728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

The Rheem EcoSense RETE-9 Tankless Electric Water heater features a rugged brass and copper heat exchanger that is designed to withstand tough water conditions for long life. Its lightweight and compact design saves space and enables simple installation in a variety of locations. It is designed to provide hot water for 1 standard low-flow lavatory sink. Please click the "More Info" Tab and the "Specifications" to view the Rheem Brochure Guide to assist you in your purchasing decision.
Overall rating:
4.051 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Review 1 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Austin, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useable hot water system for small home.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The first unit fail in a week, after I contacted Rheem tech support and being transfered around a couple of times I finally spoke with a very helpful person who had me remove to cover and check a reset button then ask if I had a multimeter and had me test the input voltage and heater resistances which were ok. He then determined the controller had failed and issued a return authorization. After returning the unit to my local Home Depot for credit we reordered on line, and the new unit arrived and worked fine.
It provides adequate warm water for light use such as sinks and a low flow shower, but must be set to max output for "hot" water. The unit takes up very little space uses little power and works well at our lake cabin. Installation requires copper pipe at the heater and SharkBite fittings work best.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I hoped it would be

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read some reviews on this product before I bought it and some of those people should be embarrassed of themselves. There is a clear chart showing how to "size" the tankless style water heater for your area. Some of these people are getting this small unit when their ground water is only 50 degrees, what are you seriously expecting to happen.
This unit works great for my house. I have a 2 bedroom 2.5 Bath Townhouse in South Florida. I don't need a very strong tankless heater because our ground water is so much warmer than the rest of the country. So this thing works great.
If you properly size the unit for you house and location it will work just fine.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

quick heat

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Heater delivered to my home, and after 3 trips to the store for fittings, not too bad to install and splice into the existing lines. Left the 220v and new breaker install to a pro (another $200). Turned a 10 minute wait into a 5 second delay for hot water at the kitchen sink, and a happy spouse.
Pros: Good Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my Rheem RETE-9 !

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son installed this tankless water heater under my bathroom sink about 5 years ago, and it has functioned flawlessly during that time. It gives me plenty of good-and-hot water, delivered very quickly. If I want it scalding hot, I just run the stream a bit slower.
A few months after installing it, I asked my son to connect it to the shower that backs up to the same wall. The flow there is a bit slow for my taste, and I have to run the shower full hot in order to get a good water temperature for that higher-volume flow; I'm fairly satisfied with that, but I would recommend a more powerful heater if you want to use it for a shower.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Oak Harbor, OH 43449, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lovin it!

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a small one bath, two sink cottage which had a huge water heater in my closet taking up space. My brother and friend (who are handy) installed this tankless system. It takes a new heavier wire to the electric box and some new pipe ends. I would hire it done unless you have done a lot of this work before. Installed this tankless is awesome! I have continuos hot water for my shower that stays constant. It is super hot for dish washing. Probably could not wash dishes and someone take a shower at same time on this small system. But it cleared up my closet space and I don't have to pay for heated water sitting around. I love it!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks, space saving
Cons: not for novice installation
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Huber Heights, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this unit to provide hot water in my workshop sink. I was tired of washing my hands in 40 degree water. I am glad I got the 240V unit as I do not think the 120V unit would have been able to meet the challenge. I did not have any trouble installing it, but I know how to run water lines. If you have experience running water lines, you should not have any trouble. If not, you may be in for a challenge. I also already had a dedicated 240V outlet I could use. If you had to run the power yourself, it would have been more challenging.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Small Bathroom

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I live in Southern California and I installed this unit for a small pool house sink and shower. Installed and tested the sink and it provided hot water. Then tried to turn on shower. Water was warm. Not hot. I switched the shower head to a 1.5 gpm and now i have a nice hot shower. Well worth it if you don't want to run two water lines to a second location. Installed under sink cabinet and have had no issues.
If you want to run a stronger shower head then 1.5gpm I would recommend you purchase a bigger unit.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

RETE-9 - 9KW POINT OF USE ELECTRIC TANKLESS WATER HEATER

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was really easy to install. I had a light problem with the electrical cable that was fixed shortly. The tankless water heater does what i suppose to, it heat the water.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, less consumed space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from North Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't believe everything you read and don't expect anything from Rheem.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is my opinion and my opinion only. I purchased this unit based on on-line reviews and company fact sheets. Both are confusing. If I had purchased the unit only for hot water in a sink, I probably would rate it five star for everything but installation, which requires that you work well with copper tubing. When I installed my unit, with the low temp setting I got cold water; with medium temp I got tempid water; and with the hot setting I got comfortably warm water. When I called Rheem about the problem I was rudely informed that I should have purchased the next higher unit or even the really big unit. I was also informed that if I tried to return the one I purchased, Rheem would not accept it. Rheem also refused to provide me with any technical help whatsoever. They would only provide it to the licensed professional plumber and electrician I had hired for the installation. To me this means that for a warranty on the unit I have to pay the purchase price for the unit and $500-700 to have it installed. And, for me, that means the only warranty this unit has is the 90 return policy from Home Depot.
+68points
81out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Lake Lotawana, Missouri 64086
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Happy With Product

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far, we are very happy with our tankless electric water heater. We have a small home and our needs have been met for our washer, kitchen sink and bathroom.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for what it is

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For a smaller tankless, it is good. It was easy enough to install, but i noticed that it worked better with a 5/8" connector and the 1/2 " was too small. The electrical install was pretty simple, but it does take some space in the box. I have been pleased with the heat produced thus far. I would suggest starting at a trickle and then increasing flow until desired temperature is reached, otherwise it seems to not heat well..
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than I expected

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have seen installed tankless water heaters that were over sized and over priced and installed 50 feet or more away from a faucet. This tankless does a great job of providing hot water quick without multiple circuit breakers. It is so small it can be installed under a sink so you get hot water in a few seconds instead of minutes.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Laredo, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Purchase

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to set up and ready to save money on my electric bill!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't Bother

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great at first but only after 5 months the relay let go. I called Rheam and they do not sell any replacement parts for this unit. It was still under warranty so I returned it to Home Depot.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

Does the job

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This water heater was easy to install and works well. I added it to my garage sink. It gets sufficiently hot for hand washing, even with a fairly low starting temp in the barely heated garage. Don't expect a hot shower from it, but it's good for a vanity sink
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Georgetown, KY 40324, USA

Figured would heat water more at larger flow.

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have connected to kitchen sink in my workshop. Turned to max, it heats water good at half flow. Above half flow, only will knock the chill off. Have to watch when running low flow as it will scald you.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Rancho Mirage, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

SUPER DISAPPOINTMENT

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Produces moderately warm water at hottest setting and this is in Palm Springs Ca area where temps are mild even in winter. More work needs to be done to make this a viable alternative to the conventional hot water heater.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: failure to perform as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Ventura, California. U.S.A.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really like this product. Before, I used a 120v - 5gallon water heater and there would be no way to wash some dishes, shave, then take a shower. With this water heater, even in the winter it puts out water at 118 degrees without loss of temperature. This water heater is less expensive to use than the 120 v - 5gallon tank heaters. Very pleased with it. It seems like there is less water deposits using this heater as well.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from South Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works good in SW FL

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works fantastic for our guest house. Plenty of water for the shower however we live in south Florida so I think that makes a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RETE-9 - 9KW Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

The product works great...

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We installed the unit in out home and it works great. We no longer run out of hot water, it is a lot of heat coming from such a small unit. Good old American engineering...
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 >>