728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Raised Garden Beds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4-foot-by-4-foot Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you’ve always dreamed of.
Overall rating:
4.431 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product229 of 236reviews
Rating Breakdown 253 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(144)
4
(85)
3
(17)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product229 of 236reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Review 1 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Sdaugherty
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great project for kids!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and 2 year old daughter put ours together and she had a blast! We had no trouble with bowing boards, maybe soome filled with heavier soil then we did? We rent so we are not planning on this box lasting twenty years, so light weight and simple assembly were perfect. Our daughter is so excited about growing veggies and proud that she built the garden "all by herself." And with the little finishing caps it looks so pretty!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
veggielover
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for your veggie garden!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought four of these and this is my third growing season with them. I love them! I wish I had gotten double and raised them higher (oh, my back!) but the exercise does me good! I rotate my crops in them...herb garden, lettuces, cukes/radishes, Swiss chard, baby carrots and squash. Will be getting more of thes boxes.
I dig the grass up from my yard for the box, lay in chicken wire (keeps certain creatures from tunnelling up into the boxes), then lay in landscaping fabric, then a good mix of soils and nutrients. You can plant prolific amounts of food in these boxes because the soil is so nutrient rich. Very pleased with these boxes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
DonV
from Dunedin, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quite nice, better on sale

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked these up when they were $10, and IMO that's the price they ought to be.
These are quite nice - the milling of the joints is perfect, and fit is snug, but not impossible to assemble. The caps are a nice touch.
Be sure to pick up a couple bags of soil for the fill!
Total time with turning the ground underneath, assembly, and filling with dirt was about an hour at most. My plants are loving it.
I only rate these 4 stats because of the price - just my opinion of course, but at "suggested retail" they are a tad pricey. I got them on sale and they were a good deal.
So good I bought a "spare" - looking for another corner of my yard to place it.....
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Dawn
from Deer Park, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am extremely please with this kit!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this raised bed kit for my sister who was on me to help her plant a vegetable garden for a few years now. The kit was easy to assemble with its dovetail cuts. We had it together within 10 minutes. After my brother-in-law tilled the ground for us, we loaded in the soil and planting within 20 minutes. She is estatic with her new garden. Thank you for having this product because it made planting a vegetable garden simple.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
jany
from Fort Bragg, CA 95437, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing garden beds

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched many of these raised beds and these were the best value and variety. .I have a big yard and wanted to use raised beds for most of my planting. These beds are amazing. Very easy to set up and move. A terrific bargain for the price and quality. They are sturdy and look great. I stained them to match my fence. I get a lot of compliments on them. They fit in anywhere. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, great bargain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+70points
70out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
DavidL
from Rihcmond, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this raised bed for our small townhome backyard. It is really perfect, great construction and very easy to put together. It takes 8 cubic feet of dirt to fill it up and you are ready to go. Looks very nice all put together and installed. If I had more room I would install another one.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+44points
47out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
relaxed61
from Moosic, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great design versatilties

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 6 of these to make a 21" x 4' x 12' raised garden. The kit is well designed for easy assembly and layout. The cedar boards were straight and solid and the dovetail joints make the frame very strong. Since I was going 21" high I did reinforce the middle of each 4' section with a 2x2x3' stake that I mounted inside the frame so as not to distract the outer appearance. This is a great product! The hardest part was adding all the soil ( more than 2 tons)!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+110points
111out of 112found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Caroline
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compliments a small yard

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This raised garden bed is very easy to put together. I stained mine and it looks so pretty in my small back yard.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
rigardener
from South County, RI

Think Outside the BOX - Make rectangular beds!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 7 of these kits to create two 4' X 20' raised beds in my local community garden. See the attached photo for details. I used one "cross board" at four-foot intervals within the bed to maintain stability. I prefabbed some sections on the floor of my garage and assembled the prefabbed parts at the community garden. "Leftovers" from the seven kits included several corner posts and caps. I plan to buy appropriate-size lumber at The Home Depot and build a small raised bed at home. Needless to say, I am quite pleased with the way the community garden raised beds turned out.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
trailrunner
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64

Best garden for a quick project for a 2 yr old novice !

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and son and grandson put this together today and added the soil and plants in a matter of less than an hour ! What fun and the pay off is more than the vegetables. It was so easy and grandson who is 2 could get the satisfaction of a garden in an easy way..important when one is only 2 yrs old ! Thank you for selling a product that is exactly as advertised. We look forward to a great harvest :) c
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
tg1058331

Low-cost alternative to other raised bed kits

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 6 kits, and due to the modular nature of the kits was able to play around with the layout instead of just having 4 x 4 squares. Assembly was a snap, a couple of the cedar boards in the kit required minor fitting but that was easily fixed by a very quick cut with a circular saw. I managed to get 7 4 x 4 squares out of the 6 kits by joining a few together to make bigger beds, and there were enough materials left over to manage an 8th, though I didn't quite have room.
Time will tell the durability of the product, but the materials used seem to be of good quality thus far.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Heather
from Lizella, GA 31052, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this in the store and it is awesome. I am so pleased with the easy dovetail assembly. My eight-year-old put it together! The wood is beautiful and this is a versatile kit. I am very, very happy with my purchase. This is a bargain. I this and two 4x8 kits.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Michelle31gifts
from Pine Island, MN 55963, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Success so we are buying more!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together. My husband and I bought two, laid some weed block plastic stuff on the bottom and filled the beds with dirt. I think about 6-8 bags each bed. I put a bed together myself. I wanted them fairly full cause of the potatoes and carrots I was planting. We had HUGE success with both! Planting marigolds was a brilliant idea cause it gave me a good idea of when it needed to be watered.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: need to tell you how much dirt by bags.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
m8552m

Highly recommend these garden beds!

