728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

RIDGID continues to provide best-in-class features on this table-top tile saw. With a 6.5 amp, 1-1/4 HP motor it can power through tough materials. The fence is simply the best on the market. The T-square design sets up securely for repeatable cuts and slides effortlessly when adjustments are needed. It also extends forward.
Overall rating:
4.042 / 5
4
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product75 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(21)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(10)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product75 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Review 1 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from North Dakota, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband bought me this saw since I was trying to tile y kitchen and a cutting the glass tile with a hand cutter. It worked perfectly on all the tile I ran through the saw. My design had a mixture of stone, ceramic, glass and stainless steel. It cut from one to another without any trouble. My kitchen turned out great and I did it all myself!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unacceptable Design Flaw

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The flaw in this saw is that the rip fence secures only on one end, and the single clamp does not hold the fence parallel to the blade but forces it to a slight angle. This results in angled cuts. They ruined an otherwise good saw to save a buck.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: rip fence
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This a great tile saw for the do-it yourselfers. The motor and blade are high quality but be sure while feeding the tile into the saw, the feed rate is appropriate (don't force the tile through - let the blade do the work). Definitely make a preliminary 1/2" cut at the end of the tile line, flip the tile over and start on the opposite end to finish the cut. This way there is no chipping on the tile face or edges. Downfall is water tends to spray due to blade spin but this should be expected when using this kind of equipment. Also, the angle guide supplied is not worth the hassle to use. I preferred scribing a line and cutting by eye if there were angled cuts. I wish I bought this sooner for my first bathroom projects.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Oakland, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inspiring me to Greater Tiling

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was such fun to use, it cut smooth and made the job of tiling my bathtub so much more fun than I expected. It is always good to have the right tools. I am dreaming of my next tile job.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality and Affordable Tile Saw

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently needed a tile saw for a small half-bath project, and wanted something that is high quality, yet compact and portable. My budget was $200. After researching many table top models, I quickly ruled out the ultra-cheap table top saws with steel tops, poor quality blades and low-power motors. The Ridgid Jobsite Tabletop Tile Saw rose to the top of my list. After using the Ridgid Tile Saw for the bath project, I'm very impressed with it's performance.
With an aluminum top, 6.5 amp (1.06 hp) motor, and a quality diamond tip blade, the Ridgid Jobsite Tile Saw is a high quality product and perfect for small to medium sized projects. The only slight problem I experienced was the splash cover bracket (behind the blade) needs to be precisely aligned to avoid problems while ripping full length tiles. You also need to push slowly at the end of a cut to avoid chipping the corner of the tile. Overall I am very pleased and highly recommended the product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy
Cons: be careful for chipping at end of cut
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

Good motor but horrible fence

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The fence is 1/8" off right out of the box. I tried shimming one end of the fence clamp to bring it back into alignment but that is not working. I have found that by holding a square against the fence to keep it square, holding the far end of the fence in place with one hand and then clamping the fence with the other hand, will help straighten the fence. When you first get the saw, align the fence to one of the table lines closest to you and clamp it. You will see how out of alignment yours is. It is too bad since the motor is one of the largest I've seen in this class of saws and it wouldn't take much for them to make a reliably accurate fence. I have a large job this next week and will update this review as appropriate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great saw.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw for the portability. I don't do much tile work but when I do it's usually a pretty good amount. I got tired of renting saws so I figure for the cost of about 3 or 4 days of renting I could pay for this saw. I have done 2 full baths and a mud room entrance so far and it worked great. Had a little problem with chip out with porcelain tiles but after getting the guide in line perfect with the blade that problem went away. Also got a little wet in the beginning but if u move the guard up as high as it can go in the back it was very dry.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

Sturdy, uncomplicated, light, compact and precise...

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a remodel contractor and do tile 3 to 4 times a year. I usually rent at 50 to 200 a pop. For 200 I can do most of the small jobs with this small saw and not need a truck or go to the Chiropractor to haul it .
The saw was super easy to set up and accurate after a 30 second adjustment. Ready to go in 15 minutes. The motor was powerful enough to cut tile easily without slowing at all. The water mist did not make a mess. I was in clean new clothes and they still look perfect. I used the tray tilt up to put a 45 on the end of the tile. Very sturdy safe and accurate. You just cant go wrong with this saw. !!!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the standard tile job

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great saw, tiled my whole house with this. Very easy to use and clean.
A few issues, though. The original blade is not as strong as the replacements, if you have a big job ahead of you, get a replacement right away.
Also, keep the tank clean. You'll have a much better experience.
Prepared to get wet. The blade spits a lot of water out, and it's hard to avoid the spray.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Simsboro, LA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Tile Saw

