728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

The Ryobi 10 inch Portable Table Saw with QuickSTAND is the top unit of its kind. This tool is perfect for the cost-conscious pro and comes fully loaded with the latest and greatest table saw applications and guarding standards. Whether you are framing a door or building a deck, the Ryobi 10 inch Portable Table Saw is the light-weight, easy to use unit that every homeowner should have in their garage.
Overall rating:
3.33 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product67 of 100reviews
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(36)
3
(12)
2
(12)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product67 of 100reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Review 1 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Long Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bad saw at all...

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old, trusty table saw failed in the middle of a project, and with my shallow pockets, I had to compromise to replace it. I had several other Ryobi, small power tools in my tool locker, and after seeing the saw in the store and reading some reviews, I plunked down my money.
First, the motor is very powerful, well suspended and hasrelatively low vibration for such a lightweight saw. The electronic brake/direct drive system improves safety a great deal as does the excellent riving knife/blade carrier set up. The angle lock lever is a bit hard to reach, behind the lowering wheel, but it's not hard to get used to. The lowering wheel works very smoothly. In addition, the fence is nicely designed and quite accurate, with a solid two-point lockdown.
The caveats have to do with the use of a proprietary, sub-sized track system for the miter gauge. It's a 5/8" track, which rendered all my 3/4" track jigs and devices unusable -- however, with some very careful use of my drill press, I tossed the cheap plastic miter gauge and adapted the protractor off my Incra Gauge to this saw, with wonderful; results. See my images below. I also found 5/8" track feather boards available online. The saw's included anti-kickback system is terrible, so I will also toss that, but I will use the blade guard, which works very nicely. As far as accuracy, cutting hardwood flooring and mouldings, the saw performed as well as my old one, despite the remining slop in the miter tracks, which I'll figure out how to fix. If you;re handy, this isn;t a bad saw at all, and for an old guy, the lighter weight is actually a blessing. It's not a jobsite tool, but for the careful hobbyist, it is the best saw for the money.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: t-track undersized, throw-out miter gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from New Rochelle, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good tool, especially for its price

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi, I have had this saw for about 2 years now and used it not heavily but regularly. I have a contractor saw in the basement and keep this one in the garage on a cart I made with it. I have used it primarily to work with dimensional lumber all the way to re-sawing 2x4" studs to make 3/4"x3" boards. I did replace the original blade with a Diablo (which I do with all my saws). The saw has all the power I need. By always supporting longer lumber with infeed and outfeed rollers,I have no trouble getting the job done. The miter gage is flimsy and I added a longer wooden fence to it right away. The rip fence locks positively. The dust bag is a must since it collects a lot of saw dust. In my experience this saw can do a good job as long as you handle it properly. Since it is all around much lighter than a contractor saw, you have to pay attention to the way you handle the wood and not be in a hurry. The corresponding Dewalt, Bosh and Ridgid models are better but cost 3 times as much. If you, like me, are on a budget, I would definitely recommend the Ryobi. The two pictures are about a new firewood platform which I entirely made with this saw.
Pros: Powerful, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw - does exactly what I need

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do a lot of projects around the house, and I never knew how much easier it could be with good tools. I have always fussed about never cutting the same length board twice - and this fixed it! I love the cutting guide and that it telescopes out to make long cuts. This is a great value for the cost.
I am saving for a dado blade - then I will be the shelf master!
My only con was that you had to read the instructions to build it and it took me forever to figure out how to turn it on - that you NEEDED the yellow key. I thought the key was a safety to keep it from turning on. DOH!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw for the money

