728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

The Black and Decker 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander features a powerful 2-Amp motor that delivers up to 12,000 OPM, and its random-orbiting action provides a smooth finish and fast material removal. The switch is sealed against dust to help protect internal components, and dust is conveniently collected in a bag. This sander is also adaptable to shop vacs for easier cleanup. A sanding disc and dust bag are included for added value and convenience.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
Review 1 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sander

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first sander so I have nothing to compare it with, however, for what I needed (prepping a large room for painting), this worked perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Whittier, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little sander

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I need to sand some wood paneling in my family room, which was installed in the 1950s. Before priming and painting I wanted to do some light sanding using Diablo 150 sanding discs. The B&D 5" orbital palm sander is light weight and fast for 2 amps. After 5 minutes I could tell that it will not take me very long to sand the 20' stretch of panels surrounding my fireplace. Hardly any dust residue because most of the fine sawdust particles go in the bag. And, I really like the hook & lock system because the sandpaper disc stays put on the sander's pad, unlike the other 3 sanders I have owned.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Maple Plain, MN 55359, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Too Good!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great workhorse of a little sander! It sanded
off the stain finish from an old table top with ease.
I didn't have to put any stripper on it.
It worked soooo good that my husband came to help
and got carried away with it. He sanded the veneer pine wood off completely in one spot! Not happy with that, but it's good to know how well this sander works! I do love it!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Great sander

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first random orbit sander, so I don't have much to compare it to. But, I've used it several times and it works great. I like the velcro-style attachment for the discs, so changing them is a snap.
Overall, this saves me a lot of sanding effort by hand!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've never had an orbital sander before, wish I hadn't waited so long to get one. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to handle and use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My daughter has already used this sander for several furniture refinishing projects and loves it. It is easy for her to use and light as well. She loves it and would recommend it to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The sander does the job.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am stripping 60 years of paint from 10 doors.
The sander is great for smoothing the rough edges.It is light weight and easy to use.
The dust catcher isnt the greatest.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: dust catcher
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet, easy to change sandpaper, lightweight

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this sander - lightweight, quiet and east to change sandpaper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from cicero N.Y. 13039
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice piece of equipment. Easy to handle.
Fairly quiet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Effective and easy to use

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed this to sand joint compound. I purchased because of the dust bag. While some dust still escaped, it was probably half of what I would of had without the dustbag. Very easy to use and comfortable in the hand. Probably collects more dust if using to sand wood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and decker sander

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job nothing fancy just practical perfect thank black and decker
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be prepared for a lot of dust

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This sander is fine, about what you'd expect for the money. I used it for a windowsill project and it took a ton of time, probably should have gotten a more powerful tool. Also be prepared for A LOT of dust, the dust catcher doesn't really work at all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Much better than hand sanding

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product made quick work of the sanding that I needed to get done. So far very reliable.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

Great purchase

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ready to use right out of the box, and is a great value for the money.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander
from Clackamas, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The size is great, power, not so great.

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know this is silly, but I bought this to file my dogs toenails. I'd been using my husbands belt sander, it was too heavy and hard to hold. However, this sander is not powerful enough, the pad stops spinning when pressure is added.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not powerful enough
-75points
1out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Random-Orbit Palm Sander

great features, reliability and price

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Buy it! Better to have instructions come with it but otherwise great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.