728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

The Ryobi 10 inch Portable Table Saw with QuickSTAND is the top unit of its kind. This tool is perfect for the cost-conscious pro and comes fully loaded with the latest and greatest table saw applications and guarding standards. Whether you are framing a door or building a deck, the Ryobi 10 inch Portable Table Saw is the light-weight, easy to use unit that every homeowner should have in their garage.
Overall rating:
3.289 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product71 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(37)
3
(13)
2
(16)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product71 of 110reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Review 1 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from New Rochelle, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good tool, especially for its price

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi, I have had this saw for about 2 years now and used it not heavily but regularly. I have a contractor saw in the basement and keep this one in the garage on a cart I made with it. I have used it primarily to work with dimensional lumber all the way to re-sawing 2x4" studs to make 3/4"x3" boards. I did replace the original blade with a Diablo (which I do with all my saws). The saw has all the power I need. By always supporting longer lumber with infeed and outfeed rollers,I have no trouble getting the job done. The miter gage is flimsy and I added a longer wooden fence to it right away. The rip fence locks positively. The dust bag is a must since it collects a lot of saw dust. In my experience this saw can do a good job as long as you handle it properly. Since it is all around much lighter than a contractor saw, you have to pay attention to the way you handle the wood and not be in a hurry. The corresponding Dewalt, Bosh and Ridgid models are better but cost 3 times as much. If you, like me, are on a budget, I would definitely recommend the Ryobi. The two pictures are about a new firewood platform which I entirely made with this saw.
Pros: Powerful, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Long Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bad saw at all...

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old, trusty table saw failed in the middle of a project, and with my shallow pockets, I had to compromise to replace it. I had several other Ryobi, small power tools in my tool locker, and after seeing the saw in the store and reading some reviews, I plunked down my money.
First, the motor is very powerful, well suspended and hasrelatively low vibration for such a lightweight saw. The electronic brake/direct drive system improves safety a great deal as does the excellent riving knife/blade carrier set up. The angle lock lever is a bit hard to reach, behind the lowering wheel, but it's not hard to get used to. The lowering wheel works very smoothly. In addition, the fence is nicely designed and quite accurate, with a solid two-point lockdown.
The caveats have to do with the use of a proprietary, sub-sized track system for the miter gauge. It's a 5/8" track, which rendered all my 3/4" track jigs and devices unusable -- however, with some very careful use of my drill press, I tossed the cheap plastic miter gauge and adapted the protractor off my Incra Gauge to this saw, with wonderful; results. See my images below. I also found 5/8" track feather boards available online. The saw's included anti-kickback system is terrible, so I will also toss that, but I will use the blade guard, which works very nicely. As far as accuracy, cutting hardwood flooring and mouldings, the saw performed as well as my old one, despite the remining slop in the miter tracks, which I'll figure out how to fix. If you;re handy, this isn;t a bad saw at all, and for an old guy, the lighter weight is actually a blessing. It's not a jobsite tool, but for the careful hobbyist, it is the best saw for the money.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: t-track undersized, throw-out miter gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from York, PA

Great tool. great price

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw back in June, have been using it heavily for 5 months. Ripping a lot of 2x4s, 2x6s and one by-s. Also have used it for crown molding and cabinet making and engineered hardwood flooring. I have not had any problems with it at all. It is a great saw at a great price. I read a lot of reviews at Home Depot, Lowes and Harbor Freight. Based on everything I read I found this saw to be the most accurate in its price range the most problem free. I have made the right choice. I buy the extended warranty on this saw, I read some reviews which stated that one of the adjusting knobs sometimes breaks off. I found it was cheaper to buy this saw with and extended warranty than to step up the next higher priced saw which has less complaints of knobs breaking off.
Great saw, glad a bought it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

Not for the serious shop

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this table saw and thought it would be a good way to have a table saw without shelling out too much money...I am just getting into DIY and wood working so didn't want to go buy a $1000 saw. It had no issues as far as functionality goes, however when my projects started calling for fine tuned accuracy this saw failed. If all you are looking for is the ability to rip large pieces of wood or to be able to bring a table saw to various job sites then you might be fine. Do yourself a favor and save up for a better saw. I took this saw back to Home Depot and they were great about giving me a store credit which I used to buy the Dewalt model.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from St Peters, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw, great price

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Am in the middle of a kitchen remodel and needed a table saw. I did a lot of checking and was aprehensive about getting this one. Lots of mixed reviews. I can only speak for myself Its a great saw. Can you cut crown molding with it? No. I used the miter portion to cut base trim board and as long as you take your time, its great. Its durable, great value and plenty of power. It will bog down if you try and force your wood through at a high rate of speed, but I had no problem ripping plywood, 2x4's etc. If you know how to use a saw, this is a great unit. Buying at HD is a bonus. If you're not happy with it, take it back! I give it 2 thumbs up.
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw - does exactly what I need

