728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

The convenient folding design of this 40 inch steel fire pit spark screen makes it easy to access the logs and fire of your outdoor fire pit. Measuring approximately 40 inches diameter, the spark screen is suitable for larger fire pits. Please measure your fire pit to confirm a 39-41 inch spark screen will fit securely.
Overall rating:
4.074 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product60 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(10)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product60 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
Review 1 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This spark screen arrestor was perfect

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As one can see I purchased all the fire pit parts (fire pit, spark screen and pavers) separately. It was important that the screen fit and perform properly since the fire pit is located in the woods. I had read that a lot of customers had purchased spark screens that did not fit their specific application. The screen that was purchased from Home Depot was as described in the literature, was easily assembled and performed in manner that one would expect. I am very pleased
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
Age Range:35 to 44

Perfect for backyard firepit ambiance

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this screen to go with a fire pit we built, (it has a 36" steel ring and stone all around). The size was perfect and the dome opens from either side to allow for tending the fire. It keeps the sparks in, and the steel seems like it will hold up well. Great purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Stroudsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what its supposed to

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
well made ,easy to use now we don't have to worry about flying sparks, plenty of room when open to tend to fire
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: little hard to assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Fits perfect

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed a screen for large custom built fire pit, if you live in the city most require them, this is the best price i could find without having it made for several hundred dollars more, it also slides up so you dont have to remove to add more wood, so far it has worked as intended, easy to put together, will see how long it last.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as advertised. Very Good quality.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I actually worked backwards in building fire-pit. First looked for quality screen. Once screen in hand and after easy assembly, built fire-pit to measurements. So far after a month of use, no rust even though I expected some. More time will tell how it holds up in the long run. In my opinion, screen is a must for safety to prevent wandering embers, etc. and most fire-pit kits do not contain a screen. This fit the bill perfectly and hinge enables opening while in place to access inside of pit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Green Bay , Wisc.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

good Looking Screen

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The screen appears to be exactly what I was looking for . Items like this with these dimensions are not easy to find unless custom made. Price was acceptable , will see if any fire pit or heat related problems occur with screening or welds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Fits our huge firepit!!!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It fit our rather large fire pit. Now we just have to see if it stands the test of time. :) Plus it was not that complicated to put together.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

It looks great on my fire pit

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble in about 15 minutes. The quality is not as good as those screens costing 2 or 3 times as much, but this will meet the needs of most families. We get strong winds where I live but the screen has remained in place without ever moving.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Already rusting!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the size and the fact that one side of the screen raises and lowers. It really is the perfect fit for our fire pit. However, we have only been using it for a few weeks and it is already rusting. It looks old and horrible and will probably start falling apart soon. No one seems to make quality products anymore. It's so sad.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Do not waste your money.

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After less than a year's use, the screen rusted & then "dented in", losing it's shape & then it separated from the metal seam, tearing more & more until there were large holes. After purchasing 2 of these screens in the last 2 years, we will now be purchasing a stainless steel screen.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for our needs

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value for the price. Easy to assemble and durable for it's use
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Excellent Product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fire pit cover was easy to assemble and our entire family enjoys using it. We love that it can be completely covered or opened for use. It fit our fire pit perfectly. We take it in our garage if its going to rain but it is light to lift and carry. Love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from San Rafael, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

It can open from both sides

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Unfortunately the fire pit is larger than the screen... But it is still a nice product an looks nice
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Billings, MT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Rusted out after two years

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product worked well for two years but doesn't handle the heat and weather well. The thin steel mesh is rusting out after two years and no longer provides adequate protection.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for the price

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at other more expensive screens and just didn't see the point in spending so much money. I bought this screen and like one review said i painted it with three coats of heat paint. It has been standing up great in the weather and love the access tilt from either side. It stops most ambers but not all a smaller screen hole would be needed then. I must say though for the price it has been a smart purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: needed additional paint
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Hope Valley, Ri
Gender:Female

I like the two sided screen. Also the smaller wire is safer

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took a long time to find the screen that was safer than other screens and protection against a fire, My fire pit is on my patio and close enough to my house that could catch on fire.
I burn a full fire and keep it up all day for this past week and it allows me to get more logs. The tree that we cut up is the highest and widest tree in my yard
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Pittsboro, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Excellent, as described!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was leery of making this purchase (we all have become so used to Amazon being only place to buy on-line), but I am sure glad I did! Excellent for our new fire pit we had built; looks like it was custom made for it. I found the instructions lacking to be clear, but I figured it out, and we love the screen.
Shipping was great, the item was packed great. no damage.
Home Depot has become another source for me before I hit that "Purchase" button on Amazon.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: instructions not clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen
from Rehoboth Beach, DE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This product does exactly what it is intended to do...

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After looking into fire pit spark screens on the internet I found this one to be the one with the most reasonable price. Late last year it was not available so I waited and bought one early this year. My husband said it assembled easily. It fits our fire pit perfectly and it is easy to open to tend to the fire. I had read the reviews about this screen before ordering. Most seemed OK. For those who had issues I thought that if I had an issue then I would return it, plain and simple. But happily we like the screen and are storing it inside when not in use to avoid rust. (we live at the shore)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Works very well for our needs

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was a little wary after reading reviews here & elsewhere - screens seem to be very similar from one place to the next. Everyone was out of stock when we were 1st looking, Home Depot was one of the first to get it back in stock & the free shipping was great. It was easy to assemble. Where the edge of the mesh screen meets the bands, it can be a little "pokey" so use caution not to get stuck. The mesh also was not perfectly rounded, in some areas it looked slightly squished. It worked perfectly on our custom built firepit and we really like how you can open it to tend the fire without having to move the whole thing. Thanks to other reviews, we do not leave it outside in the weather but store it in the garage to help avoid rusting issues. We have also already bought hi-heat spray paint to use at the first sign of rust. I expect we'll get quite a few years of use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Fire Pit Folding Spark Screen

Great product!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my parents, who frequently sit around their fire pit. They LOVE it. Highly satisfied with this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>