728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

The Everbilt Universal Lid Support is ideal for use on cabinets, boxes and chest. It works for right, left and center support. Easy to install.
Overall rating:
2.259 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
27%of customersrecommend this product7 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(15)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
27%of customersrecommend this product7 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
Review 1 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This lid support doesn't hold any weight. Didn't make any difference in lid closing.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA

Poor product design

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with all of the previous reviews. This hinge is poorly designed. It does not work as advertised.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Baton Rouge, LA 70809, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

weak

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is not sturdy enough for any type of reasonably sized chest. The package contains no weight specifications. It might work for a sizable jewelry box, but that's all I'd attempt to use it for. I'm very disappointed with my purchase. I needed a lid support for my son's new toybox.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These do not work

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I mounted them on a cedar chest and like others have noted they do not hold any weight at all. You could not tell that they were on there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

Waste of money and time.

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for an hour trying to get this to fit. Instructions (diagrams) were poor, but I thought I could figure it out. I was wrong, it makes no sense. The other reviews prove that it's not just my problem.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

Barely makes a difference

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hinge is pretty and looks like it might work, but finding weight specifications for it is impossible. I installed it on my chest and it made no perceptible difference.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

horrible

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Clear directions, easy to install. Does nothing. Can't even tell it's there. Thanks, Home Depot, for the 4 new useless holes in my antique cedar chest. I - and my kids when I hand it down once more - will love to see where this piece of junk lid support was once installed for generations to come. :|
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Purchase

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a woodworker and tend to be very precise. I built a nice chest using Red Grandis. Dovetailed the corners. Finished it using only the best products. Looks beautiful. Then comes the decision on the lid support and I thought I would try this. Did not read the other reviews.
This is basically a very poor product. My experience is that measuring with a microchometer as precisely as I normally do this product does not work. In my experience it holds the lid up okay and it starts the closing process okay and then the lid will not close all the way but stops about an inch or so before closed. Very odd. Reread the very simple directions and checked all measurements. Asked someone else to check all measurements. Basically I feel really dumb for not buying a quality lid support at Woodcraft or some other quality woodworkers store. Do not Purchase this product.
Cons: not functional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Traverse City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly made and designed

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have built a few chests with reasonably good results using other lid supports. I saw this one and bought three based upon the heft of the current project and relying on the guides given on the package. I tried to install the first one but it would not allow the lid to close when installed according to the directions. Because this chest has particularly thick walls around the edges (frame and panel construction) I tried a few different modifications of the mounting measurements. I came to realize that part of the problem was the excessive play in the swivel points of the hinge. I took them all back. Kudos to the service desk person who did not hesitate with the refund.
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor construction
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of junk

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to install this on a pine chest, the instructions are horrible, when I tried to close the lid (applying some force)
the wood cracked. I'm surprised Home Depot continues to sell this item based on the reviews.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

Everbilt Universal Lid Support

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We worked 2 days, dozen of different ways to make this hinge work. It is the worst hinge we've ever seen. There is no possible way for it to work. Either the lid won't close all the way or it won't open all the way (depending where you put it). we followed directions & measurements exactly----didn't work! Home Depot should discontinue this item!!!! Also directions are not good at all.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Frederick, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They are going back

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These hinges look nice and install fairly easily, but did not perform well at all. I made a large storage Ottoman for which I needed lid supports, so I installed these. I installed three of these on the Ottoman and the lid barely slowed in its descent. It also would not allow the lid to open 90 degrees and certainly did not hold the lid open.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Doesn't hold very much weight at all

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased one of these for my sons toy box, didn't hold the lid up at all. So, went to the local Home Depot and got a second one, thinking two is better than one, right wrong. It slows the lid down, it will not slam shut. Lid does not stay open on its own at all.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor product

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed and removed this lid support seemingly countless times.....following the instructions precisely or adjusting made no difference....the lid would not close all the way......thanks to the other reviewers who had similar difficulties...l was afraid my reasonably astute mechanical / woodworking skills were highly overrated by me.....
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DOES NOT WORK!!!

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mounted three of these pieces of junk on a large toy box lid. Not only would not hold lid open, it did not allow the lid to opened past about 60 degrees and allowed the lid to slam with force. Only good thing to say about it is that the HD clerk took them back without a question. She has apparently seen a lot of this junk to come back.
Pros: are no "pros"
Cons: Difficult to Install, doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Austin,Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Possible Problem

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I noticed one web site that had these hinges and they were rated at inch/pounds I am just wondering if people are getting different strengths?
Pros: works sometimes
Cons: confusing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

Cheap hinge, cheap results.

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews and still gave it a try. Don't bother with the directions. They are WRONG. I used one hinge for a center support on a 3/4" toy box lid that measures 36" x 19".
Mounted the bottom 1 3/8" down to the screw holes, horizontally. The top, vertically at 4 1/4" to the first hole. This is using 3/4" box material measured from the center of the hinge.
It holds the lid up (not at 90 degrees) and keeps it from slamming down. It does start going down on it's own once the lid is pushed down just a bit. It is a cheap buy and it shows, but worked alright in a pinch. Looks good though. ha
Cons: No Instructions, instructions are dead wrong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Mistake

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Can't figure out how to modify my previous review. I was finally able to make this lid support work and the secret was to realize that the measurement for placing the support is measure from the back outside of the box. I was measuring from inside the box. So the 1.25 inch measurement must be made from the outside of the box taking into account the thickness of the wood. Once I did this I reinstalled the lid support and it did work. I still think the directions are much to minimal. You do end up with the support very close to the back of your box and I ended up using an old yankee hand drill to be able to drill the screw hole.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Quality
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

To Weak of Support

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This softclose support is way to weak to hold up the lid,
took ( 2 ) to do the job of ( 1 )
So double the price for this job.
Cons: too weak of support
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Antique Brass Universal Lid Support Hinge

doesn't go 90 degrees

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hinge seems to do what it advertises, but i needed it for a lid that, at a minimum, had to go 90 degrees, and this hinge wouldn't do it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>