728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

The Worx GT 2-in-1 Li-Ion Trimmer/Edger provides a wide range of quick and intuitive adjustments to perfectly fit your individual comfort and perform tasks you couldn't do with any other cordless weed trimmer edger. Now you'll get the same great Worx performance-with 25% more available energy. It's all thanks to the Lithium-Ion battery technology. The new Worx GT WG165 features a compact, quick charging Lithium-Ion battery pack that lasts 3 times longer than typical cordless weed trimmer edger. The ErgoSum Design Technology creates an optimal position while gripping the tool, allowing users of all sizes to work with both arms extended for maximum comfort during prolonged operation. The shaft length adjusts with a simple twist and pull, while the trimmer head can be tilted 0 to 90 degrees without any tools or buttons. Flattening the trimmer head and adjusting the front handle allows easy trimming underneath low-lying objects. And the Storage Space-Saver design allows full and quick collapsibility provides space-saving storage.
Overall rating:
3.095 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product21 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(7)
1
(12)
Features 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product21 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Review 21 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Sacdan
from California

Excellent trimmer

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been through 3 trimmers in the past 2 years. This one is by far the best. The wheels on it make it easier to cut a straight edge on the lawn. The battrey lasts a long time. I have yet to have it run out of power.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
sss42169
from kansas

EXCELLENT!

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot tout the praises of this trimmer enough. It's light, doesn't vibrate your arm off your body, the charge is long lasting, it's quiet enough for me to work at 6:15 in the morning and not make my neighbors mad.....I love this trimmer! I've recommended it to many people already and will continue to do so. Awesome!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
NEIL1
from MI.

WORKS REAL GOOD

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS GRASS TRIMMER WORKS REALM GOOD
HOLDS CHARGE GOOD AND EDEGES FINE I WOULD BUY ANOTHER
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
GeneP40
from Texas

Easy to use.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works very well. The 24volt lithium makes a huge
difference over the 18volt. The only thing it really needs is a guide for the edger. It is so light that trying
to edge in a straight line is difficult. An edge guide would make a huge difference.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Jesse

Great cordless product

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, once the battery is charged its ready to go to work. The Worx GT 24 volt lithium battery did not disappoint. I did not notice a drop in power after 30 and 45 minutes of use.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
NoXqss808
from Paris, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worx GT 24V

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
With all guys getting a new tool, I was excited but was concerned about all the reviews on the battery so I decided not to use the "man's" approach and actually read the instruction manual. Well, couldn't find anything about charging the battery the "first" time for 12 hours like I read for other reviews, so I stayed with what I read in the instruction manual. Charged it for 3-5 hours or in this case until the light came green. Unplugged it, since it was late I had to wait until morning to try it out.
Next morning, put the battery back on the charger just to see if it would turn "red" but it didn't so I took it off the charger and headed for the fun. I have a pretty big yard (about 2 acres). I was able to trim along my house, down my driveway, and about 1/20th of my road front. Overall, not too impressed with it. I could only imagine if I bought the lesser voltage battery types available! Then I got to thinking about the infomercial...they cut 2 or 3 times around the football field. When have you ever seen a football field that has crabgrass, weeds, or even tall grass? This Worx Grass Trimmer (GT) is just that, only for "grass" If I wasn't having to wack down thick grass or weeds, then the load would have been minimal on the battery and probably lasted me at least my front yard but this trimmer is more for a yard that is already manicured and needs no "professional" strength.
MY SUGGESTION TO WORX: Can you make it dual power accepted? Be able to attach a cord to it until you've gone too far (in length on the power cord) to unplug and keep going? Then and only then, would my yard get done with just one charge. Until then, this product is only good for those with manicured lawns already like the infomercial "golf grass" if you will.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
BLMS

Lightweight and versatile

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this trimmer. It's easy to switch from edger to trimmer and it's easy to use. Auto feed works well and it's so quiet.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
YardGuy
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small or medium size yard

