728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

The WORX WG303 16 in. electric chain saws is a robust and lightweight power tool that is perfect for quick, easy jobs around your yard or farm, such as cutting firewood, clearing brush, trimming trees, and more. In addition, it produces no harmful emissions and has minimal operating costs when compared to gas-powered chain saws.
Overall rating:
4.642 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product113 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(100)
4
(15)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product113 of 121reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
Review 1 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great chainsaw

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to chop up a fallen ash tree trunk (about 18-19" in diameter at its base) - worked like a charm. It's very easy to use and well balanced, cuts with ease and power.
I've brought power with a 14 gauge outdoor extension cord 100ft long - no problems.
Few gotchas though - first, the amount of chain oil included in the box is barely enough to do few cuts, it only touches the bottom of the oil level window. So make sure to pair this with a bottle of good quality bar&chain oil (like Echo).
Secondly, the kickback brake lever leaves a rather narrow gap to the holding handle - if you have a big hand, watch out to avoid tripping the brake inadvertently. With the disclaimer of not being an expert in chainsaws and/or their related safety, it'd make more sense to me for the kickback brake lever to be away from the handle when it's released (rather than towards it).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple-to-use electric saw with just the right features.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far this electric saw has proved to be a very good buy. It keeps things simple to operate and performs its job well. I chose this electric saw to perform some small jobs around the property that didn't call for the gas chainsaw, but I still wanted a decent amount of power. At over 14 amps, this was one of the most powerful 16" saws available, and for a very good price, in my opinion. Quality seems to be more than fair, especially considering the price tag. This saw feels fairly heavy for its size (heavier, I think, than my gas 55cc saw). My only complaint would be the tool-free chain tensioner. It works okay, but it seems to be overly limited in its range of tension and initially required a bit more futzing around than I would like while the chain was stretching/breaking in. Aside from that, I've had zero issues and the performance has been pretty good. The saw does go through a fair amount of bar/chain oil, so check frequently, but that is preferable to too little oil on the chain, so I don't consider this a detraction.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male

An excellent tool at a great price!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just used my newly purchased saw to buck a fallen Chestnut tree that was about two feet in diameter. I had originally exhausted myself trying to cut it up with my faithful Swedish bow saw by hand.
I can tell you that this saw cuts through hard wood like butter. Very little pressure is necessary, as it will cut under its own weight.
I once owned a gas-powered chain saw that was annoying for its noise, and also because the gas tank soon emptied. But this beauty is nice and quiet, and not having to refill a gas tank is very nice.
The kick-back cutoff switch is a nice safety feature, and while I have not yet experienced any kick-back, it's easy to see that the auto-shutoff would work very well.
It's very easy to handle, well-balanced, and I am so far, completely delighted with my purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+43points
45out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Ft. Myers, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease of use, great customer service

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a Worx 16" Electic chain saw over a year ago, it performed much better than a gas powered saw I had until I read the Worx reviews. I did however, burn out the motor. I called Worx directly, to ask what may have happened, they asked how long I had it, (which was an approximation on my part), and what the issue was. The customer service representative offered to replace it free of charge, and even pay for shipping back the original. Five days after the call I received the replacement. Customer service such as this is such a rarity, I am now a Worx customer for life! The saw does a great job around the yard, and cuts through 8" branches with ease. I would recommend Worx products to anyone!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, great customer service
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great tool. Cut down two large 10" trees in seconds. No stalling or stopping. Love this chain saw.

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being an older woman I was out in left field when it came to chain saws and cutting down trees, but I was determined to give it my best. After a bit of research on line I made my selection. This chain saw was easy to use, just plug it in, it was light weight and easy to handle. However, it was no slacker. Those trees came down and were cut into fireplace logs in no time at all. I was glad however that I had the warning from one of the reviews to buy extra oil to have on hand, because the bottle of oil that came with the chain saw was an after thought by the company. It was very small and held very little oil. The tool itself didn't use hardly any oil while I used it.
Since I ordered on line I didn't use customer service, so I can not coment on that area. Shipping was fast and best of all free.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: buy a qt. of oil before it arrives.
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Great and reliable chainsaw.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did my research before purchasing this chainsaw. Worx is a name that I am very familiar with when it comes to making top notch electric and cordless home gardening tools. This chainsaw is no exception. I took it out of the box, inspected everything, filled it with the supplied chain oil and outside I went. I have many large shrubs on my 1/4 acre property that have bases ranging from 4 inches wide all the way up to about a foot wide. This chainsaw never once failed me. It cut through the stumps like the proverbial knife through butter. The only thing I would suggest to buyers of this chainsaw is to buy an extra bottle of chainsaw oil. The bottle supplied will get you started, but was not nearly enough to get me through the multiple bushes I needed to tear down.
A side note about the reviewers saying this unit leaks oil. He must have just received a defective unit. I used my Worx chainsaw to make quick work of all the shrubs surrounding my home in the Fall of 2013. Afterwards I put the unit up on a shelf in my shed full of chain oil. We had a really rough winter in the northeast bringing down multiple tree branches. Now that things are beginning to warm up, I had the chance to go out and chop up some of the downed limbs. I went to grab for my Worx chainsaw and was all ready to need to top the oil off, but to my surprise it was still full. I plugged the chainsaw in, took it out to the decent sized downed limb, and just like the day I bought it, I pulled the trigger and went right through the limb with no hiccups at all.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to buy a very well built, powerful, and reliable electric chainsaw. Thank you Worx for such an awesome product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped and compared SEVERAL electric chainsaws for about 6 months before deciding on this one.
Let me tell you, it is a GREAT price for the power this thing holds. I was able to cut down an old dead tree that was 20" around. This chainsaw did not bog down on me one bit. What I thought would be an all day job....ended up only taking about an hour with this thing.
The only thing I did not like (and this may just be me) is the kick-back brake seemed a little too easy to trip.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Taunton, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good saw Lots of power

