728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

The Ryobi 10 inch Portable Table Saw with QuickSTAND is the top unit of its kind. This tool is perfect for the cost-conscious pro and comes fully loaded with the latest and greatest table saw applications and guarding standards. Whether you are framing a door or building a deck, the Ryobi 10 inch Portable Table Saw is the light-weight, easy to use unit that every homeowner should have in their garage.
Overall rating:
3.308 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product68 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(36)
3
(13)
2
(13)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product68 of 103reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Review 1 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from New Rochelle, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good tool, especially for its price

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi, I have had this saw for about 2 years now and used it not heavily but regularly. I have a contractor saw in the basement and keep this one in the garage on a cart I made with it. I have used it primarily to work with dimensional lumber all the way to re-sawing 2x4" studs to make 3/4"x3" boards. I did replace the original blade with a Diablo (which I do with all my saws). The saw has all the power I need. By always supporting longer lumber with infeed and outfeed rollers,I have no trouble getting the job done. The miter gage is flimsy and I added a longer wooden fence to it right away. The rip fence locks positively. The dust bag is a must since it collects a lot of saw dust. In my experience this saw can do a good job as long as you handle it properly. Since it is all around much lighter than a contractor saw, you have to pay attention to the way you handle the wood and not be in a hurry. The corresponding Dewalt, Bosh and Ridgid models are better but cost 3 times as much. If you, like me, are on a budget, I would definitely recommend the Ryobi. The two pictures are about a new firewood platform which I entirely made with this saw.
Pros: Powerful, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Long Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bad saw at all...

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old, trusty table saw failed in the middle of a project, and with my shallow pockets, I had to compromise to replace it. I had several other Ryobi, small power tools in my tool locker, and after seeing the saw in the store and reading some reviews, I plunked down my money.
First, the motor is very powerful, well suspended and hasrelatively low vibration for such a lightweight saw. The electronic brake/direct drive system improves safety a great deal as does the excellent riving knife/blade carrier set up. The angle lock lever is a bit hard to reach, behind the lowering wheel, but it's not hard to get used to. The lowering wheel works very smoothly. In addition, the fence is nicely designed and quite accurate, with a solid two-point lockdown.
The caveats have to do with the use of a proprietary, sub-sized track system for the miter gauge. It's a 5/8" track, which rendered all my 3/4" track jigs and devices unusable -- however, with some very careful use of my drill press, I tossed the cheap plastic miter gauge and adapted the protractor off my Incra Gauge to this saw, with wonderful; results. See my images below. I also found 5/8" track feather boards available online. The saw's included anti-kickback system is terrible, so I will also toss that, but I will use the blade guard, which works very nicely. As far as accuracy, cutting hardwood flooring and mouldings, the saw performed as well as my old one, despite the remining slop in the miter tracks, which I'll figure out how to fix. If you;re handy, this isn;t a bad saw at all, and for an old guy, the lighter weight is actually a blessing. It's not a jobsite tool, but for the careful hobbyist, it is the best saw for the money.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: t-track undersized, throw-out miter gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

Not for the serious shop

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this table saw and thought it would be a good way to have a table saw without shelling out too much money...I am just getting into DIY and wood working so didn't want to go buy a $1000 saw. It had no issues as far as functionality goes, however when my projects started calling for fine tuned accuracy this saw failed. If all you are looking for is the ability to rip large pieces of wood or to be able to bring a table saw to various job sites then you might be fine. Do yourself a favor and save up for a better saw. I took this saw back to Home Depot and they were great about giving me a store credit which I used to buy the Dewalt model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw - does exactly what I need

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do a lot of projects around the house, and I never knew how much easier it could be with good tools. I have always fussed about never cutting the same length board twice - and this fixed it! I love the cutting guide and that it telescopes out to make long cuts. This is a great value for the cost.
I am saving for a dado blade - then I will be the shelf master!
My only con was that you had to read the instructions to build it and it took me forever to figure out how to turn it on - that you NEEDED the yellow key. I thought the key was a safety to keep it from turning on. DOH!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from St Peters, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw, great price

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Am in the middle of a kitchen remodel and needed a table saw. I did a lot of checking and was aprehensive about getting this one. Lots of mixed reviews. I can only speak for myself Its a great saw. Can you cut crown molding with it? No. I used the miter portion to cut base trim board and as long as you take your time, its great. Its durable, great value and plenty of power. It will bog down if you try and force your wood through at a high rate of speed, but I had no problem ripping plywood, 2x4's etc. If you know how to use a saw, this is a great unit. Buying at HD is a bonus. If you're not happy with it, take it back! I give it 2 thumbs up.
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from College Station, TX

Pay attention to the reviews!

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all the reviews, then promptly ignored them. I bought this saw and before I ever plugged it in, the bevel lock lever broke. Just like multiple reviewers before me.
The bevel lock mechanisim is a "pinch lock" - pushing the arm down causes it to ride up on the suspect piece, applying a lot of pressure to lock the bevel angle in place. Way too much pressure for the plastic cam washer that bears all that force.
Home Depot will be will served by removing these from stock - they are probably going to see a lot of returns for this failure. I will say that the return experience was easy as pie, they are good folks to work with.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw for the money

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great table beginner table saw that has enough advance features to also tackle intermediate projects. It's obviously not professional grade but for home projects it's excellent.
Pros:
Powerful motor
27" Fence allows for larger cuts
Comes with a few decent accessories
Cheap price (I paid $205 with tax and a coupon)
Makes accurate consistent cuts
Extendable support in the back and side for larger pieces
Cons:
Fence is a tiny bit on the wobbly side but is still accurate and locks down solid
Safety attachments are annoying and get in the way more than anything (I removed them but I would recommend leaving them on until your comfortable with the saw and how it works)
A bit of set up time. The instructions are vague and not very helpful so it took me an hour or two to assemble everything.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: some assembly required, vague instructions, wobbly fence
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from California

