728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

Fabback acrylic mirror is a great alternative to traditional glass mirrors. Its superior impact strength and lightweight attributes make this mirror a versatile product that can be used with confidence in many applications around the home. Its shatter resistant properties make it the obvious choice for bath mirrors, home gyms, dressing areas, and even children's play areas. Because its easily fabricated using common tools it can be used in custom applications such as table tops or cut to match a custom frame to create decorative wall mirrors. Regardless of the project, FABBACK acrylic mirror is a great item for use in any area of your home or office.
Overall rating:
3.931 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product21 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product21 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
Review 1 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

Safe Mirror for Church Nursery

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the mirror to use in a church nursery. I added molding to the edges and 1/4 inch mdf board to the back to finish it off. It was slightly less than stated size by a half inch or so each direction. It was a much better deal than buying a prefabricated one from a children's supply store.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from New Port Richey, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Solar Cooker application fully tests acrylic mirror capabilities.

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the interest of going green and developing a prototype solar cooker, I had a huge problem of deciding on the ideal parabolic reflector material to use. After extensive research in using reflective foils, tapes, metals and glass mirrors, I found a solution. Home Depot had the overal best item to use and even the best price. The acrylic mirror met nearly all my design and performance needs. First, it is extremely flexable and easily followed my parabolic curve. Also, it is tolerant to reasonable high temperatures, as I found when a part of my wooden frame caught on fire and hot ashes fell on the mirror. To my surprise, hardly any damage occured beyond a slight dimple where the chips fell. The reflectivity was another key concern and the acrylic mirror performs just fine. Although glass mirrors are technically more reflective than arylic types, they are twice as heavy, thus the acrylic mirror product a better choice for me. After extended use outside the mirror does get dusty, but it is easy to clean if extreme care is used. First I air blow it and then I use a very soft cloth to gently wipe it down. The acrylic surface is very sensitive to scratching, even one particle of sand rubbed with a cloth can scratch it, thus my explaining my cleaning method. Deeper scratches may be removed with special plastic cleaning and polishing chemicals although I have not tried them yet. I also needed an exact 24 inch width. I was afraid based on other customers that the advertised dimensions would be too short, but I was pleasantly rewarded when it arrived and it was dead-on the correct advertised diemensions. My design required using 2 pieces that needed cutting. I cut it to size with a jigsaw. It cuts very easily. And finally, the product description strongly advised use indoors and against outdoor use. But, for me it has faired perfectly outdoors for my intermittant use (no rain exposure) and even in the high humidity we have here. In summary, I have brutally put this acrylic mirror to the test, with severe bending/warping, high temperatures, high humidity, splashes of water from the cooking pot and cutting of pieces and it performs very well. I like this product and recommend its use in the solar energy markets. See photos of my prototype solar grill using the acrylic mirror product from Home Depot, where I am cooking up a large skillet of food.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Colorado Springs, Co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

many great uses with this product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent mirror! Served great for me for a non flat surface, wrapped it around a turn, very flexible while holding its mirror image, back didn't crack, very light weight. I cut strips out of it, and a smaller square or two, a cordless skill saw cut it just fine, no shattered edges, love this stuff, has so many options for projects with the ability to cut and glue, bend, etc. kinda like working with a piece of wood, but its a strong mirror : -)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great mirror for a table top display

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a mirror for a retail store display. This mirror was the perfect size and a great price! I love how the display turned out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Vacaville, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great kids mirror

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a parent with children with special needs, it was advised to get a shatterproof mirror like the ones in class. All the therapists and I were looking in specialty catalogs and the prices were outrageous, and the mirrors smaller. I thought to check HD and found what I was looking for at a fraction of the cost and free shipping. The corner did arrive chipped but not bad enough to get replaced. I can add whatever type of border that I want and change it out when the kids get older. I do not see a distortion when the mirror is flat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, great replacement for specialty catalog mirrors., learning, special needs
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install, my kids get it dirty, need own mirror hangers, need second person to hold flat during installatio
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

light and big

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For this price this is a great mirror. It is easy to install as it is very light, not heavy at all. The only problem is that surface should be flat or you need to install it completely even or to glue it. Otherwise it changes your reflection(I look thin). I installed it in my closet on the door.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: need to be installed completely even
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

Pre-Toddler Fun

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We placed these mirrors in a classroom full of 1-2 year olds. They absolutely love looking in them and making faces. They came on time and we have yet to have a problem with them in the class. We simply screwed them onto the walls. Easy to clean and no breaks so far... the kids have even thrown toys at it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Granger, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is not as described. Too expensive for what you get.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While it delivers on durability, the reflective quality is more akin to a "Funhouse" than a regular mirror. I bought it for a gym that I work out in with my young kids. The durability and safety that comes with acrylic is what attracted me to the product but the mirrors reflective qualities are awful.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

Superb quality reasonable price

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features as advertised, great quality. Very clean, protected and practical.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Orlando, FL

Great for play room

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this mirror, great for baby stimulation, safe also great price
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to put up and looks great

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took close to three weeks to get this product, and when it finally arrived, it was in good shape, and looked good
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: long time to arrive
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Richmond, VA 23237, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks nice!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Haven't hung it yet but it looks nice! Doesn't look distorted like I feared it would. Appears good quality, a little flimsier than I'd hoped but I am overall satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

exactly what I wanted. Packed very well!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted a mirror that wouldn't shatter like glass. HD had the answer! Small Grandchildren can break anything. Thanks!
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

mirror

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
i give this product a 0 rating i did not know that a acrylic mirror had a distorted view it looks like a funhouse mirror i was VERY disappointed. It slso scratched Very easily, i would not buy this again.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Old Hickory, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Product was excellent and easy to work with

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping was slow, but once it arrived I found the prooduct to be easy to work with and cut to needed size for the project I was involved with at the time..
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Maryland
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Safer and Easier to work with than Glass.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use various sizes in different applications and being able to work with acrylic with wood tools allows me to not worry about cutting myself on the edges, at least not as much as glass, I can store it with my plywood and not worry about it breaking. Product arrived packaged well and no blemishes. Very easy to work with and I will be purchasing again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

Does the Trick

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this mirror for our playroom. The kids love looking at themselves in it and it's very light so easy to mount on the wall. We drilled about 8 holes around the edges to mount it. It's not the most perfect mirror quality, but it's good enough for what we're using it for. I'm going to order a few more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from Martinez, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Review of Acrylic Mirror

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very useful piece of material. Provides added light in my garden yet is sturdy and unbreakable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror

acrylic mirror

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's like looking into a funhouse mirror. I'm taller and 10 lbs lighter. Most women wouldn't complain but for the money it's totally not worth it. Now I have to return it.
Cons: horrible image
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. x 48 in. x .118 in. Acrylic Mirror
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is not a mirror.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was listed as a mirror, however, it is more like a frosted piece of acrylic. Do not buy this if you are tring to get a acrylic mirror!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>