728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

The RYOBI 10 In. Portable Table Saw with QuickSTAND is sleek, compact and easy to use yet powerful enough to cut through a range of tough materials. The stand secures right to the saw with a simple 4-knob turn and includes on-board storage space for all accessories to save room in your garage. Whether you are framing a door or building a deck, you can count on precise, accurate cuts.
Overall rating:
3.281 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product75 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(29)
4
(39)
3
(13)
2
(17)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product75 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Review 1 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from New Rochelle, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good tool, especially for its price

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hi, I have had this saw for about 2 years now and used it not heavily but regularly. I have a contractor saw in the basement and keep this one in the garage on a cart I made with it. I have used it primarily to work with dimensional lumber all the way to re-sawing 2x4" studs to make 3/4"x3" boards. I did replace the original blade with a Diablo (which I do with all my saws). The saw has all the power I need. By always supporting longer lumber with infeed and outfeed rollers,I have no trouble getting the job done. The miter gage is flimsy and I added a longer wooden fence to it right away. The rip fence locks positively. The dust bag is a must since it collects a lot of saw dust. In my experience this saw can do a good job as long as you handle it properly. Since it is all around much lighter than a contractor saw, you have to pay attention to the way you handle the wood and not be in a hurry. The corresponding Dewalt, Bosh and Ridgid models are better but cost 3 times as much. If you, like me, are on a budget, I would definitely recommend the Ryobi. The two pictures are about a new firewood platform which I entirely made with this saw.
Pros: Powerful, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Oviedo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Table Saw

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Ryobi 10" Portable Table Saw with Stand was easily assembled by following the instructions. It is pretty sturdy for being so light, and has easily handled making the precision cuts I have be doing. I love that it has the sliding extension table, allowing for up to 30 inch cuts on the right. This table saw is perfect for setting up to do multiple identical rips, which is exactly what I purchased it for - but it is also capable of doing much more. A big plus for this table saw is that while it is capable of doing pretty large cuts, it is small enough to hide away in the corner of your garage when not in use.
I would highly recommend this Table Saw for the homeowner or hobbyist who is in need of a Table Saw for light to medium work. The problem with those individuals who are giving this Table Saw a bad review is that they purchased it to do more than what it was designed for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Long Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bad saw at all...

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My old, trusty table saw failed in the middle of a project, and with my shallow pockets, I had to compromise to replace it. I had several other Ryobi, small power tools in my tool locker, and after seeing the saw in the store and reading some reviews, I plunked down my money.
First, the motor is very powerful, well suspended and hasrelatively low vibration for such a lightweight saw. The electronic brake/direct drive system improves safety a great deal as does the excellent riving knife/blade carrier set up. The angle lock lever is a bit hard to reach, behind the lowering wheel, but it's not hard to get used to. The lowering wheel works very smoothly. In addition, the fence is nicely designed and quite accurate, with a solid two-point lockdown.
The caveats have to do with the use of a proprietary, sub-sized track system for the miter gauge. It's a 5/8" track, which rendered all my 3/4" track jigs and devices unusable -- however, with some very careful use of my drill press, I tossed the cheap plastic miter gauge and adapted the protractor off my Incra Gauge to this saw, with wonderful; results. See my images below. I also found 5/8" track feather boards available online. The saw's included anti-kickback system is terrible, so I will also toss that, but I will use the blade guard, which works very nicely. As far as accuracy, cutting hardwood flooring and mouldings, the saw performed as well as my old one, despite the remining slop in the miter tracks, which I'll figure out how to fix. If you;re handy, this isn;t a bad saw at all, and for an old guy, the lighter weight is actually a blessing. It's not a jobsite tool, but for the careful hobbyist, it is the best saw for the money.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: t-track undersized, throw-out miter gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from St Peters, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw, great price

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Am in the middle of a kitchen remodel and needed a table saw. I did a lot of checking and was aprehensive about getting this one. Lots of mixed reviews. I can only speak for myself Its a great saw. Can you cut crown molding with it? No. I used the miter portion to cut base trim board and as long as you take your time, its great. Its durable, great value and plenty of power. It will bog down if you try and force your wood through at a high rate of speed, but I had no problem ripping plywood, 2x4's etc. If you know how to use a saw, this is a great unit. Buying at HD is a bonus. If you're not happy with it, take it back! I give it 2 thumbs up.
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from York, PA

