728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

The Worx GT 2-in-1 Li-Ion Trimmer/Edger provides a wide range of quick and intuitive adjustments to perfectly fit your individual comfort and perform tasks you couldn't do with any other cordless weed trimmer edger. Now you'll get the same great Worx performance-with 25% more available energy. It's all thanks to the Lithium-Ion battery technology. The new Worx GT WG165 features a compact, quick charging Lithium-Ion battery pack that lasts 3 times longer than typical cordless weed trimmer edger. The ErgoSum Design Technology creates an optimal position while gripping the tool, allowing users of all sizes to work with both arms extended for maximum comfort during prolonged operation. The shaft length adjusts with a simple twist and pull, while the trimmer head can be tilted 0 to 90 degrees without any tools or buttons. Flattening the trimmer head and adjusting the front handle allows easy trimming underneath low-lying objects. And the Storage Space-Saver design allows full and quick collapsibility provides space-saving storage.
Overall rating:
3.095 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product21 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(7)
1
(12)
Features 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product21 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Coshocton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

don't buy this junk

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My first electirc weed eater and I was soooo excited, but the battery charger is junk, it is hard to see and the battery life is about 12 seconds if you are lucky, It gets hot and stops. I have no problem with the spools but I can not find a new battery and I am afraid to buy another one for fear it won't last any longer then the first one does. Worxs need to refund as a defective weed eater battery!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Jefferson, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't Buy

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible product. I purchased an additional battery and neither one last more than 5 minutes. What a waste of money. This trimmers was a piece of junk. I will go back to a gas trimmer. My research indicates Tanaka and Hitachi make very good trimmers, both getting great consumer reviews.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Cocoa, FL 32926, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it. Work's 20 minutes and always has line ready.

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use it as a trimmer and edger. It is lighter, easer and little sound. I have a large counter lot which takes two chargings. One for trimming and one for edging with some charge left. The line always automaticly advances correctly and 1 spoll lasted around 200 minutes. The line cut very well and is easy to respoll. I have used the Worx 2-in-1 24v Li-Ion trimmer/edger for over 3 months. It fits my needs very well. After 20 minutes I ready for a break also. O charge time is about 90 min.My gas trimmer took longer to cut my yard and could not edge (and was quite a hassel).
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not happy with it.

PostedMay 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not perform as advertised. Chews off the grass instead of cutting it. Does not have the power to do a good job. Have to hold it in one place for a while waiting for it to cut, very tiresome.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Nc
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My first electric trimmer. This trimmer is built like a kids fisher price toy. Keep away from this product. Poor battery life, poor build, poor performance.... Spend the extra money and invest in a nice gas trimmer. If I could leave negative stars, I would.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Fairfield County CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery Life is an Issue

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after my gas trimmer died. I am tired of the gas/oil life and thought this would be the answer, well almost. The infomercial says you can can go around a football field twice. My yard is no where near the size of a football field so I figured I was good to go. I'm sorry to say, it ain't so. The battery has been through several complete drain and recharge cycles but it still does not make it around my 75'X144' yard.
Maybe if you walk fast and hold the trimmer above the ground you can make it around the football field twice, but if the trimmer is actually doing work (trimming grass), It's not going to make it.
The string is good, I am surprised at how long the first spool is lasting, I like the adjustability, and I especialy like the no gas/oil feature.
I would recomend the Worx GT for it's features and durability, however, be warned the battery life is short.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Not good if you have more than 1/8th acre

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product does everything it says it will...for about 10-12 minutes. You have to buy a new expensive battery every year and you cannot get the replacement spools at my local store, I have to order weed-trimmer line online...doesn't do much good in the middle of lawn day.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Sunny Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Take a chance?

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've owned the WG151 Worx 10" 18v Ni-Cad Cordless Grass Trimmer/Edger for 2 years. I purchased a combo pack 3 pieces with 3 batteries. The one battery is good for about 10 minutes and you have to use the battery right after you charged them up, they will go dead in 2 days if not used. I have to use all 3 batteries for my small yard, 70x40. The weed eater would not advance the line and I would have to manually do it myself. Maybe the line that came with the package was old and brittle, because as soon as the line would meet any type of rock or metal, the line work shatter with ease. So I gave up and purchased a craftsman gas trimmer and this lasted less than 2 cuttings before it had starting problems and I went back to the Worx trimmer. I want to upgrade to the 24 Volt Lithium Trimmer, the reviews state it holds a longer charge and the line advances automatically. I will give Worx another chance. I do like the ease of grabbing a battery and the light weight trimmer and no loud noise.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, line weak, battery life weak
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Hummelstown, PA

Can't hold a charge.