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at several brands and price ranges of tile saws, I read the many reviews and I chose the Ridgid Model R4020. This saw performs well. The table is aluminum with ridges and gutter that directs the cooling water back into the reservoir. Included is a "Rip Fence" that has a T-handle design that, when locked down, is square to the cutting blade. The only thing I can see that should have been designed better is the tilting bevel table. When this feature is utilized, there's no way to use the "Rip fence", because it can only be attached to the main part of the table edge. this would be beneficial, I believe, because the bevel cut allows bullnose pieces to be fabricated from standard tiles. Other than this, the saw is well designed and easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: bevel table could have a better design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Sturgis, MI

All around a great saw for the money

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this Rigid 7 inch tile saw to put the tile in our new kitchen between the counter top and the upper cabinets and around the stove area. I only had about 23 sq ft to do but it would have been a nightmare without this saw. It worked flawlessly and make perfect cuts every time even when on taking an 1/8 inch or less off the tile. Would highly recommend to anyone even if it is only a one time job like mine. It's a win/win you get a great saw that makes the job easy and you have it for life with no worries with the Rigid Lifetime Warranty, I don't know why anyone would buy any tool other than Rigid.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Yorkville, Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the Money, i'ts a good saw.

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this saw for home use, cut 14x14 floor tiles with no problem, water drains back into holding tank, blade did not slow down during cuts . If you are looking for professional saw spend $700, don't buy this saw, but for small to medium jobs you can't go wrong with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from North Bend, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value in a Portable table tile saw

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently bought this saw for a new bathroom we are building out. Used it for various types of cuts on 18" porcelain tile and mosaic slate and glass pencil tile used as upper border. Overall, this saw did great. Easy to set up and use, and the quality of cut was very good. I was skeptical whether this saw would be able to cut the mosaic slate and glass pencil tile that we had for the border. This was a HARD item to cut without either breaking/chipping the glass or flaking the slate. However, the saw did awesome-as long as you went slow with steady pressure, the cuts were clean and straight with ZERO breaking/chipping/flaking. Same applies to porcelain tile, whereby it DID chip along the cut line on my initial test cut. When I slowed down the rate of feed of the tile to the cutting blade, the cuts were smooth and even. I am VERY happy with this saw and I think it is an excellent value.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Olympia, WA

Great mid-level tile saw

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my second tiling project. My first project involved borrowing one of those cheap $79 saws, and while it did the job pretty well, it wasn't the most joyous of tools to use (understatement). Trust me, the extra $100 or so is money well spent.
The cast aluminum, grooved platform is nice and sturdy, and it channels water away from your work. The fence is very easy to adjust and was dead-on accurate right out of the box, but I always double-check with a measuring tape before cutting anyway. The motor is more than capable of cutting stone tile, never binding once on me.
While obviously not a professional model, for the DIY'er it's a great saw for the money. If, like me, you have a portable miter saw stand, you can mount it to that (the Ridgid stand was a perfect match). I agree with the reviewer who stated the miter gauge doesn't work for small tile, but there's probably a workaround if you're creative. Overall I'm very pleased with the purchase.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Excellent wet saw, cut 18"X18" porcelain tile in 2 minutes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would like to share my happy experiences using this wet saw with those who is searching a good wet saw.
First, the motor is below table, so the cutting wheel does not wobble a lot because motor base frame is fixed inside table and doesn't move, and the lower weight center compare to other wet saw that has a motor above the table. My cutting groove width is 3/32" (2.4 mm)
Next, put your tile face down to reduce tile chip at edge. I cut a MARAZZI Artisan Donatello 18" X 18" porcelain tile, I got edge chip less than 1/128" (0.2 mm) when face down, but large than 5/128" (1.0 mm) when face up. Another advantage for face down is the tile moves smooth at table. To avoid big chip at end of cutting, start cut tile 1/2" long at one side (face up), then turn your tile over to facedown to cut the other side.
Pull your tile when cutting, do not pushing. Pull the tile gentlly, do not too hard, the cutting speed is around 9"/min.
Set water level no more than 1.5" height. There is a water level mark inside water tank, but it is not so easy to be seen. As long as you set water level lower than max line, it won't splash. Some reviewers said they need a rain coat for this wet saw, maybe they poured too much water into the tank. I tried to add 0.5" more water, then the saw starts to splash.
The rib guide is not well designed for good alignment. I sovled this issue and got perfect alignment by attaching a 1/32" thick (0.8 mm), 3/16" (5 mm) wide metal piece to the tilt side of black plastic inside locking lever. You need do similar adjustment according to how much misalignment your rib guide is.
The splash hood bracket must be installed in the same plane with cutting wheel. Otherwise, tiles will be jammed between the bracket and cutting wheel, or add friction if one of cutting groove touches the bracket . Use a ruler to help install the bracket in same plane with cutting wheel.
This wet saw can be extented to cut tile size larger than 18"X18" if two people work together.
At last, use a pair of rubber gloves to reduce electric shock risk if no GFCI outlet is available.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective, cutting wheel is stable
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install, rib guide need a better design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from St. Cloud, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool at a great price!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really love My new Rigid Wet/Dry Tile saw. It's convenient, it can be used just about any where. I wish I would have bought the bigger one but this one did everything it was supposed to and I needed it to do. It's light weight & doesn't require a water hose. The water well is good deep enough and doesn't need to be filld so often. The Rigid for life guarantee makes it an excellent buy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw

