728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT

DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT

The Dyson DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner features adjustable carpet height settings to allow you to clean a variety of floor types. The HEPA filters help trap pollen and allergens and are washable for extended use. The included telescope reach wand helps you clean hard-to-reach places.
Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(727 reviews) 698
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product647 of 724reviews
Rating Breakdown 727 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(494)
4
(143)
3
(33)
2
(37)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product647 of 724reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Review 1 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Yvonne
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

The Dyson Is A Cleaning Machine!

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new Dyson is a cleaning machine! I have owned at least 15 vacuums over the past 10 years and NONE of them can compare to this one. So far, the Dyson has demonstrated remarkable suctioning, and it appears indestructible. I am very pleased with it, except for the color scheme, and so is my granddaughter who helps me keep my house clean. The features we like best are: easy to use, sucks up everything in sight, and is lightweight.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Voni
from Alpine, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Better than I expected!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything works! And does it so very well!
Easy to move around. Easy to empty.
Easy to use just the wand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
wgl01
from Roanoke VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Product,Easy installation and does very good Job

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction is great and value for money spent. Got a good deal from Home depot and we are happy with our purchase. It did not vacuum properly in a Rug. It sticking to the rug. Not sure why, otherwise pretty good vacuum cleaner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value
Cons: Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
bergerb2
from tampa bay, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very Good Product, Excellent Buying Experience

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i bought this because my wife insisted on a Dyson - for me. Researched and this seemed the best Dyson value. I called HD.com to get a price match to a Sears (yes they still exist) price. The HD rep could not have been more helpful. Gave the person the price and the link as a reference and they matched plus. Shipping also free. Set up was easy - though I had used a neighbor's so i was familiar with what goes where. Who reads directions? This does not have the "dyson Ball" but it's still easy to handle. said goodbye to dirt that probably owed me rent.
easy to empty. 4 stars because to lower the handle one must step and secure the vaccum on the brush housing at a place molded on the housing.
but overall an outstanding product from the excellent HD .com customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Mytime34
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Best Vacuum We Have Ever Owned

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced a first generation Dyson and this vacuum is lighter, smoother rolling and seems to work by far better than the older series.
Wife uses this everyday and she is very happy with the
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
TKX045
from Royal Oak, MI. U.S.A.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent value & quality

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased our Dyson D-33 about a month ago & are very pleased with the overall quality & performance of the unit. Compared to a 42 year old bag type vacuum we had been using, this one is nothing short of astounding.
We also have two cats &, thus far, the D-33 had performed very well at picking up their hair. The clear cannister gives a view of what has been picked up which, at times, can be amazing.
Overall design of the machine is great with the exception of the "retractable" hose unit. Maybe it will "limber up" with use & time, but right now the hose will not stay extended when in use, making the wand & hand tools a bit awkward to work with at times. Otherwise, a great purchase.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: retractable hose will not stay extended
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
TJTh
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

My 2nd Dyson

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This replaces an original Dyson that has been a workhorse for more than a decade. It still runs, but this was a great price and the old one is going upstairs. I got the original Dyson because we had dogs and because we had been replacing vacuums about every 2 years. I figure even with the high cost, we've saved an enormous amount of money.
I was concerned that the new one is lighter and quieter, but the suction is just as great, even more so. Dyson's have really long cords so it can get almost my entire downstairs done without replugging. It's great on stairs. Dyson's are easy to clean and maintain. For those folks worrying about it being 'plastic', don't. I've dropped mine down stairs, knocked it over. It's taken a beating and still works with no cracks.
If you have pets, there's no comparison. If you've ever vacuumed up a coin and had your vacuum combusted, get a Dyson. This thing vacuums up stuff you'd never believe. The extension is stiff at the beginning but flexes more with use. If you've been using a major competitor, it is a big change. Took hubby a while to adjust. The lighter Dyson makes me vacuum more. I'm hoping it lasts another decade.
I tried another vacuum just to make sure there still was a Dyson difference. There is. Even the high end competitor didn't match how the Dyson restored the pile on my carpets.
Home Depot's service and delivery were great. And, I was amazed that the box came with a handle. Assembly was very easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Ray1945
from Schertz, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

The Dyson Vacuum Cleaner has superb features and the Home Depot price was outstanding.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Dyson Vacuum Cleaner meets and exceeds my expectations. We use it to clean various types of flooring and carpets and the machine works great. Home Depot prices on items keeps me coming back to shop again.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design, Functional
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Down2Earth
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Waste of money, suction problems

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Suction is not very good. Have to go over carpet many times before it will actually pick up. I sent it in for repair and was told nothing was wrong with it. My cheap $70 vacuum works better then this one. Save your money and buy a different vacuum! If I can save even 1 person from this vacuum it was worth it! Had this over 1 year and was worthless from the beginning. I was promised it could be fixed and then couldn't return it since it was later then 30 days after repairs weren't even done.
Cons: Suction, Repair Costs, Difficult to Use, Build Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Tooth
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

This thing has great sucking power

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We decided to take a chance on this vacuum cause it was on the clearance rack. Glad we did, cause it put our old vacuum to shame. The multi floor option is awesome as we have a blend of hardwoods and carpet. Being able to turn off the brush head makes cleaning the hardwoods easy. It doesn't reach under furniture very well, but neither has any vacuums we have owned before. My wife was skeptical, until she used it for the first time, now she is sold.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
drcaddman
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Get an Animal

