728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

The Roberts 10-35 Laminate Cutter is a manual, dust free cutter that makes end cuts quick and easy. The cutter has a heavy duty steel frame for stability. The included positionable V-Support keeps planks level while cutting. Easily cuts laminate up to 8 in. wide and 12 mm thick.
Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product28 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(12)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product28 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Review 1 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Minnesota

Took some getting used, but then awesome!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had my doubts at first as this is not a sharpened blade - just a 1/4" wide metal piece, but after cutting the first couple of planks I was sold. I wouldn't recommend using this for cuts smaller than 3 inches wide as the force of the blade tends to push the plank up over the guide causing minor damage to the locking grooves. Get out the jigsaw for those. This even cut through a plank with the underlayment already attached.
Having this on the floor worked well to get the right level of force to get through the plank. Tried putting it on a table and didn't have enough strength. Have a broom and dustpan handy to clean up the pieces.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done and saves you time

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is worth the price if your doing a big project, it's easy to use and really saves you time. The blade can use a good sharpening before using it to get a clean cut.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to use.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to use and made job a lot easier and faster. A must for end cuts. It cut through 12mm laminate with no problem. I would reccommend this for any one putting in a laminate floor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Keeps the mess down

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As some reviewers have said, this product more like crushes the laminate than cuts it. Since the side that is cut goes under the base boards, that is really not an issue. What it DID do, was allow me to work upstairs with very little mess, rather then make trips up and down the stairs to the garage to cut boards, or to have a very messy room upstairs. (Dust from laminate is incredible.)
My only advice is be sure to hold the board in place. If not, you can get a bit of a crooked cut. Again, not going to show under the base boards, but it can make the expansion gap a bit ragged.
Pros: Sturdy, cleaner to use than a saw
Cons: nothing to keep the cut straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A "Crushing" Disapointment

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tools should not really be called a Laminate cutter as much as it should be called a laminate crusher. The "blade" is a curved piece of 1/4 stock metal that will crush your helpless laminate making it pretty unusable on the cut end. That is if you are strong / heavy enough to muscle your way through it. After 2 cuts, I went back to my miter box saw.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product has good features and performance, it was shiped on time
Pros: Easy to Install, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Montgomery, NY 12549, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves a lot of Dust, noise, and Time

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At first the blade shape being square and not shaped to a sharp edge threw me. After the first cut, I’m sold. For DIY it is great. For commercial, I would spend some more for a higher grade one. I have a boot tray by the front door that I used to move it around with. Your tape measure, spacers pull bar, tapping block ate together. It also collects the trimmings well, and can be slid around to where you are working. No chipping, peeling, or scratching of the flooring while using this cutter. Worked very well. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn’t want noise, dust, and extension cords to deal with when laying this type of flooring.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Louisville KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is usfeul, but not as easy to use as indicated.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The actual "blade" is not a blade at all. It is a rather thick piece of metal about 1/4 of an inch which makes it rather difficult to get a cut done. It takes quite a bit of strength to use this tool. It does, however same time as you can use it inside (no mess) and you do not have to get up and down to go to a saw. I am actually considering sharpening the blade to make it easier to use.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this product to put down 40 boxes of laminate flooring. Very quick and easy to assemble. You do have to put some muscle into cutting the flooring because the blade is not at all sharp. Honestly I don't know how the blade even cuts at all but it does. The cut is somewhat clean but at the end of the cut (closest to you) it doesn't cut cleanly which really doesn't matter. All and all it's great to use without the saw dust from a table saw or jig saw.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from White Lake MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product did not work well for me.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ended up purchasing a higher grade of Laminent than I originally anticipated. The higher grade was thicker than the $.69 per square foot I had originally planned on purchasing. It did not work well with the thicker pieces and ultimately chewed up the end of the flooring piece I was attempting to cut. I do believe it would work well with the thiner type of laminent. I ended up using a saw to cut my flooring pieces and will be returning the cutter.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Randolph, KS 66554, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great deal for cutting allure flooring

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this product on 1600 sq. ft of allure flooring that was put into a pre-school. Did all the installation and cutting myself. This cutter save me so much time and effort. Cuts it easily and sure saves time over scoring with utility knife. It can also be used to cut flooring length ways besides the cross-cut. Saved our school consideralbe time and money.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Orlando,FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right tool for the Job!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the right tool for the job!! This tool allowed for easy cutting of laminate planks vs using a Miter or Table saw. Each row of installed planks required cutting of the first and last plank and this toll made that simple and easy. I started the project using a miter saw for each cut measuring and running to the garage. This tool cut the job time in half.
The tool required basic assembly.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This cutter works great!!! We were skeptical because the blade itself is blunt. It worked GREAT!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was so easy to use and so much more efficient that a saw blade! The product arrived as promised and customer service answered our questions about the "blade".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time or money

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not worth it, you have to put ALL of your weight on the cutter to get it to cut (my weight 225) and it does not give a clean cut at all, very dissatisfied. Returned for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's ok

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Returned product after one cut. It does cut well if you don't care about a rough edge.i was worried about the edge. My suggestion is to save your money an by a good saw blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The item did as it said it would

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this item on 3 bedrooms so far and on both 7mm and 8mm thick laminate flooring and it has worked as advertised. The blade is still sharp. It is limited to only straight cut off cuts and the cut is sort of rough. But the cut (at least as I use it) is always at the wall where I will be covering it with 1/4 round molding. It has been a real time-saver and worth the money, especially for a multi-room project.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a must tool for laminate floors

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tool makes laying laminate flooring easier and quicker for even a beginner
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Ventura county

Awesome

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you do a lot of laminate install, this manual cutter is a must have. It's pretty handy, it last, it does not make too much a mess and it's very light. I am very happy the way this manual cutter works. I don't have to run all the way to the table saw anymore to do cuts, it saves me alot of time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Laurel, MD 20723, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is so easy to use

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to say that this is probably the most appreciated tool I have ever purchased. The ease and precision is wonderful. Worth every money spent. Thank you.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not cut 12mm laminate

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The description said it would cut 12mm laminate. It doesn't come close. I wasted more time and money having to go buy a product that would work when I was ready to start my project. Might be ok for a thinner laminate but it doesn't even make a dent when it comes to thicker laminate. I will be returning this item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>