728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

The LG Electronics 3.5 cu. ft. (DOE) Front Load Washer features 7 wash programs, including delicates, cotton/normal, hand wash/wool and speed wash, for worry-free fabric care. The electronic control panel with an easy-to-read LED display and Dial-A-Cycle makes it easy to find the right setting. Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings, this washer has a maximum spin speed of up to 1,100 RPM for great water extraction and efficient drying.
Overall rating:
4.648 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(437 reviews) 424
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product375 of 399reviews
Rating Breakdown 437 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(350)
4
(61)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product375 of 399reviews
Customer questions and answers:
45 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
Review 1 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow - Clean Clothes!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After purchasing the dryer which is wonderful, we decided to put our 27 yr. old machine out to pasture. I have reserved my opinion until I used for a couple of months...I cannot say enough about this machine! Living in an area with very hard water, all whites always grayed even after just a few washings; well not with this machine!!! Could not imagine how it could get anything clean after watching how it worked, but my old gray whites are brightening considerably and everything is so clean, even the old stinky dog bed!! Water bills went down over $20 per month and clothes dry in a flash. I am in love with the set. Thank you LG!!!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

Solid Performance

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quiet operation. Uses virtually no water. Lots of neat little features like a magnetic catch which allow the door to be open slighty when not in use to allow water to evaporate minimizing the musty smell issue. Also note hot water temperatures aren't allow for delicate clothing cycle settings. Washer actually adjusts hot and cold inlet water for a specific temperature according to wash cycle selected. Delay start a nice feature to have laundry done as you arrive home in evening. Only negative I noticed is that washer hoses are unique and you can't use a standard replacement from a hardware store.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Washington DC

Leaking LG Washing Machine

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased both LG products, washing machine and dryer, because we needed an upgrade. Took out an extended warranty just in case something happened and after only 3 months, the washing machine is leaking from the seal inside and causing water to drip all over the floor. Called for service repair to the LG company and was informed they only make service calls during the week, representative recommended calling a subcontractor that makes weekend service calls. Very unhappy with this machine, would not recommend purchasing it to anyone, going into Home Depot this weekend to request a refund.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from California

LG Front Load Washer

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've only had this washer for a couple of weeks and I love it. I purchased the anti-vibration pads, as I had seen other people complain about the shaking with the washer being upstairs. The Gentlemen that delivered my washer said the talked with the LG Rep and he said there is already an anti-vibration system built into the washer and recommended that I don't use them. So I decided to try the washer with out them and it's fine. I will be returning them to the store. Overall I love it. It spins so fast it really cuts down on the drying time.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Spring Hill, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best washing machine ever!

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research on washers and dryers before replacing my 11-yr-old set, and LG was always at the top of the charts. I have not been disappointed at all! This is the most amazing washing machine I've ever used. It works the same as a front loader, spinning my laundry nearly dry, and the absence of an agitator in the middle of the tub makes loading and unloading a breeze. Pay attention to the settings; I first washed our shirts on cotton/normal and they came out so wrinkled I was afraid I'd have to break out the dreaded iron (I hang dry as much as possible). The next time I used the permanent press function and they came out perfect. And I swear our clothes are getting cleaner and brighter with every wash, which seems impossible given the tiny amount of detergent and water used. It's unbelievably quiet and I love the little tune when it's done working. Even my husband is so amazed by this machine that he takes his buddies into the laundry room to show them! I highly recommend this product!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

Terrible Warranty Service

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought this LG Washing Machine in March from Home Depot. The washer stopped working in 9/25 and I contacted LG on 9/25. It is now 10/27 and the machine has still not been repaired. I have contacted LG 7 times by phone and 3 times by email and have spoken with or exchanged information with 19 different people at LG. Their Customer Service Dept. and their Service Center blame each other for the problem.Terrible service. Would not buy an appliance from this company again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

Good washer

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this washer for our new home and have been using it for a week now. We originally bought it for its outstanding energy efficiency. We are very impressed by its ability to clean clothes, even heavily soiled items. The one note to watch out for (and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) is that if you leave the door closed after washing (with or without clothes in the washer), a musty smell develops quite quickly. Although this is something they mention in the manual, we were surprised by the speed with which the smell developed (1 day). Running the tub clean cycle takes care of the smell, though, and now we leave the door open after washing without any smell buildup. I would recommend this washer.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

Excellent Price Excellent Washer

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great washing machine and is very easy to use. Washes as good as a top loader! You may have seen reports of water hammering from this washer. Its not something that should stop you from buying this washer. This washer has large solenoid valves for hot and cold that may cause water hammering when it is started. These large valves speed up filling of the tank and cut down on wash time; however they can be hard on your plumbing. We have plastic water lines so this is very noticeable. If this happens slightly close the hot and cold valves until the hammering is acceptable. Its that simple. If you have real copper plumbing you should not have any issues. Home Depot also sells inexpensive water hammer suppressors if your into maximizing your wash time. The matching LG dryer finishes before or with the washer so I highly recommend the set.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Houston Texas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really Like This LG!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice machine - runs quiet. I was amazed by the reduced amount of detergent and water it uses - very different from my old Maytag Neptune. I feel like I had to learn to wash clothes all over again! Really like the customization feature for each wash setting too. I do find I have to use a pre-wash treatment for really grubby ground in dirt. Read and follow the instruction book - your clothes will get clean with a lot less water and soap!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

Can add extra water to the wash

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seems like a solid machine in it's first few weeks in our home . We are a family of 12, so it's running at least twice a day, 6 days a week. I especially like that it has the option of adding extra water to the wash when I think that is necessary. It's very quiet. The clothes are clean.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Raleigh, NC

LOVE my new washer!