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will give the summary first,
Pro's- Easy to maintain except for brushes underneath. Good suction if you don't have animals. 12Amp draw motor, good power.
Con's - Not good for if you have animals, hair clogs up hopper. Not enough attachments for the money! Can't get under much because the head is so big.
Bought an animal DC41 on a black Friday special. I wish I bought one from the beginning and spent the extra money! Congrat's Dyson, you have almost $1000.00 of my money in less than a year! Read on for details about issues with DC33.
I bought a DC33 in April 2012. I have 2 cats, and only wanted to spend under $400.00. It performed OK with what it needed to do. Upon adding a 3rd baby kitten to our family (found shivering under my wife's car in the city right after hurricane sandy :( poor thing) the DC33 coudn't keep up with the constant demand of vaccuming more than once a week. It also was not equipped to properly vaccume furniture with CAT hair stuck too it. I had to spend another $60.00 on extra attachments since the two that came with it were not enough. Additionally, the outside of the hopper constantly clogged up with hair, it stuck right to it giving me a loss of suction. I had to blow it out weekly with my compressor. Also it tangled regularly underneath where the swirlling brushes are. The wand is tricky and awkward to use.. From a maitenence standpoint it's great, because it's easy to access everything, EXCEPT for the brushes. I was constantly untangling hair, and man was it a pain to get at them. 3 plastic flat head screws to pull the bottom off, then no way to detach the assembly. Every other review I read said don't detach the belt drive, so I didn't. So working around the belt was a pain. So now I have a DC33 for my basement and a DC41 for the main living area of my house. Kind of overkill, but I coudn't continue with a DC33. I prefer the direct drive of the Dyson Animal ball design vs. the traditional belt driven brushes. Again, spend the extra money, get the animal DC41, it's a much better vaccume. I will review the animal in a few months. Dyson should redesign the DC33 keeping the positives, or discontinue it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: clogs up with hair, brushes tangle with hair underneath, won't go under base cabinet toe kicks
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Charlie
from Corning, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent at excellent price

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second Dyson we have purchased. The first is still in service and we like it so much that's why we purchased this one. This one is lighter and more powerful. Easy to empty. Wanted the ball, but this was half the price and I don't regret it for an instant. Home depot delivered to our door for no charge. Very satisfying purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
smag
from Maine

Great value

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've put off buying a new vac because of all the bad reviews of machines that work well, but fall apart due to cheap plastic parts. We already have one of those, so I was reluctant to buy another money pit. According to reviews the Dyson parts while also plastic, are much higher quality. So far it's been great and cleans sooo much better than my old one. My rugs look like they've been shampooed, not just vacuumed! Plus I don't have to keep going over the same area to get it clean. I was concerned about not being self-propelled, but it's so light, that's not a problem.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
budzie68
from Lakeville, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Would not buy again

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed with this Dyson vacuum. Not sure if they had employees test this product but the hose does not pull from the base very easily. The attachment for floors is small and scratches. A person needs to lean way over to get the attachment right to the floor-hard on back. The extension is hard to manuver. Would rather have it all hose than the pull out. Don't see the suction power that I thought Dyson's had.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Inke
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love it, as my old one too!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have always loved this product even if it's expensive than the other brands. But it does pay itself back. Previous machine lasted more than 10 years so if it the cost was $400, it was only $40 per year. Not bad at all.
It has a great suction which I need when I have 2 dogs.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: doesn't include all necessary tools
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
W37130
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Definite upgrade

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I looked at a number of uprights prior to deciding on the DC33 as the Hoover Wind Tunnel I owned had started to lose suction. I read numerous reviews and Consumer Reports prior to deciding on the DC33. I also like the DC33 as it had a higher capacity than some other Dyson models and it was at a reduced price due to a closeout.
The Dyson has great suction and seems like a quality vacuum. I have dogs and it seems to do a great job of vacuuming up hair as well as everything else. I also like the fact that it has a brush shut off. The only negative is the height of the unit at the roller bar area. It's too high to get all the way under my kitchen cabinets so I have to use the wand to get the edges.
Although I've only owned this vacuum for a month, I've been pleased thus far.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
s0250
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Dyson Vacuum

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home depot had the best price on this vacuum. We had the cannister vac from Dyson but the cord was too short and the turbine head couldn't handle the new wall to wall carpets we have in our new house. The canister was great for our small condo with hardwood floors and area rugs - plus it gets under things better. This one really cleans the carpets. Only thing I don't like is that it doesn't get under the kitchen cabinets and wish the cord wrapped up w/a push of a button like the cannister.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
DarVan
from Parrish, FL 34219, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love it, but wish it had floor to carpet adjustment automatic.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love it and don't understand why it is a closeout item.
Also love that I do not need to buy filters for 5 years, they are all washable!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Chris

Dyson is the king of vacuums. Never a disappointment.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best vacuum for the price. Easy to use and amazing suction. I own four of these. Only vacuum I will buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC33 Multi Floor Bagless Upright Vacuum - CLOSEOUT
Wes94085
from Sunnyvale, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best Vacuum Ever

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had one at home, needed another for the office. Would buy another if I needed it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>