728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

The Leaf and Lawn Chute is a tri-fold sheet constructed of high-density, corrugated plastic. This 100% plastic item, forms into a 3 sided box shape and designed to help keep a 30 gal., paper yard waste leaf bag, upright, while reinforcing the sides of the bag to prevent ripping or seam bursting. Because the Leaf and Lawn Chute is made from a single sheet of plastic there are no moving parts or assembly required. The user simply slides the folded and flat item in to an open paper bag, unfolds or opens the two sides, to form the 3 sided box shape, then presses in on the top portion, to form the angled chute. It is now assembled and ready to begin filling the leaf bag. The user can compress the debris so that they can fit more material in each leaf bag. The sidewall strength provided by this device allows the user to fit nearly 20% more debris in each paper bag, so fewer leaf bags will be used. The Leaf and Lawn Chute is durable, water resistant and reusable. After filling the leaf bag the Leaf and Lawn Chute is lifted out of the paper leaf bag easily and cleanly and then folded flat for easy storage. The plastic material will last through many thousand fold and refold cycles without splitting or breaking apart. When considering cost, features and benefits, the Leaf and Lawn Chute is far superior to any other product available. Other devices are more expensive consist of several parts that require assembly are bulky to use and store or are simply not as easy or effective to use.
Overall rating:
4.406 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product83 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(67)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product83 of 93reviews
Customer reviews for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
Review 1 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really great

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After setting it up (it is weird, you have to bend it backwards or "inside out" at the top to make the chute) it was a breeze. This thing was really great, it helped my husband with his mothers yard so much. It really was like having another set of hands, and got the job done a lot faster too. We aren't raking wet leaves so this will last through this season and at least another if not more (not even sure if wet leaves would make this deteriorate). It is like a plastic cardboardish type material and it folds nice and flat for storage. Even if it only lasted one season I would fork over the $9 every year, it is that helpful and cheaper than a human helper :). Reminds the hubs of filling popcorn bags! I bought it in store and it is green (dunno about those freaky orange ones in the other reviews)
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Frankfort,Il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the best for Riding Mower Lawn baggers

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to help bag my grass from my new bag attachment on my riding lawnmower. The product is made of a good card board material that would probably last.
My issue is that my bags from the mower are bigger then the chute, so i end up dropping grass back onto the ground.
If the chute were wider or double sided, this would be perfect.
I am going to just make my own chute and bag holder.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: chute not wide or big enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from 27949

Very nice

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good product, Purchased it in store and easy to find
Pros: Easy to Clean, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from West Dundee, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great time saver

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice shoot keeps bag upright. Have used this several times this season with great results. Not sure of overall reliability but so far so good!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from kansas city, mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just what i needed

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
is a sturdy good quality product, should not have to purchase again i the fall.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I bought one years ago!

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I feel stupid for wrestling with jamming stuff into paper yard waste bags when this simple little device makes the job an order of magnitude easier. I didn't even realize it had the fold out chute until the first time I used it - that makes an already useful product that much better!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had mine for 4 or 5 years and is still as good as new. Going to buy a 2nd one. Have almost 1/2 an acre with lots of trees. Can't understand some of the negative results especially the one saying it tore. I fine that impossible to believe. It must have been one of those made out of corrugated cardboard which I have and still use. Of coarse buy at Home Depot, not on line, the company is charging $26.00.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Green Gaget

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have been thinking about making one of these since I started using the large brown lawn bags. I really hate trying to empty my John Deere grass catchers into these paper bags as they always collapse of or fall over............not any more! Last year HD sold a cardboard version which lasted about one use. These are truly reusable I now have three....took one to the beach house. If you use lawn bags, you NEED these
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

well worth the money

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've only used the chute once. So far it's worked quite well. The pictured directions on the chute,for me, were a little tricky to figure out but once I got it, it kept the bag in place making a breeze to fill. Once the bag was full, removing the chute was easy. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

