728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike

Mole and Gopher Solar Spike

Sweeney's Solar Mole and Gopher Repellant Spike helps keep your yard rodent free with the use of electronic pulses. This innovative product is solar powered for efficient energy use. The stake simply needs to be inserted into the ground and can then send out sonic pulses which will drive moles, gophers and other rodents away. The sonic pulses cover 7,500 sq. ft. to protect large yards.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product9 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product9 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
Review 1 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Lower Pennisula
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only thing that has ever worked. No muss, no fuss. Set it and forget it.

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use a stake to poke a hole in the ground because the plastic stake it comes with is a little flimsy. But even with this extra step, I still only spent about 90 seconds installing one. This made my yard safe to walk in again. The moles had gotten so bad I thought I was going to fall through to China.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, lasts, zero maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from hamilton ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but doesn't last

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 a year ago. It does get rid of them. It takes several weeks. But, they do get water in them not weather proof which they should be since they are used outdoors. Needless to say they no longer work had to throw them away. So I guess pull them out of ground every time it rains? If they would seal them better so they wouldn't retain water would be better. I may buy 2 more because they do work and I will try to remember to pull them up when it rains.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSJune 29, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, "It can take up to 10 days to see a reduction in activity. The spikes are designed to be weatherproof and should be removed when flooding is expected or the ground is going to freeze.

We apologize for this experience and appreciate the time taken to share this feedback. Our Consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-800-800-1819 with any questions.

Sincerely,

Kelly
Consumer Care Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Sweeney’s®
"
Review 3 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good Product

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THE MOLE AND GOPHER SOLAR SPIKES are a great product and really do work. The moles were gone within a week. I really depend on these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Temecula, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These work!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We had active moles or gophers in our young orchard. They had already eaten the roots of one of my trees and there were active mounds in the area. My husband wanted to get poison but I have animals on the property and didn't want to risk accidental poisoning. I installed the spike and haven't seen any active mounds since. I am using this in conjunction with gopher baskets on the roots of my young trees and the combination seems to be working well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: must be careful pushing into the ground
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Don't waste your time

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not work for me. I have used this product in my yard now for about a month and it appears to have no effect on keeping the gophers away. I placed the spikes in hard soil (as recommended for best results) and my yard is still getting chewed up every day.
On to the next product...
I would not recommend spending the money to try this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike

The Sweeney-s-Mole-and-Gopher-Solar-Spike

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of a kind product! I'm a landscaper and if you want a product that keeps customers coming back year after year. This is what you should be buying for your lawn. I find, if you drip hot wax around the edges of the product and then use superglue to seal. It seals the product for 100% water proofing and it even works under water.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from st.louis mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works but it takes time to rid the area

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
works ok but you have to check it weekly to insure that it is still emitting sound but tapping on it starts it working again
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: speratic sound
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from ST CHARLES
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MOLE AND GOPHER SOLAR SPIKE

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
THIS REALLY WORKS! I HAD A TRAIL IN MY YARD LAST YEAR. IMMEDIATELY WENT TO BUY THIS SPIKE I HEARD ABOUT. I SMASHED DOWN THE TRAIL AND PUT IN THE SPIKE. I HAVE NOT HAD ONE SIGN SINCE. YES! I HAVE THEM IN 4 SPOTS OF MY YARD AND THE YARD LOOKS GREAT.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Holton Mi.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No more ground moles,no more dirt tunnels or dirt mounds.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Washinton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Work great

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i got this product last year and I wasn't have any problem with mole till today when this machine stop working. Now I have mole again. So mean this does work.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Ohio

Very Happy So Far

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought one and it has been installed for over 2 weeks. So far so good. I am actually buying another one this weekend just for extra protection. Be careful pushing into ground. The directions say to make a hole first with a hunk of steel or something. I suggest it to prevent breakage. They aren't super sturdy but they seem to work.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Appleton, WI

Not Really Sure If We'll Be Keeping These

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased 2 of these a month ago and aren't really sure if they indeed work or just need more of them.
It says in the instructions to allow 7-14 days before ground rodents start to move away from the area, plus says that moist clay is the best conductor for the sound waves.
The gophers have stopped removing the bulbs completely, but do still make slight holes in our mulch, apparently still attempting to.
However, they still live in their already existing 2 gopher holes on opposite sides of our house and in and out of our garage, loving to taunt our dogs, so may end up returning these and try to find some other way to deter the rascals.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Kansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not sure if it works or not

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one solar and two battery operated versions of this for my mole problem. The solar one is working fine so far. I have one battery operated one that seems to be working fine and another that seems to almost draw them towards them to the spike. Other times on the same one, they do not care that the spike is there or not. Not sure what to tell anyone else about this product. I guess I would say to save your money on something that is a sure thing and will take care of your mole problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: works?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from Brighton, mi

Save your money. Try another method

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Either my moles are extra smart or deaf, because this didn't deter them from doing what moles do....make tunnels and wreck your lawn. Three of us neighbors used them and no one had success.Will try the poison worms next.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Stylish
Cons: don't work effectively
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike

junk, lasted a couple months, moles moved 50ft. away if that.

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off the on/off button didn't work, so it was hard to get the batteries charged to last through the night.. then after a month it had water inside it already.. lasted another month and stopped working completely... waste of $$.. moles just moved from front to back yard or 20-50 ft. away from spike..
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mole and Gopher Solar Spike
from ATTIC, MICHIGAN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I was sold a previously used product without my knowledge

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product previously and had no problem with it.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.