728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

The Ryobi 20 in. Gas 46 cc Chainsaw is designed for aggressive cutting and ultimate control, and features a large 20 in. bar and chain with an automatic oiler for smooth, uninterrupted operation. The 46 cc 2 Cycle engine provides reliable performance time after time, and the anti-vibe handle reduces fatigue to help you get the job done fast. The side-a ccess chain tensioning and replacement make adjustments quick and easy.
Overall rating:
3.725 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product76 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(21)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(22)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product76 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome saw for the price, love it!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great, never had a problem starting, whether the saw was hot or cold. Just followed the instructions and it starts right up.
Comes with the standard multi tool for chain adjustments and maintenance. Also has a nice case that has slots to store files and othe tools. With the saw in the case, there is still room for a 1qt bottle of bar oil, and a little bottle of the pre-mix.
I left the saw in the case sitting upright. It dripped a small amount of bar oil into the case. It was coming from where the bar connects to the saw body. It didn't leak a lot and I think its stopped but nothing new should leak.
Vibration resistant hand made a huge difference after hours of cutting.
Overall, I'm totally satisfied with the saw. I cut down and cut up several trees with no problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent saw, with one caveat

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Ryobi 20-inch chainsaw is a real workhorse. It's easy to operate, and the anti-vibration feature is noticeably effective. It creates a LOT of sawdust in a short time.
I've rated Features, Quality, Ease of use, and Value as excellent. I've given it only four stars as overall rating for one minor reason. I discovered that it's necessary to check chain tension about every 30 - 60 minutes. Other models of saws I've used would operate just fine with the chain a little bit slack. With this saw, the chain may come off the bar. I'll have to admit, when that happened I was working the saw pretty hard in a large maple log.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting a 20-inch saw that won't dissapoint you. Just remember to check and adjust chain tension often. It's a quick, simple task.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from ChicagoLand area

Great for cutting up Storm Damaged trees

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had to pick this up to cut up some trees that had been blown onto a radio tower equipment shed. Cut threw the maple tree like butter, very easy to handle, the chain break is a nice safety feature. I recommend picking up the gas/oil premix blend to get you going right out of the box. the long bar is very nice for going threw thicker trunks, and I MUST say that the end of the bar has a chain guard on it, I LOVE IT, its great for keeping your chain sharp when cutting up logs on hard surfaces like concrete.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+54points
54out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked right out of the box. Took down and chopped up a 24" diameter oak tree. This saw cuts great when chain is new, but the oak dulls chain quickly. Get a 3/16 sharpening file when you get the saw. A chain upgrade might hold the edge better. Follow the starting instructions to the letter and it will start up on a few pulls. Warm starting is hard if you don't follow the instructions. I increased the idle just a tiny bit, but that might just be my saw. Light weight and very little vibration. Gas and bar oil tanks could be bigger for longer work time. All in all a great value that does what it is suppose to do.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Covington, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This chainsaw is perfect for the price.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this chainsaw to cut firewood for my lake house property when I am there. I opened the case, added some gas/oil mix, also added chain lube and this chainsaw started on the first pull. It cut the 16" diameter tree like a hot knife on butter. I have always been a huge fan of Ryobi products and this is another great product that they have produced.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: the nose guard gets in the way
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Ocala, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Ryobi 20 in. chainsaw works great!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
RYOBI 20 IN" 46 CC GAS CHAINSAW
Last year I got a good deal on a one acre wooded lot very close to were I live. A local realtor told me that if I cleared the lot it would make it more valuable and more sellable, that meant cutting down 90% of the trees which are as small as 2 inches in diameter and as large as 16 inches in diameter. My old gas chainsaw could not handle that much work, so I went on the Home Depot website and found the Ryobi 20 inch gas chainsaw for sale at a good price. After checking a lot of reviews on the saw I was convinced that it would work for me. So far I have cleared away about 50% of the lot with the Ryobi gas chainsaw with out any problems. I like the fact that this chainsaw has a lot of power and the saw automatically lubricates the chain as long as you keep the oil chamber full. Another good feature about this saw is that it is very easy to adjust the chain tension. So if any one out there is looking for a good gas chainsaw, the Ryobi 20 inch sold by Home Depot will do the job. John
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Gender:Male

Not For Big wood - decent for limbing

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Decent for Limbing trees, Starts easy.
--Not for serious Wood cutting!--
But if you are Wood cutting I would suggest a 60cc saw that wont bog down on you. Of course Stihl, Husqvarna, or Echo I returned the ryobi and am going to give the Echo cs-590 Timber Wolf a try. It has more power, way better reviews, 5 year warranty and better components to give you more torque etc. I guess its like the old saying - you get what you pay for. Homedepot.com does have the cs-590 for $399 but if you have a homedepot card ask them about a 10% off discount. Getting mine for $359 and it should be a way better saw. Look around online and see for your self.
Pros: easy to start, good for limbing
Cons: bogs down, not for wood cutting, lacks power and torque
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Shandon, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's good to have a chainsaw when you need one!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned this saw going on 2 years now, at times I've used it daily for a week straight, sometimes I go for months without needing it. 99% of the time it starts in 3 pulls or less -- technically it starts while choked on the second pull, but quickly dies, needing one last pull with the choke off.
The chain is still sharp, still cuts like when it was new. I'm pleased with the lasting value of this item.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Hiddenite NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great saw

