728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

RIDGID continues to provide best-in-class features on this table-top tile saw. The fence is simply the best on the market. The T-square design sets up securely for repeatable cuts and slides effortlessly when adjustments are needed. It also extends forward.
Overall rating:
4.09 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product61 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(17)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product61 of 77reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Review 1 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from North Dakota, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband bought me this saw since I was trying to tile y kitchen and a cutting the glass tile with a hand cutter. It worked perfectly on all the tile I ran through the saw. My design had a mixture of stone, ceramic, glass and stainless steel. It cut from one to another without any trouble. My kitchen turned out great and I did it all myself!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Oakland, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inspiring me to Greater Tiling

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was such fun to use, it cut smooth and made the job of tiling my bathtub so much more fun than I expected. It is always good to have the right tools. I am dreaming of my next tile job.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality and Affordable Tile Saw

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently needed a tile saw for a small half-bath project, and wanted something that is high quality, yet compact and portable. My budget was $200. After researching many table top models, I quickly ruled out the ultra-cheap table top saws with steel tops, poor quality blades and low-power motors. The Ridgid Jobsite Tabletop Tile Saw rose to the top of my list. After using the Ridgid Tile Saw for the bath project, I'm very impressed with it's performance.
With an aluminum top, 6.5 amp (1.06 hp) motor, and a quality diamond tip blade, the Ridgid Jobsite Tile Saw is a high quality product and perfect for small to medium sized projects. The only slight problem I experienced was the splash cover bracket (behind the blade) needs to be precisely aligned to avoid problems while ripping full length tiles. You also need to push slowly at the end of a cut to avoid chipping the corner of the tile. Overall I am very pleased and highly recommended the product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy
Cons: be careful for chipping at end of cut
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Simsboro, LA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Tile Saw

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at several brands and price ranges of tile saws, I read the many reviews and I chose the Ridgid Model R4020. This saw performs well. The table is aluminum with ridges and gutter that directs the cooling water back into the reservoir. Included is a "Rip Fence" that has a T-handle design that, when locked down, is square to the cutting blade. The only thing I can see that should have been designed better is the tilting bevel table. When this feature is utilized, there's no way to use the "Rip fence", because it can only be attached to the main part of the table edge. this would be beneficial, I believe, because the bevel cut allows bullnose pieces to be fabricated from standard tiles. Other than this, the saw is well designed and easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: bevel table could have a better design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great saw.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw for the portability. I don't do much tile work but when I do it's usually a pretty good amount. I got tired of renting saws so I figure for the cost of about 3 or 4 days of renting I could pay for this saw. I have done 2 full baths and a mud room entrance so far and it worked great. Had a little problem with chip out with porcelain tiles but after getting the guide in line perfect with the blade that problem went away. Also got a little wet in the beginning but if u move the guard up as high as it can go in the back it was very dry.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Bathroom Tile

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am very impressed with this saw. I have a couple of ridgid tools and find them to be above average quality and generally a very good value for the money. I looked at many saws before settling on the Ridgid. I have to say I have been very impressed. Easy essembly, easy opperation, quality results, easy clean up. I mean what more are you looking for. I think this tool will last years. Cross your fingers so far so good.
I would recomend this product.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Missouri, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incomplete

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have not used the product yet. I was unhappy with set up and instructions that went with it. I had seen the other reviews previous to assembly. So I was extra careful with the screws. I still managed to strip 2 of the 4 plastic holes on the saw alignment . I am not a professional, but I have used power tools for 40 years. I was surprised that the cutting motor was not aligned and ready for use. The plastic mounts were a disappointment for a saw in this price range, especially if you are going to have to realign the motor again and again. It may turn out to be a great saw. I have four to five hundred square feet of tile to lay and have not started the project yet. So I have no information to impart on that part yet.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor instructions for motor alignment
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unacceptable Design Flaw

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The flaw in this saw is that the rip fence secures only on one end, and the single clamp does not hold the fence parallel to the blade but forces it to a slight angle. This results in angled cuts. They ruined an otherwise good saw to save a buck.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: rip fence
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

Sturdy, uncomplicated, light, compact and precise...

