728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Side by Side Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black

33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black

The LG Side by Side refrigerator is 33 in. width, fits to 66-3/4 in. height, accommodating specialized kitchen spaces. It is one of the biggest refrigerators with similar dimensions. The striking LG side-by-side refrigerator combines good looks with great features, like an ultra-accommodating water dispenser that’s tall enough to fill just about anything, and our Digital temperature controls help keep food fresh.
Overall rating:
3.802 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product68 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(29)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(17)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product68 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Lockport, NY 14094, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with my purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had the LG fridge for 4 months. I am very pleased with this refrigerator, both in efficiency and looks. It will beep if the doors are left open too long, which is very helpful with young children in our household.
Some other reviews mentioned difficulty with the water lines malfunctioning. This is common in all refrigerators, not just LG. Our last refridgerator (not LG brand) had the same issue.
One thing I'd like LG to change is the fact that the water dispenser lights are not on all the time, and the different choices (water/crushed ice/cubed ice) are not backlit. I've gotten used to the indicator for these, but our guests have had some difficulty selecting their choice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fits in the space I had available

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Put this in a motorhome. with very small modifications took out original gas/electric unit.this works 100% better.much colder and efficient. only wish it had a light at water/ice dispenser
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Clinton, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This was a great product for the money

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fridge had all the features I needed to fit a small space. It was very economically feasible and I am very pleased. The only disadvantage is the length of time it takes to produce ice.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has well designed features and exceptional quality

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We absolutely like the side-by-side design and the spacious storage areas. The filtered water and ice maker features are fantastic.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

NIce

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like the fridge, but the ice maker cannot keep up with my family.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Medford, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product.

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this item for a few weeks now and I love it. Very nicely designed and it works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black

This refrigerator has great features.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first side by side refrigerator and I love it! I also love the water and ice in the door!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Carmel, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't last a day....

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When the product was delivered and installed, it looked wonderful in my kitchen but the refrigerator handle was dented and the door had white scratches on it. A new door was ordered to replace it. Overnight the refrigerator ran and in the morning, the top half of the fridge and freezer were warm and the bottom half was frozen. I could have gone bowling with my apples. The motor worked, but the fan did not so I had to throw out a lot of food. I called LG to get it replaced and was told I had to wait 3 weeks to get a replacement because it was on back order. Ended up ordering another brand fridge in place of it, and LG took 3 weeks to get the paperwork done so someone could come out to pick it up. Bottom line, I won't order another LG product in the future. This product and their customer service has turned me away from the company.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: unreliable
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Chester, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product has great features

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am glad this purchase was made. This product meets all of our needs in a refrigerator and the special features enhances the kitchen.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Green Bay, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The LG is great fridge! A lot of room for the size. The water dispensor is nice and big so kids have an easier time filling up with water without spilling or knocking the cup over. The crispers keep veggies and fruits fresh a lot longer than our old fridge. Also very easy to clean both outside and inside. Very pleased.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Falls Church, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This refrigerator is one of only two side-by-sides that fits small spaces

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This refrigerator packs all the expected features of a side-by-side refrigerator into a small foot print. I own a small, old house where the space for the refrigerator is small in all dimensions. This was one of only two that could fit the space. I am very pleased with the product
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a nice fridge

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The freezer is small in this one. I would like to see a small ice maker and more room in the freezer. I have another full size freezer so it's ok but if you don't I wouldn't buy this one because you can't fit much in it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Minnesota

Great LG fridge!

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We chose this LG because while we wanted to go with Maytag to match our other appliances we recently purchased, there was not a Maytag that would fit our space. We were looking for a side by side and the measurements for this LG were perfect and we knew it would be snug--which it is but overall it is great. When the guys delivered it, there were a few dings on the front doors, more noticeable on the left side but we were offered some $$ which was fine with us. It was fairly simple to hook up the water line. And for us (a family of 4) it is a great size, there is plenty of room in fridge and tons of space on the fridge side door. The freezer door also has lots of shelves on the door but they are so small not much fits in them, but still plenty of room inside!
My only complaint would be the ice feature. There must be a small defect either just in ours or in the design of it. When you put your glass up for ice if you aren't paying attention it will totally come flying out. And sometimes the hole gets clogged up with ice and you have to either help it out via poke your finger up to loosen the ice out...OR you can open the freezer door and all the ice that is stuck will fall all over your floor. :) But we are learning to deal with it, and it is becoming less of a problem.
Overall, it is a great refrigerator and we are happy with it. It looks great and works well for us!
+14points
23out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black

Small and Poor Design

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this refrigerator, had to buy quickly because our current one died right before New Year's eve. Already a smaller refrigerator, but some really dumb design items. The cover of the light and filter in the back of frig takes up much of the top shelf space. There is no ability to adjust the shelves in the middle of the frig, the place where you most likely would need it. They also do not recommend storing milk in the door but the only place that really accommodates it well.
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Belgium, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks pretty but DON'T BUY - Poorly Designed Icemaker

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only owned 1 1/2 months-first service call. Repairman told me the water froze in the water intake tube, blocking it. This caused a forceful spray/leak out the back of the refrigerator on the wall and on the floor. Good thing I was in the room and heard the splashing. The repairman said I should turn off the icemaker when I leave the house or go to bed. He said LG has been having alot of problems with their poorly designed icemaker. I have a wood floor in the kitchen and if I wouldn't have heard that spashing noise, my floor would have been ruined!!! I can't trust it, so the icemaker is turned off. So what good is it? I wish could get my money back!!! I will never get another LG appliance again-came so close to getting a matching LG gas range. Thank goodness I waited on that.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from Stamford, CT

Experienced with the 23.0 cu. ft.

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in White
Now that I've used the refridgerator/freezer for a while, I think it's great! I love having the convenience of ice and water on the door. I've figured out how to use the freezer better too, as it's very deep and I can have a shelf specified for each category of food, e.g. carbs, veggies, fruits, prepared foods, and the deep basket has a turkey. That's a pretty good sized freezer! I love this fridge, and I'd recommend it for anyone who needs a larger fridge, but who doesn't have enough space or might not want a 25 cu. ft. fridge. A larger refridgerator/freezer would have overwhelmed the space I have, so I definitely made the right choice.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
from West Chester, PA

Quality product for a good price

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in White
I've only had my new refrigerator for about a month but am very happy with the purchase. I needed a mid-size refrigerator for the space that I have in my kitchen. For a mid-size refrigerator, the amount of available space is surprising and the layout of the shelves and bins is very efficient. I can definitely fit more in my new refrigerator than in my old one of the exact same size. It took very little time to get the refrigerator and freezer to the desired temperature after installation. It looks great and I have had no issues to date.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black

This refrigerator has features we wanted.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Wide Side by Side Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
We bought this for our rental unit to replace the old one. Unfortunately we are unable to tell you how it's operating but the tenants seemed to be happy with it, no complains thus far. This refrigerator is a perfect size and shape for the space we have in the kitchen of a condo we own and it offers 23 cu ft posed to 21+cu ft we had before.
When we had it first installed I noticed it operates quietly, freezer door alarms if left opened and it's good looking.
We may be able to sell this unit now.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black

What I Wanted..

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Wide Side by Side Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
Very pleased with appearance; storage space is very good for a fridge its size; cools and freezes quickly; good interior lighting; large ice bucket; like "open door" warning buzzer; magnet won't stick to door facing!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Loud ICEMAKER

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:33 in. W 23 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator in White
Ice maker very loud sounds like fire crackers going off other turn off at nite
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>