728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Handle the cutting jobs around your yard with the WORX WG303 16 in. electric chain saw. It is lightweight but powerful enough to take on tasks such as cutting firewood, clearing brush, trimming trees and more. Since it's electric, it produces no harmful emissions and has minimal operating costs.
Overall rating:
4.648 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product151 of 161reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(134)
4
(21)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product151 of 161reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
Review 1 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great chainsaw

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to chop up a fallen ash tree trunk (about 18-19" in diameter at its base) - worked like a charm. It's very easy to use and well balanced, cuts with ease and power.
I've brought power with a 14 gauge outdoor extension cord 100ft long - no problems.
Few gotchas though - first, the amount of chain oil included in the box is barely enough to do few cuts, it only touches the bottom of the oil level window. So make sure to pair this with a bottle of good quality bar&chain oil (like Echo).
Secondly, the kickback brake lever leaves a rather narrow gap to the holding handle - if you have a big hand, watch out to avoid tripping the brake inadvertently. With the disclaimer of not being an expert in chainsaws and/or their related safety, it'd make more sense to me for the kickback brake lever to be away from the handle when it's released (rather than towards it).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple-to-use electric saw with just the right features.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far this electric saw has proved to be a very good buy. It keeps things simple to operate and performs its job well. I chose this electric saw to perform some small jobs around the property that didn't call for the gas chainsaw, but I still wanted a decent amount of power. At over 14 amps, this was one of the most powerful 16" saws available, and for a very good price, in my opinion. Quality seems to be more than fair, especially considering the price tag. This saw feels fairly heavy for its size (heavier, I think, than my gas 55cc saw). My only complaint would be the tool-free chain tensioner. It works okay, but it seems to be overly limited in its range of tension and initially required a bit more futzing around than I would like while the chain was stretching/breaking in. Aside from that, I've had zero issues and the performance has been pretty good. The saw does go through a fair amount of bar/chain oil, so check frequently, but that is preferable to too little oil on the chain, so I don't consider this a detraction.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male

An excellent tool at a great price!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used my newly purchased saw to buck a fallen Chestnut tree that was about two feet in diameter. I had originally exhausted myself trying to cut it up with my faithful Swedish bow saw by hand.
I can tell you that this saw cuts through hard wood like butter. Very little pressure is necessary, as it will cut under its own weight.
I once owned a gas-powered chain saw that was annoying for its noise, and also because the gas tank soon emptied. But this beauty is nice and quiet, and not having to refill a gas tank is very nice.
The kick-back cutoff switch is a nice safety feature, and while I have not yet experienced any kick-back, it's easy to see that the auto-shutoff would work very well.
It's very easy to handle, well-balanced, and I am so far, completely delighted with my purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+49points
51out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from New Mexico
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for quick jobs

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked well, but check the size of the breaker. I kept tripping a 15 amp breaker, so I switched to a 20 amp circuit. No problems. I am using this saw to trim branches & trees which are dead or dying. It is light weight enough so I can trim without too much effort; however, I have the correct equipment such as goggles, hearing protection & face shield. My extension cord is a 12 AVG cord which allows me to work about 100 feet from the outlet. Much better than a gas saw since I'm getting much too old to carry a gas saw up a 24' ladder and trim trees.
Cons: minimal guidance for sharpening the chain, which does need touched up when doing a lot of work.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: no instructions for touching up sharpness of chain
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Saw; Great Price

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This chainsaw was purchased to replace a 16" gas chainsaw which had cost significantly more than the Worx saw. I was a bit worried about how it would stand up and function compared to the gas saw. It proved its value quickly as I used it to cut down a mature mesquite tree the day after I received it.
The power was more than adequate to handle the hardness of mesquite wood. It is easy to handle with good grips and trigger/lock. The chain oiler worked well and I had no problem keeping the chain tension set properly. The only things which bothered me were the electrical cord getting in the way while working on a ladder and how sensitive the brake was. Neither of these were a major issue, however.
I would recommend this saw to anyone who is working in an area where electrical power is available.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Ft. Myers, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease of use, great customer service

