728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

The BLACK+DECKER 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander features a powerful 2 amp motor that delivers up to 12,000 OPM. Its random-orbiting action provides a smooth finish and fast material removal. The dust is conveniently collected in a bag and the switch is sealed to help protect internal components and keep your sight line clear. This sander can also be adapted to use a shop vac for easy cleanup.
Overall rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
Review 1 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Yucaipa, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just to be clear, I'm a novice. I bought this thing for a single home project but somehow my wife managed to find many more projects that required my attention and the attention of this sander. It works great. I'm amazed that anyone would pay 2 or 3 times more for a sander. Maybe if your a pro you would want or need better but how much better could it be? You turn it on and it makes noise, the orbital thingy orbits and miraculously rough surfaces become smooth surfaces. The dust catcher works well, doesn't slide off and is easy to empty. No complaints. And as an added bonus it's a cool orange color that looks really manly when covered in saw dust.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Stroudsburg, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wish I would have bought this sander the first time

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I originally bought another orbit sander (R _ _ _ I)brand and my adult daughter used it to finish her makeup rack and it rattled itself apart just as all the product reviews stated. The Black & Decker sander is just GREAT and I am sanding old wood garage doors with about 60 years of paint and it is working perfectly. I love the way the sanding disk attaches to the sander with a screw on hook and loop pad which attaches to the standard hook and loop sanding discs. The old sander had an adapter pad that kept falling off and had to be constantly replaced at $5.00 each time. I highly recommend this sander. I only hope it lasts but will tell in due time!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Chattanooga, Tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The drill was easy to use and light weight. Sanding pattern very smooth even with 60 grit grain pad.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Whittier, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little sander

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I need to sand some wood paneling in my family room, which was installed in the 1950s. Before priming and painting I wanted to do some light sanding using Diablo 150 sanding discs. The B&D 5" orbital palm sander is light weight and fast for 2 amps. After 5 minutes I could tell that it will not take me very long to sand the 20' stretch of panels surrounding my fireplace. Hardly any dust residue because most of the fine sawdust particles go in the bag. And, I really like the hook & lock system because the sandpaper disc stays put on the sander's pad, unlike the other 3 sanders I have owned.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great small job palm sander

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It worked perfectly for my use - which was refinishing a piece of wooden furniture.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Maple Plain, MN 55359, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Too Good!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great workhorse of a little sander! It sanded
off the stain finish from an old table top with ease.
I didn't have to put any stripper on it.
It worked soooo good that my husband came to help
and got carried away with it. He sanded the veneer pine wood off completely in one spot! Not happy with that, but it's good to know how well this sander works! I do love it!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Orange, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just What We Needed

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Size, weight, and ease of use was perfect for sanding the surface of our coffee table.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Great sander

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my first random orbit sander, so I don't have much to compare it to. But, I've used it several times and it works great. I like the velcro-style attachment for the discs, so changing them is a snap.
Overall, this saves me a lot of sanding effort by hand!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The sander does the job.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am stripping 60 years of paint from 10 doors.
The sander is great for smoothing the rough edges.It is light weight and easy to use.
The dust catcher isnt the greatest.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: dust catcher
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sander

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my first sander so I have nothing to compare it with, however, for what I needed (prepping a large room for painting), this worked perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never had an orbital sander before, wish I hadn't waited so long to get one. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to handle and use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter has already used this sander for several furniture refinishing projects and loves it. It is easy for her to use and light as well. She loves it and would recommend it to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet, easy to change sandpaper, lightweight

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this sander - lightweight, quiet and east to change sandpaper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Much better than hand sanding

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product made quick work of the sanding that I needed to get done. So far very reliable.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from cicero N.Y. 13039
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice piece of equipment. Easy to handle.
Fairly quiet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Effective and easy to use

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed this to sand joint compound. I purchased because of the dust bag. While some dust still escaped, it was probably half of what I would of had without the dustbag. Very easy to use and comfortable in the hand. Probably collects more dust if using to sand wood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and decker sander

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does the job nothing fancy just practical perfect thank black and decker
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be prepared for a lot of dust

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This sander is fine, about what you'd expect for the money. I used it for a windowsill project and it took a ton of time, probably should have gotten a more powerful tool. Also be prepared for A LOT of dust, the dust catcher doesn't really work at all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

great features, reliability and price

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy it! Better to have instructions come with it but otherwise great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Love it !

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this orbital sander to help with wood crafting & I love it! Haven't had any issues at all with the one project I have used it on thus far! Can't wait to use it on other projects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>