728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 oz. Grout Shield

22 oz. Grout Shield

Grout Shield 22 oz. Grout Additive mixes with cement-based grout in place of water to provide stain resistance. Grout Shield can be used inside or outdoors and contains antimicrobial ingredients.
Overall rating:
1.75 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product2 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
1.8 out of 5.0
5
(0)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product2 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for 22 oz. Grout Shield
Review 1 for 22 oz. Grout Shield
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simply doesn't work as adverstised

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The most annoying thing is the picture on the label showing grout repelling water in beads. What a lie. Liquids soak right in, and I already have a stain that cannot be removed. Maybe it helps somewhat from the stain going deeper, but I don't really know. I used good-quality sanded grout and mixed with this as directed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 oz. Grout Shield
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very disapointing

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product, used per the manufacturer's directions, lightened the grout several shades. It went from a charcoal to a light grey. After trying several techniques to darken it, stained it with a black art stain. We'll see if it holds up.
Manufacturer was no help. No warning on label about making grout lighter.
Cons: severe color alteration
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 oz. Grout Shield

So Far So BAD

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
VERY disappointed with product and technical support. We grouted with Grout Shield on Saturday. My husband said it worked just like if you had used water instead. We cleaned it up as best as you can that night. The next day an impenetrable white haze covered our DARK tile that we spent ALOT of money on. After panicking for a while, we found on the internet that we could try to clean with vinegar. This helped immensely to get the haze off (though not 100% yet), but, our darkish "Natural Gray" grout came out blinding white. WHITE grout with nearly black tile.... Ick. I'm so upset. No where does it state on the product label that your grout will turn out white. What a waste, all the time, effort and money for something I hate. I feel so stupid because I BOUGHT this stuff. I spent money to have this happen!
I have contacted the "technical support" number on the bottle but I was greeted with the message that "all representatives are busy" and was forced to leave a message. It's been 24 hours and NO ONE has called me back. I just want to know if this WHITE grout is going to fade as it cures. If not, wow.... what a horrible scam of a product. Who even knows if it works to shield against staining. Even if they gave me my money back, it won't undo the problem.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 oz. Grout Shield

DO NOT BUY

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't think this product hazes any more than typical grout, as the other reviewers do... you will ALWAYS have haze, and you will always have to wipe your tile down thoroughly before the grout dries. Nevertheless--DO NOT BUY this product!! Your grout WILL be LIGHTER than you want it. Not only does this mean it's not the color I wanted, it means that the sanded grout caulk you buy for the joints, where you will have expansion and contraction, will not match. Ugh! I agree with the other reviewer who said they couldn't believe they paid more to have THIS! Blargh!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 oz. Grout Shield
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth the cost

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In my opinion this product has worked as advertised.Stain repellancy so far seems adequate, after spilling orange juice on the grout the spill was held at the surface(i did wipe it up right away). It mixed with the grout just like water. The time i saved by using this product instead of a traditional sealer has made it well worth the cost.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 oz. Grout Shield
from Springfield, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

jury is out on this product

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The idea is good, but I haven't used the fireplace enough to know if it will protect the grout .I found the instructions unclear and I mixed up way too much. The first instruction says pour the entire contents into the container. Well if you don't need a lot of grout you end up with using way too much. Could be me...
Pros: Durable
Cons: unclear on how much to use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 oz. Grout Shield
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

snake oil

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this product is junk, doesn't work, I've tried it twice and it has failed both times!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 oz. Grout Shield
from St. Louis, MO, USA

DO NOT BUY

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two bottles of this for my bathroom remodel. One for the floor grout (small bottle) and one for the shower (large bottle). Neither worked very well. The grout on the floor was done first and cleaned just fine but did nothing to block water from getting to the grout. I had to purchase a separate sealer and apply multiple coats to properly seal the grout. I'm particularly annoyed because I altered my tile pattern in the shower to accommodate a larger grout line so I could use sanded grout. Have contacted the company about getting a refund.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.