728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Log Splitters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

A day of chopping wood has never been less of a chore with the W1200 Earthquake 5-ton log splitter. Simply plug it in and start splitting logs. With the electric motor there is no need for gasoline. Its long-lasting wheels are made to withstand abuse and the easy-grip handle makes it simple to transport. Like every Earthquake product, the W1200 is a powerful and versatile machine that will make any outdoor job easier and less time-consuming.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Review 1 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Clinton, OK 73601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple to use

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tried it , plenty of splitting power ,the wood that it would only put a dent in < I had trouble splitting with a wedge & 10lb hammer & a axe so thats telling how stout some logs are you got to split with the grain. It has plenty power , just got to use common sense on some wood ,some harder than others . On the real tough wood I would get it started with the sledge & wedge finish it off with the earthQuake " make sure to lose"n the Breath screw so you won"t have seal problems" works for me.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Canandaigua, NY 14424, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't waste your money

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PLEASE - IF YOU BUY - GET AN IRON CLAD WARRANTY FROM HOME DEPOT FOR AT LEAST 3 YRS i purchesed this product a about 1.5yrs ago for a friend, it failed on her and she returned it to me for repair. a call to the company for parts availability was made and i was told "we do not supply parts" i then took it to a tractor repair company - they looked it over and also called for parts - they were at least turned over to the company mech dept. the response was -- and i quote " tell him to buy another one" this was said with a laugh. when it worked for her it was slow, it has a tendancy to tip over but it did work
r holland
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, no parts availability, poor company service
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought for my husband's Christmas present and he loves it! Thanks for the speedy delivery!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Brighton, Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is good for small logs.

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This log splitter is ok for small logs, 5 tons of pressure is not allot of force but just enough to split small 8 inch logs.
It also helps if the log is seasoned, new or wet logs may be harder to split & this device struggles is that case. If you plan on splitting logs any bigger, get a splitter with more ton splitting pressure.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: not enough force splitting pressure for what i use
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is fast and easy to put together and ready for use in no time.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I took this to my Dad for a birthday present and he loved it. It was easy for him to run and cut his logs just like he wanted.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

easy to assemble split hard dried burch wood easy so far so good

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
pleased with this splitter godd thing it has wheels and is quite and evend my 9 year old grandson enjoys working controles while i'm placeing the logs on to be split
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Geneva, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great for what it is

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the splitter is great for a homeowner that doesn't want the smell ogf a gas engine or to try to start in the cold. Not for heavy use but great for a one fireplace home.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Cincinnati, oh

Powerful, Quiet

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried that electric splitters were cheap junk compared to gas splitters. After watching reviews on youtube I settled on the Earthquake. I have now split 3 cords without a problem. Only 10 or 12 very knotty pieces I was unable to split. Best spot for it is on the tailgate of my truck. Arrived double boxed with very dense 1" panel foam board between the boxes. Very impressed with the shipping. Sitting on my porch when I got home. 10 min to attach a few parts, plugged it in and got started. Not bad for something that weighs 100lb's.
Of course your not going to power through a 3' trunk section as you can with something like a 25hp gas splitter but all you have to do is halve or quarter it with the chainsaw. I have split Oak, Maple (green & seasoned), Cherry, Poplar and something else I'm not sure what. Some larger pieces you just need to split from the edge and work your way in rather than directly through the middle. If you hit a knot just flip the log and go from the other end. Takes a little bit more care but not a problem.
This is also good as a secondary splitter to make kindling or to split larger pieces down in size. Also something to remember is that the oil will get too thick below 40 degrees so after it gets that cold you need to do your splitting somewhere heated.
I was worried about popping the breaker but I have had no problems. I did spring for a 50' 12 gauge extension cord.
+15points
43out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

There is a lot of features in a small package.

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered online, shipped on time, arrived on time. All around good experience.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.