728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Digital Laser Distance Measurer

Digital Laser Distance Measurer

The Bosch Digital Laser Distance Measurer uses precision laser-measuring technology to provide precise measurement of length, area and volume. The continuous-length mode automatically adjusts measurements when walking off distances, and this measurer features an ergonomic grip for comfort.
Overall rating:
4.726 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product105 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(90)
4
(19)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product105 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Review 1 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Leland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent tool for the money!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't speak enough good about this laser. I use it daily and can't understand how I worked without it. 150ft range accurate to 1/16". I've had countless contractors asking how accurate it is, just to test and compare to a tape to find out that it's dead-on. I believe that it was only $79 at the time I purchased mine.
This stays on my belt, used daily. I will buy another soon so I have one at work and one at home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
SRG1

Great product

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I work in disaster restoration.. When sewage floods a house the last thing I want to do is run an old fashion tape through that and then wind it up. This product is accurate and fast. Access to the battery is quick unlike some that have screws holding the cover in place. Battery life is good. I use it daily, I have dropped it many times and it is still running strong
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
TomP
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solid Tool

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Maybe one of the best tools ever invented. Dead accurate, easy to use & compact. Made a survey job I had on a department store stock room a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
raj22
from Plymouth, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HANDY TOOL

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This tool is new for me. I find it is best used inside or outside at night time. And reading should be double checked Also should be placed on a solid surface when measuring more than six or eight feet or more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Dennis
from Salado, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what I need

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an invaluable tool to install everything from crown molding and baseboards to hardwood floors as it makes measuring a one person process.
It was 1/16" off from the tape measure I used to measure and cut the stock so once I made that adjustment everything went well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
hardliner
from 32578

a great tool

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product makes getting room dimensions 10 times faster than with a tape measure. I like how you can adjust where you measure from on the laser. This the second time I've gotten this laser measuring tool after losing the first one somewhere on the job site.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Aiden
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Use

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product and I recommend using it. I was able to take it out of the box and use it right away without reading the instructions. This is a great unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Judy
from Mountain Home, AR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is a MUST for all real estate agents.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works on its own - just turn it on, point and it does the rest. No more stretching or bending. Absolutely 100% dependable on the measurements. I don't know what I did without it!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Stitchdown
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can not do without it.

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I have carried tape measures around. I have had trouble pulling them out, I have walked on them to measure a large room, I have hooked them to an edge to have them fall off half way through my measurement, I have had to work to get the tape back in the reel, and I have hated every minute of it. Now just point and click a button and I have an accurate measurement. I have worked as and interior decorator and designer and would have giving anything to have this in the past.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
andrewc2
from PA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product, makes measuring rooms easy!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No longer do you need two people to measure a room, or a ladder or lift to measure a tall auditorium. Press the button once to enable the laser, point it where you want to measure then hit it again, and the distance is shown on the screen down to the partial inch. This model handles up to 130 feet. It can add up lengths as well. Comes with a belt pouch, and I have yet to have any issues with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
MikeBD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price for a great gadget...

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price for a great gadget… It's a must have when your work depends on good measuring...
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
JW427
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hey, no more dumb end!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yep, no more dumb end of the tape guy needed. I've been using it to do measurements for as built drawings. It's been great. I can get measurements in nooks and cranny's that would have been hard or impossible with a tape or a wheel.
I have noticed that the farther you go, there can be some varriance in readings. It's holding with in a 1/16 th from reading to reading. That's 1/16 th total, not + or -. That's consistent with what they tell you.
It would take some getting used to for finish work. The whole exercise of transferring the measurement to your tape or rule to mark the cut is going to create some slop.
It would be fine for framing, form work, fences, and such.
It's solidly built. The controls are easy to operate. It's got a tripod mount too. I guess that would be handy if you where trying to move something into place and you needed the device to stay put.
I totally recomend it for 90% of the measuring most folks do. Glad I bought it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Livin4Jesus
from Northern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic Tool- Works great!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this Bosch Digital Laser to measure all the interior walls, windows and ceilings in our newly purchased house. It really works great in tight spots and where a tape measure would get caught behind things or bend and fall. I draft house plans for a living and when it comes to measuring existing houses for remodels, etc this works fantastically!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Mountaineer01cb
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Me and my husband have been looking at houses and this Is exactly what I wanted was getting tired of having to run a tape measure from one wall to another, works great, easy to use, everything I wanted. Comes with a case to take with you that can be attached to your belt, I carry mine in my purse
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
BoschMan
from SouthWest USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome! Buy it!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 year ago I bought a Bosch GLM80 which cost over $200+ but I hated the fact that it does NOT read out in Fractions, it has to be converted every time.
The DLR130K is now used for everything, I never use my expensive GLM80 anymore. The GLM80 has a rechargeable battery, but I just picked up some cheap rechargeable AA NiMH batteries at Harbor Freight and they work fantastic in this DLR130K.
An absolutely fantastic tool at a good price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: no rechargeable batteries but read my description
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
Mike
from Ocean City, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool, easy to use.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool, easy to use. Measures distance, area & volume, Stores cumulative measurements in memory, great for calculating square footage of multilpe rooms.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
jeepgod77
from Omaha, NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cutting my measuring time in half or less!!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first. I started using it to measure to gutters, roofs, and siding. It worked great! I can stand in one place and point! It is safer and cut my measuring time in half or less. I can measure siding with out a ladder! I don't have to crawl to the edge of roofs! Gutters are too easy now! I have used it for measuring concrete, decks, windows, and attics (for insulation)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
DIYDave
from Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprisingly accurate and easy to use...

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I made an impulse purchase of the Bosch digital laser distance measurement tool on Black Friday because the price was right and the reviews seemed to say this was a useful gadget. After receiving the unit, I read the instruction manual from cover to cover before I fired it up (something I usually haven't done in the past but over the years I've learned that it's best to understand everything thorougly before powering up). The warning about the laser was kind of scarey and I've been really careful not to stare directly at the laser spot or to shine it on anything reflective. My first try was to measure the family room width and after turning the unit on and initiating a measurement our cat went nuts and tried to leap up on the wall to tag the laser spot. I then made a bunch of long and short measurements and then followed up with a tape measure. I was really (pleasantly) surprised to find that the accuracy was spot on--right down to 0.0625 inches just as advertised. I measured the cooktop width by using a box of tea as the target for the far end and the reading was dead on. The velcro strap on the carry pouch fits through the belt loop on my jeans so I take the unit anytime I'm going to shop for mouldings etc. The only thing to be aware of is that the tool measures time of transit of the laser beam. For example, this means that if you are not exactly orthagonal to the vertical surface you are measuring then the tool will measure the length based upon the angle that you are off the baseline. Just something to be aware of. But unlike steel tapes, the laser beam doesn't 'sag'.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
tduluth
from Duluth, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Time saver

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great tool for measuring a structure.
Saves time and can be as accurate as you wish.
worth the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Laser Distance Measurer
aevans3

Love this thing!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great at getting those quick measurements, particularly indoors (a little light for the laser at a distance outside). Big time saver, and takes some of those hard-to-reach-with-a-tape problems away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
Cons: could be brighter for outdoor measurements
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>