728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Raised Garden Beds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4-foot-by-4-foot Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you’ve always dreamed of.
Overall rating:
4.387 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(305 reviews) 305
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product275 of 287reviews
Rating Breakdown 305 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(171)
4
(101)
3
(20)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product275 of 287reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Review 1 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for your veggie garden!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought four of these and this is my third growing season with them. I love them! I wish I had gotten double and raised them higher (oh, my back!) but the exercise does me good! I rotate my crops in them...herb garden, lettuces, cukes/radishes, Swiss chard, baby carrots and squash. Will be getting more of thes boxes.
I dig the grass up from my yard for the box, lay in chicken wire (keeps certain creatures from tunnelling up into the boxes), then lay in landscaping fabric, then a good mix of soils and nutrients. You can plant prolific amounts of food in these boxes because the soil is so nutrient rich. Very pleased with these boxes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Dunedin, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quite nice, better on sale

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked these up when they were $10, and IMO that's the price they ought to be.
These are quite nice - the milling of the joints is perfect, and fit is snug, but not impossible to assemble. The caps are a nice touch.
Be sure to pick up a couple bags of soil for the fill!
Total time with turning the ground underneath, assembly, and filling with dirt was about an hour at most. My plants are loving it.
I only rate these 4 stats because of the price - just my opinion of course, but at "suggested retail" they are a tad pricey. I got them on sale and they were a good deal.
So good I bought a "spare" - looking for another corner of my yard to place it.....
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+41points
44out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great project for kids!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and 2 year old daughter put ours together and she had a blast! We had no trouble with bowing boards, maybe soome filled with heavier soil then we did? We rent so we are not planning on this box lasting twenty years, so light weight and simple assembly were perfect. Our daughter is so excited about growing veggies and proud that she built the garden "all by herself." And with the little finishing caps it looks so pretty!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Deer Park, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am extremely please with this kit!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this raised bed kit for my sister who was on me to help her plant a vegetable garden for a few years now. The kit was easy to assemble with its dovetail cuts. We had it together within 10 minutes. After my brother-in-law tilled the ground for us, we loaded in the soil and planting within 20 minutes. She is estatic with her new garden. Thank you for having this product because it made planting a vegetable garden simple.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Fort Bragg, CA 95437, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing garden beds

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched many of these raised beds and these were the best value and variety. .I have a big yard and wanted to use raised beds for most of my planting. These beds are amazing. Very easy to set up and move. A terrific bargain for the price and quality. They are sturdy and look great. I stained them to match my fence. I get a lot of compliments on them. They fit in anywhere. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, great bargain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+78points
78out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Moosic, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great design versatilties

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 6 of these to make a 21" x 4' x 12' raised garden. The kit is well designed for easy assembly and layout. The cedar boards were straight and solid and the dovetail joints make the frame very strong. Since I was going 21" high I did reinforce the middle of each 4' section with a 2x2x3' stake that I mounted inside the frame so as not to distract the outer appearance. This is a great product! The hardest part was adding all the soil ( more than 2 tons)!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+112points
113out of 114found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from South County, RI

Think Outside the BOX - Make rectangular beds!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 7 of these kits to create two 4' X 20' raised beds in my local community garden. See the attached photo for details. I used one "cross board" at four-foot intervals within the bed to maintain stability. I prefabbed some sections on the floor of my garage and assembled the prefabbed parts at the community garden. "Leftovers" from the seven kits included several corner posts and caps. I plan to buy appropriate-size lumber at The Home Depot and build a small raised bed at home. Needless to say, I am quite pleased with the way the community garden raised beds turned out.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Rihcmond, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this raised bed for our small townhome backyard. It is really perfect, great construction and very easy to put together. It takes 8 cubic feet of dirt to fill it up and you are ready to go. Looks very nice all put together and installed. If I had more room I would install another one.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+47points
50out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gardening made easy.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This set goes together in no time. I would like to see thicker boards but the item is easier to pack and ship as is. It holds the dirt well enough so it's doing what it's suppose to do. I like the units a lot. I would purchase again.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Lizella, GA 31052, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this in the store and it is awesome. I am so pleased with the easy dovetail assembly. My eight-year-old put it together! The wood is beautiful and this is a versatile kit. I am very, very happy with my purchase. This is a bargain. I this and two 4x8 kits.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Low-cost alternative to other raised bed kits

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 6 kits, and due to the modular nature of the kits was able to play around with the layout instead of just having 4 x 4 squares. Assembly was a snap, a couple of the cedar boards in the kit required minor fitting but that was easily fixed by a very quick cut with a circular saw. I managed to get 7 4 x 4 squares out of the 6 kits by joining a few together to make bigger beds, and there were enough materials left over to manage an 8th, though I didn't quite have room.
Time will tell the durability of the product, but the materials used seem to be of good quality thus far.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compliments a small yard

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This raised garden bed is very easy to put together. I stained mine and it looks so pretty in my small back yard.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Pine Island, MN 55963, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Success so we are buying more!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together. My husband and I bought two, laid some weed block plastic stuff on the bottom and filled the beds with dirt. I think about 6-8 bags each bed. I put a bed together myself. I wanted them fairly full cause of the potatoes and carrots I was planting. We had HUGE success with both! Planting marigolds was a brilliant idea cause it gave me a good idea of when it needed to be watered.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: need to tell you how much dirt by bags.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Highly recommend these garden beds!

