728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer

130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer

The Bosch Digital Laser Distance Measurer uses precision laser-measuring technology to provide precise measurement of length, area and volume. The continuous-length mode automatically adjusts measurements when walking off distances, and this measurer features an ergonomic grip for comfort.
Overall rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(138 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product129 of 132reviews
Rating Breakdown 138 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(105)
4
(28)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product129 of 132reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
Review 1 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Calhoun, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, but don't use with metal studs!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is VERY handy when you have to measure from two common surfaces such as concrete to wood, wood to wood, and so forth. But I have found (to my sorrow) that it does NOT measure accurately whenever the laser is reflecting back from a shiny surface such as a galvanized metal stud or anything like that. I have had errors introduced that ranged from 1/2" to 1 1/14" OVER length, when measuring and having the laser bounce back from a metal stud or other very shiny reflective surface. This is really annoying, and can be a major issue if you are trying to eliminate waste or running short on materials. I have learned that I have to stick a piece of masking tape over the shiny surface to measure to it, and of course this it not always practical. (I bought this to measure heights in a home with 19' balloon walls, steel stud construction, so I would NOT have to climb so much.)
Just to be sure it was not operator error, the last time I checked I used the laser measure device and got a measurement of 94 3/8". I then checked with a physical tape measure, held tightly to both ends, and got a measurement of 93 3/4". Sure, I can always trim off the piece if it's a little too long, but that is wastage, both of time and material. An error of 5/8" in 8' is pretty significant, to me.
So, even though I said I would recommend this product, it is with RESERVATIONS.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: inaccurate
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Vista, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

EXCELLENT PURCHASE!

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a real estate agent that cringes every time I write down the dimensions of client's rooms, as all it takes is to be off a bit, and someone sues you for showing for false information.
I have been using a "sonic" type electronic measuring device for a while, and was always extremely unhappy with the accuracy, as I would have to check multiple times till I got two or three readings that were the same, before I could trust the reading.
This little jewel blew me a way the first time I used it.
Without reading a single instruction, I quickly figured out that pushing the button once would activate the laser and again to take the actual reading. It read 8ft 11 and 15/16ths of a inch.
It couldn't possible be that accurate ... Could it?
I hit it again and got the exact same reading.
After trying several times, I was so impressed, I just had to break out the old tape measure and verify. Every time took a reading with this laser measurer and then verified it, it was accurate down to the 1/16th of an inch.
The only thing that you want to be aware of (and I read in other reviews), is that it doesn't work well on shiny surfaces. Some shiny things would take a couple seconds longer to give me a reading, and some really shiny things did not give me a reading at all. In my business, I would never have to point at a shiny object, so the one CON is really meaningless for me.
I would HIGHLY recommend this unit
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not good on shiny objects
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer

great tool

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to set up and use. Better than previous distance measurer that I had.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer

Great product

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I work in disaster restoration.. When sewage floods a house the last thing I want to do is run an old fashion tape through that and then wind it up. This product is accurate and fast. Access to the battery is quick unlike some that have screws holding the cover in place. Battery life is good. I use it daily, I have dropped it many times and it is still running strong
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Southern California
Gender:Male

Great indoor distance measuring tool

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The accuracy of this tool is amazing. Indoors the measurements are quick and easy. I took one star off because outdoor measurements in my backyard are either very difficult or impossible. The sun light here in Southern California is bright and the laser dot is dim and very difficult to aim.
I took a bar off of the quality because the tripod screw hole is impossible to mount onto a tripod. The threads are plastic and all of my tripods have a metal screw mount. The tripod screw never seems to go in straight and it doesn't get tight because of this misalignment.
The value was very good because Home Depot had a sale on this model.
If I need to measure an indoor floor or a window size or doorway I'd try this tool before a tape measure. It's too much fun to use a laser dot and a tape measure always seems to bend at the wrong moment.
My recommendation is for indoor use anytime or outdoor use at night.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: too dim for sunny day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from marengo,il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it is great for measuring around the home. It is not great for measuing long distance outside. Ir is to hard to see in the sun ight.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compact size and works great.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works flawlessly and with it's compact size works in areas I hadn't been able to access with the older larger models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer

Good Product!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to get working and understanding how all the function work. Seems to be accurate. Nice compact size.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from New Orleans
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Inexpensive and very accurate. Easy to use. Directions were really not necessary.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Boston,MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

laser distance meter

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy and simple to use. Saves time and effort. No more tape.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Cons: no downside
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Thousand Oaks CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value, fast and easy but NO INDIRECT measure feature as implied by graphic of measuring modes

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pay attention to the details on these items, it works great for just about all features but note that this model
does not include INDIRECT measure or Pythagoras feature built in... This is implied implied by graphic of measuring modes but if you are careful you will see this model isn't listed under that mode.. If this matters get a different more expensive unit. If you don't need this feature its great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: no indirect measure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer

Good value, good product

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The measurer has a lot of functions that may take a while to learn. But it's well worth it in the time you will save on the job once you know how to use all of the features.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solid Tool

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Maybe one of the best tools ever invented. Dead accurate, easy to use & compact. Made a survey job I had on a department store stock room a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from 32578

a great tool

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product makes getting room dimensions 10 times faster than with a tape measure. I like how you can adjust where you measure from on the laser. This the second time I've gotten this laser measuring tool after losing the first one somewhere on the job site.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use, great features

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this has been really useful for my brokers out in the field measuring spaces, it works easily
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hey, no more dumb end!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yep, no more dumb end of the tape guy needed. I've been using it to do measurements for as built drawings. It's been great. I can get measurements in nooks and cranny's that would have been hard or impossible with a tape or a wheel.
I have noticed that the farther you go, there can be some varriance in readings. It's holding with in a 1/16 th from reading to reading. That's 1/16 th total, not + or -. That's consistent with what they tell you.
It would take some getting used to for finish work. The whole exercise of transferring the measurement to your tape or rule to mark the cut is going to create some slop.
It would be fine for framing, form work, fences, and such.
It's solidly built. The controls are easy to operate. It's got a tripod mount too. I guess that would be handy if you where trying to move something into place and you needed the device to stay put.
I totally recomend it for 90% of the measuring most folks do. Glad I bought it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can not do without it.

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I have carried tape measures around. I have had trouble pulling them out, I have walked on them to measure a large room, I have hooked them to an edge to have them fall off half way through my measurement, I have had to work to get the tape back in the reel, and I have hated every minute of it. Now just point and click a button and I have an accurate measurement. I have worked as and interior decorator and designer and would have giving anything to have this in the past.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Reading, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

work great

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
that work great. easy to use. i bought one month ago before i have hard time to measure large area . with that product it easy for me to measure.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent tool for the money!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't speak enough good about this laser. I use it daily and can't understand how I worked without it. 150ft range accurate to 1/16". I've had countless contractors asking how accurate it is, just to test and compare to a tape to find out that it's dead-on. I believe that it was only $79 at the time I purchased mine.
This stays on my belt, used daily. I will buy another soon so I have one at work and one at home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 130 ft. Laser Distance Measurer
from Mountain Home, AR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is a MUST for all real estate agents.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works on its own - just turn it on, point and it does the rest. No more stretching or bending. Absolutely 100% dependable on the measurements. I don't know what I did without it!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>