728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED

Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED

Crane is one of the best-known manufacturers and distributors of plumbing fixtures and specialty plumbing products in North America. The Company offers various products and product lines that comprise all aspects of bathroom fixtures from a small porcelain sink to a luxury acrylic bath.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED

Matches the old Crane toilet bowl...!!!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was surprised to find that the toilet tank came with all the innards! The innards are the newer style, not the old float ball and float arm. I had to adjust the length of the chain a little shorter to get the toilet to flush correctly. But other than that, all I had to do was insert the bolts, tighten the tank down, connect the water line, and......flush.....If I didn't know any better, I would think it was the original tank. The new tank lid seemed to rock a bit when sitting on the new tank. I ended up trying the old tank lid and it seems to fit perfectly. The new tank lid is in a box, stored away. I decided to give this tank a try after seeing that the model number seemed to match the number imprinted inside the old tank and under the old lid (3742).
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No problems

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The interior of my old tank had corroded to the point where the seal on the holes where the tank is bolted to the stool was lost. As the toilet was about 15 years old, I figured I was headed toward a whole new one as it didn't seem likely that a replacement tank would be available. I was pleasantly surprised to find this one. It arrived on schedule, in good condition, and at a price way less than a whole new unit. Went on in 15 minutes, nice when things work out so easily. Glad Home Depot will carry replacement parts.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from Northern Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not have been any easier!

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 60 year old woman who has never done anything like this before and it was super easy for me to follow the directions and install this myself. It works perfectly and looks like original equipment. HD shipped it right to my door, it was extra well packed and all I had to do was carry it to the bathroom. Imaging how much I saved by not having to call a plumber!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from Centreville, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

work with my crane plumbing 3-35-001

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it worked with my old crane plumbing toilet seat. My old tank embeded with model 3-35-001, CR / PL-F, 3-222. I thought is will not fit my old toilet tank when I order it since it is only $45 so I gave it a try and it works out for me. This tank is a little bit thicker than my old tank but it works. I like the new water adjustment that I can adjust it without the taking the whole "Tank Fill Valve" out.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from West Allis, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

follow directions

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the tank kit contains everything inside that you will need, the spongey washer for ontop of the toilet is also there. you will need the plumbing to the wall if not already there. i used hot water line and now no condensation problems. not my first installation but its been years, so i followed the directions including checking back a few times over the next days. one advice of mine, just put a few cups of water to start, gives a chance to tighten the tank to toilet bolts snugger with out flood issues
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED

Perfect Fit @ a good price

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tank fit great with no problems! It came with all the hardware & "guts". I changed the flush handle as it was very "cheap". I had to check the tank prior to signing for it as the package was prettty banged up by UPS & I was concerned the tank might be cracked or shattered. However, it was was not. A good buy for the money, just use your old flush handle.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED

Standard tank

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just as described. Istalled easily. The rubber seal at the base of the tank is larger than the one it replaced which made the tank wobble a bit since it would not sit flush with the old toilet base. I used plastic shims which fixed the wobbling.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Arrived just as described and was super easy to install.

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was as described and very easy to install due to superior seals and good directions. I am not even a novice plumber and there were absolutely no leaks once installed. Good value for the price. Only drawback was very cheap plastic handle that probably should be replaced at the outset with a sturdier metal one to save time and effort later.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from Laval, QC, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't make 'em like they used to !

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Crane Cranada Model 3742 Back in 2010. I cannot believe that the fill valve has to be replaced already. Not to mention how the caulking that holds the styrofoam insulation in place has detached itself from the inner tank surface. I have owned homes that were built in 1957 where the original tank and bowl were still in place and fully functional. I guess that you get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, poor craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from AZ

Tank

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even though the ad says it does not come with all the internal parts, it does. Was very pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
from Sammamish, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product come as expected

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Even the old toilet tank is different model. The one I order was easy to install and works. At first has small leakage, after few days the leakage stopped.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy/Cranada 1.6 GPF Toilet Tank Only in White-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap, nut didn't fit right leading to continuous leak

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed toilet only to have a leak coming from where the water supply line gasket was. The nut was too long, or the threads were too short. Did not fit together properly, indicating quality contorl is poor at factory. Just to make sure, I swapped out the gasket, and same problem. Thankfully this was cheap. Ordered a Crane tank off internet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.