728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump

1 HP Electronic Sump Pump

Featuring rugged cast iron construction, the Flotec Professional 1 horse power submersible sump pump with IntelliShield technology meets the demands of the professional contractor. With the patented electronic switch from Flotec, the IntelliShield switch has no moving parts and is not affected by residue buildup including iron oxide, magnesium or detergents. It also includes a high water alarm that alerts you to damaging high water situations and is easy to connect to an existing home security or voice dialer system. The high-efficiency, quiet motor is equipped with durable ball bearings and automatic thermal overload protection. Capable of handling up to 3/8 inch solids and installation for pits 10 in. diameter or larger.
Overall rating:
2.395 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product13 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(19)
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product13 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
Review 1 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump

Horrible product and even worse customer service

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this model in June of 2010. I completely died 11 months later. Took it to Home Depot and they switched it out for a new one. The next one lasted two years and is now completely dead. It has a 5 year warranty, but when I called the manufacturer this morning they said you get "one replacement per purchase."
What? It does not say that anywhere on the warranty and no where on the receipt.
I have a suggestion for you Flotec: don't warranty an item for five years that averages a year and a half life-span if you aren't going to honor your warranty. I'm hoping Home Depot will take it back and refund my money.
Bad business Flotec.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Philadelphia Area
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed...

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 8/11, installed and it failed 5/14. I had my receipt and took it back. Home depot honored the 5 yr warranty. I didn't get a box or manual with the new one and there is no new receipt. I do have a shelf spare now. It wasn't the switch that went, it was the motor itself. Boy did it RUST, I'm not so sure about cast iron being the right enclosure for a submersible pump. The new one I bought has a plastic enclosure and was already setup in the box. All I needed to do was join the discharge pipes and plug it in. I could raise the switch (a float on a rod) on the new one, it was attached to the discharge pipe with a C-Clamp. Sometimes engineer's over think things, and that's the case with this pump. The alarm did save me, it was going off when the pump failed. I didn't have a flood because of it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Howell, MI

So far so good...

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for a unit that failed because of a broken switch.
I selected this because it's switch has no moving parts. I thought it was a bit of a risk because I expected the exposed metal bars to corrode. I was assured by the Home Depot Associate that the unit was covered by a full warranty.
It's been 6 months and has worked as advertised with no corrosion on the unit.
I think it's covered in the instructions, but take care to align the unit so that the switch is facing away from incoming water. I've noticed that a heavy flow of water directly flowing onto the bars of the switch will prevent the unit from cycling off when the sump has emptied.
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump

I think I figured the intelliswitch problem out

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It can move within the clip and the vibration from the pump eventually causes the aluminum wand to touch the pump which sends out a false reading and the pump doesn't turn off. I CAREFULLY put the intelliswitch in the clip making sure it's perfectly straight and carefully lowered it into the sump. So far it's working. If it starts to go off again later, I'm going to use a large round hose clamp and clamp the switch to the side of the pump where it can't touch anything. I also emailed Flo-tec.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump

Stay Away!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I went through 4 of these in under two years and the company will not stand behind their product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from WALTZ MICH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SUMPUMP

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BEST AVAILABLE...HEAVY DUTY MOTOR...LASTS A LONG TIME
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Downingtown, PA 19335, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works like a charm!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did NOT need a 1 hp sump-pump. However, the lower hp-rated machines were not lasting more than 2-3 years. So I invested in a larger machine to keep my basement floor as dry as possible. So far--so good! This has kept up with the stormy season (thus far).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: goes off sometimes in seemingly dry conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from warren oh
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very dissapointed. Will not buy

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My old sump pump died so this one looked good. Purchased it and installed with the help of a contractor friend. After installation the pump would not work. Found out it had a defective intelliswitch. Called Flotech, they wanted me to mail the sw for a replacement. Yeah, right, what about the water in basement in the meantime? So I returned the pump to store and bought another one. Well, its been less than a year and intelliswitch has gone bad again. Its making high water alarm sound and pump stopped working. Thank god I have a backup pump or I will be facing flooded basement.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Broadview Heights, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You might want to pass on this product.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pump really moves water out of sump fast. You can hear the pump running through out the house whenever it kicks on. 1 HP is way too powerful, especially if you also have a battery backup sump installed. It puts a lot of pressure and vibration on the backup sump check valve. So much so mine loosened up and came off causing water to spray all over the place in that area. That also caused my backup sump controller to get soaked shorting it out. The Flotec electronic switch sensor is not reliable. It must be cleaned every 3 months or it will fail to shut pump off. A sump pump should be something you don't hear and don't have to clean up every 3 months. Flotec provided good technical support and even sent me a new pump when I just asked for a replacement switch that failed after 6 months. I plan to replace this pump with a 1/2 hp Flotec model that has the conventional float type switch after I receive my repaired backup pump controller.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: switch not reliable, too powerful
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Batavia, NY 14020, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pump moves water only as long as it does not have any other elements.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second replacement for this pump which will not shut off. It is only ground water being pumped yet the electric switch fails to turn off when the water level is at its lower point. The Flotec customer service would only tell me to take it back and get a pump with a float switch instead. I would not put this unit in my house again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump

