728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw

16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw

The Worx WG303 16 in. electric chain saws is a robust and lightweight power tool that is perfect for quick, easy jobs around your yard or farm, such as cutting firewood, clearing brush, trimming trees, and more. In addition, it produces no harmful emissions and has minimal operating costs when compared to gas-powered chain saws.
Overall rating:
4.651 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(152 reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product138 of 148reviews
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(126)
4
(16)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product138 of 148reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
Review 1 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great chainsaw

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to chop up a fallen ash tree trunk (about 18-19" in diameter at its base) - worked like a charm. It's very easy to use and well balanced, cuts with ease and power.
I've brought power with a 14 gauge outdoor extension cord 100ft long - no problems.
Few gotchas though - first, the amount of chain oil included in the box is barely enough to do few cuts, it only touches the bottom of the oil level window. So make sure to pair this with a bottle of good quality bar&chain oil (like Echo).
Secondly, the kickback brake lever leaves a rather narrow gap to the holding handle - if you have a big hand, watch out to avoid tripping the brake inadvertently. With the disclaimer of not being an expert in chainsaws and/or their related safety, it'd make more sense to me for the kickback brake lever to be away from the handle when it's released (rather than towards it).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple-to-use electric saw with just the right features.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far this electric saw has proved to be a very good buy. It keeps things simple to operate and performs its job well. I chose this electric saw to perform some small jobs around the property that didn't call for the gas chainsaw, but I still wanted a decent amount of power. At over 14 amps, this was one of the most powerful 16" saws available, and for a very good price, in my opinion. Quality seems to be more than fair, especially considering the price tag. This saw feels fairly heavy for its size (heavier, I think, than my gas 55cc saw). My only complaint would be the tool-free chain tensioner. It works okay, but it seems to be overly limited in its range of tension and initially required a bit more futzing around than I would like while the chain was stretching/breaking in. Aside from that, I've had zero issues and the performance has been pretty good. The saw does go through a fair amount of bar/chain oil, so check frequently, but that is preferable to too little oil on the chain, so I don't consider this a detraction.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male

An excellent tool at a great price!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used my newly purchased saw to buck a fallen Chestnut tree that was about two feet in diameter. I had originally exhausted myself trying to cut it up with my faithful Swedish bow saw by hand.
I can tell you that this saw cuts through hard wood like butter. Very little pressure is necessary, as it will cut under its own weight.
I once owned a gas-powered chain saw that was annoying for its noise, and also because the gas tank soon emptied. But this beauty is nice and quiet, and not having to refill a gas tank is very nice.
The kick-back cutoff switch is a nice safety feature, and while I have not yet experienced any kick-back, it's easy to see that the auto-shutoff would work very well.
It's very easy to handle, well-balanced, and I am so far, completely delighted with my purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from New Mexico
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for quick jobs

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked well, but check the size of the breaker. I kept tripping a 15 amp breaker, so I switched to a 20 amp circuit. No problems. I am using this saw to trim branches & trees which are dead or dying. It is light weight enough so I can trim without too much effort; however, I have the correct equipment such as goggles, hearing protection & face shield. My extension cord is a 12 AVG cord which allows me to work about 100 feet from the outlet. Much better than a gas saw since I'm getting much too old to carry a gas saw up a 24' ladder and trim trees.
Cons: minimal guidance for sharpening the chain, which does need touched up when doing a lot of work.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: no instructions for touching up sharpness of chain
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Saw; Great Price

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This chainsaw was purchased to replace a 16" gas chainsaw which had cost significantly more than the Worx saw. I was a bit worried about how it would stand up and function compared to the gas saw. It proved its value quickly as I used it to cut down a mature mesquite tree the day after I received it.
The power was more than adequate to handle the hardness of mesquite wood. It is easy to handle with good grips and trigger/lock. The chain oiler worked well and I had no problem keeping the chain tension set properly. The only things which bothered me were the electrical cord getting in the way while working on a ladder and how sensitive the brake was. Neither of these were a major issue, however.
I would recommend this saw to anyone who is working in an area where electrical power is available.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Ft. Myers, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease of use, great customer service

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a Worx 16" Electic chain saw over a year ago, it performed much better than a gas powered saw I had until I read the Worx reviews. I did however, burn out the motor. I called Worx directly, to ask what may have happened, they asked how long I had it, (which was an approximation on my part), and what the issue was. The customer service representative offered to replace it free of charge, and even pay for shipping back the original. Five days after the call I received the replacement. Customer service such as this is such a rarity, I am now a Worx customer for life! The saw does a great job around the yard, and cuts through 8" branches with ease. I would recommend Worx products to anyone!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, great customer service
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw

Buy A Remington Instead

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Why would anybody sell a chain saw that automatically shut itself off? The vibration from this thing causes the chain stop lever to activate and shut the saw down. You get about 10 seconds of operation before this happens. There is no way to adjust this aggravation, no wait, aggravation is not the word, totally worthless feature is better. If you want to use tis saw you have to tie-wrap the chain stop lever in the closed position so it won't shut down . Also, this offer came with free shipping - free shipping means 'it takes forever to get it.' Then when it arrives it is not long before you are ready to pitch the thing into the trash.
Cons: bad design
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 12, 2015By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 12, 2015
I'm sorry you are having a problem with the Worx chain saw. Obviously, what you are experiencing should not happen. If you will call us at 1-866-354-9679 and provide your serial number and proof of purchase, we will review with you all options for warranty replacement. CVACCARINO
Review 8 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Chainsaw

