULB! They recommended I contact a local service center, who were unable to help (they only dealt with engines).
Fortunately, I was within my 90 day window and Home Depot allowed me to return it, so I've got a new light and another 90 days for it to burn out. If this one breaks too, I'm just gonna get my money back.
It's an awesome light, but I feel like I'm gambling regarding whether or not it'll work when I need it.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from TX
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Spotlight!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several rechargable spotlights. My biggest problem with them is that I do not have the time to make sure and charge them all the time, so when I occasionally need them, they are dead or the batteries go bad from lack of use/charging. With this light, my batteries are always ready since I have several of the batteries and they stay on the multi-port charging station. If I happen to use the light heavily one night, I can just pop in another battery and off I go with a fresh, strong light. And this light is really, really bright and powerful! In my opinion and for my use, it is perfect. The only weird thing is that it starts kind of dim, but quickly grows much brighter.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from CA East Bay

excellent spotlight

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent light for camping, boating, or even public safety work. Don't throw away your older lithium batteries that no longer charge fully. This light will operate with them with no difference in brightness, only slightly less run time. A good addition to this light is the 12v DC in-vehicle charger so you can take the light anywhere.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Huntsville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi light illuminates what you need to see!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product. Bright image. Rugged and
Easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight

Excellent; fast delivery, lowest price, free shipping, great product.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd order from HomeDepot.com. The order came in sooner than estimate. The Ryobi P716 is an arc type zenon that produces 4x the light output per watt of halogen. This is the same style bulb used in luxury cars. We had a power outage and this flashlight is capable of lighting up an entire room. I have the large lithium batttery (48WH) and it lasted at least an hour at full brightness. I strongly recommend HD and this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Uniontown, PA 15401, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely bright, but no 2,800 lumens.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great run time on the High Cap battery. I ran it for about two hours with no problem other than the heat radiance from the xenon bulb, but it's a bit impractical and heavy for anything other than wondering through a pitch black house.
If you need an area illuminated, I would just buy a $15 Cree headlamp on Amazon or Ebay before blowing $40 on a spotlight that would be more fitting for hunting, fumbling through a pitch black house, or bothering annoying drivers riding too close to your bumper. If you intend on using it for work, it's completely impractical due to the inability to mount it to anything, it's large shape and rounded edges make it unlikely to set it somewhere without it falling over. Just get a cheap headlamp unless you absolutely MUST have the entire Ryobi One+ collection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, moderately bright
Cons: Limited Features, Too Heavy, limited uses, limited practicality
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from graham wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The trigger is very sticky, at times it does not release

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An average product but not an average check that I had to write for it.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight

works great

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ryobi has a good product in this addition to the One 18v line.
Pros: Durable, All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Fairview, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Felt good about giving this to my Son-in-law

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
High quality, love the lithium batteries for long life. The spotlight was in addition to a cordless drill. This will be great for camping.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Aloha, OR

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this spotlight. It can light up a whole room no problem. I use it consistently while working in the theatre to check on back drops. I recommend this to anyone that needs portable light and lots of it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One Plus Xenon Spotlight
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Light --However

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This light is superior to all the others that Ryobi has produced HOWEVER it has one major flaw. The bulb is NOT replaceable and one drop and your out your money. I emailed Ryobi and they confirmed that the bulb is NOT replaceable.. thus I am returning this great light back to Home Depot. It does everything I want in a light however I have never had a light that the bulb didn't go out, or was bumped in construction use and had to be replaced. This is a shame on the design, it is great bright value however not worth throwing away with a burnt or broken bulb. Sorry Ryobi you missed on the design of this one.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>