Incredible Quality and Value

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW! Folks, if you're skimming through all these great reviews wondering if you should buy... DO IT!!! You won't regret it. I bought this tile saw to lend to my "friends" so they would stop borrowing my $1k+ professional saw for their home DIY projects.
I, of course, used it first and boy was I surprised with the fit and finish. Cuts were amazing (nice stock blade). And cleanup was almost unnecessary due to its ingenious design.
I've lent this little monster out for DIY projects to 6 different people in the last 3 months (1 blade change) and they all loved it. I mention this not to highlight their opinions of the saw, but to note that it's kept up with daily use (almost) for 3 months and hasn't shown any fatigue at all (remember, this is only a "small project" saw).
Only one tiny hiccup with the included stand... if you've put it together (correctly) and it wobbles, don't worry. Simply seat the saw on top and spread the legs by giving one of the feet (either left or right) a little kick outwards. And VOILA, solid as a rock!
Bravo Ridgid and Home Depot... BRAVO!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Loveland Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worst pursase ever

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this saw July of 2013 and used on 2 small jobs and then we put in a shower and it keeps getting hot and shutting off. It has not been used but 2X on very small cutting tiles!! I am very upset because it cost us $179.97
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GARBAGE!

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
my husband & I purchase this Rigid 7" Job Site Wet Tile Saw for a bathroom remodel.
we noticed in store that the overhead motor wet saw was recommended for glass tile (which is what we are finishing our shower in: 3x6" and 4x12") but we spoke with people in the store and looked at many you tube videos that showed the same tile being cut on a table top wet saw, so we figured we could save $600 and buy this one. what a joke!!! …and all of our problems were not related to the type of tile we are attempting to cut.
#1 the 'plug' to keep water in the 'tank' does NOT! it leaks, excessively! almost emptied completely before we even turned the thing on! (and it wasn't operator error)
#2 the rail/guide, once locked down (under tension) is NOT straight/square! there is no clamp or any support at the opposite/far end to keep it aligned. if you need that guide for a straight cut, forget it!
#3 the blade guard prohibits straight through cuts with the attachment to cut square pieces at a 45* angle.
typically I would just take the guard off, but without it the water will spray straight up and not be directed to where it needs to go.
#4 every glass tile got very noticably chipped, like chunks missing. some at the end and some in the middle of the tile/cut. we even tried flipping the tile upside down (painted side up) and they still broke. we also purchased the QEP 7 in. Glass Tile Diamond Blade for Wet Tile Saws (Model # 6-7006GLQ Store SKU # 593447 $29.97)
…so perhaps the QEP blade is garbage for glass tile, but either way I can't get a straight cut. I didn't even attempt to cut any beveled edges. this thing is getting returned stat!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7 in. Job Site Wet Tile Saw
from Middletown, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I tried using this saw to rip cut 12"x24" into 6"x24" tiles and could not get a straight cut out of the saw, no matter what the feed rate was. The st

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We tried using this saw to rip cut 12"x24" into 6"x24" tiles and could not get a straight cut out of the saw, no matter what the feed rate was. The stock fence is a two piece affair very inaccurate running out over 3/16" end to end. We then tried clamping a long aluminum straight edge to the table and the blade flex and it was determined that interference from the blade guard/water spray stop still hampered a straight cut. We wasted a lot of $ in man-hours and materials trying to get the saw to perform correctly. Definately not my favorite piece of equipment!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>