Does the job

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a quick and inexpensive way to keep a leaf bag open and upright. Sometimes I lay it down and use it as a "funnel" to rake the leaves directly into the bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

Helps the back

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very usefull product.
If you do yard work in Fl a must have
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Hyattsville, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Essential for tall paper bags

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you use the tall paper lawn/leaf bags, this chute is so helpful and inexpensive that I consider it necessary. It holds the bag up straight, and the chute effectively enlarges the bag's opening. It also protects three sides of the bag to help prevent sticks from poking through when you press down the lawn waste.
The only trouble I have with the chute is putting it in when the bag hasn't completely unfolded at the bottom. There's a chance for the bag to rip if you just jam the chute in. This might be fixed if the bottom corners of the chute were rounded. Now that I think about it, I may try to trim the corners before I finish raking this year's leaves.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Lenexa, KS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute really works

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a new homeowner, and spent most of the past season chucking leaves and lawn clippings into paper bags using a cardboard form---it worked, but was cumbersome and prone to spillage. I finally spraing for the few extra bucks and bought the plastic chute, and it was a world of difference! Not only is it more durable than the cardboard, but the extended chute portion means it is a lot easier to dump clippings and leaves into without dropping a bunch all around the bag. It's a simple, easy improvement, and so far it seems pretty durable. Well worth buying for the work it saves.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Suburban Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

helps get the job done

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really helps to stabilize the bag and keeps it open while you're getting those first few handfuls/shovelfuls of leaves and clippings into the bag.
The chute is a little problematic - operator error, perhaps - in that it seems to want to fold opposite of the way it is pictured. Takes me more time to get the chute in the correct position than I would like, but once I get it situated, it works well and helps to prevent spillage when loading up the bag.
Works well for my needs.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: not so easy to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Millbury , MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have for leaves

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wish I had purchased two. Or extras as a gift to my grown children Chute is lightweight and easy to install in bag. I use bags numerous times as I transport leaves to towns transfer station. And even crumbled bags are easy to put the chute into. Bags stand up in the light wind . And the chute is inexpensive .
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from New Hampshire
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best 8$ I Ever Spent

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At first glance, the plastic leaf and lawn chute looks awfully expensive for what it appears to be. But, if you have many, many leaves to bag in the fall, and you use the large lawn and leaf bags, this little yard care accessory makes it worth every penny. The bag stays upright The leaves have a well-defined pathway into the bag. It is super easy to compress leaves in the bag because the chute prevents tears. It folds way flat when not in use for easy storage next season. You still have to rake, but bagging becomes a breeze. It was the best 8$ I have ever spent for yard care help.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: none so far!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Olive Branch, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic Laef & Lawn Chute

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After finally figuring out how to set it up, it works great.
Pros: Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from St. Louis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, really innovative!

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's not very often that I come across a product that surpasses my expectations as much as this one. The Leaf Chute's dramatically impressive utility became obvious within a few minutes. The things I hate most about bagging leaves are how difficult it is to fill the bag quickly and then easily compress the leaves. With the Leaf Chute, I found that loading the bag was far faster, AND it makes compressing the leaves easier because the bag is supported on three sides by the device. I would estimate that I was able to fill 3 or 4 bags in the time it would normally take me to fill 1. It is particularly helpful if you are doing the raking and bagging without help. Outstanding product, and when mine wears out in a few years, I will not think twice about replacing it with another. Worth every penny!
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute
from Cedar Park, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This works great! Much better than the item that just sits at the top to hold the bag open.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plastic Leaf and Lawn Chute

Best $9 I've spent.

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cheap simple and works perfectly. This holds the bags open and upright, makes it easier to get stuff into them (because it's like a funnel) and lets you stuff the bags more fully than normal because it stiffens the bag and makes it stronger.
It also folds back to flat after use.
This is a must have if you use the paper lawn bags. Don't hesitate to get this when you see it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>