Get the newest version...there's two versions!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
My sisters bought this for me as a Christmas gift. The compression washer that is on the bevel leaver broke in half before I even got to plug in the saw! I returned it today to home depot (easy returns as usual). I walked through the tool isle again and found the same model, but slightly updated. They changed the way you adjust the bevel from the stupid plastic lever to a dial that you can turn to tighten the bevel adjustment. The dial looked more durable and is similar to the way other brands work (dewalt, craftsman, etc). HD was out of stock of the saw, but I'll go back and get the newest version soon.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from La Palma, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of bang for the buck

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this set up beside my big Ridgid table saw and made the same cuts back to back on each. I was very impressed with the cutting performance of the Ryobi. It cut almost as fast and very clean thru 2x4s. I bought this for a large laminate floor project in a rental property I was refurbishing. It is very light weight and breaks down to a very manageable size and travels well. This would be a very good starter table saw as well. I wouldn't recommend this for precision furniture or cabinet work. There is a lot of plastic and light gauge metal (hence the light weight) so I don't expect it would hold up to a lot of abuse.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, very portable
Cons: lots of plastic
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from ut

Plastic parts fail

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade tilt mechanism has a plastic washer which failed. This part is critical for safe operation of the tool and without it, it is unusable as designed. The replacement part is no better.
Would I use this tool as designed? NO
Would I loan it to anyone? NO
Would I recommend anyone buy this regardless of price? NO
Other parts such as the miter gauge are very poor in design with no upgrade options but until the blade tilt mech is addressed, those problems do not matter. If a metal part was made avaliable, I might trust it but NOT PLASTIC.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from LaGrange, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Cheap piece of junk.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know you get what you pay for and at the time this was all I could afford. The blade, motor and mechanism have never lined up with the top and I haven't found a way to straighten it up. As far as cutting a board and having it measure the same on each end, forget it. If you want to rough cut something. It'll work, but forget any quality woodworking. Saving up for a Delta. Want a cheap saw?
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, not accurate
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from los angeles,ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

last model zrrts21 is beter

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
last model zrrts21 is better because this model does not have dust chute
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: does not have dust chute
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Auburn, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was a good purchase. Light weight and easy to handle, works wonderful.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stand was easy to assemble and can be set up and removed easily from the saw. The saw is lightweight and accurate for cutting, perfect saw to take on the job site.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent table saw for the price!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a retired home builder, just using this saw for puttering and around the house projects. The saw is light enough to set up or move single handedly, but powerful enough for any cuts I've tried so far. I'm impressed, but Ryobi earned it's reputation.
Excellent tool for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight and easy to move around. Truly portable with folding legs. Large table extension and good locking fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Lake Gaston, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An OK Saw

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw because of price, portability and it came with a folding stand. I am using this saw for simple, non-critical projects. I wouldn't try to use this for any kind of cabinet work, it's just not that accurate.
My only real problem with this saw is the lack of adjustment in the motor head. Mine was 'close enough' for the framing project I was doing but it would be nice if there were an adjustment for the blade angle and square.
Overall, if you are doing simple, non-critical projects this is a great saw. Plenty of power and fairly stable. If you are doing anything else buy a different saw.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok saw for the homeowner

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this saw to replace an old portable table saw. The saw has a plastic base that attaches to the metal table top. There is too much plastic that can break on this saw therefore I gave it an average rating.
All you need to do is drop it, have it slide around in the bed of a truck, or have something fall on it for it to become an expensive paper weight. Besides the plastic parts, the saw worked well and got the job done. I ran it for 3 hrs on the first use making many cuts. My opinion is this tool is ok for a homeowner looking to use it a couple times a year. Otherwise, I would suggest a more expensive saw for twice the money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Long Island

Broke before I plugged it in...

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As per prior reviews, when I adjsted the bevel angle after taking it out of the box, the plastic washer snapped in half and shot across the garage. The handle cannot be tightened, thus making the saw useless. Unbelievable that this washer is not metal, probably would have cost 2 cents more per saw. I would not recommend this even for light/occasional use. I went to the local store to adjust the floor model and SNAP!! Same thing happened. The other similar RYOBI saw next to it was already missing the same washer. It would be a mistake to buy this saw unless this flaw is fixed.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Chesapeake, VA

Plastic parts?

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great price, and it worked great at first but I only got 4 months use out of it before the plastic parts to ajust the angle broke. Now the knob that raises the blade is stripped out. Its worthless now. If you buy it be sure to buy the warranty.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Maine, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Homeowner- maybe, Contractor - not recommended

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought two of these recently because they are cheap. Along with three other Ryobi saws (different models) which are taking up space in my job trailer and shop. They are not built very well, plastic parts snap easily. Of the two that I have of this model, one the height adjustment handle broke within a couple weeks and the entire knob within a month. The other one the height adjustment is bound up and can be moved (barely) with a set of vice grips. Rip fence is kind of cheasy as well, must be checked and rechecked and can easily be knocked out of whack mid-cut. If you are a homeowner who will be using this saw a few times a year, you'll probably be all right. As for a daily use jobsite saw, they don't hold up. The stand is pretty rickety as well, not ideal for a table saw.
Cons: Not Durable, wobbly stand, cheap plastic adjustment controls
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>