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do a lot of projects around the house, and I never knew how much easier it could be with good tools. I have always fussed about never cutting the same length board twice - and this fixed it! I love the cutting guide and that it telescopes out to make long cuts. This is a great value for the cost.
I am saving for a dado blade - then I will be the shelf master!
My only con was that you had to read the instructions to build it and it took me forever to figure out how to turn it on - that you NEEDED the yellow key. I thought the key was a safety to keep it from turning on. DOH!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor customer service

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
Light weight/portability
Powerful motor
Table extension
Cons:
Too much cheap plastic-pieces break easily
Fence is junk
Miter gauge is very sloppy
Warranty work- s-l-o-w (three months for repair service)
Sent the saw in for warranty work. Could not get the blade to raise. After three months the saw came back only to work a few times and problem returned. Have to grab the blade and pull up while moving the knob. Now the gears (plastic) are wearing out (stripped).
If a company doesn't stand behind products they probably know they are making junk.
"Cost conscious" is Ryobi's way of saying "you get what you pay for" maybe!
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, warranty service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Vermont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Happy with Product

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before deciding on the Ryobi RTS21 with the portable stand. Assembly was fairly straight forward following the directions. As a handyman I was looking for a saw and stand that were compact and easy to assemble / disassemble ..I chose the right one. It takes me less than 30 seconds open the stand , put the saw on top and 1/4 turn the locking tabs...plug it in and I am ready to work. The other competitive models had the saws permanently attached to the stands - not compact and if you only want to use the saw without the stand it would not be worth the trouble. This Ryobi model takes up very little space in my vehicle too. The guard and pawls are a plus and easy to remove if necessary. The out feed extension works well too. The saw was accurate right out of the box. I like the ability to cut up to 27"- most of the more expensive units could only cut from 18" to 24" to the right of the blade. I am very happy with this unit and will use it on every job.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, on-board storage for miter gauge + push stick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from College Station, TX

Pay attention to the reviews!

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all the reviews, then promptly ignored them. I bought this saw and before I ever plugged it in, the bevel lock lever broke. Just like multiple reviewers before me.
The bevel lock mechanisim is a "pinch lock" - pushing the arm down causes it to ride up on the suspect piece, applying a lot of pressure to lock the bevel angle in place. Way too much pressure for the plastic cam washer that bears all that force.
Home Depot will be will served by removing these from stock - they are probably going to see a lot of returns for this failure. I will say that the return experience was easy as pie, they are good folks to work with.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not even worth the cheap price

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a DIY'er and have purchased most of the Ryobi line of products. This is the most disappointing piece of equipment thus far. The fence is NOT straight and have nearly killed myself when the wood binds up. I thought I was doing something wrong, but finally figured out the problem. I shouldn't have to spend so much time determining if the fence is straight!! Its frustrating enough to learn how to make something out of wood, but quite another when your tools fail you.
Cons: Difficult to Use, fence problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Sutton, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this saw a few years ago and didn't use it much. In all I have about 5 hours (maybe) of use on it. I have a larger saw and this one I thought I could use as a backup when I have to do something outside the shop.
I brought it out of the shop a couple days ago down to the house for a project in the basement. Fired it up and it promptly died.
It worked pretty well for the five hours that I used it over the past couple years, but I would NOT recommend it. When it did work, it wasn't very stable...and the dust collection bag is a joke.
Yeah, it is low priced, but that works out to about $40/hour...lol. Save your money and buy something a little more substantial.
Pros: Light Weight, Compact
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, flimsy, cheaply made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice beginner saw

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've only used this for small projects such as bat/birdhouses and currently midway through a staircase renovation, it hasn't failed or produced unwanted results. One thing I would say is to turn the saw on THEN adjust the angel of the cut rather than set your angle then turn the saw on. The jerking of the motor starting moves the angle.
Otherwise for a novice like myself doing relatively small jobs, it's a good deal.
Pros: Portable
Cons: angle lock is weak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Columbia Mo
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poorly made saw

