728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

The Roberts 10-35 Laminate Cutter is a manual, dust free cutter that makes end cuts quick and easy. The cutter has a heavy duty steel frame for stability. The included position able V-Support keeps planks level while cutting. Easily cuts laminate up to 8 in. wide and 12 mm thick.
Overall rating:
3.59 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product40 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(25)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(13)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product40 of 58reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Review 1 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done and saves you time

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is worth the price if your doing a big project, it's easy to use and really saves you time. The blade can use a good sharpening before using it to get a clean cut.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORST PURCHASE EVER!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing is the biggest waste of money and time even waiting for it to be delivered.
It CRUSHES, not cuts and you need to practically STAND on the lever to even make it through the laminate. Granted, I was using it on a 10m Pergo but it does say it can handle up to that. Don't waste your money!
Pros: none
Cons: everything
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from los angeles ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

handyman

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this product is easy to use, cuts good and have no noise
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Modern, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Great tool to install laminate flooring!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical before I purchased this but I bought it in hopes that it would make installing the flooring quicker than when I used my saw, not to mention less of a mess. It actually worked quite well. As long as you make sure to measure and align the measurement right up to where the blade hits you will be fine. My only complaint is occasionally when cutting the board can slant if your leaving only a few inches on the other end of the plank. The instructions said to hold onto the board but I don't have the arm span plus the needed strength to push down and hold the plank at the same time. Its a minor movement so I am not overly worried about it since the baseboard will cover it up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Minnesota

Took some getting used, but then awesome!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had my doubts at first as this is not a sharpened blade - just a 1/4" wide metal piece, but after cutting the first couple of planks I was sold. I wouldn't recommend using this for cuts smaller than 3 inches wide as the force of the blade tends to push the plank up over the guide causing minor damage to the locking grooves. Get out the jigsaw for those. This even cut through a plank with the underlayment already attached.
Having this on the floor worked well to get the right level of force to get through the plank. Tried putting it on a table and didn't have enough strength. Have a broom and dustpan handy to clean up the pieces.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A "Crushing" Disapointment

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tools should not really be called a Laminate cutter as much as it should be called a laminate crusher. The "blade" is a curved piece of 1/4 stock metal that will crush your helpless laminate making it pretty unusable on the cut end. That is if you are strong / heavy enough to muscle your way through it. After 2 cuts, I went back to my miter box saw.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Maybe for thinner laminate

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked the idea and there were enough positive reviews that I wanted to try it. It might have worked better on thinner laminate, but mine was the 12mm thick. It would cut about a quarter way in and then I couldn't get it to cut further. It does crush the laminate about 5mm wide, so be careful where you make your cut in relation to your mark otherwise it will be short. I didn't have the equipment to sharpen the blunt blade like some reviews suggested. I also just wasn't strong enough to try and push it harder, even though I can carry heavy boxes of laminate from the driveway to the basement. I returned the cutter.
I used a multi purpose cutter with a wood blade and that cut just as nice as a big table saw, just takes a few minutes.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: doesn't cut thick laminate, shipped to home in retail box
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from fitzgerald, ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst purchase ever.

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade did not have an edge sharpened on it. Called manufacturer and did not get a response. After sharpening it would not cut straight.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Randolph, KS 66554, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great deal for cutting allure flooring

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this product on 1600 sq. ft of allure flooring that was put into a pre-school. Did all the installation and cutting myself. This cutter save me so much time and effort. Cuts it easily and sure saves time over scoring with utility knife. It can also be used to cut flooring length ways besides the cross-cut. Saved our school consideralbe time and money.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Time saver

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was very happy with the quality of the cuts, and the time saved by this laminate floor cutter. This tool saves time because you can keep it in the same room you're working in and clean up is a breeze since there's no saw dust. The only negative is it takes a little muscle to cut the boards.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Elizabethtown KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend this for 12MM products. It breaks the board, rathers than cut.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The item did as it said it would

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this item on 3 bedrooms so far and on both 7mm and 8mm thick laminate flooring and it has worked as advertised. The blade is still sharp. It is limited to only straight cut off cuts and the cut is sort of rough. But the cut (at least as I use it) is always at the wall where I will be covering it with 1/4 round molding. It has been a real time-saver and worth the money, especially for a multi-room project.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Austin, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Essential and useful tool for cutting laminate floor pieces

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It does not seem a big deal but once you open the box and start using it you just don't think of any other tool for that job. Easy to work with and stable enough to perform precise actions. Blade is not sharp but working by pressure so not dangerous as table saws and similar.
Don't forget a jigsaw for transitions, lines without space for a whole plank, etc... because this tool is designed just for "ending" each line.
When you finish the job, just pack it into the original box and store it until next time ;o)
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: a little too light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Eastern Washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Using this for 12 mm laminate, got tired of running out to the garage to make all my cuts on chop saw. Works well but takes quite a bit of strength and leverage to get through the thicker flooring, my wife cannot do it. It does "crush" the laminate as noted by other reviews but it is made to do that, works well for ends that will be covered up by baseboard or transition pieces. For any exposed cuts you wouldn't want to use this. I wouldn't buy this if I was doing more than one project as it is a lot of work to push it down,but I suppose with thinner material it would be easier. While it is more work, it is cleaner and it is saving me time going into the garage. I took the advice of someone and put mine in a plastic shoe mat to catch all the waste, works well. It does leave a small "tail" at the end of the cut but this is easily nibbled off with this tool by repeating the cut a few times. For the price, it is worth the arm work-out and time saved and will be a good tool to keep around for future projects.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Effective
Cons: difficult on thick material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from aryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

time saver

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saves time running in and out of house to cut. Only complaint it that cut sometimes left a small tail of material, but it never was noticed in the installation
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Montgomery, NY 12549, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves a lot of Dust, noise, and Time

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At first the blade shape being square and not shaped to a sharp edge threw me. After the first cut, I’m sold. For DIY it is great. For commercial, I would spend some more for a higher grade one. I have a boot tray by the front door that I used to move it around with. Your tape measure, spacers pull bar, tapping block ate together. It also collects the trimmings well, and can be slid around to where you are working. No chipping, peeling, or scratching of the flooring while using this cutter. Worked very well. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn’t want noise, dust, and extension cords to deal with when laying this type of flooring.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Augusta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful and well priced

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Laminate Cutter was very mobile and allow me to transition through the project with ease.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Modern, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide

Very efficient

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the perfect tool for our flooring project. Very functional!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Ventura county

Awesome

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you do a lot of laminate install, this manual cutter is a must have. It's pretty handy, it last, it does not make too much a mess and it's very light. I am very happy the way this manual cutter works. I don't have to run all the way to the table saw anymore to do cuts, it saves me alot of time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Laminate Cutter for Cross Cutting up to 8 in. Wide
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to use.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was very easy to use and made job a lot easier and faster. A must for end cuts. It cut through 12mm laminate with no problem. I would reccommend this for any one putting in a laminate floor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>