728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Additives or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth

Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth

Cabinet coat acrylic enamel is a unique waterborne finish that dries hard enough to apply to cabinets, trim, doors and other heavy use interior surfaces. Cabinet coat enamel is not your ordinary paint. Cabinet coat passes the tough tests used for application to cabinets. It's tough, hard, durable and moisture resistant finish passes the tests required by the kitchen cabinet manufacturers association. Cabinet coat can bring life back to old, worn out cabinets for $1000 less than replacing your cabinets. And because it's so tough it's preferred on all doors and trim thoughout your home.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Review 1 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Callmenee
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy but time consuming

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the final result but it was a lot of work to get there; two months total all by myself.
For prep I sanded and tried using oil-based primer. I gave up on the primer since it gave a bad texture, which would require more sanding. So instead I only used primer on the fake wood pieces, and did at least 4 coats of paint. The paint dries fast, which can lead to mistakes. Any mistakes I sanded away and repainted.
I had to use a brush and not a roller, even the included one, because it gave the paint a bad texture. I could only paint so much in a day because of the strain on my wrist. I think the paint is too thick, and so towards the end of the project I ended up watering it down a little.
Regarding the paint color, I didn't want such a bright white so I asked HD to dye it for me. The two paint people there were confused and didn't want to, for fear of ruining the paint. So I convinced them and we came up with the color C10301 / LL010.5 / KX10200 , which is still white, but a little more creamy yellow.
The paint finish is great; not too shiny and strong. Stains wipe right off.
I love my new kitchen!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
ljm58
from Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Final product comes out great

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Make sure you prepare your cabinets well. Clean well, especially if they are kitchen cabinets. Used TSP first, sand lightly,then a good primer so that they do not bleed & 2 coats of cabinet coat. Love the finish product..
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Pasty
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really like this paint. It covers great and looks great!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Covers very nicely and looks spectacular! I am on my third can. I am doing all the woodwork and doors in my home.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
WeekendWarrior
from Virginia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best Choice For Cabinets and Trim

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used over half a dozen other products looking for something to use on my kitchen cabinets and Cabinet Coat was by far the best. It leaves no brush strokes and is so easy to apply. I don't have much experience painting and it showed with other paints but not with this one. I have now used it on all the trim and bookshelves in my living room, my bathroom vanities, and kitchen cabinets. I love it. The white color is similar to Benjamin Moore's Cloud White and looks beautiful with cool undertones that are closer to blue grey base than warm bases. You can get the tintable base though. I am a big CC fan and will use it from now on.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
grandmaof7
from Green Bay, Wisconsin

Hard rock finish, no brush strokes!

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a lousy painter but I wanted a fresh look to our kitchen cabinets & wood trim throughout our winter home. I was planning on replacing everything until I read about this Cabinet Coat paint from Insul-x. I thought I'd give it a try, I'd only be out a little time & the cost of a gallon of paint. WOW! this saved me thousands. Amazing product! I followed the directions & no primer was used over the varnished cabinets, used foam brushs/rollers and no brush strokes noted. Lightly sanded between coats. The final finish looked like a factory finish. It has been 7 years since that project & the cabinets still look great. The finish is as rock hard as an automobile paint! I LOVE this paint.
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
pickyperson
from Western Nebraska
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spray application not needed

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to refinish the kitchen cabinets doors in a rental house I own.
The supplied 4' foam roller did an excellent job on properly prepared cabinet doors. Roller marks are not evident. I used three thin coats and decided that buffing out the final surface finish was unnecessary. I am very impressed with the results.
I had originally intended to use an HVLP spray gun for this project, but found the roller gave great results.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly, well worth the 50+/gal price.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
wjm1

Just as I Expected

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had used this paint before and is the only one I will use for painting cabinets. I was not looking for the kit but it was the only source of the paint readily available. The small foam roller and tray is ideal for cabinets and leaves a very nice finish. Count on three thin coats. If you get in a hurry, you will have runs and roller/brush marks. If you take your time, you will have a very nice, long lasting finish.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: thick coverage does not help speed up the process.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
JRS1
from Stormville, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

amazing

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
25 year old cabinets in my mitchen look brand new and factory painted.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
PaulDrywall
from Wichita Falls, Texas

This product works as advertised...

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife wanted an inexpensive spruce up of our kitchen cabinets and this paint is perfect. The instructional tips have helped me obtain a great finish and I can't wait to complete the job. I like the paint so much that I ordered a second gallon for interior doors and I think I'll use it to refinish my daughter's little rocking chair.
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
pablo
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

covers good but poor tinting information

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
after 45 minutes at paint counter, John was able to find the tinting formula for this product and he matched it perfectly I give John kudos for his effort and a low mark for products info on tint formulas availability. My cabinets look great , thanks again John.
Pros: Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: no tinting info with product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Karen
from Linden, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great but a time consuming project

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not a professional but what I've done I am very satisfied with. I'm going to use it on my bath cabinet also now. I did use 3 coats of primer then only needed 2 coats of the paint.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Chuck45
from Holden, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cabinet Coat 1 gal. Kit

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all, the kit arrived on the designated date.
Instructions were simply written and didn't involve tons of steps. The paint dries fast to a smooth, professional finish.
We sanded lightly, did two coats of primer, then two coats of Cabinet Coat. We allowed cabinet doors to dry flat.
Loved this product and would definitely use again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, smooth professional finish
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
saywo
from Tonopah, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EXELLENT, delivery was right on time was more in the kit than expected
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
Harry
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

There are better choices

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to refinish kitchen cabinets. Needed to coat 3 times. Brush marks visable even with the best brush's.
If your going to use this paint, it probably would be better to spray or roll it on or live with the bruch lines.
I expected better for $ 50 a gallon.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Apply
Cons: Scratches Easily, the brush lines make this a basement cabinet paint
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabinet Coat 1-gal. Kit Includes White Trim and Cabinet Enamel with Applicators Sandpaper and Tack Cloth
tk7946

Worst paint I have ever used

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I started painting my kitchen cabinets with this paint and had to remove it all and switch paints -- fortunately I just did one cabinet when I noticed that the paint did not adhere well at all -- I was able to get all the paint off very easily with a scraper. Also, the paint dries too quickly; leaving brush marks.
I switched to Behr Ultra and my cabinets look great.
-18points
5out of 28found this review helpful.