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A few things were really under engineered on this saw. I bought this saw because of it's expanding table and extra wide rip cut capability. I immediately noticed that the bars that the table slides on are small diameter, and mounted in plastic which flexes. This made this thing pretty much useless for making a rip cut with the table extended because the weight of the wood flexed the plastic mounting the sliding extension. Very poor design there. The extension is also made of stamped metal vs cast like the rest. The next issue is the odd sized miter track with the lock's on it. It is near impossible to make a good sled for this saw, forget making clean straight or miter cuts with the miter gauge, it is loose, and the gauge is poorly made. The texture on the top of the table created friction with the board that you are cutting. The bushings on the fence were loose which made it a pain to adjust. The last thing was the cheap setup to adjust the riving knife. By far the worst design adjustment i have ever messed with. I returned this saw after less than 10 minutes of use and bought the rigid r4516 for the same exact price. This saw doesn't have a stand and is slight smaller, but for the same price it is a Way better built saw. The extension slides on tracks instead of bars, the extension is cast aluminum instead of stamped, the miter track is a standard 3/4 with a t slot at the bottom so conventional miter bars and gauges will work. The miter gauge is made of aluminum and adjustable. It fits the track tight and makes rather good cuts. I will be building a sled for precise cuts. The rip fence is better designed and way easier to adjust. the riving knife is 10 times easier to adjust also. Takes minutes compared to hours to get right. This was me second ryobi saw that i have had issues the last was a 7.5 inch miter saw. It is near impossible to zero out and make straight cuts. This will likely be the last ryobi product that i ever purchase. Do yourself a favor and buy the Rigid, it is by far the best 200 dollar saw on the market.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, flimsy extension table, loose miter slot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from California

Get the newest version...there's two versions!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
My sisters bought this for me as a Christmas gift. The compression washer that is on the bevel leaver broke in half before I even got to plug in the saw! I returned it today to home depot (easy returns as usual). I walked through the tool isle again and found the same model, but slightly updated. They changed the way you adjust the bevel from the stupid plastic lever to a dial that you can turn to tighten the bevel adjustment. The dial looked more durable and is similar to the way other brands work (dewalt, craftsman, etc). HD was out of stock of the saw, but I'll go back and get the newest version soon.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw for the money

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great table beginner table saw that has enough advance features to also tackle intermediate projects. It's obviously not professional grade but for home projects it's excellent.
Pros:
Powerful motor
27" Fence allows for larger cuts
Comes with a few decent accessories
Cheap price (I paid $205 with tax and a coupon)
Makes accurate consistent cuts
Extendable support in the back and side for larger pieces
Cons:
Fence is a tiny bit on the wobbly side but is still accurate and locks down solid
Safety attachments are annoying and get in the way more than anything (I removed them but I would recommend leaving them on until your comfortable with the saw and how it works)
A bit of set up time. The instructions are vague and not very helpful so it took me an hour or two to assemble everything.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: some assembly required, vague instructions, wobbly fence
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from ut

Plastic parts fail

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade tilt mechanism has a plastic washer which failed. This part is critical for safe operation of the tool and without it, it is unusable as designed. The replacement part is no better.
Would I use this tool as designed? NO
Would I loan it to anyone? NO
Would I recommend anyone buy this regardless of price? NO
Other parts such as the miter gauge are very poor in design with no upgrade options but until the blade tilt mech is addressed, those problems do not matter. If a metal part was made avaliable, I might trust it but NOT PLASTIC.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent table saw for the price!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a retired home builder, just using this saw for puttering and around the house projects. The saw is light enough to set up or move single handedly, but powerful enough for any cuts I've tried so far. I'm impressed, but Ryobi earned it's reputation.
Excellent tool for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from La Palma, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of bang for the buck

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this set up beside my big Ridgid table saw and made the same cuts back to back on each. I was very impressed with the cutting performance of the Ryobi. It cut almost as fast and very clean thru 2x4s. I bought this for a large laminate floor project in a rental property I was refurbishing. It is very light weight and breaks down to a very manageable size and travels well. This would be a very good starter table saw as well. I wouldn't recommend this for precision furniture or cabinet work. There is a lot of plastic and light gauge metal (hence the light weight) so I don't expect it would hold up to a lot of abuse.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, very portable
Cons: lots of plastic
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight and easy to move around. Truly portable with folding legs. Large table extension and good locking fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Long Island

Broke before I plugged it in...

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As per prior reviews, when I adjsted the bevel angle after taking it out of the box, the plastic washer snapped in half and shot across the garage. The handle cannot be tightened, thus making the saw useless. Unbelievable that this washer is not metal, probably would have cost 2 cents more per saw. I would not recommend this even for light/occasional use. I went to the local store to adjust the floor model and SNAP!! Same thing happened. The other similar RYOBI saw next to it was already missing the same washer. It would be a mistake to buy this saw unless this flaw is fixed.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>