728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

The Earthwise 20 in. cordless electric lawn mowers requires no gas, no oil, no fumes and starts every time. The 3-in-1 systems has a side discharge, mulches and rear bag. The 20 in. cordless mower is the clean air choice. Steel deck and 3 in 1 side discharge, mulches or rear bags provides the look of a professionally cut lawn. Comfort V handle with cushion grip for soft touch while operating the mower.
Overall rating:
3.519 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product18 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product18 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Surprisingly Short Life

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this mower in 2009. Compared it to the cord version and even though being much heavier the convenience of a battery seemed to outweigh the costs.
The first year it was wonderful and I could get close to 3/4 acres if cutting the grass high.
The next year the battery would not even charge all the way and I was lucky to get a half acre done.
This season if I charge all week it just does about 1/3 acre till totally spent. A replacement battery is more than a simple gas mover which will weigh about half as much.
This will cost a lot of green to keep mowing green.
Consider the cord version!
 
Products related to my review
20 In. 12 Amp 3-N-1 Mulching Mower
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

WARNING - Battery only lasts two years

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this mower two years ago and at the end of this season the battery died. I only mow .25 acres and the previous mowers battery (Ryobi) lasted ten years. The cost of replacement is %50 of the cost of the mower. Spend your money on a better mower.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Don't waste your money!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a HUGE waste of money. The first year we had our Earthwise mower, it was fine. It held it's charge and we could mow our whole yard. When we went to use it the following spring...battery wouldn't hold charge for more than a few minutes. We got a new battery. Again, worked fine. Mid season we needed yet ANOTHER new batter(keep in mind that these batteries are VERY expensive)! We have spent as much in batteries as we did on the mower. I would never ever ever ever buy another Earthwise. NOT EVER!
Cons: Short Battery Life
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unreliable mower

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had some problems with the mower almost as soon as I took it out of the box. The charger seemed unable to sense when the battery was fully charged. The green, fully charged light on the battery charger only came on once, even after 13 - 15 hours of charging. One day the mower was performing well until I turned it off to empty the grass catcher. After that it would never start again. I took the mower back to the store for a refund.
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They're all the same

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased my mower a little over two years ago because my gas powered broke. I bought it because the fumes from the gas started making me sick. As far as cutting, they are the same. If the grass grows too high, even gas powered will choke, I know from personal experience. The cut quality is the same for both. The battery does make it a bit heavier but it doesn't bother me because my yard is flat. If you have a hilly property it may be best to go with something self-propelled. Other than that I like the mower overall.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small areas

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to assemble and great directions for use. Easy to push however as a senior citizen, I would certainly consider the self-propelled model next time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Earthwise mower has great power and charge life

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to handle with great power and wonderful battery capacity. Great ability to shift height of blade while mowing from shorts to taller grass.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Portland, OR

So quiet!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had our mower for over a year and it's delightfully quiet. When my husband uses it the neighbor's gas mower a few houses down is much louder than ours.
One thing to be very careful about: take care of the battery! Don't let it charge for more than 24 hours at a time and don't leave it out in the cold garage over the winter! Also, you should charge it every 30 days even if you're not using it. This is a bit of a hassle, but it's so much better than dragging a cord around or dealing with the fumes/noise/mess of a gas mower.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Olean
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good so far

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the product three times thus far. Only issue I have is that it seems to lose the charge after 1 hr of use, not the two hours as advertised. But it operates easily and does a quality job.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Appleton, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Batteries only lasted 3 years and it cost $140 to replace.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a Black and Decker cordless for ten years before this Earthwise and was really happy with my B&D cordless. I only changed the battery once in the 10 years and it was only $50 to buy a new one.
The Earthwise gave me battery problems after the first year and I have to buy new batteries after 3 years. New Batteries cost $140.00. Not a good value.
Also, the bag is hard to empty and the lawn mower is really heavy and not self propelled.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy, not long lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Gatineau, QC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

STILL GOING...

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am now in my fifth summer of using this mower, and beyond the annual blade sharpenning, I have had nothing go wrong. I have noted that a number of owners have had battery problems. In order to mitigate this, I do this following : at the end of the cutting year and after cleaning the mower, I charge it completely, then remove the battery and store it in the basement for the winter. I ensure that all connectors are dirt and rust free and I put a very small amount of lubricant on the input connector (the green tab).
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Powerful Enough, and Now My Battery Will Not Charge

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this mower for 5 years. This year is a disaster as my battery will not charge!!! I will not spend the money on another battery, not to mention the hassle I will face to install a new one. I see from other reviews that my battery lasted longer than a lot of customers, so I guess I got lucky thus I have to give it 2 stars instead of 1. I really wanted this to work out but... I also do not like the fact that this mower is not really very powerful on thick grass. I do not let my grass get out of control long, but in the spring it is thick for those first mows, and the mower could barely handle it. I had to go half cuts on the highest setting to get through the back yard. This mower is great if you have just a little bit of mellow grass, like my tiny front yard, and you don't mind getting another battery after a while. But, wow, that is crazy commitment to the green movement to spend that kind of money eh?
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut, USA

Satisfied with quality and performance of mower.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When bag is used, it is very difficult to empty and should have a secondary handle on the back to facilitate emptying. Battery DOES take 15 hours to completely charge.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Mulches Well
Cons: metal on metal noise when using on uneven areas
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Modesto, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product performs as promised

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with the mower. It is well made and is easy to handle and has plenty of power for mowing our yards. We have not yet tried the mulching feature.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Boston North Shore
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

fulfilled my expectations

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
performs well and convenient to operate; I recommend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Plano, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful, No Gasoline and no Extension Cords

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I should have bought this mower a long time ago. So easy, with the power to take on thick grass.
One of my better purchases.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery operated Lawnmower

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far it works OK. The battery life is not up to par and the power is not as good as I expected.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

elect over gas? Meh...

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought mine thinking that I should do something green for the environment. In the end I think the short battery life and the fact that a replacement battery costs almost 40% of the cost of a new mower means that I will be putting more batteries in a landfill every 2 years. Question really is with gas prices being what they are which is cheaper 2 year battery replacement or the gas a mower would use in those same 2 years? Think you use 15 gal a year? And I really don't know what the hidden cost of the electricity used to actually charge it was. Lets just say at 2 years I think I may have broke even, but a gas mower would still be working for another 8 years... so what is really more cost effective? And keep more material out of the landfill?
Otherwise, the mower does a decent job as long as you maintain the lawn. You let it get away from you for an extra week and the mower chokes on slightly tall grass. Not that you can't cut it by mowing over the same spot two or three times. I've also noticed a tendacy to leave few straglers behind. When I'm done with my lawn I can look back and find one or two pieces of long grass that managed to somehow avoid the blade. It also never really used the catcher very well, as in it couldn't build up enough force to push clippings into the bag. I gave up and just went bagless, which was fine as it tended to cut the clippings fine enough that there wasn't long strings of dead grass on the lawn the following day. Last, it was quiet in comparision. Not so quiet I wanted to start mowing before 10am on Saturday, but I could talk to my wife while she weeded without getting drowned out. I think the inconvience of a battery and taking it out to charge, is a wash against getting a fuel can filled.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautifully designed and manufactured

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product exceeded my expectations in design and ease of use
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: a little trouble projecting cuttings into bag
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This mower has excellent features

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The most important one is that the battery charge lasts a long time. It has all the standard features you would expect to see on a high end mower - height adjust, rear bag, mulch, side or rear outlet, etc. Great for the environment and it always starts.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>