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great table beginner table saw that has enough advance features to also tackle intermediate projects. It's obviously not professional grade but for home projects it's excellent.
Pros:
Powerful motor
27" Fence allows for larger cuts
Comes with a few decent accessories
Cheap price (I paid $205 with tax and a coupon)
Makes accurate consistent cuts
Extendable support in the back and side for larger pieces
Cons:
Fence is a tiny bit on the wobbly side but is still accurate and locks down solid
Safety attachments are annoying and get in the way more than anything (I removed them but I would recommend leaving them on until your comfortable with the saw and how it works)
A bit of set up time. The instructions are vague and not very helpful so it took me an hour or two to assemble everything.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: some assembly required, vague instructions, wobbly fence
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from St Peters, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw, great price

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Am in the middle of a kitchen remodel and needed a table saw. I did a lot of checking and was aprehensive about getting this one. Lots of mixed reviews. I can only speak for myself Its a great saw. Can you cut crown molding with it? No. I used the miter portion to cut base trim board and as long as you take your time, its great. Its durable, great value and plenty of power. It will bog down if you try and force your wood through at a high rate of speed, but I had no problem ripping plywood, 2x4's etc. If you know how to use a saw, this is a great unit. Buying at HD is a bonus. If you're not happy with it, take it back! I give it 2 thumbs up.
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from College Station, TX

Pay attention to the reviews!

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all the reviews, then promptly ignored them. I bought this saw and before I ever plugged it in, the bevel lock lever broke. Just like multiple reviewers before me.
The bevel lock mechanisim is a "pinch lock" - pushing the arm down causes it to ride up on the suspect piece, applying a lot of pressure to lock the bevel angle in place. Way too much pressure for the plastic cam washer that bears all that force.
Home Depot will be will served by removing these from stock - they are probably going to see a lot of returns for this failure. I will say that the return experience was easy as pie, they are good folks to work with.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Lake Gaston, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An OK Saw

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw because of price, portability and it came with a folding stand. I am using this saw for simple, non-critical projects. I wouldn't try to use this for any kind of cabinet work, it's just not that accurate.
My only real problem with this saw is the lack of adjustment in the motor head. Mine was 'close enough' for the framing project I was doing but it would be nice if there were an adjustment for the blade angle and square.
Overall, if you are doing simple, non-critical projects this is a great saw. Plenty of power and fairly stable. If you are doing anything else buy a different saw.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Pierce, CO.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for the price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set-up, was working in under an hour, did have some trouble getting the guide bar adjusted do to the location of the screws, other than that it has done very well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to ajust
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Santee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Depends....

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This table saw's worth depends on your need. I bought this saw with bigger things in mind, but was disappointed to note there were limitations based on the saw's quality. However, this saw is a good value for what you do get. The saw was easy to set up, light and very portable. This saw is perfect for my many smaller projects and works well for the limited space in my garage. It does not handle larger pieces very well, though.The miter gauge is very chintzy, but the fence will clamp down solidly once you ensure it's true. This table saw certainly fits a niche and is a good value.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, average to low quality, accuracy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Scranton, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of plastic junk!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After taking an hour to put the darn thing together, I go to turn it on and the "plastic key" breaks! It is flimsy and made of plastic and not worth $20, much less the $200 it cost! Last time I ever buy a Ryobi product! Thing is headed back to be exchanged without ever making a single cut!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from La Palma, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of bang for the buck

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this set up beside my big Ridgid table saw and made the same cuts back to back on each. I was very impressed with the cutting performance of the Ryobi. It cut almost as fast and very clean thru 2x4s. I bought this for a large laminate floor project in a rental property I was refurbishing. It is very light weight and breaks down to a very manageable size and travels well. This would be a very good starter table saw as well. I wouldn't recommend this for precision furniture or cabinet work. There is a lot of plastic and light gauge metal (hence the light weight) so I don't expect it would hold up to a lot of abuse.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, very portable
Cons: lots of plastic
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good.