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 4 sets of these beds and made two 4X4X14 beds by stacking them. They are easy to put together and look great. I nailed trellis' to the back on them so that I can grow some cucumbers on vines at the back of the beds. It really added a lot of character to the beds.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+77points
82out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love My New Cedar Garden Beds

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just transformed my whole backyard area from an unused section, (that I only visited when I went in to mow) to a garden filled with vegetables, fruits and berries. I used various sizes of the cedar kits from The Home Depot. Priced many other options and styles, and thought these were decent beds for the price. I had most of them shipped to my house, and they arrived quicker than expected. Assembly was super easy, and although like others have said, they didn't come with instructions, I really didn't need them. Only tool I used was a rubber mallet and a screwdriver. Yes, the wood could be a touch warped here and there, and isn't thick, heavy wood, but it is fine. I added peat, perlite and vermiculite to my soil mix to lighten it up, so am not worried about the soil pushing out the boards. I didn't want to spend long weeks doing all the carpentry to build garden beds, so for me, this was a perfect option. I am hoping to get 10 years or so of use from these, even with our rough Ohio winters.
The photos I've added show not only the 4'x4' bed, but some of the other styles offered as well. One more side note, only one piece in all my kits was missing, a side corner. I called the manufacturer, and they had it out to me right away. They were incredibly nice on the phone and really helpful. I would definitely buy more of these as needed as I am truly satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to build and nice-looking.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Simple to assemble and attractive, these are a nice addition to a backyard garden. I lost my butterfly bushes over this last horrid winter and wanted to put in a little butterfly garden. This was a perfect size for my project. They look like a nice, finished product with very little work - it's amazing what a difference the post caps make. They are a little pricy for the materials but I know I wouldn't have wanted to take the time to cut dovetails, so there you go. I'm jealous of the reviewer who got them for ten dollars since I'd want to get another one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great box- easy to assemble and perfect for adding additional boxes

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We started with two boxes and added a third, they assemble in minutes, fill with soil, add plants or seeds and keep moist, great for anyone from a novice to experienced gardener-
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money...

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching this product online, we ended up purchasing it in store because I was too impatient to wait for it to ship. We decided to buy multiple kits after pricing out regular cedar and connectors (garden bed connectors and regular L brackets) The kits were close in price for the quantity we wanted and we didn't have to deal with cutting lumber down and fighting with L brackets etc. I was still able to design the bed(s) I wanted.
The instructions attached to this product here in "more information" and the actual kit instructions differ. The online instructions requre screws to keep the boards in place, but the actual kit is a "no fastener" required kit. HOW AWESOME. I combined kits and put together a 12' by 12' U shaped bed (7 4' by 4' areas in a U shape) with a 4' by 12' segment stacked with additional kits and it took me (by myself) only an HOUR from layout to the bed being assembled (less the caps). Two additional 4' by 8' beds took less than half an hour. All I used was a rubber mallet to help slide the boards in the intersection pieces.
Now the shade and smoothness of the panels will vary from kit to kit, some pieces are rough cut so if you're expecting perfectly sanded beautiful pieces of cedar, this kit isn't for you. The quality is quite nice though, in the 12 kits I worked with there were only a few boards that had any bowing and it wasn't more than 1/4". It was only noticable because it was on top of a non-warped board.
The machining of the grooves the boards slide into have some shavings still stuck, but they didn't hinder assembly. There was some cracking in pieces (again I had 12 kits), but nothing structural and I could hide anything I didn't like by putting it as the bottom board or facing the "ugly" part to the dirt side.
I've attached some pictures of my sets in use. I ended up adding additional panels across the lengths to help with stability (you can see just a single panel partly installed in the photos).
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+85points
93out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Product Ever

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product " Cedar Raised Garden Bed" was the best product from HD. Its small and cozy for my small garden. Its the best product for a starter.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Starter Product for a Garden Bed!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wife wanted to plant some vegies, and we figured this would be a great place to start! It was so easy to put together, and put weed fabric under. We planted vegies in rows, and we have cute little labels we bought to tell us what each row is for. We've had a lot of success with the brussels sprouts, nothing yet with the others, but we can wait! The boards, a month later, do show some wear. I guess staining could have prevented this? Regardless, the garden bed is a really good product and we are looking forward to seeing things grow with it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
29out of 39found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>