728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

The Ryobi Duet Power Paint System is the only unit in its class that is versatile enough to be used as a roller and a finish sprayer. This innovative system allows two users to roll and do trim work simultaneously. The system uses the patented FLUID Technology delivery system so users can place any standard one gallon container in the unit and experience continuous painting without refilling. The technology also eliminates the need for dilution so set-up is a cinch, and once the job is complete, a reversible pump helps simplify the clean-up process.
Overall rating:
2.182 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product6 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product6 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

Clarifying Cindy's Review

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hope this does not offend Cindy, but I thought her review had a lot of important information, so I took the liberty of cleaning it up to be easier to read:
"I was really skeptical after reading all the negative reviews, but if you go by reviews, all sprayer painter systems get nothing but bad reviews.
The sprayer is a 2 finger sprayer, which means you should rest both your first finger and middle finger. They will rest beautifully on this sprayer. The cut-in tool and roller are a bit deceiving, they have a trigger on them that has a really hard spring, however, you only need to use this trigger to prime the unit. You have to hold the trigger in do get paint to go through the tubes, otherwise there is air in the tubes that the unit can't push paint through, then the paint flows naturally. The trigger goes down and the nob goes up. You never have to push it again, in fact, I did my whole deck with stain using the cut-in tool and touched the trigger only 2 times to fill in cracks.
Everything has a place to store on the unit. The roller and handle and sprayer hang off of the back, and the other cut-in tool stores on the handle of the unit, and the hoses and corner accessory go in side of the bucket, and when you need to stop between coats, fill the bucket up with water and put your sprayer or cut-in tool in the bucket, then press out the water from the cut-in tool on the ground and the sprayer. The blower blows out all the water before you use it. Try to do that with a hand held sprayer, bet you can't.
I have a paint stick and they recommend to wrap your tools with plastic wrap. You can do that with the roller.
This is a typical Ryobi tool, excellent quality at a really reasonable price. I own nothing but Ryobi tools because I have had the rest and threw them out, now I own the best.
Here is the main thing you have to remember about paint systems, there is no system made to date that will spray or apply paint straight out of the can. This product says that it does, however you don't have to thin the pant if you are using the roller or the cut-in tool, but you absolutely have to thin the paint for using the sprayer, otherwise it will just basically spit the paint out in blobs. The paint should be mixed to the consistency of water to spray properly. I pretty much figured that if you need a gallon of paint, buy a quart and an empty gallon can, then pour the quart into the gallon can and fill with water. I realize that that is excessive amount of water, the recommended mixture is about 1 cup of water to 1 gallon of paint, however, I have ben painting store interiors for the last 20 years and the best finish is like putting on wax on a floor, lots of light coats makes for a fantastic finish.
I like the paint to spray like a can of paint, like Rustolem. The other thing is that not all paints are alike, if you're buying Home Depot paints, none of them are really any good for sprayers. The thing to watch for in paints is if it dries right out of the can before you get it on a surface, that is garbage paint. No mater how much mixing you do, it will never go through any kind of equipment. The best paint is Sherwin Williams paint, it is a smooth paint right out of the can. The next paint to select is Bhear paint from Home Depot. Don't even try to use Glidden paint, or Paint Pot paint, those paints are in my opinion the worst paints on the market.
One more piece of advice for this tool is, before you put the paint can into the unit, put a paper towel down because when you pull the can out to clean, it will drip, guaranteed. Then when you are done, make sure to take that paper towel and wipe the paint off of the tubes at the top of the unit that go into the can, because paint builds up on that. If that is not cleaned you will lose suction and it will not work the next time you use it."
+28points
32out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from Florida

Had high hopes

PostedMay 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought it would save time, not having to worry about a pan in the floor and it sounded easy to clean. Tried it twice just in case I wasn't doing something right the first time. Must have something wrong with it because I can't believe anyone would market that piece of junk. It left streaks on the wall, dripped on the floor, and took an hour to clean. Since I was doing a job out of town, I purchased a roller kit. worked great (although I will have to roll twice to cover those streaks) and clean up was throw it in the trash! I did not try the sprayer, but then I didn't buy if for the sprayer and I am returning it.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

Great product

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to stain our fence. I used Behr semi-transparent & the sprayer. After adjusting the spray screw to a fine mist, it sprayed great. Only had to clean it twice after 5 gals of stain. I've used professional sprayers & have to clean them about the same amount. This unit cleaned up with just warm water & took about 30 minutes. Trust me I hate to paint but this unit made it much more pleasurable. Last time I stained the same fence we used the same stain but a garden sprayer & there was a lot of waste in over spray. I highly recommend this product to anyone.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from waukesha, WI

Works ok

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We just purchased a new home and had lots of painting to do. I saw this online and thought it could really save us some time.
Pros- price - faster than a roller and tray. clean up is very easy. two people can use at the same time.
Cons - the sprayer doesnt work at all unless you want glogs of paint everywhere.
the triggers on the rollers are very hard to press down. after about 15min of using it your hand will hurt since it need to be held down almost all the time.
the paint flow is very slow even when turned to max.
and Go PACKERS!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from Anthem. AZ

Dont Bother!