Intelliswitch is defective. DO NOT BUY

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3rd switch failed. Same as others. After a few weeks runs even though sump is empty - won't turn off. I replaced it with a float switch and now it runs like a dream. Sump pump is excellent. Just buy it without the Intelliswitch.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Harrisburg, PA, USA

Sensor failed in under one year

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poorly designed sump pump. Like so many others who have left negative reviews on this pump, we experienced sensor failure within 10 months. The pump itself is fine, but the sensor is bad. Do not buy this pump if you have iron in your water - Flotec customer service claims that's the culprit, that it damages the sensors.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Carmel, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor switch probes

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pumps great volume, but electronic switch fails to shut off pump, and then alarm goes off constantly. I'm cleaning probes monthly.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: probes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the pump is good switch is bad.

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The switch will fail. I went through three. The switch fails the pump runs and wont stop, and burns up pump. This is a very good pump. If you buy it, get a piggy back float. I used a zip strip to attach it. Dont go cheap on the float. If its under $20 your probably going to have problems.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: the switch is bad
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Naperville, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

pump seems to not stop when pump empty after having it in 5 months

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought this pump because I thought it would be good because the gaps where water flows thru and out were big enough not to trap anything ... problem is, after some time, the pump does not seem to shut off after jiggeling it many times unplugging it, it starts up and runs and runs, came back from vac and it was running have no idea how long
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: wont stop running
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Everett, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution:RAIN water from new gutters to pure for Intelliswitch probe

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pump rating 5,
Intelliswitch probe rating 0
We purchased the E100ELT sump pump. Our third Intelliswitch replacement probe failed when it was raining. On a strong hunch my husband decided to test the latest probe in a different way. He pulled it out of the sump bucket which was overflowing with rain water and emerged it in a glass of SALT water; the pump started to work. He tested it several more times as I captured it on my cell camera. The test confirmed pure RAIN water does not have enough mineral for the probe to work. What about inconsistencies over 7-frustrating days of probe tests; hose water had been used for testing. We replaced the probe with a Flotec float and each time during 3-days of heavy rains, the pump has worked great. A very special thanks to Home Depot in Everett, WA for talking back our previous probes; which after the fact were not defective.
NOTE: The electrical plug on Flotec float model #FPS17-66 –does not fit through 1 1/4" electrical conduit. We had to splice the wire.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Bristol CT
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motor died in 2 years

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had purchased this Pump in 2011 when the pump we had died and flooded the basement. Worked great when it worked. A couple days ago it started up then just died in mid pump. Tried to plug it in without the intelliswitch and nothing. Didn't even make it to it's warranty limit.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electrodes fail

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm constantly cleaning with sandpaper the corrosion on the 3 electrodes or the pump will not shut-off. Terrible idea for a sump well that also has to handle water softener discharge as it corrodes the metal electrodes and Flo-Tec makes no mention of this in the general literature, only after you experience problems do the tell you too bad.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump

intellisense not reliable

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had 3 incidences of the electronic intellisense not turning on the pump when it should. On 2 occasions I just happened to be there and shook the pump to get it going, but the third time I could not get the switch to turn the pump on. I replaced the intellisense unit with a tethered type switch and now the pump works fine.
Cons: not reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 HP Electronic Sump Pump
from Laurel, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Electronic Switch not working out of the box.

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm in the middle of a hurricane and needed a sump pump immediately. I took this out of the box, hooked up the hose, set it in the hole, and plugged it in. It started immediately because the hole was full of water. It ran about 2 seconds and stopped. I checked power, etc. It turns out that if I remove the switch from the loop and plug the pump in directly, it works fantastic. Man, can it pump some water. But, that switch failure means that I'll have to run out and get a separate float system as soon as the storm lets up. In the meantime, I'm the float switch, plugging it in for 10-15 seconds every 1/2 hour... very frustrating. There doesn't appear to be a reset switch or anything. I'll keep searching for help on this site.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: switch doesn't work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>