728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dimmers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

The Diva C.L dimmer features advanced dimming circuitry that is designed for compatibility with most high efficacy light bulbs. Screw-in dimmable compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) and screw-in dimmable light emitting diode lamps (LEDs) are a great energy-saving alternative to incandescent or halogen light sources; however, your standard dimmer will not dim these light sources. The Diva C.L works with dimmable CFL and LED screw-in bulbs, and is also compatible with standard incandescent and halogen bulbs, allowing you to control all 4 bulb types on the same circuit. With the same features as Lutron’s Diva dimmer, the large paddle switch turns the light on/off and returns to your favorite setting. The discreet slider adjusts the light level to suit any activity. Please click on the “More Info” tab and “Specification” to view the current listing of approved bulbs that work with this dimmer. Coordinating Claro wallplates and accessories sold separately.
Overall rating:
3.684 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
Review 1 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Connecticut

Used to control Philips 3.5W Blunt Tip Candle Bulbs

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced 21 incandescent 40W candle bulbs in a foyer chandelier with the Philips 3.5W blunt tip LED's. Went from 840W down to 73.5W. The original dimmer was a 1000W Lutron Skylark installed 17 years ago. This dimmer had problems with the LED's on low. The had a very noticable flashing (dogs went nuts) and would not turn on when set to maximum dim. Moving from dim to high was very choppy. I replaced this dimmer with the CFL/LED Lutron and this solved all the problems. No trace of flashing and with the low level adjuster control I was able to adjust the lowest dim setting to where the LED's would always turn on from a min setting. This dimmer works really well. I think I will leave the lights on tonight and splurge on 73 W of power in celebration!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Valley Park, Mo

yeah, great dimmer

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I upgraded to dimmers in a couple of areas of my house. I chose these cause they can dim cfls or regular light bulbs, and as my light bulbs die, i am replacing them with dimmable cfls...functional and a great buy!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

Pretty GOOD!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this last Sunday and hooked it up to my blue LED rope lights in my son's crown moulding tray. They work fantastic, I don't understand why people are complaining about it. Great job, Lutron!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great switch if used with Lutron approved light bulbs

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dimmer switch works great...if used with approved light bulbs. If you go to the Lutron website, you'll find a list of approved dimmable CFL and LED light bulbs. I wanted LED R30 flood lights for some recessed can lights in my hallway. As of today, Home Depot does not sell any Lutron approved LED R30 light bulbs that are on that list, and neither does any other local retailer. I ended up shopping online and found the brand TCP and model number LED11E26BR3027K. This LED bulb looks great with a frosted glass diffuser covering the individual LED lights and performs very well. It turns on instantly with the flip of a [standard] switch. Then I installed the Lutron dimmer switch. The first thing I noticed was a half-second delay from the time the switch is turned on to the time the light turns on, but it's no big deal. Using the dimmer slide, the LED light will dimm to almost off, and it does so very well. Out of curiosity, I played with the fine-adjustment wheel. This allows you to set the minimum light output, 0% being dimmed completely off. If I set the adjustment to something like 3-5%, the LED light flickered a little. I raised the adjustment to some where around 5-8% and now there's no flicker at all when dimmed to the lowest setting. Overall, I'm very satisfied. Now I'm going to buy another switch and more TCP LED light bulbs for my livingroom.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Seattle, WA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid switch

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I replaced an older dimmer switch with this one to enable us to move to CFL bulbs in our living room. The positive: Using EcoSm**t dimmable CFL's this switch worked well with no buzzing, no flicker, and no drop-out. I also tried it with two 60 watt incandescent bulbs in the fixture and there was no buzzing to be heard at any light level, even at the dimmest setting. This was much better than our old switch which created an audible buzz in our incandescent bulbs at lower levels.
The negative: When using two NON-dimmable CFL's of the same brand and wattage as the dimmable CFL's, even at full power with no dimming, the bulbs and the switch were not happy. Both the switch and the bulbs began buzzing quite noticeably after a few moments, and the bulbs also began a faint but noticeable flicker.
Since this is a dimmer switch I would expect people to be using dimmable CFL's (if they use CFL's at all) or incandescent or LED bulbs, and in that case this switch seems to work very well. Just don't expect this switch to be all you need to purchase if you already have non-dimmable CFL's in place.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Houston, TX