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a Worx 16" Electic chain saw over a year ago, it performed much better than a gas powered saw I had until I read the Worx reviews. I did however, burn out the motor. I called Worx directly, to ask what may have happened, they asked how long I had it, (which was an approximation on my part), and what the issue was. The customer service representative offered to replace it free of charge, and even pay for shipping back the original. Five days after the call I received the replacement. Customer service such as this is such a rarity, I am now a Worx customer for life! The saw does a great job around the yard, and cuts through 8" branches with ease. I would recommend Worx products to anyone!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, great customer service
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great tool. Cut down two large 10" trees in seconds. No stalling or stopping. Love this chain saw.

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being an older woman I was out in left field when it came to chain saws and cutting down trees, but I was determined to give it my best. After a bit of research on line I made my selection. This chain saw was easy to use, just plug it in, it was light weight and easy to handle. However, it was no slacker. Those trees came down and were cut into fireplace logs in no time at all. I was glad however that I had the warning from one of the reviews to buy extra oil to have on hand, because the bottle of oil that came with the chain saw was an after thought by the company. It was very small and held very little oil. The tool itself didn't use hardly any oil while I used it.
Since I ordered on line I didn't use customer service, so I can not coment on that area. Shipping was fast and best of all free.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: buy a qt. of oil before it arrives.
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from shakopee mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job well

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
powerful for round the yard and like chain adjustment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First electric chain saw

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No assembly required. The only negative I had was the quick start directions were a bit confusing on the chain brake, but that could have just been me. I have used the chain saw only one morning but I cut a lot of limbs off trees and cut up the limbs for disposal. The saw worked very well. At this point I am extremely pleased
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Don't buy this

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love electric chain saws and own a fair number. So I was excited about the 16" size and motor size and the free shipping. Well this is the first chain saw I have owned that shuts itself off just by its own operation. The chain stop lever (the left hand guard) is there to shut the thing down should you push forward on it. Well, on my unit that stop lever activates just on the vibration of the machine. You can only cut so far before it shuts down from this lever slipping forward on its own. I own a couple of different brands of saws with this blade stop feature and so I am familiar with how they are supposed to work; this is the first that deploys all on its own.
So the thing is pretty much useless as it is out of the box. A cutting experience is thus: run - shut off -run -shut off, repeat. Guess what is soon going to be tie-wrapped shut. This saw makes me appreciate my old Remington all the more. Recommend you buy one of those rather than this one.
By the way - free shipping means it takes forever to get to you.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 24, 2015By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 24, 2015
I'm sorry you are having this problem. Obviously the saw should not perform this way. I would assume that the saw is still under warranty. If so, please, contact Worx customer service with the model and serial number and proof of purchase and we will be happy to replace the saw for you. Please call our Customer Service Department toll free at 1-866-354-9679 between 9:00 AM and 6:30 PM Monday through Friday. CVACCARINO
Review 11 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Product!

PostedAugust 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this chainsaw for my husband because he was using an old underpowered electric chainsaw that the chain kept coming off. He loves it. We live in a very wooded area and are always needing to take down trees. He says this saw is so easy to use and powerful. It cuts through small trees like butter.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Collierville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electric Chain Saw

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looked into renting a chain saw to cut down a dead tree and found that for a few more dollars could own one that runs on electricity. No more pulling my arm out it's socket to start/keep running gas-powered saw. Only down-side was occasionally pulling the cord out of the extension cord. Took advise and bought gallon of chain oil. Filled it 3 or 4 times on this tree. Also watched a U-Tube video and was able to fell the tree where I wanted it. The trunk measured 22' across and estimate the height approx 35 - 40 feet. Plenty of power as long as you don't push too hard. The chain jumped off once but that was my fault (would have happened on a gas saw too). Also bumped the safety bar about a dozen times.
Highly recommend if you are close enough to plug in. I also use an electric mower and trimmer -- they start right up and never have to dink around with the gas...
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Fresno, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for home use!

