728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

The Cherokee 56 in. Ceiling Fan offers a casual feel with many additional features. This fan comes with trendy oiled rubbed bronze finish. It also has a tea stained light kit with energy efficient compact fluorescent bowl that not only looks stylish but save electricity. To top off the features this fan comes with remote control system that can operate all the functions for the fan.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product47 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(21)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(7)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product47 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Looks better in person, quiet, moves air well

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan was on our "no" list until we happened to see it in person at the Vining's store (it was not on display at our local HD). We needed a larger fan and were surprised buy how much better this appeared in person.
If you are looking for a larger room fan that is somewhere between transitional and traditional don't write this one off.
If you want a concealed bulb but still want it easy to change- the single nut finial style cover fits both requirements.
Blades reverse from the dithered/burnished edge finish to a solid medium-dark brown.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Kansas City , MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love the fan, great looks and price

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
does not move as fast as i expected it to , but still moves the air fine in our 12x16 living room .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from mojave desert

grrrrrreat

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
simple style but great looking installed. simple installation if you just follow instructions and don't rush. i like the fact that the shade is made of resin and not glass. i have broken others in the past. remote is awesome but could use a dimmer option for the light. overall very satisfied.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Pendleton, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks stylish, good value, remote is nice feature

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price, this is a worthwhile fan. Not too difficult to install, but as with any electrical project, make sure you know what you are doing or hire a professional. Blades are stylish and remote makes for a nice touch to access from a distance. Biggest drawback, if you want to call it that, is the delay for the energy efficient lights to come on (only a second or two, but if you're expecting "instant on" when you flip the switch, that it is not) and also the slight "yellow" glow to the lights rather than white light. We have in master bedroom and the light coloring is not an issue, but if if were in a main room such as a living room, it may undesirable. Though easily rectified by purchasing different bulbs from those that come with the product if the glow does not suit your taste.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This fan is a great deal. Works well, moves a lot of air and is attractive. It does hang low, so if your ceiling is standard height it will hang into the room a bit.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Weslaco, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

THE CHEROKEE 56

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a gorgeous ceiling fan that looks great in our new home. The 56 inch blades give tremendous air flow and the fan is very quiet.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Rochester, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet, easy to install

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fan was a breeze to put up, with one exception. I tried to make sure the fan had power and would work before I buttoned up the installation to the downrod and it would not work until I plugged the light kit into its connector. I didn't realize I had to do that and figured it out by dumb luck. I should have just finished and then turned on the power. My bad. But it looks great and runs very smoothly and is super quiet, a great fan!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Lake Forest, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An attractive, worthwhile buy though wiring and remote are tight.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this after reviewing many reviews and noting concerns about installation as well as satisfaction with appearance and function, which generally proved appropriate. The fan is indeed attractive, elegant, and works easily and quietly.
Installation was fairly easy EXCEPT for the wiring and remote control. Parts fit well and seemed solid. Wiring and the remote were the only difficulty: even after cutting the wires shorter it took a lot of effort to pack them through the tiny space remaining around the ceiling mount and remote control receiver. Everything fits, but it's very tight and only after much trial and error. A YouTube video of installation proved extremely encouraging, showing how things should be done and giving some idea of the latitude of technique for squeezing things in.
Otherwise hanging and putting parts together proved reasonable. There seemed to be a couple of steps that were not clear in the instructions but with some common sense things worked out, especially after seeing the video.
One might consider deciding which wall switch would be the master for the unit (assuming the wall wiring was already done); one needs to decide whether to use the black or red wire as the hot connection--using the red wire will probably lead to what one normally thinks of as the primary wall switch, while the other wire would be capped off and leave the other switch dead. It's a very minor point.
The lighting is pleasant but not very bright. One could either use stronger CFL bulbs or have other lighting in the room for brightness.
The end result is very satisfying--a good-looking fan that works quietly, effectively, and easily. The remote control is simple.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from South Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great fan.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan looks great in the room. Runs quiet. The remote control is a great feature. Would have also liked a manual option on the light and fan, just in case the remote gets lost or damaged. For the price, though, this fan can't be beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Good and Bad

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a great looking fan. It wabbles a little. I tried to balance it but it didnt help. After only one week the light cover also craked on me. I usually tighten my globes pretty snug, so maybe it was my mistake, but I have never had one crack on me till this one.
Great price.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

good deal

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this fan is great. install easily, even with the remote box. long blades move a lot of air and the light is bright enough but still pleasant. only thing would be better is thicker blades to push a little more air on hot days.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Really good air flow

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We Love this fan, compaired to all of the others we have had, this one really puts out the air for a big room! love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is a great product

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Ceiling fan works great and adds character to the roon.I am very happy with this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Tehachapi, CA 93561, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We got exactly what we wanted

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We like the fan and all of the features such as the remote control and variable speeds.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Pleased Overall

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very pleased overall.
Pros:
Very quiet when running and moves a lot of air.
Remote works well and not having the pull cords hanging down from the fan is a nice touch.
Cons:
Installation was pretty easy except the remote box that goes in the mount is a very tight fit.
The glass that covers the bulbs is VERY dark and did not look that dark online. Dark brown to the point that it changes the look of the light in the room when on. I am going to go back to HD and see if I can exchange just the glass.
Overall great product and great value at sale price of $65.xx.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: glass color
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

I can not say anything good about the product

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product had to be returned because the motor did not work
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

stopped working after 3 days

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This fan is beautiful. The light creates a relaxing feeling, so perfect for a bedroom. I worked well for 2 days. The remote functioned. The breeze created was even. The fan was nearly silent. The third night we had the fan up and running, I could not turn it off! The lights , the fan speed, nothing. I changed the battery in the remote, nothing. We had to remove the light bulbs just to go to sleep for the night.The next morning I turned off the electrical circuit, then flipped it back on after a minute. The fan functioned normally after that. I returned home from work the same day, and it is not functioning again. I am not happy. It is not like installing a fan is a 5 minute process, and I have no free time to really work with here...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: stopped working after 3 days
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Catlettsburg, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

overall pretty good fan

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
"tea stained light kit" is not very bright with the included bulbs.......remote is very difficult to fit into electrtical box with wiring....blades did balance well with no wobble or noise.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Amsterdam NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Fan !!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation Instructions were fine. I shortened the wires, so it was easier to fit everything in. One blade had to be touched up, as it had a blemish. Everything leveled up nice, and time will only tell if it will be quiet, as it's winter time! We'll love the remote.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cherokee 56 in. Oiled Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks nicer than online view

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bought 4 of these for our new home. Had problems with the transmitter & had to return one of them & reorder. Like the color of the blades however the globe is on the dark side so the light is not very bright. Purchased the fans on sale so was a good deal overall.
Cons: problems with transmitter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>