PostedMay 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After our old conventional washer of dubious vintage died for good, we decided to invest in a new front loader. After lots of research, we decided on this model because of all the great reviews. It arrived today, and boy were the reviews right! I am nothing short of enchanted with this machine. It's getting out old set-in stains, it even got out week-old cat urine, and that is no small statement! It's unbelievably quiet, has huge capacity, and works amazingly well. You will not be disappointed!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Jersey City, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy This Washing Machine!

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had this for about 3 weeks now, so I could still be proven wrong (knock on wood), but at this point I am very happy I chose this washing machine. Was concerned about vibration & shaking from some of the reviews because my basement floor is not completely level. I can see how that shaking might happen because this machine spins fast - almost scary fast - to get almost every drop of water out before drying. The solution is to make absolutely sure the machine is installed level. Make sure the installers use an actual level (not eyeballs) to level it when they set it up - don't let them leave before you can rest a ball-bearing on top of the machine.
Ours is stacked with the dryer and I had to re-level it myself (didn't follow the above advice), which was not a snap with the added weight but not too hard. Now, the machine is level and we've had no problems with excessive shaking. It has two spin speed points where it vibrates a tiny bit but as it speeds up it hits a sweet spot and there is almost no vibration at all.
OK, now on to how it works - works great, that's really all there is to say. Uses almost no water - where we live water is insanely expensive, so this is good. Gets clothes clean and gives the kids something to watch when nothing's on TV, which is most of the time. The dryer (matched set of LGs), works like a charm as well.
Overall, my opinion is that this is a solid machine that functions well and is worth the money. It's more expensive than a top-loader (they all are), but the energy savings should make up for that in the long run.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

The best washer i have ever owned!

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never before have clothes come out of previously owned washers so clean and dry! Definitely cuts dryer time down to a bare minimum. Seems to have a setting for almost every washing situation. The low energy and water consumption seem to have already made a positive impact on utilites after first month! The washing cycles seem to be a little longer than normal, but definitely worth the wait!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from johnstown

DO NOT BUY!!! DO NOT BUY !!!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my lg front load washer for only 19 months and it broke so now i need to call a service man to find out the problem because lg was sooo helpfull they just read what was in the manual and when it wasnt that they said well you need to call someone and the last time i called someone for my lg dryer which i only had for 13 months (matching pair) they said it was cheaper to buy a new one then to have it fixed because lg's are hard to fix and the parts alone cost just as much as a new one would be to fix!! and that was just for the dryer! I cant imagine what they are going to say about the washer!!!
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Savage, MN

Love my new washer- the research paid off

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so delighted with the performance of this washing machine. Bath towels come out nice and fluffy. It washed my king size comforter perfectly. LG is rated the highest brand by Consumer Reports for the least amount of major break downs. The average cycle time on this machine was one of the lowest being 60 minutes, other machines were up to 110 minutes. My experience has been 47-59 minutes on normal or bulky loads. This machine also has a quick wash option that I haven't tried yet. I like the fact that this machine has a magnet on the door allowing you to leave it slightly open to allow air flow. I haven't had any oder problems. I love my new washer, it makes doing laundry a pleasant experience.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

OK I'm sold

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some of the reviews on the HE washers were frightening, but I took the leap on the new technology and boy am I glad I did. Saving on water, gas, electricity AND getting cleaner clothes. The LG was the best out of the brands I looked at. I got the washer/dryer set. They are solid, quiet, efficient and exude overall quality. No complaints. I highly recommend them.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from Lenoir City, TN

Great for my cloth diapers!

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant to get a front loader because I use cloth diapers and anyone that uses cloth knows that water is your best friend and front loaders don't put out a lot of water. I chose this machine because it features a 'water plus' button that adds more water to the cycle and also because of the wool care cycle (I have several wool covers that go over diapers). for anyone that uses diapers: use the cottons/normal cycle, hot/cold, water plus option, high spin. Be sure to take the main wash cup out if you are using powdered detergent.
I have had this machine for a month now and it is amazing. it cleans my diapers beautifully. My other laundry comes out clean and practically dry from the super high spin so it barely has to spend any time in it's partnered dryer.
If you are looking for front loaders, this is the best buy for such a great performing machine.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from San Francisco, CA

Great Washer

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
More than I could ever need in a washer. It's very quiet and very efficient and cleans very well with little water. The wash times are reasonable for a HE washer. The extra "Maintenance" of letting the door seals dry, checking the filter monthly and rinsing out the soap drawer, are no big deal.
BTW, every other website, including LG's own site, says this model (2140CW) has a 4.0 cu. ft. capacity, not 3.5.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White

I really like this machine

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this machine 2 weeks and so far I am impressed. My clothes are much cleaner and smell better with this machine. It does take a long time to wash a load, but since the clothes are cleaner and it uses only a little water I will happily deal with that. I really love that I can now wash my big blankets at home. Clothes also take less time to dry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.5 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White
from IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Washes huge loads of laundry very well.

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use despite the intimidating amount if buttons. Holds an enormous amount of clothes. Easily handles a king size blanket. Like the door ajar feature that helps avoid the mildew issues associated with these washers. Love, love, love this washer!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>