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just add oil and go! Plan on using it for older trees on property and feel confident this chainsaw will be able to handle it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: need to purchase additional oil before first use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Chainsaw

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the electric chainsaw, would highly recommend. Easy start/stop without messing with the features of a gas saw. I agree with others about the oil usage, but it is easily manageable by buying a gallon of the Echo oil with your purchase.
The only item I had to get used to was fixing the chain when it came off the track. Took me a second to figure it out, but now I am a pro. This is a great tool. Just make sure you wear protective eye-wear as the wood chips really start flying when this thing gets going!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: chain comes off track
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Mount Plymouth, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!!

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've only used this saw once, but I was blown away! I live on 2 acres and have a lot of branches that need to be cut up - which I do monthly. I will circle back and rerate in months or so, see if it lasts tat long.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I shopped and compared SEVERAL electric chainsaws for about 6 months before deciding on this one.
Let me tell you, it is a GREAT price for the power this thing holds. I was able to cut down an old dead tree that was 20" around. This chainsaw did not bog down on me one bit. What I thought would be an all day job....ended up only taking about an hour with this thing.
The only thing I did not like (and this may just be me) is the kick-back brake seemed a little too easy to trip.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Littleton
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great electric chain saw

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used to have a gas-powered Stihl saw, which was great when we lived in NH and CT and heated primarily with wood. I sold it when we moved to CO. Never missed it til a recent storm ripped a huge limb from a neighbor's cottonwood and dumped it onto our back patio. No damage but our tree saw was no match for it. Not wanting to go with another expensive gas saw, I noticed this electric saw for about 100 dollars and thought, why not? Well, this saw has the torque and the 16" bar I needed to make short work of that limb and will be great for any other tree work around the place. Perfect!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from tampa fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good buy

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Came ready to use and works very good, shipped fast no long wait
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Taunton, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good saw Lots of power

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good saw had enough power to cut an oak tree that fell in my yard about 10 inches round+17 inches at the trunk, the chain burned out fast,but it doesn't make the saw bad, a review stated chain was hard to find it isn't at all. This saw uses an Oregon bar go to the Oregon chain website+simply look up this saw in the chainsaw guide the 16" oregon chain for this is S-57H Home depot stocks this chain.For the homeowner this is great no gas it will always work when you want it to, my yard isn't huge a couple extention cords are worth it for it's ease of use.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Brunswick GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great decision. A MUST have in your tool collection

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this chainsaw for Father's Day. I needed something to use around the yard for small projects and firewood. I grew up with gas chainsaws and learned they are a pain to get going once they have sat up for more than a month, they are loud, and they can be expensive (to buy and repair). I researched numerous gas powered, battery, and electric chainsaws. I chose the Works because of the good reviews and overall the product looked well designed.
I first used it to saw down a few small saplings around the yard and clear out some debris. It worked great and was super simple to use. The best part is that I wasn't worn out trying to get it cranked.
The real test, and what impelled me to write this review, was a few days ago when we had a big storm roll through. I came home to a large oak tree that was lying across our driveway. After a 14 hr day at work I wasn't looking forward to getting this big obstacle out of the way. The tree was probably 20 ft tall and 11-12 inches in diameter. I wasn't sure if my electric chainsaw would tackle it, but I had to try. To my surprise it worked fantastic. It cut through the trunk like a knife through butter. I couldn't believe it. I had the whole tree cut up in about 1 hr and stacked nicely for winter firewood.
This chainsaw is awesome and is a great deal. Buy it and hang it in the garage. When you need it just grab it off the wall, plug it in, and get to work. I love this thing and I am so glad I got it.
You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>