728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED

Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED

Flushing systems don't get any better than this one. The Champion 4 system features the industry's largest flush valve. The 4 in. Accelerator flush valve pushes water into the bowl three times faster than a standard 2 in.. The system also has the industry's largest siphon outlet at 2-3/8 in.. This extra wide fully glazed opening can move a mass almost 70 percent larger than a standard 2 in.. It achieves a maximum MaP score rating of 1,000 grams. you may never have to use your plunger again. It also helps keep itself cleaner with our exclusive EverClean surface. And it's all backed by a 10 year warranty on china and trim.
Overall rating:
4.477 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product136 of 147reviews
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(93)
4
(45)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product136 of 147reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Belmont, CA

Finally a toilet that doesn't clog

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
For 15 years, we have lived with "low flow" toilets that clog on anything solid, even just a small amount of paper. After years of plunging continuously, we can get rid of our plunger and our snake. This toilet does not clog. We replaced all 3 of our toilets with the Champion after trying it out. The "Right Height" toilet is way too high and cuts off the circulation in your legs with in a minute or two. The Standard Height toilet is perfect.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from GeneInTheWoods

Great flush- Installation not the easiest

PostedJune 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
Positives
-Works well and flushes everything
-Quiet
-Refills quickly
Negatives
-Large base makes leveling somewhat difficult
-Big rubber washer between tank and bowl must carefully positioned to prevent leaks. I had to reassemble and reposition after small leak.
-Tightening tank to bowl needs to be done slowly- alternate tightening each bolt will get the tank fully seated.
-Flush handle and actuation rod are both made of plastic. A metal mechanism would provide a better feel when flushing.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Cleveland, Ohio

Very good but not great!

PostedApril 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
I've been using this toilet for about 6 months and overall happy with its performance. With my old 3+ gallon workorse I used to find myself having to plunge on a frequent basis with heavy tissue usage. This new Champion has ended that practice forever!! But I must note that instead of having to plunge the toilet, I now have to flush a second time with heavy tissue usage (old habits die hard). It always does the trick though. Haven't used the plunger yet!! Some other things to be aware of are that the toilet seat and handle are made from extremely cheap materials. I weigh 170# and the seat and lid twist and turn when I sit on it with both down. At some point I will replace the seat with higher quality. Since he handle has to be held down in order to flush, the cheap quality is a concern. Lastly, note that the footprint is 2" longer. May not seem like much, but it does make a difference in close bathroom quarters.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED

Not as strong as ADA toilet, also leaks

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
I accidently bought a model at the store that is ADA compliant and a little taller than a standard height toilet. It flushes wonderfully and I have had no problems. So I decided to get a 2nd one. This time however, I ordered a standard height model online.
It does not do the job nearly as well as the taller model, which makes me believe the engineering is faulty and why they don't sell a standard height model in the store. Just my opinion. And now in less than a year, the flapper leaks slightly and every few hours the fill valve will open to re-fill the tank.
I will recommend it, but if you get a standard height model and it doesn't do what you expect, return it for a taller one and you will be satisfied.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED

Outstanding Product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
I must say that I had my doubts about these new low-flow toilets since their reputation was horrible when they first came out. Everyone has heard stories of needing 3-4 flushes to empty the bowl. However, they finally figured out how to re-engineer them so that they work.
These units work PERFECTLY. Very powerful flush and zero clogs. I did some research before the purchase and one of the reasons I bought these was the larger exit passage diameter and the very large passage from the tank to the bowl, which provides a powerful rush of water.
Be aware that these do not come with seats. The American Standard slow-close seat is very nice. However, the tank DOES come with all flushing mechanisms and hardware installed.
We are very happy with them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED

Great Toilet. Good basic style.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
We like the Champion 4 toilets because so far they have been very reliable. Easy to install (we did it ourselves) and not a single clog. I think the Home Depot site should have been more explicit in noting that this model did not come with a toilet seat or a wax ring!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Clovis

Great product with very functional features

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
I purchased a new home less than one year ago. The toilets that they installed were OK, but were not by any means above average. I purchased the American Standard Champion toilets back in May after reading some on-line reviews and have been pleased with my purchase. The toilets were delivered on time and intact. They not only have a quick flush system, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much quieter they are compared to those that I have been accustomed to. They appear to do the job they are designed for very well and much better than the ones I replaced.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will not disappoint

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
I've had two of these for over six-months now, with no clogs, leaks, or other problems. The flush is powerful, and they stay clean a long time. One of them took a little time to get the tank to seal properly, but it has been fine since.
Toilet seat I recommend with this: Bemis 1600E2000
Pros: comfortable height, elongated, no clogs, stays clean.
Con: plastic flush handle. Would've been nice to have metal.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Fremont, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solved the plunger problem...

