728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tankless Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater

3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater

The Rheem EcoSense Tankless Electric water heater is ideal for point of use applications providing continuous hot water on demand. The rugged brass/copper heat exchanger is designed to withstand the toughest water conditions and will heat water only when it is needed, eliminating costly stand-by heat loss. The light weight compact space saving design allows the unit to fit almost anywhere. The on unit temperature controls and LED's indicate active element and standby mode. Standard 1/2 in. water connections and power supply cord for wiring to electrical disconnect box allows for easy installation (240 volt hard wired electricity required) . Excellent option for remodeling and additions. Applications include, Homes, Apartments, Condos, Hospitals, Hotels, Boats, Restaurants, Offices, Laboratories, anywhere hot water is needed. Please click the "More Info" tab and then "Specifications" to view the Rheem Brochure Guide which will help you in your buying decision to ensure that you purchase the right tankless water heater model for your household needs.
Overall rating:
4.045 / 5
4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
Review 1 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Small Bathroom

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in Southern California and I installed this unit for a small pool house sink and shower. Installed and tested the sink and it provided hot water. Then tried to turn on shower. Water was warm. Not hot. I switched the shower head to a 1.5 gpm and now i have a nice hot shower. Well worth it if you don't want to run two water lines to a second location. Installed under sink cabinet and have had no issues.
If you want to run a stronger shower head then 1.5gpm I would recommend you purchase a bigger unit.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Oak Harbor, OH 43449, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lovin it!

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a small one bath, two sink cottage which had a huge water heater in my closet taking up space. My brother and friend (who are handy) installed this tankless system. It takes a new heavier wire to the electric box and some new pipe ends. I would hire it done unless you have done a lot of this work before. Installed this tankless is awesome! I have continuos hot water for my shower that stays constant. It is super hot for dish washing. Probably could not wash dishes and someone take a shower at same time on this small system. But it cleared up my closet space and I don't have to pay for heated water sitting around. I love it!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks, space saving
Cons: not for novice installation
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Rocky Face, GA 30740, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit, but product description needs to say 1/2 inch COPPER pipe needed

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product page reviews say 1/2 inch, but does not say 1/2 inch COPPER, which is 1/2 inch INSIDE DIAMETER. When I went to store after purchase online to get what was needed and to put a shut off in line so I could turn water on to rest of house, they told me I needed 1/2 inch plastic hot water pipe, and sold me the pieces needed. I told them which unit I had purchased. Unit came in, first noticed that they had sold me male connectors to go to unit, not female. Went back to get female connectors, would not connect, took entire unit it, "associate" was thrown for a loop, did not think you even had the connectors in the store and advised going to a local hardware store instead! Went to manager, he came back to help and between the two of us finally got the adapters needed. More information on what is needed for installation is definitely needed online and your store associates need to know what fits your products, and even what they have in the store!
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: poor installation information
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't Bother

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great at first but only after 5 months the relay let go. I called Rheam and they do not sell any replacement parts for this unit. It was still under warranty so I returned it to Home Depot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Huber Heights, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this unit to provide hot water in my workshop sink. I was tired of washing my hands in 40 degree water. I am glad I got the 240V unit as I do not think the 120V unit would have been able to meet the challenge. I did not have any trouble installing it, but I know how to run water lines. If you have experience running water lines, you should not have any trouble. If not, you may be in for a challenge. I also already had a dedicated 240V outlet I could use. If you had to run the power yourself, it would have been more challenging.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from North Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't believe everything you read and don't expect anything from Rheem.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is my opinion and my opinion only. I purchased this unit based on on-line reviews and company fact sheets. Both are confusing. If I had purchased the unit only for hot water in a sink, I probably would rate it five star for everything but installation, which requires that you work well with copper tubing. When I installed my unit, with the low temp setting I got cold water; with medium temp I got tempid water; and with the hot setting I got comfortably warm water. When I called Rheem about the problem I was rudely informed that I should have purchased the next higher unit or even the really big unit. I was also informed that if I tried to return the one I purchased, Rheem would not accept it. Rheem also refused to provide me with any technical help whatsoever. They would only provide it to the licensed professional plumber and electrician I had hired for the installation. To me this means that for a warranty on the unit I have to pay the purchase price for the unit and $500-700 to have it installed. And, for me, that means the only warranty this unit has is the 90 return policy from Home Depot.
+65points
77out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Lake Lotawana, Missouri 64086
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Happy With Product

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, we are very happy with our tankless electric water heater. We have a small home and our needs have been met for our washer, kitchen sink and bathroom.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than I expected

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have seen installed tankless water heaters that were over sized and over priced and installed 50 feet or more away from a faucet. This tankless does a great job of providing hot water quick without multiple circuit breakers. It is so small it can be installed under a sink so you get hot water in a few seconds instead of minutes.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Georgetown, KY 40324, USA

Figured would heat water more at larger flow.