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its horrible, Don't waste your time and money. Makes a mess and is a waste of paint. Not to mention Home Depot don't even carry any additional supplies for this in store! Return it quickly or save yourself the trouble and paint by hand.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

The product is easy to use, but has its faults.

PostedJune 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The trigger to control paint flow is very uncomfortable to keep pressed. The spring tension in it is way beyond comfort level and the flow control knob is right above the trigger, which makes it very hard to squeeze the trigger comfortably. Would have been nice to have a trigger lock on this, that would have saved me much grief. My paint roller attachment was also missing the plugs that go on each end of the roller paint applicator. Made for quite the mess when I first turned it on. It does not like the paint cans which have the pour spouts (Dutch Boy). Where the roller attachment connects to the handle is plastic. It flexed quite a bit during use. Makes me wonder how long it will last. Cleanup was kind of a mess, wished it would have came with that cleaning brush it said was not included. Other than the above, it worked well.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from Illinois

Waste of money!

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had read on other sites that this product got good reviews. It looked easy to use, easy to clean. What a disappointment. I had to squeeze so hard with the roller to get the paint to come out, my arm kept cramping, and I'm pretty strong. I thought I would have better luck with the sprayer. Nope. Right from the beginning, the thing spit, uneven paint application or just plain wouldn't come out.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i was realy skeptical after reading all the negative reviews but if you go by reviews all sprayer painter systems get nothing but bad reviews
the sprayer is a 2 finger sprayer winch means you should resat both your first finger and middle finger they will rest beautifully on this sprayer
the cut in tool and roller are a bit deceiving they have a trigger on them that has a realy hard spring how ever you don't nead to ever use this trigger except to prime the unit you have to hold the trigger in do get paint to go through the tubes otherwise there is air in the tubs that the unit cant push paint through then the paint flows naturally you never have to push it again in fact i did my hole deck with stain using the cut in tool and never touched the triger but 2 times to fill in crack
p.s the triger goes down and the nob goes up
and yes every thing has a place to store on the unit the roller and handle and sprayer hang off of the back and the other cut in tool stores on the handle of the unit and the hoses and corner accessory go in side of the bucket
and when you nead to stop between coats fill the bucket up with water and put your sprayer or cut in tool in the bucket then press out the water from the cut in tool on the ground and the sprayer the blower blows out all the water before you use it try to do that with a hand held sprayer bet you can't
i have a paint stick and they recommend to wrap your tools with plastic wrap you can do that with the roller
this is a typical ryobi tool exultant quality at a realy reasonable price i own nothing but ryobi tools because i have had the rest and threw them out now i own the best
here is the main thing you have to remember about paint systems there is no system made to date that will spray or apply paint straight out of the can this product says that it does how ever you don't have to mix the pant if you are using the roller or the cut in tool but you absolutely have to mix paint for using the sprayer other wise it will just basically spit the paint out in blobs the paint should be mixed to the consistency of water to spray properly i pretty much figured that if you nead a gallon of paint buy a quart and a empty gallon then pour the quart into the gallon can and fill with water i realize that that is excessive amount of water the recommended mixture is about 1 cup of water to 1 gallon of paint how ever i have ben painting for the last 20 years store interiors and the best finish is like putting on wax on a floor lots of light coats makes for a fantastic finish i like the paint to spray like a can of paint like rustolem the other thing is that not all paints are alike if you are buying home depot paints none of them are realy any good for sprayers the thing to watch for in paints is if it dryes right out of the can before you get it on a surface that is garbage paint no mater how much mixing you do it will never go through any kind of equipment the best paint is sherwin williams paint it is a smooth paint right out of the can the next paint to sellect is bhear paint form home depot don't even try to use glidden paint or paint pot paint those paints are in my opinion the worst paints on the market
one more piece of advice for this tool is before you put the paint can into the unit put a paper town down because when you pull the can out to clean it will drip guaranteed then when you are done make sure to take that paper towel and wipe the paint off of the tubes at the top of the unit that go into the can because paint builds up on that if that is not cleaned you will lose suction and it will not work the next time you use it
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from SF Bay Area, CA

