728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

The Roberts 10-35 Laminate Cutter is a manual, dust free cutter that makes end cuts quick and easy. The cutter has a heavy duty steel frame for stability. The included position able V-Support keeps planks level while cutting. Easily cuts laminate up to 8 in. wide and 10 mm thick.
Overall rating:
3.531 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product41 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(15)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product41 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Review 1 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done and saves you time

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is worth the price if your doing a big project, it's easy to use and really saves you time. The blade can use a good sharpening before using it to get a clean cut.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Holland, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must Have!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't try to lay a laminate floor without this. Made the job so much faster and easier. Glad I found it on Home Depot.
Pros: Sturdy, Great Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from los angeles ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

handyman

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this product is easy to use, cuts good and have no noise
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Modern, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy if you are using Bamboo.

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this to help with installation of the 1500 sf of Bamboo laminate flooring I was installing. Based on the reviews it seemed like the solution to keep me from running to the garage for every end cut. The first cut I made with it mangled the board. I know it will leave a rough cut on the end which would be covered by trim, but it actually seperated the end of the board. Do not buy if installing Bamboo.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: won't cut bamboo well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissappointed

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this based on the good reviews. I am replacing carpet upstairs with laminate and did not want to go to the garage every time to use the saws. Thought this would save me the pain of going up and down. I could not get it to make a single straight cut. I am only 130 lbs. Wish I had read the poor reviews by the 200 lbs+ people first. Going to return it.
Cons: hard to cut
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Minnesota

Took some getting used, but then awesome!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had my doubts at first as this is not a sharpened blade - just a 1/4" wide metal piece, but after cutting the first couple of planks I was sold. I wouldn't recommend using this for cuts smaller than 3 inches wide as the force of the blade tends to push the plank up over the guide causing minor damage to the locking grooves. Get out the jigsaw for those. This even cut through a plank with the underlayment already attached.
Having this on the floor worked well to get the right level of force to get through the plank. Tried putting it on a table and didn't have enough strength. Have a broom and dustpan handy to clean up the pieces.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Great tool to install laminate flooring!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical before I purchased this but I bought it in hopes that it would make installing the flooring quicker than when I used my saw, not to mention less of a mess. It actually worked quite well. As long as you make sure to measure and align the measurement right up to where the blade hits you will be fine. My only complaint is occasionally when cutting the board can slant if your leaving only a few inches on the other end of the plank. The instructions said to hold onto the board but I don't have the arm span plus the needed strength to push down and hold the plank at the same time. Its a minor movement so I am not overly worried about it since the baseboard will cover it up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Randolph, KS 66554, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great deal for cutting allure flooring

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this product on 1600 sq. ft of allure flooring that was put into a pre-school. Did all the installation and cutting myself. This cutter save me so much time and effort. Cuts it easily and sure saves time over scoring with utility knife. It can also be used to cut flooring length ways besides the cross-cut. Saved our school consideralbe time and money.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The item did as it said it would

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this item on 3 bedrooms so far and on both 7mm and 8mm thick laminate flooring and it has worked as advertised. The blade is still sharp. It is limited to only straight cut off cuts and the cut is sort of rough. But the cut (at least as I use it) is always at the wall where I will be covering it with 1/4 round molding. It has been a real time-saver and worth the money, especially for a multi-room project.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORST PURCHASE EVER!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing is the biggest waste of money and time even waiting for it to be delivered.
It CRUSHES, not cuts and you need to practically STAND on the lever to even make it through the laminate. Granted, I was using it on a 10m Pergo but it does say it can handle up to that. Don't waste your money!
Pros: none
Cons: everything
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Ventura county

Awesome

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you do a lot of laminate install, this manual cutter is a must have. It's pretty handy, it last, it does not make too much a mess and it's very light. I am very happy the way this manual cutter works. I don't have to run all the way to the table saw anymore to do cuts, it saves me alot of time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A "Crushing" Disapointment

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tools should not really be called a Laminate cutter as much as it should be called a laminate crusher. The "blade" is a curved piece of 1/4 stock metal that will crush your helpless laminate making it pretty unusable on the cut end. That is if you are strong / heavy enough to muscle your way through it. After 2 cuts, I went back to my miter box saw.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Montgomery, NY 12549, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves a lot of Dust, noise, and Time

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At first the blade shape being square and not shaped to a sharp edge threw me. After the first cut, I’m sold. For DIY it is great. For commercial, I would spend some more for a higher grade one. I have a boot tray by the front door that I used to move it around with. Your tape measure, spacers pull bar, tapping block ate together. It also collects the trimmings well, and can be slid around to where you are working. No chipping, peeling, or scratching of the flooring while using this cutter. Worked very well. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn’t want noise, dust, and extension cords to deal with when laying this type of flooring.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product has good features and performance, it was shiped on time
Pros: Easy to Install, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a must tool for laminate floors

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tool makes laying laminate flooring easier and quicker for even a beginner
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Maybe for thinner laminate

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked the idea and there were enough positive reviews that I wanted to try it. It might have worked better on thinner laminate, but mine was the 12mm thick. It would cut about a quarter way in and then I couldn't get it to cut further. It does crush the laminate about 5mm wide, so be careful where you make your cut in relation to your mark otherwise it will be short. I didn't have the equipment to sharpen the blunt blade like some reviews suggested. I also just wasn't strong enough to try and push it harder, even though I can carry heavy boxes of laminate from the driveway to the basement. I returned the cutter.
I used a multi purpose cutter with a wood blade and that cut just as nice as a big table saw, just takes a few minutes.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: doesn't cut thick laminate, shipped to home in retail box
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to use.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was very easy to use and made job a lot easier and faster. A must for end cuts. It cut through 12mm laminate with no problem. I would reccommend this for any one putting in a laminate floor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Elizabethtown KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend this for 12MM products. It breaks the board, rathers than cut.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

I was very excited to get this product, but was very disappointed when I used it.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade on this product was too thick and not sharp enough to cut the flooring that it is meant for.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: blade not sharp enough, did not cut easily
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceDecember 14, 2012
Casey,

I reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

"The Roberts 10-35 Laminate Cutter is design engineered with a thick steel, blunt blade for sheering through laminate in a guillotine manner. This design is more durable than designs with sharpened blades that dull over time. While the cut may appear a little rough, the cut end goes at the edge of the room and is covered with base board, molding, or quarter round material. "
Review 20 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed a laminate floor in a small room and this product was great. Not having to use a saw (except for a few corner areas) to make cuts meant less of a mess and minimal dust to clean up. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>