Great tool. great price

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this saw back in June, have been using it heavily for 5 months. Ripping a lot of 2x4s, 2x6s and one by-s. Also have used it for crown molding and cabinet making and engineered hardwood flooring. I have not had any problems with it at all. It is a great saw at a great price. I read a lot of reviews at Home Depot, Lowes and Harbor Freight. Based on everything I read I found this saw to be the most accurate in its price range the most problem free. I have made the right choice. I buy the extended warranty on this saw, I read some reviews which stated that one of the adjusting knobs sometimes breaks off. I found it was cheaper to buy this saw with and extended warranty than to step up the next higher priced saw which has less complaints of knobs breaking off.
Great saw, glad a bought it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw - does exactly what I need

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do a lot of projects around the house, and I never knew how much easier it could be with good tools. I have always fussed about never cutting the same length board twice - and this fixed it! I love the cutting guide and that it telescopes out to make long cuts. This is a great value for the cost.
I am saving for a dado blade - then I will be the shelf master!
My only con was that you had to read the instructions to build it and it took me forever to figure out how to turn it on - that you NEEDED the yellow key. I thought the key was a safety to keep it from turning on. DOH!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from College Station, TX

Pay attention to the reviews!

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all the reviews, then promptly ignored them. I bought this saw and before I ever plugged it in, the bevel lock lever broke. Just like multiple reviewers before me.
The bevel lock mechanisim is a "pinch lock" - pushing the arm down causes it to ride up on the suspect piece, applying a lot of pressure to lock the bevel angle in place. Way too much pressure for the plastic cam washer that bears all that force.
Home Depot will be will served by removing these from stock - they are probably going to see a lot of returns for this failure. I will say that the return experience was easy as pie, they are good folks to work with.
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from philadelphia {A
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TABLE SAW UPGRADE

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was to be a replacement for an older table saw that the motor burned out. Instead it was a giant upgrade to the old one. It has many safety features that the old one didn't. it was easy to assemble and use. it is much more sturdy than I had expected.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife bought this saw for me 1 year and 3 months ago for Christmas. I only do DIY stuff around the house and have only used this saw maybe 20 or 25 times at the most. Well today the saw motor locked up and will no longer turn the blade. Determined it was the motor after smelling a burning smell and smoke from underneath the saw. I have a lot of experience with power tools and woodworking and would expect a $200 saw to last longer than this. It may be cheap but it is cheap for a reason. Spend a little more money now, because after checking prices for the motor it will be $165.00 for just the motor and that would be me replacing it myself.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Louisiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Miter Slot. No attention to detail.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The table does have a decent fence so long as you don't cut past the center portion of the table top. The miter slots are terrible. They are non-standard size, have play in them, and require an upside down "T" shaped bar to fit inside. I can't find that bar anywhere online and the one attached to a miter gauge doesn't fit snuggly in the slot. It can move over 1/8 of an inch in either direction and twist a few degrees either way because of this. Unless you plan to use this saw exclusively for construction site rough cuts for building foundations or something that doesn't require precision, I'd pass on picking this saw up.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from ut

Plastic parts fail

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade tilt mechanism has a plastic washer which failed. This part is critical for safe operation of the tool and without it, it is unusable as designed. The replacement part is no better.
Would I use this tool as designed? NO
Would I loan it to anyone? NO
Would I recommend anyone buy this regardless of price? NO
Other parts such as the miter gauge are very poor in design with no upgrade options but until the blade tilt mech is addressed, those problems do not matter. If a metal part was made avaliable, I might trust it but NOT PLASTIC.
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Chesapeake, VA

Plastic parts?

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great price, and it worked great at first but I only got 4 months use out of it before the plastic parts to ajust the angle broke. Now the knob that raises the blade is stripped out. Its worthless now. If you buy it be sure to buy the warranty.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Long Island

Broke before I plugged it in...