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 4 sets of these beds and made two 4X4X14 beds by stacking them. They are easy to put together and look great. I nailed trellis' to the back on them so that I can grow some cucumbers on vines at the back of the beds. It really added a lot of character to the beds.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+75points
79out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Joekat57
from Clifton, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not bad, needs lots of sanding

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to put together but wood was very rough and I had to sand it. Dull blades must have been used to make the dovetail joints by the manufacturer but I just scraped it out. Same goes for the wood planks, lots of sanding. Its up to you how you want it to look. I stained it with a polyurethane pecan stain. This was put together with 2 kits.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: wood is rough, needs a lot of sanding
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
willwgp
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Starter Product for a Garden Bed!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wife wanted to plant some vegies, and we figured this would be a great place to start! It was so easy to put together, and put weed fabric under. We planted vegies in rows, and we have cute little labels we bought to tell us what each row is for. We've had a lot of success with the brussels sprouts, nothing yet with the others, but we can wait! The boards, a month later, do show some wear. I guess staining could have prevented this? Regardless, the garden bed is a really good product and we are looking forward to seeing things grow with it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
29out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Echasc
from Sag Harbor, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reasonably priced and easy to assemble

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I now have three of these, two from last year, and one I added this year. They are easy to connect together, and if you do, you end up with spare parts, which eventually (after you buy four) could result in a fifth "free" bed, or could just be a supply of replacement parts for any that wear out.
The good news is the two beds I bought last year are still in excellent condition, showing virtually no wear and tear from wintering outdoors. I have to admit I was worried about this as the materials look a little flimsy when you first start to put them together.
As for appearance, they are neither attractive nor ugly; they're just...plain. If you are looking for a decorative solution, I'd suggest looking elsewhere, but if your main concern is just a place to grow vegetables, these will do fine.
Also on the plus side, they are very easy to assemble. And while not cheap, I think the price is reasonable. All in all I'd recommend these to anyone except those looking for a more decorative solution.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
ZsMom
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money...

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching this product online, we ended up purchasing it in store because I was too impatient to wait for it to ship. We decided to buy multiple kits after pricing out regular cedar and connectors (garden bed connectors and regular L brackets) The kits were close in price for the quantity we wanted and we didn't have to deal with cutting lumber down and fighting with L brackets etc. I was still able to design the bed(s) I wanted.
The instructions attached to this product here in "more information" and the actual kit instructions differ. The online instructions requre screws to keep the boards in place, but the actual kit is a "no fastener" required kit. HOW AWESOME. I combined kits and put together a 12' by 12' U shaped bed (7 4' by 4' areas in a U shape) with a 4' by 12' segment stacked with additional kits and it took me (by myself) only an HOUR from layout to the bed being assembled (less the caps). Two additional 4' by 8' beds took less than half an hour. All I used was a rubber mallet to help slide the boards in the intersection pieces.
Now the shade and smoothness of the panels will vary from kit to kit, some pieces are rough cut so if you're expecting perfectly sanded beautiful pieces of cedar, this kit isn't for you. The quality is quite nice though, in the 12 kits I worked with there were only a few boards that had any bowing and it wasn't more than 1/4". It was only noticable because it was on top of a non-warped board.
The machining of the grooves the boards slide into have some shavings still stuck, but they didn't hinder assembly. There was some cracking in pieces (again I had 12 kits), but nothing structural and I could hide anything I didn't like by putting it as the bottom board or facing the "ugly" part to the dirt side.
I've attached some pictures of my sets in use. I ended up adding additional panels across the lengths to help with stability (you can see just a single panel partly installed in the photos).
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+85points
93out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
DJAX

Very good product for the price

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I took a chance and ordered two of these raised beds from Home Depot online. I'm glad I did. This is a nice product. The product is a good width, (4'X4'), but a little low for a raised bed (7 "). However two can be stacked to produce a deeper bed if needed. (I purchased the 2nd bed to use elsewhere, so didn’t stack.) The components look to be decent white cedar, and went together quickly and easily. (Quickest with two people, but can certainly be done by one) At $35.00 each, you can't beat the price for what you are getting. Unlike other raised beds at this price point, it is not just slotted together, but screwed in. It comes with post tops which give it a nice finished look, and it feels quite sturdy. I've placed one end to end with a high end 10'x3'x12" copper capped cedar raised bed for which I paid a good deal more, and while the sides are lower the new bed does not look at all out of place. (I'm going to add copper caps to this one, but it's not necessary) The product was shipped quickly and delivered promptly. I am nothing but pleased with this raised bed, and with Home Depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
SueP
from Washington, DC, USA

Great Value for Price

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These beds are perfect for square foot gardening. Assembly was easy - some boards were more difficult to get into the guides than others. Also, a few boards warped quickly. For the price, this can't be beat. It's great for people who live in the city and don't have a lot space. The 4' x 4' will hold a 25' soaker hose which makes watering simple. It is a bit filmsy but this is a trade off between price and quality and in line with my expectations.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, good size for soaker hoses, city sized, great value for price
Cons: flimsy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>