Dimmer works with LEDs

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this because it works with the new LED light fixtures I just put in. My old dimmer had a night light (not needed, but it used a bit of extra electricity) and the LEDs would blink when they weren't turned on. This dimmer does not have a nightlight feature but still matches the other light switches and outlets in the room. The downside - its expensive and its also stiff when you turn it off. My regular light switches seem to have less resistance when you switch them on or off. Finally, if you use it with LED's, the LEDs don't dim as far as other lights but they do still dim noticeably. Overall, I'm still pleased and I'm keeping it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

Doenst work

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This dimmer does not dim Lighting science led can trims
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

when it works, it works

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm using this with the EcoSmart E26 and when it works it works really well. The issues I had was that the first one I bought had a stuck dimmer switch, and the second one just didn't work at all. So bad quality control.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

Dimming LED lights

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The dimmer did not work well dimming my LED lights there is a point at which the lights flicker and it continues to be a problem
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The second one worked.

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The first one I bought didn't work at all. Tried different circuits, three different LED's, changed cables. Nothing at all. The adjustment screw inside to increase/decrease the range was pure junk, a white circular junk.
The second one i bought I hooked up the exactly the same way and it worked perfect. The internal adjustment was a different design with a black half-moon style lever. Much nicer than the first one, and IT WORKED!
Used this one three different LED's, T65, T85 and HALO 5/6 LEDS, all the commercial electric lights would flash but dimming was pretty good. The HALO was by and far the best, the dimming was very good, down to 5% with no glitch.
Good switch, but the build can be really bad. Took me buying a second one to see the value. For $29 the first one should have worked and waste a lot of my time I will never get back.
End of story, it did work and I am using two of them for LED's and work great.
Pros: Stylish, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: not made the same per unit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Shenandoah Valley, VA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Careful!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What Lutron doesn't tell you on the package is that most of their C-L Dimmers (even though they read that they are for LED lamps) will only work with a few! If you wish to dim LED or CFL lamps, Lutron offers a website listing that one should check BEFORE purchasing.and they have only tested a few of the many LEDs available. The good news is that some of their cheaper (i.e. 'eco-dim Skylarks' for instance) do work and work well even though there is no reference to LEDs. Be careful!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Waddell, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Light dimmer easy to install and use

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found that this dimmer switch that I purchased easy to install and its features were easy to set up to enhance our bathroom. Make sure that you read instructions as they are easy to follow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Pacifica, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks and works great

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The dimmer's range seems shorter than what we are used to with incandescent fixtures. There is a slight delay when turning on LED lights. I'm not sure if these characteristics are due to the dimmer or the LED fixtures themselves, this being the first time working with LEDs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

nice switch but possible short life span on dimmer

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I've purchased three to date for this project. One failed just after installation (dimmer slider function) and will be exchanged. Installation is easy and finish looks good in the wall.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flickers at just the level I want to keep light at.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is an adjustment wheel to address the problem of flicker but its not helping. I have this attached to 3 Nora Diamond dimmable LED recessed lights. Too bad.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
Cons: flicker at certain level
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White
from Ohio
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 5 of these for dimming separate branches for LED lights. Very satisfied with product & Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

Doesn't Work with EcoSmart LED Bulb

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought an EcoSmart 75 watt equivalent BR30. First, the 4 lights started flashing with me existing dimmer. Then, I switched to this dimmer and the lights didn't work at all. Unfortunately, this exercise in energy savings was a complete waste of my time. The whole thing is being sent back to Home Depot!
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

works with the recess led lights

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
doesn't any need special 3 way switches to communicate with other light switches. I had 2 3way switches and 1 4 way switch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Diva 150 Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL/LED Dimmer - White

LED Dimmer Solution

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have LED's this is what you need. Dims well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.