728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm

WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm

Water escape damage is the 2nd leading cause of home insurance claims nationwide. Be alerted of water leaks in your home with Honeywell's Water Detection Alarm. The Water Detection Alarm's entire cable senses water - it is ideal for use around water heaters, sump pumps, under sinks, behind refrigerators and under dishwashers.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
Review 1 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Sun Valley, Los Angeles, CA 91352, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More Hidden Mold

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having a "secret" leak under our water heater upstairs for over 5 years that no plumber could ever find and our ceiling dowstairs even caved in once we finally fixed the leak using a FLIR camera.
To prevent future hidden leaks put one of these things by water heater and by washing machines to make sure we aren't caught off guard by hard to see slow leaks that cause mold to grow.
Like a smoke detector but for water.
So far so good!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, anti mold device
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, should catch problem early

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have a water heater in the attic and installed this detection in the pan. Not as good as an automatic shutoff system, but costs much less. Poked a hole in the ceiling so I could mount the alarm portion in the hallway. Haven't had an water event to detect, so can't really comment on how well it works.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from New YOrk
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worth the purchase and easy to install

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Better safe than sorry. It's worth the minor expense. All I had to do was put in the battery, place the sticky tape on the alarm and place it on the wall or hot water heater. The wire sits right in the tub under the hot water heater.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from sc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost perfect

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 3 floods, shocked to come across this. It's a must as my water heater is in the storage room that's part of my house & backs up to my living room & laundry/kitchen. Last flood, 2 years ago raised insurance $500. Never again I pray. So easy to put up, only 4 stars because it's not loud enough. It's at one end of the house when I stay in the middle w/the tv going. I'll most likely get 2 more to add to it. It would get 10 stars if it could be programed into a cell phone. If no one is home to hear it, it's of no use. Unless you get home before the flood is too bad. They need to make it larger, to hold several batteries, whatever will make it a real ALARM but I'm grateful to have it. I'm always home & water heaters aren't made like they used to be. If I only had a garage for the water heater. I recommend it, you may be home when it bursts. If you house is like mine, get 3 & don't forget to change the batteries
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: No Instructions, not near loud enough
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as described

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well. Not super loud but can easily be heard throughout house from basement
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Brambleton, Dulles, VA 20148, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Protection

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this under a new refrigerator. Hopefully (!) it will warn of impending doom for the all too expensive hardwood floor. I like the cord implementation for the moisture sensor, it allows for a much greater area and increases the chance of proper surface contact to alarm for water. The connection cord is 6' so the alarm can set out of sight on top of the refrigerator. I tested the device before installation and was impressed with the cord's ability to detect water and the voice of the alarm. Recommended!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, very sensitive, uses standard 9v battery
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm

Best noncommercial water detector

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use standard telephone wire and RJ11 plugs to extend the wire and place the box anywhere you can hear it.
Pros: Easy to Install
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product; affordable effective warning device

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install; affordable price; effective warning device.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap insurance to eliminate water leak damage

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is simple and easy to install. When moisture touches the detection cord, the unit sounds a high pitch alarm similar to a smoke alarm. It is excellent insurance in providing protection for those areas that are not visible, i.e., water heater, refrigerator water line for ice maker, washing machine and dishwasher, etc.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

alerts with a loud intermittent beep

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sensitive to the slightest amount of moisture. Quickly resets when you wipe dry the sensor cable. Recommend using the 8ft extension cable (sold separately).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works fine. Very sensitive to the slightest moisture

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put it (in an air conditioner /heater inclosure) where I had water leakage before. Rather than us the tape-down holders that came with the unit, I just laid bricks on the "sensitive" cable to keep it in contact with the floor where water might come in the future.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Seattle, WA

Water Leak Alarm

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was very easy to install and reasonably priced. Just like smoke alarms--just remember to change the battery.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Alarm system very sensitive. Manufacturer should have provided a few more fasteners for affixing the sensor cord the the baseboard.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good price and easy installation.

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Then product has been installed for about one month and has not sounded an alarm yet.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Ohio, USA

Quick install, alarms with little water present

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Clever way to find leaks around washer and hot water heater.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good little device

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No water leaks yet but it tests good. Used in basement and is loud enough to be heard through door throughout most of the house. Very distinctive sound not to be confused with smoke alarm. Uses regular phone extension cord which allows sensor to be on floor in basement and have the unit near the cellar doorway.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One drop

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I installed this under my sink & dish washer then tested it with a wet paper towel. It works great. It could save a million dollars in water damage.
Pros: Easy to Install
-18points
0out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm

Product works

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Alerted us to a problem. Prevented serious damage to our drain pan
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.