Ryobi Duet 1 Gallon Power Painting System with HVL

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seems to be designed and manufactured with quality in mind. I have used it to paint the interior of my house. I tried the edger and it did not work well for me. Maybe I needed to keep experimenting with it but I resorted back to the good old paint brush for edging. I did not try the sprayer at all. The roller gave me 2 problems. There was so little paint being dispensed on the roller, I had to adjust the flow to maximum and keep the dispense button pressed constantly. The button was not ergonomically designed to be depressed for long periods. As a result, my hand started cramping. I eventually used a velcro strap to hold the button down. The other problem with the roller was eventually there was paint buildup that caused paint to drip out of the roller cover. Now, I understand why other power rollers will dispense paint from the inside of a custom/special rollers as opposed to Ryobi's design of dripping paint onto standard rollers. I do not recommend this product. It will go on craigslist soon.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

What a piece of junk

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I read all the other reviews saying this product was no good but I was skeptical. I thought to myself why would they make a product like this that worked so poorly. So I took the chance and bought it and it ended up being just as the reviews said. The pump is just not strong enough to push the paint. I like all the other Ryobi tools I have but this one is a waste of time.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from US

It does the job and that's what I wanted.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All in all, it's a very good product. It's easy to set-up and easy to clean. It took a bit more time to set the spray adjustment than I would have liked and I found the spray width to be narrower than I would have hoped. Once I reached the spray adjustment point that was necessary for my project, the unit functioned quite well.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Totally worthless

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I am not new to painting and paint sprayers. I got this paint sprayer because the price was right and i was looking for compact. With the first use of the sprayer I was (to say the least) shocked, then when I used the roller I was more than shocked that Ryobi could put out for the consumer such a piece of total junk. I have Ryobi power tools and have worked professionally in construction with many Ryobi tools with no complaints. This hunk of junk is totally worthless. If Ryobi gave me my money back and let me keep the dumb thing I would still throw it in the trash. This paint sprayer could very well put Ryobi out of business. If this was my first Ryobi tool I would not trust any other Ryobi tools. Send a little more money and get something that really works.
Pros: none
Cons: everything
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from Oroville, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total piece of junk!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I spent a few good hours trying to give this thing a chance. The concept is so cool, I really wish it would have worked!
The edger is just a peice of foam glued onto the dispenser. It was bent and tweaked from the package so it didnt make clean lines.
The roller was a total joke. It drops little beads of paint onto the roller soooo slow that you just end up with streak lines from the spots it actually drops the paint.
The sprayer shoots out globs of paint on first pull, but with somehing to do a test on and some practice it could be ok.
Overall it was a total waste of time and money. We had to come back and finish the project with regular brushes and rollers (we did 2 coats of paint faster than the primer took with this machine!)
Buyer beware!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Product Does not work as Advertised!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product in November of last year but did not get a chance to use it until recently. It does not preform as advertised at all! The sprayer is not user friendly and will be too thick or not come out at all. The paint roller is a joke and clogs with the first use making it further unusable and the pads simply drip!. Do not buy this product for painting, you will be very disappointed!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

Paint sprayer or texture machine.

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought I had bought a paint sprayer but after trying to make it work it seems like I bought a texturing machine. I messed around with this thing for about 2 hours and couldn't get it to do anything but texture my walls with paint. I then cleaned it up and took it back to Home Depot to get another product..
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great the first time

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I liked the duet system as I could roll and my wife could cut in. Nice to draw out of the can of paint. The second time I used the system about 18 months later, the system did't work. After sucking out about a quart of paint I relized the discharge hoses inside the container had dry rotted and filled the base of the unit with paint..........what a mess.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, duet system
Cons: hoses cracked and leaked
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

May be good for roller use - don't buy if you plan to spray

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The HVLP spray guy included with this product is not capable of spraying latex paint. If you plan to spray latex this is the wrong product. Either rent a sprayer or plan to spend 350 to 450 for a sprayer that can do the job.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

This product failed to meet my expectation.

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This product failed after 10 minutes using the spray gun. The finish quality was poor with a splater finish using latex paint. I have returned this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED

Great Machine!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome machine. Great System! Would recommend this to all.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duet 1-gal. Power Painting System with HVLP Sprayer FPR300N-DISCONTINUED
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product makes painting easy without using lots of paint

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like the speed of painting. Clean up takes a really long time, to clean out the tubes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>