728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

The WORX WG303 16 in. electric chain saws is a robust and lightweight power tool that is perfect for quick, easy jobs around your yard or farm, such as cutting firewood, clearing brush, trimming trees, and more. In addition, it produces no harmful emissions and has minimal operating costs when compared to gas-powered chain saws.
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product127 of 137reviews
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(114)
4
(16)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product127 of 137reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
Review 1 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great chainsaw

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to chop up a fallen ash tree trunk (about 18-19" in diameter at its base) - worked like a charm. It's very easy to use and well balanced, cuts with ease and power.
I've brought power with a 14 gauge outdoor extension cord 100ft long - no problems.
Few gotchas though - first, the amount of chain oil included in the box is barely enough to do few cuts, it only touches the bottom of the oil level window. So make sure to pair this with a bottle of good quality bar&chain oil (like Echo).
Secondly, the kickback brake lever leaves a rather narrow gap to the holding handle - if you have a big hand, watch out to avoid tripping the brake inadvertently. With the disclaimer of not being an expert in chainsaws and/or their related safety, it'd make more sense to me for the kickback brake lever to be away from the handle when it's released (rather than towards it).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple-to-use electric saw with just the right features.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far this electric saw has proved to be a very good buy. It keeps things simple to operate and performs its job well. I chose this electric saw to perform some small jobs around the property that didn't call for the gas chainsaw, but I still wanted a decent amount of power. At over 14 amps, this was one of the most powerful 16" saws available, and for a very good price, in my opinion. Quality seems to be more than fair, especially considering the price tag. This saw feels fairly heavy for its size (heavier, I think, than my gas 55cc saw). My only complaint would be the tool-free chain tensioner. It works okay, but it seems to be overly limited in its range of tension and initially required a bit more futzing around than I would like while the chain was stretching/breaking in. Aside from that, I've had zero issues and the performance has been pretty good. The saw does go through a fair amount of bar/chain oil, so check frequently, but that is preferable to too little oil on the chain, so I don't consider this a detraction.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male

An excellent tool at a great price!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used my newly purchased saw to buck a fallen Chestnut tree that was about two feet in diameter. I had originally exhausted myself trying to cut it up with my faithful Swedish bow saw by hand.
I can tell you that this saw cuts through hard wood like butter. Very little pressure is necessary, as it will cut under its own weight.
I once owned a gas-powered chain saw that was annoying for its noise, and also because the gas tank soon emptied. But this beauty is nice and quiet, and not having to refill a gas tank is very nice.
The kick-back cutoff switch is a nice safety feature, and while I have not yet experienced any kick-back, it's easy to see that the auto-shutoff would work very well.
It's very easy to handle, well-balanced, and I am so far, completely delighted with my purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Buy A Remington Instead

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Why would anybody sell a chain saw that automatically shut itself off? The vibration from this thing causes the chain stop lever to activate and shut the saw down. You get about 10 seconds of operation before this happens. There is no way to adjust this aggravation, no wait, aggravation is not the word, totally worthless feature is better. If you want to use tis saw you have to tie-wrap the chain stop lever in the closed position so it won't shut down . Also, this offer came with free shipping - free shipping means 'it takes forever to get it.' Then when it arrives it is not long before you are ready to pitch the thing into the trash.
Cons: bad design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 12, 2015By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 12, 2015
I'm sorry you are having a problem with the Worx chain saw. Obviously, what you are experiencing should not happen. If you will call us at 1-866-354-9679 and provide your serial number and proof of purchase, we will review with you all options for warranty replacement. CVACCARINO
Review 5 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Ft. Myers, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease of use, great customer service

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a Worx 16" Electic chain saw over a year ago, it performed much better than a gas powered saw I had until I read the Worx reviews. I did however, burn out the motor. I called Worx directly, to ask what may have happened, they asked how long I had it, (which was an approximation on my part), and what the issue was. The customer service representative offered to replace it free of charge, and even pay for shipping back the original. Five days after the call I received the replacement. Customer service such as this is such a rarity, I am now a Worx customer for life! The saw does a great job around the yard, and cuts through 8" branches with ease. I would recommend Worx products to anyone!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, great customer service
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great tool. Cut down two large 10" trees in seconds. No stalling or stopping. Love this chain saw.

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being an older woman I was out in left field when it came to chain saws and cutting down trees, but I was determined to give it my best. After a bit of research on line I made my selection. This chain saw was easy to use, just plug it in, it was light weight and easy to handle. However, it was no slacker. Those trees came down and were cut into fireplace logs in no time at all. I was glad however that I had the warning from one of the reviews to buy extra oil to have on hand, because the bottle of oil that came with the chain saw was an after thought by the company. It was very small and held very little oil. The tool itself didn't use hardly any oil while I used it.
Since I ordered on line I didn't use customer service, so I can not coment on that area. Shipping was fast and best of all free.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: buy a qt. of oil before it arrives.
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Signal Mountain, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent purchase

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The saw is working well trimming the hickory we had cut down. Very easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The WORKS 16 inch Electric Chain Saw

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this chain saw has actually been more reliable than any that I have owned or used in the past, including gas. Right out of the box it required just adding the chain oil and limbs were being cut. Thank You!!! It is really a fun tool to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really good electric chainsaw with lots of power

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plenty of power for most jobs, auto chain tension, chain stays oiled nicely
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Great value!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cut down 7 trees with this without any issues. I'm very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from atlanta, ga

