728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

The Leaf and Lawn Chute is a tri-fold sheet constructed of high-density, corrugated plastic. This 100% plastic item, forms into a 3 sided box shape and designed to help keep a 30 gal., paper yard waste leaf bag, upright, while reinforcing the sides of the bag to prevent ripping or seam bursting. Because the Leaf and Lawn Chute is made from a single sheet of plastic there are no moving parts or assembly required. The user simply slides the folded and flat item in to an open paper bag, unfolds or opens the two sides, to form the 3 sided box shape, then presses in on the top portion, to form the angled chute. It is now assembled and ready to begin filling the leaf bag. The user can compress the debris so that they can fit more material in each leaf bag. The sidewall strength provided by this device allows the user to fit nearly 20% more debris in each paper bag, so fewer leaf bags will be used. The Leaf and Lawn Chute is durable, water resistant and reusable. After filling the leaf bag the Leaf and Lawn Chute is lifted out of the paper leaf bag easily and cleanly and then folded flat for easy storage. The plastic material will last through many thousand fold and refold cycles without splitting or breaking apart. When considering cost, features and benefits, the Leaf and Lawn Chute is far superior to any other product available. Other devices are more expensive consist of several parts that require assembly are bulky to use and store or are simply not as easy or effective to use.
Overall rating:
4.404 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product49 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product49 of 55reviews
Customer reviews for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
Review 1 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Green Gaget

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have been thinking about making one of these since I started using the large brown lawn bags. I really hate trying to empty my John Deere grass catchers into these paper bags as they always collapse of or fall over............not any more! Last year HD sold a cardboard version which lasted about one use. These are truly reusable I now have three....took one to the beach house. If you use lawn bags, you NEED these
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Suburban Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

helps get the job done

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really helps to stabilize the bag and keeps it open while you're getting those first few handfuls/shovelfuls of leaves and clippings into the bag.
The chute is a little problematic - operator error, perhaps - in that it seems to want to fold opposite of the way it is pictured. Takes me more time to get the chute in the correct position than I would like, but once I get it situated, it works well and helps to prevent spillage when loading up the bag.
Works well for my needs.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: not so easy to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Millbury , MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have for leaves

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish I had purchased two. Or extras as a gift to my grown children Chute is lightweight and easy to install in bag. I use bags numerous times as I transport leaves to towns transfer station. And even crumbled bags are easy to put the chute into. Bags stand up in the light wind . And the chute is inexpensive .
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally no more tearing

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item is constructed out of the same material as those lawn signs posted in your neighbor's yard during election season. It feels flimsy and even though the product has been designed to bend and "hinge" along certain marks, I'm sure these hinge points will eventually break/tear. However, at a cost of $8, and not having to worry about tearing a paper leaf bag again, these things are a great value.
I was a little skeptical at first, but was pleasantly amazed on my first use of this product. I was able to fill the HD paper leaf bags in half the time and didn't tear a single one. This is a major time saver b/c I wasn't having to constantly reset the bags and take extra care to not be too rough on the paper. I also noticed that with this product temporarily installed in the bag, I was able to compact a lot more material into the bag, without fear of the contents ripping a hole in the side of the bag. Therefore, I ended up removing more leafs, with fewer bags. (Consequently, each bag was slightly heavier than I had previously experienced). The "spout" on the top is a nice feature as it prevented me from returning the leafs in the rake, back to the ground surrounding the bag. The following week, I bought two more, just to have back-ups in case these items are no longer sold.
Once the bag was full, pulling out the chute was a breeze. Felt like using the chin-and-drop method for putting pillows in their cases, but two strong tugs and the chute slid right out. Can be washed clean with a garden hose, folded up flat, and stored easily.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: feels flimsy in construction due to material choic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We had trouble with setting up this product. The instructions were vague.
However, once that is accomplished the product is useful & I would recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Lynn, Mass
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Cheap Product for Lots of Money

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is advertised as being made of high density PLASTIC, and is so far from the truth it is not funny. This product is made of a WAX Coated CARDBOARD and will no way last for years as advertised. I will be lucky to get ONE YEAR out of it. This is an increadable wast of Money!!!!
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

yep

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to use does the job makes yard cleanup easier
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

Excellent

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product makes putting leaves into a bag hassle free. Love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Ashburn, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Lawn Helper

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent design makes this product a great aid in yard clean-up!
The product appears to be durable, and it is easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from San Francisco

This is not durable. Won't last.

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would send it back but it's too much trouble. Oh well.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty awesome

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solves the main problem with those paper lawn bags, which was staying up and standing up while you were trying to load them.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from St. Louis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, really innovative!

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's not very often that I come across a product that surpasses my expectations as much as this one. The Leaf Chute's dramatically impressive utility became obvious within a few minutes. The things I hate most about bagging leaves are how difficult it is to fill the bag quickly and then easily compress the leaves. With the Leaf Chute, I found that loading the bag was far faster, AND it makes compressing the leaves easier because the bag is supported on three sides by the device. I would estimate that I was able to fill 3 or 4 bags in the time it would normally take me to fill 1. It is particularly helpful if you are doing the raking and bagging without help. Outstanding product, and when mine wears out in a few years, I will not think twice about replacing it with another. Worth every penny!
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wish I had invented this thing.

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been looking for something like this for a while. It took me a minute to figure out how to put it together for use, but it was easy to do so. It really makes it so much easier to use a paper lawn & leaf bag by holding it up, and holding it open, and essentially widening the opening to poor your yard trash in. Fantastic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Hyattsville, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very sensible purchase!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to put yard debris in bag without tearing! Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from south florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the worst!!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
sorry, hd - if i could give it a minus 10 that would be it - absolutely a nightmare - anyway, returned it with no problem - you can depend on hd to accept all returns - thank you for that
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

Best $9 I've spent.

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cheap simple and works perfectly. This holds the bags open and upright, makes it easier to get stuff into them (because it's like a funnel) and lets you stuff the bags more fully than normal because it stiffens the bag and makes it stronger.
It also folds back to flat after use.
This is a must have if you use the paper lawn bags. Don't hesitate to get this when you see it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Omaha, NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the inventor is a genius!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can finally use the paper lawn bags without having another person help hold the bag open! This may not hold up for more than a season or two, but for the price it's more than worth it!
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from duluth, ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product would recommend and will buy more
Pros: Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Lewis Center
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I use this product weekly to aid in dumpling my lawn clippings into lawn bags. It holds up to the bumping and weight of my mower bag as I empty the grass into it. I have also used it when pushing tree limbs into a lawn bag and I was easily able to remove the chute when the bag was full. It is the 2nd and 3rd pair of hands you need when doing these type of jobs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Lawrenceville, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very helpful tool

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chute was worth the price. Made filling leaf bag very easy. Now, I just wish someone would invent something to make the paper bags stand up better!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>