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had one of these trimmers for 2 years now and even went to HD and purchased a back battery. I'm buying a gas trimmer for the following reason.
The batteries don't hold a charge and I have found that you have to use the battery right after it is charged. If you let it sit for a week the battery dies. Even after a full charge it doesn't hold it very long.
During the first year of use I probably used it all of a dozen time before I started having battery issues. Even the back up I purchased last year dies if not used after a full charge.
Don't waste your money on Worx. It did a nice job at first.
It isn't that light weight and the balance is okay. It's a pain to adjust.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Battery Powered Trimmer-Battery life too short (30 mins)

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used the trimmer twice since buying & both times the battery has only lasted 30 mins. I need it to last longer in order to complete both front & back yards. I am using it on grass only, nothing heavy duty. The line feeds really well, I like that just fine! The edger is great, it's the reason I purchased it. But unfortunately, I need longer battery life without having to purchase an additional battery. I am contemplating returning the trimmer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, battery life to short!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Boise ID

This is my second one. Love it.

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the original worx grass trimmer for about four years. I liked it very much. It is light weight, easy to use,super easy to start, and simple to change the string when it gets used up.
The only problem I had with it was that I would run out of power before I finished my trimming. With this new lithium battery, the charge lasts for the whole job and it is more powerful from the start.
I am 68 years old and this is a trimmer I can use on my own.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Montgomeryville, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Worx trimmer that I purchased in 2010 has not lived up to expectations. First, the charge time is lengthy (about five hours), and the usage time is short, (about 20 minutes). Also, the spools have proved to be a problem. There is not much line, and often I have to pull the line out of the spool becuase it does not lengthen automatically. Today, my second battery died. I will not be replacing the battery because I can buy a more durable trimmer for only a few dollars more. I would not recommend this product.
Cons: short charge life, not much line on spools, short battery life: about a year and half
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Loveland, Ohio

Great tool for large property maintenance.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had the trimmer a short time. However, I have used it extensively around our property. We have more then two acres with many trees. I've trimmed around all trees, walks, and beds twice on one battery charge. An ideal tool for yard maintenance where an electric cord is impractical.
Don’t expect it to do what a high powered gas trimmer or edgers are capable of though. I think this is the reason some are disappointed.
Bottom line, it was a grate choice for me. Would recommend it highly to friends.
+9points
27out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Lightweight, easy to use

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works extremely well for an average yard. Switching from trimming to edging is a snap - takes about 5 seconds. Best of all, it won't break your back like others. The only negative experience so far is trying to use in grass about 1 ft tall. It does not have the power to whack field grass down, but great for reg lawns.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from LaPorte, Indiana

This is a fine tool for trimming.

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife purdhased this unit for me as an early father's day present. I have only used it a few times but it works very well for the size lot I have ( about a half acre). It trims the entire yard with ease. it is easy to clen after use and the sorage holder is a good idea. I would recommend the trimmer to others.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from TALLADEGA ALABAMA

NOT RECOMENDED

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE PRODUCT IS VERY POORLY MANUFACTURED AND I ONLY GOT 15 MINUETS OUT OF THE BATTERY THREE TIMES THAT I TRIED TO USE IT. THE ONLY THING, IT IS LIGHT WEIGHT.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what the doctor ordered

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a small yard and it only takes about 20-30 minutes to take care of all weed trimming with this product. It did better than I expected. It fed the line out with no problems and had enough power to do the job. It is light wieght too. What else can you ask for? I already have an electric edger so I did not use that function.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Burney, CA 96013, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight, easy to use and 2/1 features are a snap!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read all the reviews about the battery life and have no
problems in the first month of use. I followed the manual first charge instructions and have run the battery til fully
discharged, allowed time for the battery to cool and then
recharge the battery. Each charge has lasted over 45 minutes which is plenty of time to trim and edge both of our
large lawns. Also, I do not store the battery on the trimmer.
So far, there are no issues with the auto-spooling system.
This cordless trimmer is so much easier to use than our gas trimmer! Being so lightweight my wife can easily use
the trimmer! I wish we'd bought the Worx GT sooner!!
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from California

Excellent trimmer

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been through 3 trimmers in the past 2 years. This one is by far the best. The wheels on it make it easier to cut a straight edge on the lawn. The battrey lasts a long time. I have yet to have it run out of power.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weak line / keeps breaking..!!

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is easy to use, lightweight and has many advantages over gas powered trimmers. I spend a lot of time re-fishing the line through the spool-hole because it breaks often while edging.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>