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great trimmer if you have a small or medium size yard! Quality product. It gets the job done for trimming and the line feeds automatically. The edger works well if you have a steady hand. Sometimes I go over the edging twice to make it look the way I want. I charged the battery for 5 hours before the first use and always disconnect the battery from the tool in between uses. It has not died on me and I've had it going strong for 45 min to an hour after full charge. I've only used it 3 times so far, but I'm happy with it. The battery hopefully continues to perform over time.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
WesternMD
from Western MD

15Min Battery and very unbalanced to use

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot great to deal with.
Worx unit max 15 min use with the best 24volt battery
Very unbalanced to use. Handle too far up on shaft I am blown away that no one at Worx feels the same way about it being unbalanced. Two of my friends bought this unit also and said the same thing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
jenny
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

waste of money,and time

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
plz dont buy..the commercial is great,it had me sold..battier last 3 mins..called them they replaced battier with new improved battier,ok that might last 5mins..
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Alan
from Spout Spring, VA

Has good features

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The biggest thing is the light weight. I was impressed with that. Also adjustable head as well as the handle. I am impressed with this WORX product and intend on buying other products they produce. Al C.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
SamFL1
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worx GT 165 -

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, good quality seems to hold up very light.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: line feeder
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
DeeDef
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worx 24 Lith Trimmer

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery life does not last very long, I am very disappointed with it, I thought it would work better than it does, I need to buy another battery, but at a $99.00 it is'nt worth it.
An unhappy purchaser
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Jokersmith
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

battery NO GOOD

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this item about 3 years ago. The original battery was good as it lasted enough to do my yard for the first year, then it slowly got less and less run time. The ease of use of the trimmer was great, I love the auto feed feature and the trim line lasted forever, maybe one spool a season.
Once the first battery was done, I purchased a new Ni-CD battery from the Worx website, it lasted for about 2 cycles and now won't hold a charge anymore. So the batteries are an issue.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: battery life is terrible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
GuyB

Does the job

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easily replaces the 2 gas machines that I was using. Could use a guide in the edging mode. The first spool got stuck and had to be replaced although 3/4 full. Otherwise no complaints. Like it
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
D4P4W3
from Damascus, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Worx Grass Trimmer. It is lightweight, cuts well and easy to use. Even though I need to recharge the battery to get one job done, I'm still a big fan of this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: battery life too short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
MTCBag

WORX 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was easy to put together. It was purchased for the wife to use. The biggest problem is battery life. We have used it three times and the max time we have been able to use the trimmer was 20 minutes. Our neighbor has the 18 volt system and theirs runs for almost 1 hour. A little disappointing at best.
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Beatles
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery recall problem - 2 gone bad, Worx doesn't work

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Worx trimmer in 2010 with a 24v battery, and then got a spare since I have a large lawn. There was a recall on the first battery. The company sent me to a website, which handled the recall. I got the first replacement battery without a problem in 2011. Now one of the batteries has gone dead AGAIN. It worked fine a couple weeks ago, and now nothing. The charger shows it is completely charged, but it is completely dead. The other battery still works (for now). When I called Worx, the representative called back after about 30 minutes, and when I mentioned the recall, he denied that the recall pertained to anything other than the 18v batteries. When I asked him why I got a replacement for my 24v, he was a little confused. Oh, and did I mention the recall website URL now sends you to their main website and you can't find any evidence of the recall? He wanted to sell me another ridiculously expensive battery because this one is "out of warranty".
The trimmer works fine WHEN IT WORKS. However, the batteries are useless. I have no idea how long the other battery will last, but I'm not betting more than 6 months. Don't waste your money on these machines. Get a trimmer that will actually work more than a year or two. Calling these tools "Worx" is a contradiction in terms.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, battery life, auto feed doesn't work well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
GoVols
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Worx GT is unreal

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the Worx GT for a few weeks and I love it. So far it has worked as advertised. No major issues. Light and easy to use. I will buy another battery just to ensure I have enough juice to complete my work. But overall this product has my highest recommendation.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 10 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Grass Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
MacV
from OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Only one Battery

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No one has even said only comes with one battery all the other brands come with two battery's
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>