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good saw had enough power to cut an oak tree that fell in my yard about 10 inches round+17 inches at the trunk, the chain burned out fast,but it doesn't make the saw bad, a review stated chain was hard to find it isn't at all. This saw uses an Oregon bar go to the Oregon chain website+simply look up this saw in the chainsaw guide the 16" oregon chain for this is S-57H Home depot stocks this chain.For the homeowner this is great no gas it will always work when you want it to, my yard isn't huge a couple extention cords are worth it for it's ease of use.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from LaGrange, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As good as small gas powered saws without the bother of gas

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First electric saw I've ever used . As good as the small gas powered saws without the mess of gas/oil . No starting problems , easy adjusting of chain tension . Just turn a large knob with your hand . Be sure and buy a quart of chain oil, you'll need it as bottle is very small that comes with it .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from S.E. Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far, Does It's Job

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchase this saw to help me take down some very large arborvitae. It is making it a much easier job, for sure. The saw has plenty of power, runs quiet and unlike my gas chainsaw, this one starts every time. I really like the ease of taking the chain off or putting one on. I do have to laugh at the fact the Worx advertises how great it is that the saw has a window so you can readily see the chain oil level. The window is a white color plastic of some kind and the oil they supply with the saw is a clear color. There is no way you can see it through the window! No big deal, the oil I bought is dark color so it works. I have not had the saw long, but I have been working it. It remains to be determined how durable the saw is. So far I am very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Annapolis, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Leaks oil constantly. Returned first for same reason!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Leaks oil constantly. Returned first for same reason. This would be a great saw if they redesigned the oiler. Each time I put it down it leaves a puddle.When I use it, it throws a stripe od oil from my foot to my chest. I returned the first one within the first days of purchasing it. I like the power of the saw so I bought a second one. It does the same thing. I go through a tamk of oil in five minutes or so. I used it briefly 11 months ago and just needed it again. I am now trying to get warranty service. The auto tensioned also has some issues. If you do not wind it very frequently it throws off the chain.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable, leaks & sprays oil
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for my needs, tree trimming.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
plug it in and it works. Easy oiling system. Easy tensioning system.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome electric chain saw!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase and will make the maintenance of our yard so much easier. After having carburetor problems with previous gas chainsaws we were reluctant to buy an electric one. Opened it when we first got it and before nightfall had 4 citrus trees removed, cut and disposed of. My wife and I could both use it. We would buy it again.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Colorado
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality and value, well worth the cost

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had not used a chainsaw in 40+ years but needed one to remove dead trees after moving to a home with a large yard and lots of trees. I have removed 4 trees and trimmed 5 others with this chainsaw, significantly improving the appearance of my yard and saving $$$. This is my first Worx equipment purchase and I am impressed by its quality, versatility and ease of use. Highly recommended!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw

Wow!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this WORX electric chainsaw! I just bought a fixer-upper house with a bunch of dead trees in the yard, so I needed a new chain saw. Bought a gas one first, like one I had many years ago, but it wouldn't start... Very frustrating experience! Decided to try an electric chainsaw, and I was very happily surprised by the excellent results I got with this WORX product. It's very easy to use, and I had absolutely no problems cutting down whatever I wanted to, including several large Italian Cypress trees. (Do you know how hard, dense and sappy that wood is?) This is an amazing little machine!
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

great chain saw

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first electric chain saw I have used and owned. I am very pleased with its performance so far. It has no problem cutting through big and small branches. Make sure to buy an extra container of chain oil since the bottle that comes with it is very small.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from BC, Canada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used twice

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only used the Chainsaw twice. It worked just like I wanted.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Fuquay Varina, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit is actually designed to leak oil, according to their Customer Service. I received the unit, put oil in and placed it on a flat horizonal surface until ready to use. Five days later, I decided to use it but was shocked to find most of the oil had leaked out of the reservoir.
I never got to plug it in and use it ! I guess their engineers don't understand how to use switches to control oil flow. What if we did the same with our cars!
Thanks Home Depot for letting me return this poorly engineered product.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Pawnee, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is one of the best chain saw EVER

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a chain saw, 100 times better then a gas saw.
I was so surprised how it worked, I don't weary about power, it has all you need. I rate It a 11 OUT OF 10.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. 14.5 Amp Electric Chainsaw
from Hesperia, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the best Chainsaw!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a woman in my 50's, and this chainsaw did a fruitless mulberry!! Me and my son cut it down he is 13. No hassle with gas or trying to start it!! Great Machine!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>