728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm

WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm

Water escape damage is the 2nd leading cause of home insurance claims nationwide. Be alerted of water leaks in your home with Honeywell's Water Detection Alarm. The Water Detection Alarm's entire cable senses water - it is ideal for use around water heaters, sump pumps, under sinks, behind refrigerators and under dishwashers.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
Review 1 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Sun Valley, Los Angeles, CA 91352, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More Hidden Mold

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having a "secret" leak under our water heater upstairs for over 5 years that no plumber could ever find and our ceiling dowstairs even caved in once we finally fixed the leak using a FLIR camera.
To prevent future hidden leaks put one of these things by water heater and by washing machines to make sure we aren't caught off guard by hard to see slow leaks that cause mold to grow.
Like a smoke detector but for water.
So far so good!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, anti mold device
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Upstate New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not loud enough

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having a cable sensor that can monitor a large area for leaks is great but the low volume makes this device almost useless. If you install it and then close the utility room door or a cabinet door and go around one corner or up one flight of stairs you can't hear it. Other water alarms are 90 or 100db This one is 80db. I want to be able to hear it while I'm in the living room, kitchen or master bedroom so I know about a leak as soon as possible to limit the damage. I suspect Honeywell chose the 80db alarm so it would use less power and sound for a longer period of time. I suggest they use a louder alarm and have 2 batteries. I'm going to snake wires through my walls and install the alarm box on the main floor of the house with the sensor cable in the downstairs utility room. Fortunately they use telephone cable and RJ11 connectors that will make an extension possible. If you do this note that they are using the two outside positions on the RJ11 connectors
Pros: sensor cable covers a large area
Cons: not loud enough
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from East Cobb, Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A simple way to protect your ceilings

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a simple alarm system that lets you know if your air conditioner(s) or water heater have failed to drain properly. When water is detected where it shouldn't be, you are warned immediately, so you can take the proper precautions (shutting the air conditioner off or turning the water off to the water heater before serious damage is done.)
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, battery operated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this product to monitor moisture under the air handler of my AC system. It has already saved me from a leak that I was able to stop immediately.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Southlake, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this thing about 6 months ago because we had an 11 year old hot water heater in the attic. The alarm went off a couple days ago - for some reason I thought it may be the battery. Sure enough, we had a leak in our hot water heater and the pan had some water. My $25 investment may have saved a great deal of money and ceiling drywall replacement (ie: headache). It works!
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more leaking water heater damage.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. No need to buy the extension cable from HONEYWELL. A regular phone cable also works. I tried out the product by running the water sensitive cable under a faucet. Nice loud alarm. I do not want another nasty surprise with a slow leaking water heater unnoticed until mold was growing!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from sc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost perfect

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 3 floods, shocked to come across this. It's a must as my water heater is in the storage room that's part of my house & backs up to my living room & laundry/kitchen. Last flood, 2 years ago raised insurance $500. Never again I pray. So easy to put up, only 4 stars because it's not loud enough. It's at one end of the house when I stay in the middle w/the tv going. I'll most likely get 2 more to add to it. It would get 10 stars if it could be programed into a cell phone. If no one is home to hear it, it's of no use. Unless you get home before the flood is too bad. They need to make it larger, to hold several batteries, whatever will make it a real ALARM but I'm grateful to have it. I'm always home & water heaters aren't made like they used to be. If I only had a garage for the water heater. I recommend it, you may be home when it bursts. If you house is like mine, get 3 & don't forget to change the batteries
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: No Instructions, not near loud enough
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Brambleton, Dulles, VA 20148, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Protection

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed this under a new refrigerator. Hopefully (!) it will warn of impending doom for the all too expensive hardwood floor. I like the cord implementation for the moisture sensor, it allows for a much greater area and increases the chance of proper surface contact to alarm for water. The connection cord is 6' so the alarm can set out of sight on top of the refrigerator. I tested the device before installation and was impressed with the cord's ability to detect water and the voice of the alarm. Recommended!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, very sensitive, uses standard 9v battery
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Seattle

Water Detector

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to instali. I hope I never hear the alarm but there is comfort in knowing if my hot water springs a leak, I will know about it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: no indication of what to do if the sensor gets wet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple to install where monitoring for water leaks is needed (hot water tanks, under dish washers). The only improvement I would suggest is a louder alarm. When the unit is behind a closed door, the alarm may not be loud enough.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Seattle, WA

Water Leak Alarm

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit was very easy to install and reasonably priced. Just like smoke alarms--just remember to change the battery.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Des Moines, Ia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Honeywell has a reputation for producing excellent, high-quality products. This water leak detector is no exception. It exceeded my expectations. It is extremely sensitive. When I tested it, one drop of water on my finger set it off.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: no cons
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Alarm system very sensitive. Manufacturer should have provided a few more fasteners for affixing the sensor cord the the baseboard.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product; affordable effective warning device

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install; affordable price; effective warning device.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Extension cable is great!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Three main pieces: the unit; a telephone line cord extension; and the sensor cable.
The unit itself seems durable. It was easy to put the battery in. It came with some self-stick double sided tape, but depending on where you put it, may make it difficult to change batteries. I opted to buy some self-stick velcro & thus can pull unit on and off the inside cabinet wall easily. The extra length phone line makes this possible. I'm using mine under our dishwasher where we had a leak. With dishwasher removed, I was able to snake the sensor cable in an S-shape beneath the dishwasher, fasten the phone line extender cable to it, thread the phone line through a hole in the cabinet, and mount the unit under the sink. Worked perfectly.
I tested the unit by putting a few drops of water on the floor. When the sensor cable touched them, the unit went off. The degree of loudness is fine. It may not wake some people up in the middle of the night, particularly if they're in another room. But if you're in or near the room & awake, you should hear it fine. It's NOT as loud as our smoke alarms.
The only complaint is that there are little 'stick on' clamps that are supposed to hold the sensor cable to lie flat on the floor. A) there are not enough of them (5), and B) they didn't stick so well; two came up when sliding the dishwasher back into place. I had to use tape to help hold it down.
I'll buy another because this is the only model I've seen that has a cable sensitive over its entire length. Most I see simply have a sensor on the end and doesn't lay flat but would require some depth to the water, such as a sump.
Pros: Easy to Install, flexible install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm

Best noncommercial water detector

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use standard telephone wire and RJ11 plugs to extend the wire and place the box anywhere you can hear it.
Pros: Easy to Install
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap insurance to eliminate water leak damage

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is simple and easy to install. When moisture touches the detection cord, the unit sounds a high pitch alarm similar to a smoke alarm. It is excellent insurance in providing protection for those areas that are not visible, i.e., water heater, refrigerator water line for ice maker, washing machine and dishwasher, etc.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as described

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well. Not super loud but can easily be heard throughout house from basement
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

alerts with a loud intermittent beep

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very sensitive to the slightest amount of moisture. Quickly resets when you wipe dry the sensor cable. Recommend using the 8ft extension cable (sold separately).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WaterDefense Water Leak Detection Alarm
from Bend, Oregon

I hope it does the job!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have not had a leak since I installed it so I don't know how well it will work. I did test it and found that it sounds like a smoke alarm. Not sure this is good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>