728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Test Meters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for True RMS Digital Multimeter

True RMS Digital Multimeter

Klein Tools' Test and Measurement line was exclusively designed from the ground up - by electricians for electricians. Based on years of field research, combined with extensive input from electricians across America, Klein's Multimeters were specifically loaded with the latest innovative, time-saving features. Klein Tools Test and Measurement products deliver!
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for True RMS Digital Multimeter
Review 1 for True RMS Digital Multimeter

Lots of features.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This multi-meter has a load of features. It can measure most anything you would encounter on a daily basis in the electrical and HVAC field. It's a good size for holding in your hand. It also has a back stand. The leads store in the back of the meter, although I think including a case would be better to contain loose leads wires. You can also place one lead in the meter, while you hold the meter in one hand and another lead in the other. The leads include screw-on/off spring clips (alligator clips). The ends of the leads have good strain relief and a 90 degree connector on the end to the meter. I think this should hold up well.
The display has large numbers; easy to read. All functions are clearly labeled on the display and the control buttons/dials. And the brief but complete instructions tell you how to use all the features.
The unit takes a little getting used to as you have certain settings that will require you to push multiple buttons for settings. I found I had to re-read the instructions for some less-used functions. Some functions are not very intuitive. So keep the instructions handy for awhile.
Other features: Auto Power Off, magnetic hanger accessory (not included), case (not included), bar graph at bottom of display for analog readout, backlight, continuity test, fuse test.
Overall, a great performer.
Pros: Lots of Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from San Ramon, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built multimeter but more than I need for my abilities

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This multimeter is a good, well built, sturdy machine. It has a bright, clear, easy to read display that includes a back light for use in low light conditions. It also includes a fold out stand so you can read it without having to hold up the device. The only issue with this machine for me is it can do far more things than my abilities allow. I primarily want to use it for checking voltages in outlets, batteries, etc. This device has settings for things I'm not even aware of. I'm not saying this as a negative thing and for someone with more knowledge, this would be a much more useful device.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love This Meter

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a little surpised at the negative review I saw for this as my experience is more in line with everyone else.
When I first saw this meter I immediatley noticed the large display however I wasn't trully impressed until I held it in my hand and turned the meter on. I've used this meter for almost a year now and I have zero complaints. Most of my professional experience has been using Fluke meters but I can't tell you how pleased I am with the MM2000. For the price, you just can't beat this.
A few things to note:
The leads are a little short however this is more of a preference.
The fuses and batteries are easily accessible, which is not the same for other brands.
Instructions are not beginner friendly but from what I've heard this meter is intended for pros and skilled DIYers
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, beautiful display, very well constructed
Cons: leads are too short
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Beavercreek, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Durable and Accurate Measurement Instrument

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As an electrical engineer I have owned and used a number of multimeters over my career. So far I am very impressed with the MM 2000. It is truly user friendly with its large display screen. The outer casing appears to be very durable and the instrument itself is accurate in the measurements taken. I will probably purchase the recommended carrying case to protect it during transit, plus store the test and thermocoupler leads.
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and solid

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing is feels very solid and sturdy. The grip is great. The dial nob is strong. Everything feels very solid. I did a temp reading test and it was very accurate. It even has a kickstand. I like it very much and would highly recommend it.
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Lyons, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

All the features for hvac work

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best choice of a meter I ever made, at a very good price. I would recommend this meter to anyone in the hvac trade, but the carry case is not large enough for all the accessories that one might carry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, nice price
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from East Chicago In
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

