728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. Bench Grinder

6 in. Bench Grinder

Featuring a rugged 2.1 Amp induction motor, the Ryobi 6 in. Bench Grinder utilizes an integrated work light to provide ideal illumination while you work. Convenience features such as adjustable tool rests and magnifying glass eye shields. The heavy-gauge steel base helps to reduce vibration and improves stability during use, offering a workshop- or garage-ready bench grinder.
Overall rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. Bench Grinder
Review 1 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Lemoore California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the money

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the money spent on it. I had been shopping around for a good grinder that didn't cost an arm and a leg. Found it here at Home Depot in the Ryobi6 in. Bench Grinder.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used and abused

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this thing all the time. I have abused it over and over grinding wood, pvc, bolts, angle iron, flat bar and thick rod. I would love a stronger motor, but for the price, it's awesome.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first Ryobi purchase and I was surprised by how well the grinder performed. I wanted something to sharpen lawnmower blades, axes etc and didn't want to spend a whole lot on a grinder that I would only use a handful of times each year. I own tools from other brands including Bosch, Dewalt, Makita etc. It performs well, was easy to set up and is quiet. No complaints and for the price it is a good deal.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Cartersville, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't know about the rest of the comments maybe they got damaged ones but mine is perfect i have sharpened lawn mower blades knives heavy axes other lawn tools and it worked perfect
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. Bench Grinder

Good Value for a hobby bench

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bells and whistles that come with this model are a bit lack luster, but the bench grinder itself does a good job.
Pros: Strong Suction, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Cons: accessories are flimsy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for my garage, It works great for the small jobs I do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. Bench Grinder

good value for the money

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
purchased to replace a non branded machine of the same size,which died after 23+yrs.Missing one of the spark deflectors though.It is used for sharpening wood lathe chisels,and metal turning bits for the metal lathe.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is a work around to get the light to work without turning on the machine.
Open the bottom and inside bypass the wire from the light going through the grinder on the power switch. The light will now have a direct power source without turning the machine on.
Anyone with basic electrical skills can do this. So just find someone you know that can do a simple cut and wire nut connection to the line in before the switch. This give power directly to the light.
It's a great machine and it works fantastic and even better that I can control the light without turning on my grinder
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: instructions limited
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. Bench Grinder

design flaw

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only problem I noticed was that the rest for your knives or tools or whatever you're sharpening has no angle adjustment which i find very annoying and if u choose to put out a little more money and buy the ryobi 8in bench grinder the rest will adjust to any angle. Other than that this is a good product that has more power than I expected. I'm not sure why everyone is saying that it slows under pressure because I haven't noticed anything at all like that overall it's not a bad purchase and it's Better than I expected
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has met my needs exceededly

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the look and features of my bench grinder. I am very pleased to have found this as I have researched this product for a while and finally found this one.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from central FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for DIY!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To test unit, sharpened some small knives, without bolting to a bench. Did not shake, did not wander about bench. Decent price for a decent unit!
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Value

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does exactly what I wanted it for, the value is great and have had no problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Phoenix, az

good for home use

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good bench grinder for the occasional home user, would not use this in a commercial shop, under powered for that. Used it to sharpen my chisels and kitchen knives, just wish it had a fine grinding stone that came with it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Vero Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is good and reviews that I read prior to buying were accurat.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
rugged and poerful bench grinder with no problem. I like th magnifying lens o one side which makes close up grindindg of drill bits easier.
Pros: All In One
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Oklahoma

My Little Grinder

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just then size I needed for my cluttered workbench. Easy to put together and does what I want it to do. Some might consider it too small but just fine for what I do.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Yucca Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

husband loved it

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought as a gift and perfect for husband's needs sharpening axes , blades etc bought this one in error however this one had minor extras from the lower priced one which do come in handy. So overall good by.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Nevada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light switch needs improvement

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow blow up pictures for assembly. No verbiage included. Light switch only active when motor turned on. Being able to use light without turning the grinder on, would be an improvement in future design. Would like to find a grinder made in the USA, but I guess in this day and age, that's not happening. Overall, a good buy.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: light switch
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Georgia
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Save your money, invest in a larger one

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I build custom knives. Today I was working on my newest 1/4" survival knife and tried to use that little "Ryobi Thing" much to my dismay. It has a slow start, virtually no power as I could never put pressure hard against the wheels. Speaking of the wheels, one was so out of balance I had to remove it, the other so soft, every contact with it resulted in a groove in the wheel. This thing might get an average rating if you doubled the horsepower and gave it balanced and harder wheels. As it stands right now, I wouldn't want my worst enemy to purchase this junk!
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, motor is weak, grinding wheels are junk, takes a long time to stop miniscule amount of powe
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Value

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little 6" grinder.
I converted mine to a buffer using wheels rated for 3600 RPM and it works great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 in. Bench Grinder
from Gainesville, TX 76240, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good for the price

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works good for the price. Will bog down with pressure, but fine value for the money. great for limited use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: low power
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>