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
We had a long-running having-to-use-the-plunger-every-time-problem in a toilet that was replaced by this one. Our plumber recommended that we get the largest outlet size available. I chose this based on the outlet size (2.75" diameter), price and other reviews here and at other sites. I am glad to say that we haven't used the plunger since this toilet was installed. Home Depot delivery was as promised. Even though it was supposed to be curb-side delivery, the delivery person was kind enough to bring it into the house. All in all, very happy with the purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta

Looks good in black

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Black-DISCONTINUED
The black Champion 4 toilet looked very good in print and in my remodeled bathroom. Just be aware that for some reason American Standard thinks that this toilet should be sold without a seat. Looking back, the online ad did indicate this fact but I missed this important fact when ordering.When I logged back in after installing the toilet, I found that the seats were backordered and not generally stocked in the stores.So, one week after installation, still awaiting a seat.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flushes great, quiet & quick flush

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet works very well. My old toilet had a insulated tank to keep it from sweating. The new tank solves the sweating problem by only using half of the tanks water to flush. The remaining half tank is at room temperature which mixes with the new water to fill the tank. The resulting tank water temperature should not be cold enough to cause the tank to sweat.
Everything is flushed in a couple of seconds with no clogs! I plan on ordering another for our other bathroom!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Burbank CA

Performs as advertised.

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
I put this toilet in two weeks ago and finally put the plunger back in the garage instead of storing it behind the toilet. No more clogs! Installation was pretty much straight forward. The only snags were that the water inlet is a few inches higher than the old one, requiring a longer supply line,and the access to the left side seat mounting bolt is restricterd so that you cannot use a socket wrench. A little tricky to tighten but doable with pliers.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED

Gasket issue

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
The gasket kit #234 that came with the Champion 4 toilet, contained black gasket that was smooth on the inside. No matter how much torque I put on the nut, it would not tighten down to where the ribs on the tank and toilet touched. I bought two different length 3/8 screwdrivers ($18) to use to hold the bolt. Two adults had trouble tightening the bolt to attach the tank to the toilet. I noticed porcelain dust/chips from tightening the bolts.
I had to cut off the frozen bolt with a oscillating Rigid tool. Two adults could not bulge or remove the nut from the bolt with a 3/8 screwdriver and pass through ratchet. I ruined the $15 saw blade since the bolt is made of hard stainless steel.
American Standard Customer Service sent replacement gasket kit #241, that contained a green gasket, the inside was formed to fit around octangular plastic nut on the tank. The green gasket was slightly slimmer than the black gasket (#234). I was able to hand tighten the brass bolts until the ribs touched by myself and without a screwdriver.
The toilet now works fine after adjusting the flushing handle. I am sure the wrong gasket kit was included with the tank. It took a week for the gasket to arrive and to finally assemble the toilet. This is the 3rd American Standard I have installed.
Pros: Strong Water Pressure, Great Value
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Detroit area, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No plunger required!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
Have an American Standard Champion 4 "Right Height" in my master bath and love it. Got tired of the toilets in my guest and kids' bathrooms clogging, but the "Right Height" is a little too tall for some people, so I ordered two of these (I guess you'd call these "Standard Height"). I wish I could have gotten these in the store, since it ended up costing more to order on-line with delivery, and paying for the separate toilet seat, but still happy I got these. Wish I had bought an American Standard slow-close seat to go with this toilet (I got something cheaper, and I got what I paid for).
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Water Pressure
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Gainesville, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pinhole leak in porcelain. Not the first time.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this toilet with store delivery. Tank and bowl are packaged separately. Installation was uneventful, but soon discovered water creeping out from under the toilet base, from a point behind the sewer line. Leak was not associated with flushing. Used food dye, first in tank, then in bowl, to determine that the leak was coming from a breach in the porcelain chute that runs from bowl to floor drain. I removed the toilet, filled chute with dyed water, and the leak location became obvious, even though it amounted to only one drop every 20 seconds or so. I returned both tank and bowl to the store for a full refund. Last year, I ordered the same toilet from Home Depot for a different bathroom. That toilet had a crack in the tank, so I had to return it and order another tank. I love the Champion 4 flush power, but I wish the qualtiy control could be improved.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from Dunnellon, Florida

Great toliet

PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
I have finally gotten rid of the toliet plunger. This is a fantastic toliet for its flush. I would recommend it to anyone and I have.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED

Royal Flush

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
This will flush everything you consider flushing. I have 7 dogs. I can pick up anything with a thick paper towel...drop it in...not flush...clean the back yard of droppings and drop it in also...then flush...amazing. I laugh cause they claim it flushes 18 golf balls...i am sure it can. Do Not Test That...youtube it only. My only regret is that I first bought the tall right height elongated champion 4...my wife hated it. I liked it cause it took me maybe 30 minutes to install cause everything was in the big box from the store...but her feet dangled...pressure on her legs...not comfortable. So I returned it which HD took back gladly and the marked it "return to vendor" even though we had gently used it. I had to order the lower height CHAMPION 4 for more money and it showed up in two boxes...one for the bowl one for the tank...I had to buy everything else...rings screws etc. It was worth it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
from KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great performance

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
Best flushing power. Great performance. Easy install.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product was easy to assemble and install.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
This was an "on-line" only purchase. Ordering was simple and straight forward. Shipping was included in this purchase.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champion 4 2-Piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in Linen-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Best I ever owned.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Champion 4 2-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White-DISCONTINUED
4" flush, 2 3/8" trap outlet, higher seat and Elongated. Over a year now and has never pluged up. This toilet is taller than most (31 1/2"). Make sure it will fit under your counter top. Best used under 36" counter top or no counter top at all.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Comfortable, Reliable
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>