728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

This 28 in. folding fire pit spark screen is ideal for larger fires on suitably sized fire pits. The folding design makes it easy to access the fire and can be used as a spark screen replacement or upgrade for most 35 in. copper or steel fire pits. For all other fire pits, please measure your fire pit to confirm a 27-28 in. spark screen will fit properly. Steel construction with hi-temp black paint finish.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
Review 1 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Functional but lacks style, and hard to remove when hot

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Basically a half-sphere when assembled. It would probably look good on a massive stone fire pit, but for a metal firepit on a stand, this cover just overwhelms the appearance with a large mechanical-looking cover that is visually larger than the base. Construction is fine and assembly is easy. It's hard to remove this when hot, so not a good match if you want to do that.
Pros: Durable, Functional
Cons: unattractive, difficult to remove when hot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

It held up to high heat and flame

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I like the product really looks good on my pit.
The first time I made a fire it was so big flame were thru the wire mesh held up to high heat and flames. But it burnt the coating a few days later started to rust. Wish it was made of stainless steel. That would have made it a ten in my book
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Well worth it

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like this product because it allows you to have access to your fire without having to totally lift off a hot screen like the single piece screens many fire pits come with. The two pieces pivot and kind of nest together, so you can leave one side open or just open it whenever you need to add wood or rearrange things. Had to make a minor adjustment after assembling so the two parts didn't rub when opening, but that was easy to give a bit of a bend to one side. Now it works perfectly. My firepit/table did not come with a screen dome but I probably would have replaced it with this one even if it had. This was the perfect addition to our recreational fire pit. They come in different sizes as well, so there should be one to meet your needs. If you don't have a spark arresting screen like many fire codes require for recreational fires, or are tired of having to lift off a hot screen dome to add wood and poke at the fire, this screen dome is the answer. I highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is my 3rd screen, by far the best!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the height and the folding aspect makes it very easy to stoke fire.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Had to make minor adjustment

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Directions were incorrect but we have a similar one so it was easy to assemble. Had to reverse the top bolt as the bar was bent and the bolt was scraping the bar when opened. Otherwise seems to well constructed. Great not to have to remove the entire screen to add wood or adjust the fire. Much safer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: adjustment necessary
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Tyrone, PA 16686, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This folding fire pit screen was the final touch for my fire pit.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After finally assembling the screen with out much of an effort, I was amazed of the ease of the rolling back of the screen from one side to another to gain access to the fire pit. It was the perfect finish for my 25" diameter fire pit and I have had many inquires as to where I purchased it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from San Diego CA. area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

NOT flimsy, and provides easy access

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Having recently built a fire pit, I knew I would need a screen in the highly volatile fire region of southern California. This screen fit the bill perfectly.
It is NOT flimsy, has a fair amount of weight. Either side flips up for easy access. The handles do get warm but not too hot to touch. Just be sure to measure the diameter of your pit to get the right size screen as different sizes are available.
Assembly was easy, but following the instructions. The materials are adequate but I feel the screen holes are a bit too large as some embers do pass thru. With annual maintenance i.e. wire brush, hi-temp paint etc. this screen should last a few years...we'll see.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use
Cons: none so far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

misleading size - buyer beware

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is generally as described with one serious flaw: it is not 28" but actually 28.75". Even the box it came in from China says 29", which is closer to the true size. If your fire pit can handle a 28" screen but not a 28.75", like mine, this product will not work without modification to the fire pit to keep the screen from sliding off when opening and closing - a serious hazard when it is hot! Buyer beware: do not trust the dimensions indicated!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: is larger than indicated leading to poor fit
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Worth the Money

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well structured fire pit spark screen and is well worth the money,
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Townsend, Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble and does the job it is designed to do

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Whether as a replacement part for a damaged or lost spark screen, or if used as a preventive screen to keep the kids separated from the flame, this spark screen is easy to assemble and does the job it is designed to do. Mine is used to serve as a barrier between unsupervised apartment dwelling curious children and the heat and flame of my charcoal chimney starter. Folding design does make it easy to access the interior.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Fire Pit Screen

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very impressed! It is solid and I like the fact that it is higher that other screens that I have seen. This allows for more wood and less heat on the handle.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Wayside, NJ 07753, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good Value

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to put together and works well. Looks good as well, good value for the money
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Boston, MA, USA

Not as Described

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this because the dimensions said it is 28 3/4 wide x 27 1/2, I put it together after waiting over a week for delivery it really is 30" wide by 26 1/2 . one half of screen is smalller than other because it opens into larger side,which is evident in picture, too bad it is not the size they say it is....Now I have to take it apart,put each piece back in plastic,box it up and drive to store for return, and start all over looking for one thats really 28 or 29 " round....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

poor quality

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lets just say I can put stuff together with no problem. This thing hit each other and rubbed as the two half round sides when inside each other. I tried fussing and said, WHY, it was new. Returned with no problem but it was not the experience I wanted.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

very easy to assemble. looks great on fire pit

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We love our new fire pit screen. It was easy to put together and gives our fire pit a professional look.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Nice Spark Screen

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is nice and tall and you can fit a nice amount of wood under it. Keeps the sparks from flying! It was a little large, but 1 screw and a little bending and it is secured it to the metal base I have. It looks like a complete gobe now :) I love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Solid construction and materials, easy assembly as well. Be sure to measure your pit prior to purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Great Replacement Spark Screen!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This spark screen is better than the original I had! The taller dome covers the whole fire so the flames aren't coming through the screen. Having a small back yard with plants and trees nearby this makes me at ease to have a big fire and not have to worry about it getting out of hand. The hinged opening design is great for adding logs and stays nice and cool even with a roaring fire! Great product! Great design!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Very satisfied, looks great!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this to replace the screen that came with our fire pit. We like the height and the fact that it is easy to access the fire. It appears sturdy, and we hope it lasts for several years. We like the fact that it can be sanded and painted with high-temperature paint to protect it from rusting. The screen is much heavier duty than the screen that came with the original fire pit. It was easy to assemble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 28 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Great Product.

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Good quality. A lot better than the original screen that came with the pit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>