Second Elec Chain Saw

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I owned an electric chain saw about 25 years ago and did not think they could stand up to the gas ones. After wearing out my arm trying to start my gas saw I decided to try an electric one again. This saw is every bit equal to the gas one I own, and the starting issue is not there. I know I can saw when I want to. You won't go wrong with this saw. Keep the chain sharp and the work goes quickly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Don't buy this

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love electric chain saws and own a fair number. So I was excited about the 16" size and motor size and the free shipping. Well this is the first chain saw I have owned that shuts itself off just by its own operation. The chain stop lever (the left hand guard) is there to shut the thing down should you push forward on it. Well, on my unit that stop lever activates just on the vibration of the machine. You can only cut so far before it shuts down from this lever slipping forward on its own. I own a couple of different brands of saws with this blade stop feature and so I am familiar with how they are supposed to work; this is the first that deploys all on its own.
So the thing is pretty much useless as it is out of the box. A cutting experience is thus: run - shut off -run -shut off, repeat. Guess what is soon going to be tie-wrapped shut. This saw makes me appreciate my old Remington all the more. Recommend you buy one of those rather than this one.
By the way - free shipping means it takes forever to get to you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 24, 2015By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 24, 2015
I'm sorry you are having this problem. Obviously the saw should not perform this way. I would assume that the saw is still under warranty. If so, please, contact Worx customer service with the model and serial number and proof of purchase and we will be happy to replace the saw for you. Please call our Customer Service Department toll free at 1-866-354-9679 between 9:00 AM and 6:30 PM Monday through Friday. CVACCARINO
Review 13 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I shopped and compared SEVERAL electric chainsaws for about 6 months before deciding on this one.
Let me tell you, it is a GREAT price for the power this thing holds. I was able to cut down an old dead tree that was 20" around. This chainsaw did not bog down on me one bit. What I thought would be an all day job....ended up only taking about an hour with this thing.
The only thing I did not like (and this may just be me) is the kick-back brake seemed a little too easy to trip.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Wow!

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first electric chainsaw I have ever used. I love this thing. For branches up to 3" diameter it was no problem. Bigger than that took a little patience. But I only have need for this occasionally so for $99 it is perfect. No fuel. Plug it in and go. My skinny 16 year old son, as well as me with back problems handled this saw easily. Plus all the neighbors didn't have to listen to the sound of a chainsaw all day. Love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Newburgh, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm extremely pleased with the performance of this product. It has even more power that I anticipated. Very pleased with the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Taunton, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good saw Lots of power

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good saw had enough power to cut an oak tree that fell in my yard about 10 inches round+17 inches at the trunk, the chain burned out fast,but it doesn't make the saw bad, a review stated chain was hard to find it isn't at all. This saw uses an Oregon bar go to the Oregon chain website+simply look up this saw in the chainsaw guide the 16" oregon chain for this is S-57H Home depot stocks this chain.For the homeowner this is great no gas it will always work when you want it to, my yard isn't huge a couple extention cords are worth it for it's ease of use.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Royal Palm Beach,Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great tool to used for tree trimmings.

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This tool is light weight and easy to use.
Also very safe to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from LaGrange, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As good as small gas powered saws without the bother of gas

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First electric saw I've ever used . As good as the small gas powered saws without the mess of gas/oil . No starting problems , easy adjusting of chain tension . Just turn a large knob with your hand . Be sure and buy a quart of chain oil, you'll need it as bottle is very small that comes with it .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Great and reliable chainsaw.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did my research before purchasing this chainsaw. Worx is a name that I am very familiar with when it comes to making top notch electric and cordless home gardening tools. This chainsaw is no exception. I took it out of the box, inspected everything, filled it with the supplied chain oil and outside I went. I have many large shrubs on my 1/4 acre property that have bases ranging from 4 inches wide all the way up to about a foot wide. This chainsaw never once failed me. It cut through the stumps like the proverbial knife through butter. The only thing I would suggest to buyers of this chainsaw is to buy an extra bottle of chainsaw oil. The bottle supplied will get you started, but was not nearly enough to get me through the multiple bushes I needed to tear down.
A side note about the reviewers saying this unit leaks oil. He must have just received a defective unit. I used my Worx chainsaw to make quick work of all the shrubs surrounding my home in the Fall of 2013. Afterwards I put the unit up on a shelf in my shed full of chain oil. We had a really rough winter in the northeast bringing down multiple tree branches. Now that things are beginning to warm up, I had the chance to go out and chop up some of the downed limbs. I went to grab for my Worx chainsaw and was all ready to need to top the oil off, but to my surprise it was still full. I plugged the chainsaw in, took it out to the decent sized downed limb, and just like the day I bought it, I pulled the trigger and went right through the limb with no hiccups at all.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to buy a very well built, powerful, and reliable electric chainsaw. Thank you Worx for such an awesome product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great saw

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Once I had mastered the tensioning of the saw it was fine, but the chain blade came off twice before it even saw any wood. After that it just kept on cutting anything I put in front of it. There is ample power and it went straight through trunks as much as 20 inches in diameter whether cross cutting or ripping however, it did clog up with ripping, although to stop and clear it was no big deal. The only downside was the saws electric plug which got hot, and started to melt, so a change to a good one and we are good to go again. Once all is done within 100 feet of the house, I shall just have to get a generator. This saw is a really useful piece of kit.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>