728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

RIDGID continues to provide best-in-class features on this table-top tile saw. The fence is simply the best on the market. The T-square design sets up securely for repeatable cuts and slides effortlessly when adjustments are needed. It also extends forward.
Overall rating:
4.045 / 5
4
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product52 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product52 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Review 1 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
MikeB
from Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great saw.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw for the portability. I don't do much tile work but when I do it's usually a pretty good amount. I got tired of renting saws so I figure for the cost of about 3 or 4 days of renting I could pay for this saw. I have done 2 full baths and a mud room entrance so far and it worked great. Had a little problem with chip out with porcelain tiles but after getting the guide in line perfect with the blade that problem went away. Also got a little wet in the beginning but if u move the guard up as high as it can go in the back it was very dry.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
FirstTimeBuyer
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Excellent wet saw, cut 18"X18" porcelain tile in 2 minutes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would like to share my happy experiences using this wet saw with those who is searching a good wet saw.
First, the motor is below table, so the cutting wheel does not wobble a lot because motor base frame is fixed inside table and doesn't move, and the lower weight center compare to other wet saw that has a motor above the table. My cutting groove width is 3/32" (2.4 mm)
Next, put your tile face down to reduce tile chip at edge. I cut a MARAZZI Artisan Donatello 18" X 18" porcelain tile, I got edge chip less than 1/128" (0.2 mm) when face down, but large than 5/128" (1.0 mm) when face up. Another advantage for face down is the tile moves smooth at table. To avoid big chip at end of cutting, start cut tile 1/2" long at one side (face up), then turn your tile over to facedown to cut the other side.
Pull your tile when cutting, do not pushing. Pull the tile gentlly, do not too hard, the cutting speed is around 9"/min.
Set water level no more than 1.5" height. There is a water level mark inside water tank, but it is not so easy to be seen. As long as you set water level lower than max line, it won't splash. Some reviewers said they need a rain coat for this wet saw, maybe they poured too much water into the tank. I tried to add 0.5" more water, then the saw starts to splash.
The rib guide is not well designed for good alignment. I sovled this issue and got perfect alignment by attaching a 1/32" thick (0.8 mm), 3/16" (5 mm) wide metal piece to the tilt side of black plastic inside locking lever. You need do similar adjustment according to how much misalignment your rib guide is.
The splash hood bracket must be installed in the same plane with cutting wheel. Otherwise, tiles will be jammed between the bracket and cutting wheel, or add friction if one of cutting groove touches the bracket . Use a ruler to help install the bracket in same plane with cutting wheel.
This wet saw can be extented to cut tile size larger than 18"X18" if two people work together.
At last, use a pair of rubber gloves to reduce electric shock risk if no GFCI outlet is available.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective, cutting wheel is stable
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install, rib guide need a better design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
HandyAndyCA

Sturdy, uncomplicated, light, compact and precise...

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a remodel contractor and do tile 3 to 4 times a year. I usually rent at 50 to 200 a pop. For 200 I can do most of the small jobs with this small saw and not need a truck or go to the Chiropractor to haul it .
The saw was super easy to set up and accurate after a 30 second adjustment. Ready to go in 15 minutes. The motor was powerful enough to cut tile easily without slowing at all. The water mist did not make a mess. I was in clean new clothes and they still look perfect. I used the tray tilt up to put a 45 on the end of the tile. Very sturdy safe and accurate. You just cant go wrong with this saw. !!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Tilemaster
from Middletown, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I tried using this saw to rip cut 12"x24" into 6"x24" tiles and could not get a straight cut out of the saw, no matter what the feed rate was. The st

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We tried using this saw to rip cut 12"x24" into 6"x24" tiles and could not get a straight cut out of the saw, no matter what the feed rate was. The stock fence is a two piece affair very inaccurate running out over 3/16" end to end. We then tried clamping a long aluminum straight edge to the table and the blade flex and it was determined that interference from the blade guard/water spray stop still hampered a straight cut. We wasted a lot of $ in man-hours and materials trying to get the saw to perform correctly. Definately not my favorite piece of equipment!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Oldharleyguy57
from Sturgis, MI

All around a great saw for the money

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this Rigid 7 inch tile saw to put the tile in our new kitchen between the counter top and the upper cabinets and around the stove area. I only had about 23 sq ft to do but it would have been a nightmare without this saw. It worked flawlessly and make perfect cuts every time even when on taking an 1/8 inch or less off the tile. Would highly recommend to anyone even if it is only a one time job like mine. It's a win/win you get a great saw that makes the job easy and you have it for life with no worries with the Rigid Lifetime Warranty, I don't know why anyone would buy any tool other than Rigid.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Mike
from North Bend, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value in a Portable table tile saw