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this saw for about three months and used it mainly for projects around the house. I am not a carpenter by any stretch of the imagination nor do I do construction for a living if that helps. The main reason I bought this saw was the price/ quality of the product. The rip fence has been stable and is easily adjusted. The table has a pull out extension on the back and side that comes in handy as well. The associate suggested I purchase a Diablo blade because the one that came with it was not that good. I got the Diablo blade and hadn't had any issues. The motor has plenty of power for ripping 3/4" plywood or 4X4 posts without binding or slowing. The only dislike I have with the saw is adjusting the blade to do an angle cut. Its a stiff and awkward adjustment. Other than that I don't have any issues.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Columbiana, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw. Absolutely worst stand ever.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The saw works great. The table legs bent so badly when assembled that it definitely will not hold anything let alone the saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Table Saw for Price

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this saw 6 months back to be used to install our flooring in three large bedrooms. The table saw handled everything that I threw at it and still works great. By no means is it the best table saw I have ever used but I was on a budget and needed something in stock at HD. The only complaint I have is the rip fence could be a little better, has a little too much play for consistent straight cuts when moved frequently.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Bridgewater, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does spin a saw blade

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, I know I'm cheap, but I never seem to learn my lesson. I bought this table saw about 18 months ago for some light duty DIY jobs. I figured I didn't need a pro-grade tool for what I was going to use it for. Well, I must admit the Ryobi works. You flip the switch and it'll make some noise and the blade will spin. If you put some 2x pine in its path, the blade might even chew it up a little. Just don't expect to cleanly cut through hardwood thicker than 4/4 or it will bind. Do expect to spend a lot of time adjusting the fence for each cut. Don't expect the fence to stay in place for more than 3 or 4 rips. The idiotic 'tabs' on the table surface make it into a pseudo-T-track and makes it difficult to build a crosscut sled. As the tracks aren't standard 3/4, forget about buying an accessory sled.
I just gave up and went out and bought a Dewalt 7480 two weeks ago and what a difference that makes. I know, it costs 60% more than the Ryobi, but buy a good tool once and you'll be a lot happier than buying cheap junk and having to replace it later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent table saw for the price!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a retired home builder, just using this saw for puttering and around the house projects. The saw is light enough to set up or move single handedly, but powerful enough for any cuts I've tried so far. I'm impressed, but Ryobi earned it's reputation.
Excellent tool for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from eugene, oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A great saw for the money

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is easy to assemble, directions are exactly easy to follow for both assembly and use.
It is portable, quick set up and take down with places to store attachments.
Make projects easier and quicker to complete, giving more time to play with the dog.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok saw for the homeowner

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this saw to replace an old portable table saw. The saw has a plastic base that attaches to the metal table top. There is too much plastic that can break on this saw therefore I gave it an average rating.
All you need to do is drop it, have it slide around in the bed of a truck, or have something fall on it for it to become an expensive paper weight. Besides the plastic parts, the saw worked well and got the job done. I ran it for 3 hrs on the first use making many cuts. My opinion is this tool is ok for a homeowner looking to use it a couple times a year. Otherwise, I would suggest a more expensive saw for twice the money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from California

Get the newest version...there's two versions!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
My sisters bought this for me as a Christmas gift. The compression washer that is on the bevel leaver broke in half before I even got to plug in the saw! I returned it today to home depot (easy returns as usual). I walked through the tool isle again and found the same model, but slightly updated. They changed the way you adjust the bevel from the stupid plastic lever to a dial that you can turn to tighten the bevel adjustment. The dial looked more durable and is similar to the way other brands work (dewalt, craftsman, etc). HD was out of stock of the saw, but I'll go back and get the newest version soon.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from ut

Plastic parts fail

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade tilt mechanism has a plastic washer which failed. This part is critical for safe operation of the tool and without it, it is unusable as designed. The replacement part is no better.
Would I use this tool as designed? NO
Would I loan it to anyone? NO
Would I recommend anyone buy this regardless of price? NO
Other parts such as the miter gauge are very poor in design with no upgrade options but until the blade tilt mech is addressed, those problems do not matter. If a metal part was made avaliable, I might trust it but NOT PLASTIC.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>