728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

Earthquake's 5-Ton log splitter has an electric motor, so there's no hassling with gasoline. It easily splits logs and can be transported with the easy-grip handle. It makes your wood-cutting work more efficient.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Review 1 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Clinton, OK 73601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple to use

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tried it , plenty of splitting power ,the wood that it would only put a dent in < I had trouble splitting with a wedge & 10lb hammer & a axe so thats telling how stout some logs are you got to split with the grain. It has plenty power , just got to use common sense on some wood ,some harder than others . On the real tough wood I would get it started with the sledge & wedge finish it off with the earthQuake " make sure to lose"n the Breath screw so you won"t have seal problems" works for me.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very lite weight... return tomarrow

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
buying on line may present a problem returning ????
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Colchester, Ct.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fantastic for homeowner use

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very easy assembly....when splitting large logs with big knots feed good end to splitter with knot last to split better. Also as others suggested if needed use 4x4 block of wood between ram and log to forced log to go thru splitter wedge head and cut completely. caution hard wood and woods with big knots may fly off machine with a sudden force as they split.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Canandaigua, NY 14424, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't waste your money

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PLEASE - IF YOU BUY - GET AN IRON CLAD WARRANTY FROM HOME DEPOT FOR AT LEAST 3 YRS i purchesed this product a about 1.5yrs ago for a friend, it failed on her and she returned it to me for repair. a call to the company for parts availability was made and i was told "we do not supply parts" i then took it to a tractor repair company - they looked it over and also called for parts - they were at least turned over to the company mech dept. the response was -- and i quote " tell him to buy another one" this was said with a laugh. when it worked for her it was slow, it has a tendancy to tip over but it did work
r holland
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, no parts availability, poor company service
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Fort Smith, AR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broken after 2 days.

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This splitter just stopped working after 2 days and a cord of wood. When I returned it they suggested I not exchange it as several had come back broken.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Brighton, Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is good for small logs.

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This log splitter is ok for small logs, 5 tons of pressure is not allot of force but just enough to split small 8 inch logs.
It also helps if the log is seasoned, new or wet logs may be harder to split & this device struggles is that case. If you plan on splitting logs any bigger, get a splitter with more ton splitting pressure.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: not enough force splitting pressure for what i use
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is fast and easy to put together and ready for use in no time.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I took this to my Dad for a birthday present and he loved it. It was easy for him to run and cut his logs just like he wanted.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

easy to assemble split hard dried burch wood easy so far so good

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
pleased with this splitter godd thing it has wheels and is quite and evend my 9 year old grandson enjoys working controles while i'm placeing the logs on to be split
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Geneva, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great for what it is

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
the splitter is great for a homeowner that doesn't want the smell ogf a gas engine or to try to start in the cold. Not for heavy use but great for a one fireplace home.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Cincinnati, oh

Powerful, Quiet

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was worried that electric splitters were cheap junk compared to gas splitters. After watching reviews on youtube I settled on the Earthquake. I have now split 3 cords without a problem. Only 10 or 12 very knotty pieces I was unable to split. Best spot for it is on the tailgate of my truck. Arrived double boxed with very dense 1" panel foam board between the boxes. Very impressed with the shipping. Sitting on my porch when I got home. 10 min to attach a few parts, plugged it in and got started. Not bad for something that weighs 100lb's.
Of course your not going to power through a 3' trunk section as you can with something like a 25hp gas splitter but all you have to do is halve or quarter it with the chainsaw. I have split Oak, Maple (green & seasoned), Cherry, Poplar and something else I'm not sure what. Some larger pieces you just need to split from the edge and work your way in rather than directly through the middle. If you hit a knot just flip the log and go from the other end. Takes a little bit more care but not a problem.
This is also good as a secondary splitter to make kindling or to split larger pieces down in size. Also something to remember is that the oil will get too thick below 40 degrees so after it gets that cold you need to do your splitting somewhere heated.
I was worried about popping the breaker but I have had no problems. I did spring for a 50' 12 gauge extension cord.
+15points
43out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought for my husband's Christmas present and he loves it! Thanks for the speedy delivery!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

There is a lot of features in a small package.

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered online, shipped on time, arrived on time. All around good experience.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.