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently bought this saw for a new bathroom we are building out. Used it for various types of cuts on 18" porcelain tile and mosaic slate and glass pencil tile used as upper border. Overall, this saw did great. Easy to set up and use, and the quality of cut was very good. I was skeptical whether this saw would be able to cut the mosaic slate and glass pencil tile that we had for the border. This was a HARD item to cut without either breaking/chipping the glass or flaking the slate. However, the saw did awesome-as long as you went slow with steady pressure, the cuts were clean and straight with ZERO breaking/chipping/flaking. Same applies to porcelain tile, whereby it DID chip along the cut line on my initial test cut. When I slowed down the rate of feed of the tile to the cutting blade, the cuts were smooth and even. I am VERY happy with this saw and I think it is an excellent value.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
jayman2112
from Olympia, WA

Great mid-level tile saw

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my second tiling project. My first project involved borrowing one of those cheap $79 saws, and while it did the job pretty well, it wasn't the most joyous of tools to use (understatement). Trust me, the extra $100 or so is money well spent.
The cast aluminum, grooved platform is nice and sturdy, and it channels water away from your work. The fence is very easy to adjust and was dead-on accurate right out of the box, but I always double-check with a measuring tape before cutting anyway. The motor is more than capable of cutting stone tile, never binding once on me.
While obviously not a professional model, for the DIY'er it's a great saw for the money. If, like me, you have a portable miter saw stand, you can mount it to that (the Ridgid stand was a perfect match). I agree with the reviewer who stated the miter gauge doesn't work for small tile, but there's probably a workaround if you're creative. Overall I'm very pleased with the purchase.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Honey

Great wetsaw for the DIYer!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm really glad I bought this saw. Cuts straight and accurate even at 1/16th of an inch. I would like the gate to be secure at the other end but I didn't have any problems with it moving. The blade is sharp and didn't leave any jagged edges. I wish the table and gate were a little wider to allow the gate to expand more. There was a few times where I had to freehand the cut but the saw still worked great. When marking lines on your tile make sure to use a thin Sharpie marker. A standard Sharpie will be to thick which might throw you off an 1/8" when cutting. I was cutting porcelain and ceramic. Great saw for the money and DIYer.
NOTE: To avoid chipping when cutting a tile, cut about 1 inch of the opposite side first then back it out and flip over and complete the cut.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
homefixer
from Utah, USA

worth every penny

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the home tiler, this saw works very well. After a couple hundred cuts in glass and ceramic, I can say it delivers. Motor does not bog down, blade speed is constant, water supply very easily accessed to refill or clean and appears very sturdy and hopefully long lasting. Use mostly free hand but the miter gauge works OK. Only 2 issues: the water plug should be a screw plug as the push plug tends to leak (be careful to not abrade the washer with glass/stone debris). Also if cutting glass BUY A GLASS BLADE. The supplied blade seems fine for ceramic, but rough cuts/ chips glass. Water spray is diminished by lowering the guard, but get an apron too to keep spray off clothes. Very happy with the saw. Worth the extra money
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
littletooter

Nice saw for small projects.

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This saw has worked well and is very easy to use. The handle and cord-wrap are great features. Be careful with the aluminum top - it can mark up the surface of your tile. I put some masking tape on the top to keep this from happening.
Pros: Looks Great
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
GUnit

Incredible Quality and Value

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW! Folks, if you're skimming through all these great reviews wondering if you should buy... DO IT!!! You won't regret it. I bought this tile saw to lend to my "friends" so they would stop borrowing my $1k+ professional saw for their home DIY projects.
I, of course, used it first and boy was I surprised with the fit and finish. Cuts were amazing (nice stock blade). And cleanup was almost unnecessary due to its ingenious design.
I've lent this little monster out for DIY projects to 6 different people in the last 3 months (1 blade change) and they all loved it. I mention this not to highlight their opinions of the saw, but to note that it's kept up with daily use (almost) for 3 months and hasn't shown any fatigue at all (remember, this is only a "small project" saw).
Only one tiny hiccup with the included stand... if you've put it together (correctly) and it wobbles, don't worry. Simply seat the saw on top and spread the legs by giving one of the feet (either left or right) a little kick outwards. And VOILA, solid as a rock!
Bravo Ridgid and Home Depot... BRAVO!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
DERF
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT VALUE Lots of saw for the price