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As per prior reviews, when I adjsted the bevel angle after taking it out of the box, the plastic washer snapped in half and shot across the garage. The handle cannot be tightened, thus making the saw useless. Unbelievable that this washer is not metal, probably would have cost 2 cents more per saw. I would not recommend this even for light/occasional use. I went to the local store to adjust the floor model and SNAP!! Same thing happened. The other similar RYOBI saw next to it was already missing the same washer. It would be a mistake to buy this saw unless this flaw is fixed.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight and easy to move around. Truly portable with folding legs. Large table extension and good locking fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand

Not for the serious shop

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this table saw and thought it would be a good way to have a table saw without shelling out too much money...I am just getting into DIY and wood working so didn't want to go buy a $1000 saw. It had no issues as far as functionality goes, however when my projects started calling for fine tuned accuracy this saw failed. If all you are looking for is the ability to rip large pieces of wood or to be able to bring a table saw to various job sites then you might be fine. Do yourself a favor and save up for a better saw. I took this saw back to Home Depot and they were great about giving me a store credit which I used to buy the Dewalt model.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from California

Get the newest version...there's two versions!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
My sisters bought this for me as a Christmas gift. The compression washer that is on the bevel leaver broke in half before I even got to plug in the saw! I returned it today to home depot (easy returns as usual). I walked through the tool isle again and found the same model, but slightly updated. They changed the way you adjust the bevel from the stupid plastic lever to a dial that you can turn to tighten the bevel adjustment. The dial looked more durable and is similar to the way other brands work (dewalt, craftsman, etc). HD was out of stock of the saw, but I'll go back and get the newest version soon.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Maine, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Homeowner- maybe, Contractor - not recommended

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought two of these recently because they are cheap. Along with three other Ryobi saws (different models) which are taking up space in my job trailer and shop. They are not built very well, plastic parts snap easily. Of the two that I have of this model, one the height adjustment handle broke within a couple weeks and the entire knob within a month. The other one the height adjustment is bound up and can be moved (barely) with a set of vice grips. Rip fence is kind of cheasy as well, must be checked and rechecked and can easily be knocked out of whack mid-cut. If you are a homeowner who will be using this saw a few times a year, you'll probably be all right. As for a daily use jobsite saw, they don't hold up. The stand is pretty rickety as well, not ideal for a table saw.
Cons: Not Durable, wobbly stand, cheap plastic adjustment controls
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw for the PRice

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to install 300sqft of laminate flooring. Went through 15 cases and all cuts worked out perfect. Had to cut ends and both sides to fit, saw worked flawlessly start to finish.
Really appreciated the attachments and dust bag. The collapsible stand makes it easy to store and setup.
In all, a nice saw for the price.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from Vermont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Happy with Product

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did a lot of research before deciding on the Ryobi RTS21 with the portable stand. Assembly was fairly straight forward following the directions. As a handyman I was looking for a saw and stand that were compact and easy to assemble / disassemble ..I chose the right one. It takes me less than 30 seconds open the stand , put the saw on top and 1/4 turn the locking tabs...plug it in and I am ready to work. The other competitive models had the saws permanently attached to the stands - not compact and if you only want to use the saw without the stand it would not be worth the trouble. This Ryobi model takes up very little space in my vehicle too. The guard and pawls are a plus and easy to remove if necessary. The out feed extension works well too. The saw was accurate right out of the box. I like the ability to cut up to 27"- most of the more expensive units could only cut from 18" to 24" to the right of the blade. I am very happy with this unit and will use it on every job.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, on-board storage for miter gauge + push stick
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Stand
from New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok saw for the homeowner

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this saw to replace an old portable table saw. The saw has a plastic base that attaches to the metal table top. There is too much plastic that can break on this saw therefore I gave it an average rating.
All you need to do is drop it, have it slide around in the bed of a truck, or have something fall on it for it to become an expensive paper weight. Besides the plastic parts, the saw worked well and got the job done. I ran it for 3 hrs on the first use making many cuts. My opinion is this tool is ok for a homeowner looking to use it a couple times a year. Otherwise, I would suggest a more expensive saw for twice the money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>