728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Test Meters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Digital Multimeter

Digital Multimeter

The Klein Tools Digital Multimeter is a helpful device to have if you are looking to achieve accurate voltage readings. It features a backlit LCD display that is easy see readings and will shut off after a set amount of time in order to conserve energy. The internal range automatically adjusts to offer you improved readings.
Overall rating:
3.588 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product11 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product11 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for Digital Multimeter
Review 1 for Digital Multimeter
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what I needed it to

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wanted a DMM to use on our new RV measuring both AC and DC voltages and amperes. I'm able to monitor battery state of charge and power consumption by the various appliances, lights, etc. 12 volt battery management is very important when camping without hookups and this DMM gave us valuable insights into our RV's operation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Multimeter
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced twice only to get a second dud.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one would not zero out for Voltage testing. Replaced with what looked like a newer version of the MM200. The first one had screw on caps that completely covered the B/W leads. The replacement had different caps that the leads were already exposed.
The replacement would zero out but the accuracy of Voltage testing was intermittent. Sometimes it would read about .5 volts on a 120 v circuit. I would have to turn the meter off and on a few times to get it to read 120 v correctly.
Replaced again and the same thing happened. I gave up on it. Home Depot was great about the return with no problems.
I guess its true you get what you pay for.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: unreliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Multimeter

Love it. It's easy to use.

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and dies what I need. I'm not a professional but am a certified electrician. In my book, this is a very complete meter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Multimeter
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good tool for testing AC compressor capacitor

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the only meter I could find in local Home Depot store for testing a capacitor, under $100. It has extra testing functions such as voltage, current and even temperature. I just want to test capacitors to see how many micro faradi it reads. The meter does the job. However, it takes a few seconds to get a stable reading. But it is not too expensive and has multiple functions, so it's good to me.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, less expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Multimeter
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The MM200 is worth it!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I 1st would like to to say that the fluctuation in volt mode is normal (as someone states that in there review as being broken). I read another review saying the backlight didn't work...it wont until you press and hold until it comes on (again someones review states that there multimeter is broken because the light). It is a safety feature for working in the dark (so you don't turn the light "off" as you work). Now my out take on the MM200. It's AWESOME! For the money you can not go wrong. Klein has been around for years making awesome tools (for electricians) . Glad that HD carries this great line of tools! (like there wire cutters and wire strips and what not) It works and works well....buy it!!! Oh! It comes with nice leads to.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Lots of Features, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: none so far
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Multimeter

good packaging and easy to use

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used electronic test equipment for over 50 years from high dollar to low dollar. This meter has the best "bang for your buck" of any of them.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Multimeter

Very Good

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A little too much tool for my use but, it's great to have.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Multimeter
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced and same thing, simply not reliable

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same EXACT symptoms as Photoray describes. Random voltages shown when testing on exact same circuit. Have to power cycle on/off a few times to get it to show correct voltages. Replaced it for another and SAME issues. Also installed a brand new 9V battery to rule that out but no changes. Too bad. Liked the build and size of this thing but doesn't reflect the quality I'm told Klein should be for electronic components.
Too bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Multimeter
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Klien DIGITAL MULTIMETER

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a feature that most meters do not have today. I checked a motor starting capacitor. All metes check voltage and resistance. This has several features that makes it stand out from the competition.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Multimeter
from Sound Beach, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what I need in a compact, acurate, easy to use multimeter

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Klein company continues to dominate the field of tools for electricians. I replaced a bulky analog mutimeter with an easy to use and read digital meter. It is compact, meets my needs and very precise.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Multimeter
from Huntington, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

multimeter works as expected - came with dead battery

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
multimeter works as expected - came with dead battery. you would think Klein tools would provide a battery that would match the quality of their product .
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Multimeter
from Cocoa Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thermometer quits working!

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second unit that has stopped taking temp readings. The first one stopped working after only one day of use, and the second one stopped working after a week. This is ridiculous! I Have owned quite a few multimeters and this is a wonderful meter (compaired to the others I have owened) other than that one issue. But that one issue is a deal breaker. I am no HVAC tech, But I want to check My fridge temp or how accurately my AC display is, and I cant do it. It might not be the end of the world but, I payed good money for this meter I expect it to function properly. I am calling Klein Tools tomorrow. Hopefully Home Depot just received a dysfunctional batch or something.I really like this meter. It is the right size the right shape for me. Dang it all to heck! Why me? Why does everything I purchase have to be mucked up in some form or fashion? It is just inconceivable!
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Multimeter
from Peabody, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Backlight didn't work and DC voltage gave false readings

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked this up after a Commercial Electric meter I bought earlier in the day failed. Out of the box the backlight didn't work and the DC voltage was reading 60-110 mV on the display without the leads even attached! Save your money...
Cons: defective out of the box
-14points
4out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Multimeter
from Utah

Really great tool!

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was wise to buy this meter!!! I have had good relations with Home Depot from the start! They gave me great credit and sevice.
-15points
3out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Multimeter

Looks good but works bad

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dont get it
It reads wrong
Let's say the battery is 3.7v it say 37.00
-46points
1out of 48found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Digital Multimeter
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product