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a remodel contractor and do tile 3 to 4 times a year. I usually rent at 50 to 200 a pop. For 200 I can do most of the small jobs with this small saw and not need a truck or go to the Chiropractor to haul it .
The saw was super easy to set up and accurate after a 30 second adjustment. Ready to go in 15 minutes. The motor was powerful enough to cut tile easily without slowing at all. The water mist did not make a mess. I was in clean new clothes and they still look perfect. I used the tray tilt up to put a 45 on the end of the tile. Very sturdy safe and accurate. You just cant go wrong with this saw. !!!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Sturgis, MI

All around a great saw for the money

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this Rigid 7 inch tile saw to put the tile in our new kitchen between the counter top and the upper cabinets and around the stove area. I only had about 23 sq ft to do but it would have been a nightmare without this saw. It worked flawlessly and make perfect cuts every time even when on taking an 1/8 inch or less off the tile. Would highly recommend to anyone even if it is only a one time job like mine. It's a win/win you get a great saw that makes the job easy and you have it for life with no worries with the Rigid Lifetime Warranty, I don't know why anyone would buy any tool other than Rigid.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Middletown, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I tried using this saw to rip cut 12"x24" into 6"x24" tiles and could not get a straight cut out of the saw, no matter what the feed rate was. The st

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We tried using this saw to rip cut 12"x24" into 6"x24" tiles and could not get a straight cut out of the saw, no matter what the feed rate was. The stock fence is a two piece affair very inaccurate running out over 3/16" end to end. We then tried clamping a long aluminum straight edge to the table and the blade flex and it was determined that interference from the blade guard/water spray stop still hampered a straight cut. We wasted a lot of $ in man-hours and materials trying to get the saw to perform correctly. Definately not my favorite piece of equipment!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from North Bend, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value in a Portable table tile saw

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently bought this saw for a new bathroom we are building out. Used it for various types of cuts on 18" porcelain tile and mosaic slate and glass pencil tile used as upper border. Overall, this saw did great. Easy to set up and use, and the quality of cut was very good. I was skeptical whether this saw would be able to cut the mosaic slate and glass pencil tile that we had for the border. This was a HARD item to cut without either breaking/chipping the glass or flaking the slate. However, the saw did awesome-as long as you went slow with steady pressure, the cuts were clean and straight with ZERO breaking/chipping/flaking. Same applies to porcelain tile, whereby it DID chip along the cut line on my initial test cut. When I slowed down the rate of feed of the tile to the cutting blade, the cuts were smooth and even. I am VERY happy with this saw and I think it is an excellent value.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Excellent wet saw, cut 18"X18" porcelain tile in 2 minutes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would like to share my happy experiences using this wet saw with those who is searching a good wet saw.
First, the motor is below table, so the cutting wheel does not wobble a lot because motor base frame is fixed inside table and doesn't move, and the lower weight center compare to other wet saw that has a motor above the table. My cutting groove width is 3/32" (2.4 mm)
Next, put your tile face down to reduce tile chip at edge. I cut a MARAZZI Artisan Donatello 18" X 18" porcelain tile, I got edge chip less than 1/128" (0.2 mm) when face down, but large than 5/128" (1.0 mm) when face up. Another advantage for face down is the tile moves smooth at table. To avoid big chip at end of cutting, start cut tile 1/2" long at one side (face up), then turn your tile over to facedown to cut the other side.
Pull your tile when cutting, do not pushing. Pull the tile gentlly, do not too hard, the cutting speed is around 9"/min.
Set water level no more than 1.5" height. There is a water level mark inside water tank, but it is not so easy to be seen. As long as you set water level lower than max line, it won't splash. Some reviewers said they need a rain coat for this wet saw, maybe they poured too much water into the tank. I tried to add 0.5" more water, then the saw starts to splash.
The rib guide is not well designed for good alignment. I sovled this issue and got perfect alignment by attaching a 1/32" thick (0.8 mm), 3/16" (5 mm) wide metal piece to the tilt side of black plastic inside locking lever. You need do similar adjustment according to how much misalignment your rib guide is.
The splash hood bracket must be installed in the same plane with cutting wheel. Otherwise, tiles will be jammed between the bracket and cutting wheel, or add friction if one of cutting groove touches the bracket . Use a ruler to help install the bracket in same plane with cutting wheel.
This wet saw can be extented to cut tile size larger than 18"X18" if two people work together.
At last, use a pair of rubber gloves to reduce electric shock risk if no GFCI outlet is available.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective, cutting wheel is stable
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install, rib guide need a better design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Olympia, WA

