728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Additives or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth

Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth

Cabinet coat acrylic enamel is a unique waterborne finish that dries hard enough to apply to cabinets, trim, doors and other heavy use interior surfaces. Cabinet coat enamel is not your ordinary paint. Cabinet coat passes the tough tests used for application to cabinets. It's tough, hard, durable and moisture resistant finish passes the tests required by the kitchen cabinet manufacturers association. Cabinet coat can bring life back to old, worn out cabinets for $1000 less than replacing your cabinets. And because it's so tough it's preferred on all doors and trim thoughout your home.
Overall rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Review 1 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Way to Update Dingy Cabinets

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tested this on one of our cabinets to see how I liked it. I cleaned the cabinet with a tsp substitute and sanded. I found you need at least three coats of this paint. I took other people's advice and used a small roller and paintbrush for details. I loved how the cabinet looked so much that I began working on the rest right away. I finished the project in about two weeks. I also added handles to all of the doors .I feel like it is a whole new kitchen. It didn't break the bank either. I only needed 1 gallon and 1 quart. It was just enough. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Exceeds Expectations

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching the right paint for my kitchen project I selected Cabinet Coat to be the finish on my cabinetry. My home was a fixer-upper and the kitchen had flat panelled doors and drawers in a two-toned Mauve and Beige laminate film. I made all new doors and drawers in a Shaker Style . The Cabinet Coat does not require a primer but I applied a primer coat as I was using new wood for the Shaker Doors. Each piece of cabinetry received a primer coat and three thin coats of the Cabinet Coat with each coat being sanded with a 220 grade sandpaper. The Cabinet Coat was applied using a High Density foam roller and the end result was a Factory-Like hard finish! The paint is thicker than normal paints and dries very quickly but goes a long way in its spreadibility. I was able to complete 34 doors and drawers and all of the cabinet frames using one gallon. The key to a factory-like hard finish is to apply thin coats, let dry the recommended time between each coat and fine sand between each coat! If you want a Smooth, Bright and Satin finish on your cabinetry then don't hesitate....Get Cabinet Coat....My neighbors cannot believe that I did this remodel myself. A new sink,faucet, granite counters, LED Tape lights, new knobs and pulls complete my kitchen remodel. Before and After pics attached
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Final product comes out great

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Make sure you prepare your cabinets well. Clean well, especially if they are kitchen cabinets. Used TSP first, sand lightly,then a good primer so that they do not bleed & 2 coats of cabinet coat. Love the finish product..
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy but time consuming

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the final result but it was a lot of work to get there; two months total all by myself.
For prep I sanded and tried using oil-based primer. I gave up on the primer since it gave a bad texture, which would require more sanding. So instead I only used primer on the fake wood pieces, and did at least 4 coats of paint. The paint dries fast, which can lead to mistakes. Any mistakes I sanded away and repainted.
I had to use a brush and not a roller, even the included one, because it gave the paint a bad texture. I could only paint so much in a day because of the strain on my wrist. I think the paint is too thick, and so towards the end of the project I ended up watering it down a little.
Regarding the paint color, I didn't want such a bright white so I asked HD to dye it for me. The two paint people there were confused and didn't want to, for fear of ruining the paint. So I convinced them and we came up with the color C10301 / LL010.5 / KX10200 , which is still white, but a little more creamy yellow.
The paint finish is great; not too shiny and strong. Stains wipe right off.
I love my new kitchen!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Virginia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best Choice For Cabinets and Trim

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used over half a dozen other products looking for something to use on my kitchen cabinets and Cabinet Coat was by far the best. It leaves no brush strokes and is so easy to apply. I don't have much experience painting and it showed with other paints but not with this one. I have now used it on all the trim and bookshelves in my living room, my bathroom vanities, and kitchen cabinets. I love it. The white color is similar to Benjamin Moore's Cloud White and looks beautiful with cool undertones that are closer to blue grey base than warm bases. You can get the tintable base though. I am a big CC fan and will use it from now on.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Green Bay, Wisconsin

Hard rock finish, no brush strokes!