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great saw for the money. I am not real fond of the factory chain, But after a chain replacement it does a great job. I have cut toe to toe with other high dollar saws. It will cut with the best of them! Has great power. I would recomend this saw. It has cut mountains of fire wood for me, and it is still cutting.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was a little harder to start the first time than expected, but once it fired it up it was pretty easy to restart thereafter. The saw has good power and went through trees of 4-6 inches without much trouble. We chose it also for its light weight, relative to other saws with similar size engines and blade. We've only used it one day at this point, but very satisfied.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great chainsaw!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chainsaw really does the job. The first this I did was take down about an 18" tree. It had no problem handling the job. I could not believe how fast I was able to cut it up into firewood.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Apple Valley, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Saw if You Get a Good One

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got on sale for $109.00. Now I know why. We bought two of them. First one started up and ran good. Cut some wood. Ran good. Second one ran good but chain went loose real fast. Adjusted it and then it would get tight all by itself. After more than several attempts to get it adjusted, returned for another one. Replacement had no power and would bog down as soon as I started a cut. Then the clutch smoked. Have not returned it yet but will probably not get another one.
As to the first saw. Runs good. Cuts good. I have cut 30" rounds with it. If they were all like that I would give at least 4 stars across the board. I noticed that I don't see them in the store anymore. So, if you happen to get a good one you will be happy. If not, get something else.
Pros: price
Cons: inconsistent quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as it should

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hello, yesterday after lots of reading of reviews in affordable Chainsaws, i narrowed it down to price, power and cutting streangth. Ater speaking with chainsaw owners and how the Sthil and Husq are the ultimate saws, Well lets just say, too costly. Well I bought this saw and fired it up out of the box, I oiled the bar checked the tension, filled the oil tank and gased her up. The Ryobi cut several trunks of Mesquite, Pecan and Oak. She did pretty good, i used the saw on Juniper and the saw cut with ease. I used up about a tank and a half and cut almost a cord of the hard wood without hisitation. I had no issue in binding and the vibration was almost none. If your thinking about buying, this 20" 46cc you should consider it, i think you would be satisfied. Ray in Sahuarita Az.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Neptune, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked right out of the box

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading other reviews on various chainsaws I opted for this model. I used the pre-mixed fuel and used the cold startup procedure. It started exactly as outlined for a cold start. I had some big limbs to to cut up, probably 10 - 12 inches in diameter and it went through them effortlessly. In all I had run it for about 1 hour with no problems. Nice case included in the price.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This a quick follow up on my first review. I mentioned it took a minute of pulling out of the box first start. Since then perfect. Two pulls cold start, 1st pull warm start. Chain still sharp after two good size trees, tightens well. Nice power. My experience..can't go wrong for the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Choctaw, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to start after adjusting the idle. Worth the effort.

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My old Poulan Wild Thing served me well for 9 1/2 years, but it finally bit the dust. I wanted something more powerful, so I bought the Ryobi last week. I found it hard to start and hard to keep running until I was able to get the idle adjusted right. Now it starts within a couple of pulls and it cuts incredibly well. The chain doesn't need constant adjustment like my Poulan, it has much better power, and the oiler doesn't leak oil constantly into the case like my Poulan. I would have hoped that the factory would have adjusted the idle better, but it was worth the effort to do it myself in order to get the results I get from this saw.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Arlington, VT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy handling and starting. Good job cutting through hardwoods.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased as a backup chainsaw. Lightweight and durable. You have to keep chain sharp and it just cuts away. I've gone through approximately 3 cords of wood so far and have experienced no problems.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wichita, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks Bar/Chain Oil

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The saw works great and is easy to start, however, each time I store the saw back in the case, it has leaked ALL of the Bar/Chain oil out. Big mess!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: leaks oil
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews, and was concerned with all the complaints about hard starting. They were not kidding. Bought it new, and took about 15 minutes and finally a shot of starting fluid to get started. I noticed that the starter would not always catch when pulling the rope. Once running has great power, but it is a note worthy feat to get started. I was thinking that the hard starting was because it was dry and need to get primed. So after I cut up some trees and limbs which took about 15 mins, and then cut it off, I figured the second start would be no big deal. Boy was I wrong. It took another 15 mins to get running again even in 60 degree weather. I am returning it and going back to Sthil.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Queensbury, NY

Excellent for the price

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to run out to the store during Irene to pickup a chainsaw for the cleanup of several downed trees in my yard.
I have used several higher end brands in the past and would not say this is equal to a professional saw, but for the price it is a very good machine. Started right out of the package with no problems. Have cut up over 10 large trees (one up to 30" diameter) without even a hiccup. It is now on rotation within my neighborhood with everyone else using it.
Very pleased with the price and performance. Hope the longevity is good, but with a three year warranty I am not going to worry for awhile.
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>