4 those who can't afford a FLUKE

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
4-3 yrs now I own this and the cl 200 clamp on and I say that the BRAND MENTIONED IN TITLE IS GREAT!!!. But it is like buying one made or priced like snap-on tools . These to me r like the next best thing. Come on guys they 4 and through out the yrs have made excellent hand tools and stuff for the electrician and handyman and r going strong still and this is a brand I trust 4 stuff like this. I u can afford the brand mentioned in the title all the power 2 u. But as 4 me a handyman since I was 12 -13 yrs of age have owned even cheaper meters than these and to me r by far the best in their class 4 the klein brand of tools and stuff i-m-o u should give them a shot if not satisfied home depot will replace or refund your purchase towards something else or take care of u and or call klein they will serve u good 2. Please don't mock them or say they r not worth it 2 me they really r worth it!!! don't knock it till u try them plz!!!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, really true rms, Sturdy, accurate round about readings, good price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A True RMS Digital Multimeter at a great price!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great piece of gear! this Multimeter exceeded my expectations. Great for precision and general work on electronics, electrical at home or with automotive applications.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for True RMS Digital Multimeter

not good for the money

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to replace my old and much abused Fluke meter. It works ok, and seems to be reasonably accurate, but it's made very cheaply, and updates very slowly. When you go to measure something it takes a while before it can make up it's mind. The plastic on the probes is cheap and had flashing all over them. The orange rubber cover is too thin to be much protection if dropped. The whole thing reminds me of a meter I got free as part when i bought 25$ wort of stuff at another store. I had cheap radio shack meters in the early 90's that were more than an equal for this thing. If you don't use a meter like this daily, it should be ok, but for similar money you can get a much better meter, albeit with fewer features. I had hoped that the Klein brand name on it would be some indication of the quality, but sadly it wasn't. I'll be returning this one.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for True RMS Digital Multimeter

mtn

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price it does everything I need it for at work. I may buy another for the house.
Pros: good price point
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This product does what it is suppose to.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't had it that long, but I find this product was worth the money and it has worked in the applications I needed so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Northern Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice, easy to read, use.

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This meter does it all. It is meant for HVAC testing, and does come with the accessories needed for that, but like the other reviewers say - it will measure anything you want if you know how to use it.
The display is large, and very easy to read - very nice when you are in a cramped space using the thing. Also the case seems very durable. I have other klein electrical tools that are still kicking after many years, and I expect that this will do the same.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice multimeter

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In all honesty, I haven't used all the features on this yet, but what I have used has been impressive.
We recently moved into a new home, and it was pre-wired in both the main room and the media room for audio. Of course, they don't label the cables in the wall, so this tool was immediately handy when I was wall-mounting the speakers. Twist the wires together on one end, and use the leads from the multimeter on the other, and there you have it. You can easily identify what speaker wires go where.
Additionally, and unlike other multimeters, this unit has a temperature sensor, and that was very handy for determining whether or not the A/C and heater were working. Not only that, since they are working, we could easily figure out if a vent was open too much. As an additional test, I put the temperature sensor in the tip of a lit cigarette and well, it turns out those are really hot. Who knew?
There are other functions that I just haven't had the chance to use yet, but given how well and accurately it's performed so far, I'm confident with this multimeter. I replaced a cheaper unit with this one, and I can see why it costs a little more. The unit itself feels far more solid, the leads are easy to grip, and the ranges it accepts are far greater than less expensive units. Best of all, on multiple tests with the same circuitry, it provides the exact same results, not almost the same results. Precision has a price.
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from Atascadero, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This can measure anything!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although this was designed for HVAC testing I was having some electrical issues on the charging system of my race car that my other meter couldn't diagnose. I thought I would give this a try and the ability to read signal fluctuation pointed me to a section of wiring harness that needed to be replaced. No I can go back to the track, not worry about the car and focus on driving.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, built in stand, clamp and post test leads
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for True RMS Digital Multimeter
from East Chicago, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

As a handyman it's agreat all around tool

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like that one can use this for every or anything that has electrical components. Because the fact is for example: hvac , a dryer ,washing machine, to other appliances that have circuits to be measured can be used by this meter. With the temp probe you can measure heat & cold air from vents & hvac equipment, as well as house hold electrical wiring as well. This means electricians can use it to.
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.