728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

The Roberts 10-35 Laminate Cutter is a manual, dust free cutter that makes end cuts quick and easy. The cutter has a heavy duty steel frame for stability. The included position able V-Support keeps planks level while cutting. Easily cuts laminate up to 8 in. wide and 12 mm thick.
Overall rating:
3.673 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product35 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(10)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product35 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Review 1 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from los angeles ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

handyman

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is easy to use, cuts good and have no noise
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Modern, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done and saves you time

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is worth the price if your doing a big project, it's easy to use and really saves you time. The blade can use a good sharpening before using it to get a clean cut.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Great tool to install laminate flooring!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical before I purchased this but I bought it in hopes that it would make installing the flooring quicker than when I used my saw, not to mention less of a mess. It actually worked quite well. As long as you make sure to measure and align the measurement right up to where the blade hits you will be fine. My only complaint is occasionally when cutting the board can slant if your leaving only a few inches on the other end of the plank. The instructions said to hold onto the board but I don't have the arm span plus the needed strength to push down and hold the plank at the same time. Its a minor movement so I am not overly worried about it since the baseboard will cover it up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Minnesota

Took some getting used, but then awesome!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had my doubts at first as this is not a sharpened blade - just a 1/4" wide metal piece, but after cutting the first couple of planks I was sold. I wouldn't recommend using this for cuts smaller than 3 inches wide as the force of the blade tends to push the plank up over the guide causing minor damage to the locking grooves. Get out the jigsaw for those. This even cut through a plank with the underlayment already attached.
Having this on the floor worked well to get the right level of force to get through the plank. Tried putting it on a table and didn't have enough strength. Have a broom and dustpan handy to clean up the pieces.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Austin, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Essential and useful tool for cutting laminate floor pieces

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It does not seem a big deal but once you open the box and start using it you just don't think of any other tool for that job. Easy to work with and stable enough to perform precise actions. Blade is not sharp but working by pressure so not dangerous as table saws and similar.
Don't forget a jigsaw for transitions, lines without space for a whole plank, etc... because this tool is designed just for "ending" each line.
When you finish the job, just pack it into the original box and store it until next time ;o)
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: a little too light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Elizabethtown KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend this for 12MM products. It breaks the board, rathers than cut.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A "Crushing" Disapointment

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tools should not really be called a Laminate cutter as much as it should be called a laminate crusher. The "blade" is a curved piece of 1/4 stock metal that will crush your helpless laminate making it pretty unusable on the cut end. That is if you are strong / heavy enough to muscle your way through it. After 2 cuts, I went back to my miter box saw.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Maryland
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made install so much easier

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saved SO many trips outside and no sawdust. Made the purchase because I am doing 3 rooms and a hall. Came assembled. You have to put a little weight behind it and cuts are wide and blunt. Would advise a test cut first. Only complaint is there is no way to secure positioning for cut. You have to secure planks with your foot and laminate occasionally will still slip out of line leaving a bit of an angled cut. Still WAY worth it if you are doing a larger space. But, you will still need another type of saw since this only cuts one direction.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Randolph, KS 66554, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great deal for cutting allure flooring

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this product on 1600 sq. ft of allure flooring that was put into a pre-school. Did all the installation and cutting myself. This cutter save me so much time and effort. Cuts it easily and sure saves time over scoring with utility knife. It can also be used to cut flooring length ways besides the cross-cut. Saved our school consideralbe time and money.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to use.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to use and made job a lot easier and faster. A must for end cuts. It cut through 12mm laminate with no problem. I would reccommend this for any one putting in a laminate floor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Montgomery, NY 12549, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves a lot of Dust, noise, and Time

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At first the blade shape being square and not shaped to a sharp edge threw me. After the first cut, I’m sold. For DIY it is great. For commercial, I would spend some more for a higher grade one. I have a boot tray by the front door that I used to move it around with. Your tape measure, spacers pull bar, tapping block ate together. It also collects the trimmings well, and can be slid around to where you are working. No chipping, peeling, or scratching of the flooring while using this cutter. Worked very well. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn’t want noise, dust, and extension cords to deal with when laying this type of flooring.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product has good features and performance, it was shiped on time
Pros: Easy to Install, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The item did as it said it would

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this item on 3 bedrooms so far and on both 7mm and 8mm thick laminate flooring and it has worked as advertised. The blade is still sharp. It is limited to only straight cut off cuts and the cut is sort of rough. But the cut (at least as I use it) is always at the wall where I will be covering it with 1/4 round molding. It has been a real time-saver and worth the money, especially for a multi-room project.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Louisville KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is usfeul, but not as easy to use as indicated.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The actual "blade" is not a blade at all. It is a rather thick piece of metal about 1/4 of an inch which makes it rather difficult to get a cut done. It takes quite a bit of strength to use this tool. It does, however same time as you can use it inside (no mess) and you do not have to get up and down to go to a saw. I am actually considering sharpening the blade to make it easier to use.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from North Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54

Works surprisingly well

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When we pulled this thing out of the box and saw the blunt blade I had my doubts about how well it would cut. After installing about 800 SQFT of Allure Ultra flooring, this thing was a lifesaver. This is so much better than a box blade, or even a table saw - The box blade is dangerous and imprecise, and the table saw makes an awful mess. Still had to use the table saw for rips, but for crosscuts this is the ticket - quick and easy.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
Cons: doesn't operate itself
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Ventura county

Awesome

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you do a lot of laminate install, this manual cutter is a must have. It's pretty handy, it last, it does not make too much a mess and it's very light. I am very happy the way this manual cutter works. I don't have to run all the way to the table saw anymore to do cuts, it saves me alot of time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from st. louis,mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

well worth the price if laminating more than 1 room

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does a good job of cutting laminate flooring. There is little cutting debris and the cuts are true and easy to use, but it does take a bit of strength to use. well worth the cost if doing several rooms.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: blade could be sharper
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Keeps the mess down

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As some reviewers have said, this product more like crushes the laminate than cuts it. Since the side that is cut goes under the base boards, that is really not an issue. What it DID do, was allow me to work upstairs with very little mess, rather then make trips up and down the stairs to the garage to cut boards, or to have a very messy room upstairs. (Dust from laminate is incredible.)
My only advice is be sure to hold the board in place. If not, you can get a bit of a crooked cut. Again, not going to show under the base boards, but it can make the expansion gap a bit ragged.
Pros: Sturdy, cleaner to use than a saw
Cons: nothing to keep the cut straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This cutter works great!!! We were skeptical because the blade itself is blunt. It worked GREAT!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was so easy to use and so much more efficient that a saw blade! The product arrived as promised and customer service answered our questions about the "blade".
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a must tool for laminate floors

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tool makes laying laminate flooring easier and quicker for even a beginner
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>