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the electric chainsaw, would highly recommend. Easy start/stop without messing with the features of a gas saw. I agree with others about the oil usage, but it is easily manageable by buying a gallon of the Echo oil with your purchase.
The only item I had to get used to was fixing the chain when it came off the track. Took me a second to figure it out, but now I am a pro. This is a great tool. Just make sure you wear protective eye-wear as the wood chips really start flying when this thing gets going!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: chain comes off track
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw

Don't buy this

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love electric chain saws and own a fair number. So I was excited about the 16" size and motor size and the free shipping. Well this is the first chain saw I have owned that shuts itself off just by its own operation. The chain stop lever (the left hand guard) is there to shut the thing down should you push forward on it. Well, on my unit that stop lever activates just on the vibration of the machine. You can only cut so far before it shuts down from this lever slipping forward on its own. I own a couple of different brands of saws with this blade stop feature and so I am familiar with how they are supposed to work; this is the first that deploys all on its own.
So the thing is pretty much useless as it is out of the box. A cutting experience is thus: run - shut off -run -shut off, repeat. Guess what is soon going to be tie-wrapped shut. This saw makes me appreciate my old Remington all the more. Recommend you buy one of those rather than this one.
By the way - free shipping means it takes forever to get to you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 24, 2015By Worx Product ExpertFebruary 24, 2015
I'm sorry you are having this problem. Obviously the saw should not perform this way. I would assume that the saw is still under warranty. If so, please, contact Worx customer service with the model and serial number and proof of purchase and we will be happy to replace the saw for you. Please call our Customer Service Department toll free at 1-866-354-9679 between 9:00 AM and 6:30 PM Monday through Friday. CVACCARINO
Review 10 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great tool. Cut down two large 10" trees in seconds. No stalling or stopping. Love this chain saw.

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being an older woman I was out in left field when it came to chain saws and cutting down trees, but I was determined to give it my best. After a bit of research on line I made my selection. This chain saw was easy to use, just plug it in, it was light weight and easy to handle. However, it was no slacker. Those trees came down and were cut into fireplace logs in no time at all. I was glad however that I had the warning from one of the reviews to buy extra oil to have on hand, because the bottle of oil that came with the chain saw was an after thought by the company. It was very small and held very little oil. The tool itself didn't use hardly any oil while I used it.
Since I ordered on line I didn't use customer service, so I can not coment on that area. Shipping was fast and best of all free.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: buy a qt. of oil before it arrives.
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Add oil & go!!

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The saw came assembled. I just had to add the oil and was ready to go. Have more oil on-hand. The included bottle will only get you through a couple cuts. Make sure you wear your old work boots as the auto oiler sprays out some. I used a 12 gauge 100' locking extension cord and had no problems with power loss. I highly recommend the locking extension cord (got mine on a deal of the day at Home Depot). This prevented the saw from unplugging. I cut some pretty large branches and trees without any problems. I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Hanover Park, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Chain Saw

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as others have already posted. I glad that I checked on others reviews and then made this item purchase. And as indicated by some one else, always check the oil level. I kept the small oil bottle that came with this unit and I refill the bottle and take it with me when I'm using the chain saw. Then use that to refill the chain saw when I'm working.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Freeport, ME
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I replaced an older gas model and was pleasantly surprised by this chainsaw. It cuts very well and goes through hardwoods with ease. As many noted it is important to make sure there is chain oil in the tank. Also, if the chain brake is engaged (pushed forward) it will not operate. I've used it around the yard to cut down oaks and birches and also cut them up. No more mixing gas & oil and pull starting!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just used it one time, Chain Saw works as expected. Now I don't have to deal with the gasoline and the 50/50 oil.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I shopped and compared SEVERAL electric chainsaws for about 6 months before deciding on this one.
Let me tell you, it is a GREAT price for the power this thing holds. I was able to cut down an old dead tree that was 20" around. This chainsaw did not bog down on me one bit. What I thought would be an all day job....ended up only taking about an hour with this thing.
The only thing I did not like (and this may just be me) is the kick-back brake seemed a little too easy to trip.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from North carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best little electric chainsaw yet, love worx. products

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love my new saw, no assembly, easy to use, cut like butter
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Taunton, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good saw Lots of power

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good saw had enough power to cut an oak tree that fell in my yard about 10 inches round+17 inches at the trunk, the chain burned out fast,but it doesn't make the saw bad, a review stated chain was hard to find it isn't at all. This saw uses an Oregon bar go to the Oregon chain website+simply look up this saw in the chainsaw guide the 16" oregon chain for this is S-57H Home depot stocks this chain.For the homeowner this is great no gas it will always work when you want it to, my yard isn't huge a couple extention cords are worth it for it's ease of use.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Dripping Springs, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderfully designed product

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned a bad chain saw. I was never able to get any work done. I bought this saw because of the reviews and I was not disappointed. It is very solid and well-designed. It cuts like a dream. Chain removal or replacement is a breeze. I couldn't be happier. I have gotten so much done with it that I have saved lots of $$$ because I didn't have to hire someone. I love it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
chainsaw lives up to the excellent reviews. easy to operate.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. 14.5-Amp Electric Chainsaw
from LaGrange, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As good as small gas powered saws without the bother of gas

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First electric saw I've ever used . As good as the small gas powered saws without the mess of gas/oil . No starting problems , easy adjusting of chain tension . Just turn a large knob with your hand . Be sure and buy a quart of chain oil, you'll need it as bottle is very small that comes with it .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>