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have connected to kitchen sink in my workshop. Turned to max, it heats water good at half flow. Above half flow, only will knock the chill off. Have to watch when running low flow as it will scald you.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Washington State
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small office

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works fine with plenty of hot water. Our usage consists of a small Kitchen and bathroom sink. Wouldn't recommend for anyone having a dishwasher or shower. I installed myself which took about four hours and a fair amount of know-how. Requires copper within 3 ft of unit. Had to route copper tubing to unit. Simple to wire - just used existing hot water tank circuit. The water could be a little hotter with unit turned all the way up but is satisfactory and about what I expected.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater

The product works great...

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed the unit in out home and it works great. We no longer run out of hot water, it is a lot of heat coming from such a small unit. Good old American engineering...
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great functioning unit

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The RETE-9 was a replcement for an RETE-7 that failed within the first year. The 9 puts out at least 2gpm of hotwater for my shop. Would highly recomend purchasing the unit from Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Super solution to environmental problem...

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am almost absurdly happy with my Rheem RTE-9. Of course I use it in a very limited situation--the master-bath lavatory sink that is around 30 pipe feet from the main water heater--and so I cannot speak to those who have more varied needs.
Before my son installed this point-of-use, tankless water heater (about two weeks ago), I had to wait over 2 1/2 minutes for the hot water faucet to deliver water that was slightly warm, and nearly 4 minutes for very warm water. This constituted a waste of over four gallons of water, which in these Texas drought conditions really bothered my conscience; in fact, I had taken to using only cold water to wash my hands and face, which feels pretty primitive, let me tell you, especially with cold weather coming on.
With this little Rheem jewel, installed in the cabinet beneath the sink, I get warm water in 5 seconds, and very warm water in 8 seconds. I even had to turn the temperature control down to medium so that the water wouldn't run too hot. This is a very efficient way to heat water in my opinion.
I've seen a few bad reviews of some Rheem models, but this one works like a dream. I believe I could hook the tub/shower line to it as well, except that I don't want to depend on electricity for my shower water. Here in Houston we sometimes lose power for days following hurricanes, so I prefer to rely on my main water heater (gas-powered) for that. (Ah, but here's a thought: I could put a diverter valve on the shower hot-water line, and in the case of a power failure, just switch to the main heater. Now, that would be very smart, I think; in fact, I'm going to ask my son to do exactly that!)
Note: my son says it's very important to follow the installation instructions--that is, use a 240 amp breaker and the right size wiring. Using insufficient wiring can trip you up, and I wouldn't be surprised if some bad reviews had their origin in that mistake.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Kennewick, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not quite what we thought

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We research flow rates to make sure this would work for a shower in our shop but the water just gets warm. We are going to try and restrict the cold water into the shower so the hot water does not get cooled by it and see if that corrects the problem. The sink water gets hot if it is not turned all the way up but the shower is not working that way and I feel it is the flow rate
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Brandon, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Replacement

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought a home in August with an older tankless which was leaking. This Rheem DOES heat in seconds, so you don't waste water. It is great for use on one hot water supply at a time, which we knew from reading specs and
reviews. Had we wanted to install new electrical wiring, we might have purchased the next larger unit, as it was virtually the same price.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: can't use both baths at same time
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Bloomsburg PA

RETE 9

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit works great for a utility sink in my work shop area.
It delivers real hot water when using a lower flow, and is hot enough to mix with cold water to wash hands and clean up paint and spackle tools. I was limited on space, so this was a great fit. Also I only have a 100 amp service to the building and am limited to breaker spaces. The 9KW is the largest I could get. I have a short electrical run from the panel to the unit. It needs 1 DP 40 A breaker. The larger one need 2 double pole breakers. and the real big ones need 3 double pole breakers. If the faucet is turned all the way on it starts out hot but it will not keep up with the demand. I found that the temp dial must be turned up all the way to get real hot water. The flow is slightly restricted, so the hot water has less pressure than the cold. It is a perfect fit for my needs.
-10points
18out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Powhatan, VA 23139, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit for my horse barn. It takes up very little space. It is not winter yet so can't say how it will work then but for now it is just what I need to bathe my horse. In the winter I will use it for drinking water.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Missoula Mt

Rheem On Demand Water Heater

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tankless water heater is small, well designed, simple and an exceptional bargain.
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Woodland, Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just recently completed installation. Product performance in review

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have recently completed installation, which was more difficult than I originally thought, even though 220 power and water were in place as it replaced a tank water heater. Incoming water is very cold at this time of year. We are anxious to see if it handles our minimum requirements.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.0 GPM Max Flow Rate 240 Volt 9kw Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Augusta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product works very well for the size of it.

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
installed as easy as any hot water heater,the best part is in the shop it dosen't cost a dime unless I use it.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>