Great mid-level tile saw

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my second tiling project. My first project involved borrowing one of those cheap $79 saws, and while it did the job pretty well, it wasn't the most joyous of tools to use (understatement). Trust me, the extra $100 or so is money well spent.
The cast aluminum, grooved platform is nice and sturdy, and it channels water away from your work. The fence is very easy to adjust and was dead-on accurate right out of the box, but I always double-check with a measuring tape before cutting anyway. The motor is more than capable of cutting stone tile, never binding once on me.
While obviously not a professional model, for the DIY'er it's a great saw for the money. If, like me, you have a portable miter saw stand, you can mount it to that (the Ridgid stand was a perfect match). I agree with the reviewer who stated the miter gauge doesn't work for small tile, but there's probably a workaround if you're creative. Overall I'm very pleased with the purchase.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

Incredible Quality and Value

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW! Folks, if you're skimming through all these great reviews wondering if you should buy... DO IT!!! You won't regret it. I bought this tile saw to lend to my "friends" so they would stop borrowing my $1k+ professional saw for their home DIY projects.
I, of course, used it first and boy was I surprised with the fit and finish. Cuts were amazing (nice stock blade). And cleanup was almost unnecessary due to its ingenious design.
I've lent this little monster out for DIY projects to 6 different people in the last 3 months (1 blade change) and they all loved it. I mention this not to highlight their opinions of the saw, but to note that it's kept up with daily use (almost) for 3 months and hasn't shown any fatigue at all (remember, this is only a "small project" saw).
Only one tiny hiccup with the included stand... if you've put it together (correctly) and it wobbles, don't worry. Simply seat the saw on top and spread the legs by giving one of the feet (either left or right) a little kick outwards. And VOILA, solid as a rock!
Bravo Ridgid and Home Depot... BRAVO!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT VALUE Lots of saw for the price

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a serious handyman/re-modeler with a lot a expensive tools-but never have owned a tile saw because where I buy tile--they loan or rent expensive rail guided wet saws for $10-15/day or free. On this job had the need to cut 3/16" porcelain tile that was 40 inches long and cost in excess of $60/tile. Only way I know to cut this size tile is with a fixed blade table saw.
Based on lot of product reviews from number of sources, decided to forgo the under $100 saws, and try the Home Depot brand for $200. For me the decision worked out better than expected----had 0 bad cuts/ruined tile!
Pros
Inexpensive
Sturdy/accurate table fence
Motor with more than enough power
Blade cut over 1000 inches of tile and still works (bought an additional much more expensive blade but did not need and returned it)
Easy to set up (need to carefully check rotation of blade once installed for proper centering on shaft)
Comes with own stand (I did not need to use it as I had a portable chop saw stand that was easy to convert to a wet saw stand with feed table)
Blade water guard really does work
Cons
Hole in saw blade is larger than motor shaft and centering on shaft is not automatic
Need to cut/notch the opposite side of cut line to avoid breakout at the finish of cut. (virtually impossible to make clean cut on tile of any length/weight without the cutting the other side of cut line with saw before full cutting. This is due to difficulty in putting equal pressure on both side of the tile cut line, and as the cut is nearing completion the unequal pressure breaks the last part instead of the saw cutting it. With rail guided saws, the tile is fixed and the saw moves with no breakout at the end)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cuts like a champ

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After returning the other brand This saw was a treat to use. Ripped through 16 x 3/8 tile no problem. Easy to get up a running. Great value
Pros: Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

Nice saw for small projects.

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This saw has worked well and is very easy to use. The handle and cord-wrap are great features. Be careful with the aluminum top - it can mark up the surface of your tile. I put some masking tape on the top to keep this from happening.
Pros: Looks Great
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Westmont, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for general tile cutting

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to set up and worked like a charm cutting glass and stone matted tiles for a kitchen backsplash
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

Not good for miters

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I read the reviews and bought this saw based on them. If you are cutting large tiles and making straight cuts it is fine. However, I am doing a back splash on a 45 degree with 4 inch tiles. The miter guide is to tall and hits the blade hood when you move it in to cut the tile in half. Moving it out of the road causes water to be thrown everywhere. The hood is large and clear but once you make your first cut the water is so cloudy you can no longer see the cut lines thru the hood. Again requiring you to raise it out of the road and you get another bath. It makes straight cuts and has enough power to cut the 1 inch thick decorative borders but again you have to free hand the 45's which is messy. Despite the review concerns on set up I wish I had spent the extra money on the Ryobi. I know I can set it up to cut straight and having a workable miter would be worth it. I took 2 stars off for poor design issues.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>