728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Natural Stone Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)

Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)

The MS International 12 in. x 12 in. Black Galaxy Granite Floor and Wall Tile is a black, natural stone tile with fiery golden flakes. You can use this versatile tile in residential and commercial settings, including kitchens and bathrooms. It is suitable for use on a floor, wall or countertop. The unglazed tile is polished with a smooth finish, a high sheen and a moderate variation in tone. NOTE: Inspect all tiles before installation. Natural stone products inherently lack uniformity and are subject to variation in color, shade, finish, etc. It is recommended to blend tiles from different boxes when installing. Natural stones may be characterized by dry seams and pits that are often filled. The filling can work its way out and it may be necessary to refill these voids as part of a normal maintenance procedure. All natural stone products should be sealed with a penetrating sealer. After installation, vendor disclaims any liabilities.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
Meryl

Beautiful tiles but tiny chips on edges

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These tiles are just what I wanted. I liked the pattern very much, they have just the right amount of pizazz, not too flashy but enough to get noticed. The tiles arrived fairly quickly and in mostly good condition. Six of the tiles (I only ordered 10) had tiny chips on some edge/corner. One of the six had chips on all edges/corners. I turned the 8 tiles that I needed and used so that I could minimize the flaws or cut them out. I am building a counter top for a lavatory and the area for the hole for the drop-in sink was a great place to put the chipped edges and corners. I believe that only left two edges I put toward the back where they will be covered up by a backsplash. Overall, I am pleased.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: chipped edges/corners
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
hawkechik

Beautiful slices of rock

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gorgeous tile. Exactly What I wanted and looks stunning on the bartop.
I was a bit leery of ordering something like tile, even granite tile which isn't as brittle as porcelain, to be shipped directly to my house but everything turned out fine. It arrived within three days via UPS, the tile was double boxed and well cushioned in the boxes and shipping charges were imminently reasonable at just $12. It cost less to ship this than 6 pieces of wood I ordered for this project from another vendor (Home Depot doesn't carry quartersawn oak.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
granitefalls4x4
from wa state
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great countertop tile color

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice look, depth, and color, very few exclusions.
Did my backsplash out of the same material.
On my old countertops, I removed the original tops, then I used 3/4 plywood and 1/2 backer board, and I reinforced my counters with extra 2x4's before installing the granite.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
Posi

Great Value

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value. Received 3 cracked tiles out of 7 boxes which I cut and used for edge pieces. These tiles are good quality. You can't beat the price especially with free shipping.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
KatT
from Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used the 12 x 12 for a fireplace makeover - worked perfectly!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had an fireplace that had used brick and a Mexican paver hearth on a home we just bought. Completely ugly, and impossible to clean. My son wanted a black mantel, and we had used the black galaxy granite on his kitchen counters, so wanted to match it. Got the 12 x 12's for ease of installation and affordability. Pulled the old pavers, put down cement board, cut the tiles to fit with no problem, and installation completed without problems. Used a dark grey grout. Really happy with the end result.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
tomt
from Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tile

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second time I have ordered tile from Home Depot. It is much less expensive than their competitor. Both times a tile or two has been chipped on the corner. Generally, with cutting for fit those tiles are used without a problem. I did contact Home Depot about this and they were very responsive and took care of the problem.
The tile itself is beautiful and holds up very well since it is granite.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
Andi19
from Wausau, WI, USA

Beautiful around fireplace

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this tile to go around our fireplace. It looks beautiful and was an excellent choice. The flecks of color add sparkle and dimension. We love it, and the price was fair. Shipped quickly, which was appreciated.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
RaynaMorgan
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GARBAGE SECONDS - every tile is a different thickness!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought over 70 SF of this tile for our kitchen countertop. The contractor came today to lay it. Every tile measures a different thickness! A few of them are even "wedge" cuts where one edge measures .383 and the opposite edge measures nearly .430. so they all have to be measured, marked, and categorized with similar thicknesses to make my countertop look right. Considering I cant take them back to the store, I'm very disappointed in this product, and the fact that Home Depot offers it.... and causes the contractor more work.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
junger
from Eastlake Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We installed this on our kitchen floor. We ordered 14 boxes. I'd have to say 95% of it was in good shape. We had it delivered to our house. If you have a gravel driveway they won't be able to push pallet down it. My husband had to back his truck up to the delivery truck to unload it one box at a time. The boxes are 60 pounds. I love my floor, but I have to wash it a lot because it shows everything. I got a chef mat to stand on when I do dishes. We used black grout which doesn't look black. We had to buy black grout dye and paint every grout line. It made a big difference and looks beautiful.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
RAY1
from SOUTH CAROLINA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEAUTIFUL LOOKING PRODUCT, GREAT QUALITY

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ORDERED 5 BOXES OF THESE. ONLY 2 TILES HAD MINOR CORNER CHIPS, AND 1 HAD A LARGE BREAK.
THESE CAN BE USED TO CUT SMALLER PIECES.
GREAT QUALITY AND LOOK, EXCELLENT PRICE WITH FREE SHIPPING TO STORE. SHIPPING WAS VERY FAST ALSO. NO PROBLEM WITH INSTALLATION. BACK OF TILES WERE PERFECTLY FLAT.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, best price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
TPT11111

Granite Tile

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tile I received is a very nice tile with a much better price for exactly the same tile as sold by a competitor. The only problem was that about 1 in 6 tiles had a chipped corner. If I had not been cutting the tile and using just parts of some tiles, it would have been a problem. If I had needed full tiles I would have been short.
As far as those people I worked with at the store, they were exceptional. They were helpful beyond what I have normally experienced in a retail store.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
phxcoyote

Looks great under indirect lighting

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used 2 inch strips around kitchen backsplash with brown granite countertops . The 2 inch boarder with brown above and below really set off the kitchen. The lights under makes it shine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
GAAWTIM
from Brownstown, IN 47220, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to oreder and great quality tile!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Highly recommend. Ordering was simple and it arrived within a few days. The color and finish was fantastic. Compared to other internet options - this was the best price and was top quality!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
Pittman

Very nice appearance but quality not so good

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The tiles look very good, but not easy to install. The big issue is with the varying tile thickness that requires pre-installation sorting and extra motor for thin ones. Tough to install if you want an even surface.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
jds215

awsome

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are really nice have not installed them yet but i know they would look nice.
Pros: Looks Great
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
LouEye
from Upstate New York

Black Galaxy Countertop

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These granite tiles are beautiful. Beautifully polished and easily wet cut to size. They give our countertop a 3D feel. THe gold flecks enhance the color of our cabinets. They were delivered with care and with free shipping to boot. Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
PropertyOperations
from Carson City, NV, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect Match

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to match up existing tile, and this was perfect. Picture was exactly like product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
Naomi
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More Gold than what I expected. Just beautiful...

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It came to my house two days before the estimate arrival date.
Estes Express Lines delivered and they did great job, no damage so far I can see,,,, This stone has more Gold than what i expected. Absolutely happy!! Home Depo did a great job! Thank you!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
BillS
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black Galaxy floor tile

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Excellent service, fast delivery and all pieces arrived intact. The stone matched what had already been installed. Ordering off the website made it easy to obtain the necessary product to complete my project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Black Galaxy 12 in. x 12 in. Polished Granite Floor and Wall Tile (10 sq. ft. / case)
KCinMI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought five boxes. 30% cheaper than local tile store for the exact same tile. Not one broken tile. Fast free delivery. Great deal.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>