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a serious handyman/re-modeler with a lot a expensive tools-but never have owned a tile saw because where I buy tile--they loan or rent expensive rail guided wet saws for $10-15/day or free. On this job had the need to cut 3/16" porcelain tile that was 40 inches long and cost in excess of $60/tile. Only way I know to cut this size tile is with a fixed blade table saw.
Based on lot of product reviews from number of sources, decided to forgo the under $100 saws, and try the Home Depot brand for $200. For me the decision worked out better than expected----had 0 bad cuts/ruined tile!
Pros
Inexpensive
Sturdy/accurate table fence
Motor with more than enough power
Blade cut over 1000 inches of tile and still works (bought an additional much more expensive blade but did not need and returned it)
Easy to set up (need to carefully check rotation of blade once installed for proper centering on shaft)
Comes with own stand (I did not need to use it as I had a portable chop saw stand that was easy to convert to a wet saw stand with feed table)
Blade water guard really does work
Cons
Hole in saw blade is larger than motor shaft and centering on shaft is not automatic
Need to cut/notch the opposite side of cut line to avoid breakout at the finish of cut. (virtually impossible to make clean cut on tile of any length/weight without the cutting the other side of cut line with saw before full cutting. This is due to difficulty in putting equal pressure on both side of the tile cut line, and as the cut is nearing completion the unequal pressure breaks the last part instead of the saw cutting it. With rail guided saws, the tile is fixed and the saw moves with no breakout at the end)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Koop
from Albany, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tile saw for the DIY crowd.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this saw as a replacement for a cheap saw that, dispite changing blades, failed to deliver a quality cut. Yes, its about $100 more than the El Cheapos - but its worth every penny. Saw delivers very precise cuts, no chipping (can reproduce the factory edge with a stone sanding block), and you don't need a raincoat to operate it. Wish I bought this saw the first time.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
AVINCENT
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts thick granite tile easy!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The saw works awesome even though I bought a different continuous blade for it, fast cutting and "no strain" on the motor at all with thick granite tile! I can only assume that normal tile will be a breeze and cut like butter. The thing I like the most and I will repeat is there was no strain on the motor at all cutting granite. It is also not that messy as long as shield is down, it keeps water very well contained.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Dave

Not good for miters

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I read the reviews and bought this saw based on them. If you are cutting large tiles and making straight cuts it is fine. However, I am doing a back splash on a 45 degree with 4 inch tiles. The miter guide is to tall and hits the blade hood when you move it in to cut the tile in half. Moving it out of the road causes water to be thrown everywhere. The hood is large and clear but once you make your first cut the water is so cloudy you can no longer see the cut lines thru the hood. Again requiring you to raise it out of the road and you get another bath. It makes straight cuts and has enough power to cut the 1 inch thick decorative borders but again you have to free hand the 45's which is messy. Despite the review concerns on set up I wish I had spent the extra money on the Ryobi. I know I can set it up to cut straight and having a workable miter would be worth it. I took 2 stars off for poor design issues.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
CZZZ

Caveat Emptor - BUYER BEWARE

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rip guide is a joke. Not square, and will NOT cut any type of angles correctly. After attempting to cut 6" square tiles to a 45*, they came out roughly 1/8" off on one corner when compared to a speed square.
Can I fix the rip guide myself? Yes. But that's not why I spent an extra 100 bucks on this saw.
If you're buying a table style saw, just by a cheap Ryobi - it will perform the exact same as this one. Read the reviews, there are many many more like mine - I didn't listen to them, and as a result spent an extra few hours hand marking and hand cutting tiles. Saw was promptly returned after job was done
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
JFKII
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tile saw with some of the tips here

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sounds like some professionals or at least very experienced folks recommended this saw here in the reviews, so that was enough for me.
Pros:
The construction is quite solid.
It doesn't get too wet unless you fill the reservoir all the way up to the max fill level. Go for half way.
It cuts relatively clean if you take it slow and are ssymmetric with applying pressure to both sides of your cut. I did get some chips at the end of some cuts but was able to minimize it with technique.
Relatively light weight and a handle.
Can do bevel cuts at 22.5 and 45 degrees and miter cuts though I have not tested this.
Cons:
The rip guide does not have great alignment by virtue of the design and manufacturing process. You can correct this witha thin metal shim. You could also usea clamp on the other side to ensure the guide doesn't move if you really need a perfect cut. Mine did not need to be perfect but looked straight to me without a shim or clamp.
The tile must be slid on the surface of the saw unlike more expensive tile saws. This is the main thing keeping you from perfect cuts. At least that is what I think.
All in all this isa safe bet if you will be doing a few moderate tile jobs. I am doing my kitchen (120 Sq ft). If that was it, I would rent one, but I will be doing both bathrooms in the near future, so this was the best bet. I am happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Bourgeois
from Duluth,MN

Glad I Have It

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A good quality saw with all the adjustments I need. A large work surface for stability yet transports easily. Does what I've wanted and I'm glad I have it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Seatman
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Tile saw for the price.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before choosing this saw. Not too familiar with thr "RIDGID" brand, but this item seems great for the money. I used it to cut granite 12" x 12" tiles, as well as regular ceramic & porcelain It did an awesome job. The wet box is a very clever design, the Fence and slide is as nice as some of the $300.00 saws.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Patti
from pittsburgh

easy set up and use.

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is so much easier to use than those big old wet saws . I've used several other types of tile/glass cutters but this worked better than any thing I've tried before,
No more setting up the saw outside and and running up and down steps . You can set it up right in the room you are working in. It doesn't make a mess,It cut my limestone tiles without chipping and cleaned up in about 5 minutes.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>