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a lousy painter but I wanted a fresh look to our kitchen cabinets & wood trim throughout our winter home. I was planning on replacing everything until I read about this Cabinet Coat paint from Insul-x. I thought I'd give it a try, I'd only be out a little time & the cost of a gallon of paint. WOW! this saved me thousands. Amazing product! I followed the directions & no primer was used over the varnished cabinets, used foam brushs/rollers and no brush strokes noted. Lightly sanded between coats. The final finish looked like a factory finish. It has been 7 years since that project & the cabinets still look great. The finish is as rock hard as an automobile paint! I LOVE this paint.
+59points
59out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

AWESOME AWESOME !!!!!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Product is totally AWESOME !!! It dries so fast, that i was able to apply 3 coats in one day and get my kitchen cabinets finished in a much quicker fashion than i had expected. I did not need to sand my cabinets as they are a formica and there really isn't much to sand. It goes on neat and levels itself. I was able to do 3 coats on 19 cabinets and the framing with not even a full gallon. I bought two and returned the 2nd gallon. its amazing what a fresh coat of paint and new hardware could do!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND !!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Western Nebraska
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spray application not needed

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to refinish the kitchen cabinets doors in a rental house I own.
The supplied 4' foam roller did an excellent job on properly prepared cabinet doors. Roller marks are not evident. I used three thin coats and decided that buffing out the final surface finish was unnecessary. I am very impressed with the results.
I had originally intended to use an HVLP spray gun for this project, but found the roller gave great results.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly, well worth the 50+/gal price.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from TRENTON, NJ...where the weak are killed and eaten!
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is the best cabinet/trim paint money can buy

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint was recommended to me years ago by a guy at a local paint store. I first used it on my kitchen cabinets and was extremely impressed with the results. The paint dries like a factory finish, not like normal paint. It is also very hard once it dries. Just make sure you use a decent brush or roller. I now use it on my trim too. The place I originally bought it from has since gone out of business and I had trouble finding it for a while, I was very happy when I found it on Homedepot.com!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Wichita Falls, Texas

This product works as advertised...

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife wanted an inexpensive spruce up of our kitchen cabinets and this paint is perfect. The instructional tips have helped me obtain a great finish and I can't wait to complete the job. I like the paint so much that I ordered a second gallon for interior doors and I think I'll use it to refinish my daughter's little rocking chair.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth

Just as I Expected

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had used this paint before and is the only one I will use for painting cabinets. I was not looking for the kit but it was the only source of the paint readily available. The small foam roller and tray is ideal for cabinets and leaves a very nice finish. Count on three thin coats. If you get in a hurry, you will have runs and roller/brush marks. If you take your time, you will have a very nice, long lasting finish.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: thick coverage does not help speed up the process.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Genesee WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

What a Product

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW, I have painted other cabinets with other products and none turned out as great as CABINET COAT. The best I've ever used. Thanks
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Stormville, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

amazing

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
25 year old cabinets in my mitchen look brand new and factory painted.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Twin Falls, Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this Product! My cabinets look brand new!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This cabinet paint is the best paint! It goes on smooth. To avoid drips, I would use a smooth roller versus the foam roller that comes with it. The foam roller makes the paint drippy, but a smooth (regular style roller) keeps the drips at a minimum. We have a large kitchen, and it took us three weekends to do the job, but the end result was so worth it. My cabinets look new and beautiful. We did replace the hinges and added pulls, and now my kitchen looks high end instead of builder grade. You will love this product. We did sand our cabinets, and primed with Kilz, we wanted to be sure the paint stuck. I had forgot to prime the inside of two cabinets, and the paint went on fine there too.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth

Great Product!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased product to paint 25 year old kitchen cabinets. Painted with 4 coats to cover the dark cabinets. They came out great with little to no brush strokes. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone that needs a durable fresh look to a kitchen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really like this paint. It covers great and looks great!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Covers very nicely and looks spectacular! I am on my third can. I am doing all the woodwork and doors in my home.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from west truin ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

cabinet coat kit

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this paint is hard to work with it says only 2 coats I had to do 4 coats to cover this is after washing and sanding .I feel it should perform better for the price.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

covers good but poor tinting information

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
after 45 minutes at paint counter, John was able to find the tinting formula for this product and he matched it perfectly I give John kudos for his effort and a low mark for products info on tint formulas availability. My cabinets look great , thanks again John.
Pros: Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: no tinting info with product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Holden, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cabinet Coat 1 gal. Kit

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all, the kit arrived on the designated date.
Instructions were simply written and didn't involve tons of steps. The paint dries fast to a smooth, professional finish.
We sanded lightly, did two coats of primer, then two coats of Cabinet Coat. We allowed cabinet doors to dry flat.
Loved this product and would definitely use again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, smooth professional finish
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
from Linden, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great but a time consuming project

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not a professional but what I've done I am very satisfied with. I'm going to use it on my bath cabinet also now. I did use 3 coats of primer then only needed 2 coats of the paint.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>