728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

The Ryobi 20 in. Gas 46 cc Chainsaw is designed for aggressive cutting and ultimate control, and features a large 20 in. bar and chain with an automatic oiler for smooth, uninterrupted operation. The 46 cc 2-Cycle engine provides reliable performance time after time, and the anti-vibe handle reduces fatigue to help you get the job done fast. The side-a ccess chain tensioning and replacement make adjustments quick and easy.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product81 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(57)
4
(23)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(25)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product81 of 110reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from ChicagoLand area

Great for cutting up Storm Damaged trees

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had to pick this up to cut up some trees that had been blown onto a radio tower equipment shed. Cut threw the maple tree like butter, very easy to handle, the chain break is a nice safety feature. I recommend picking up the gas/oil premix blend to get you going right out of the box. the long bar is very nice for going threw thicker trunks, and I MUST say that the end of the bar has a chain guard on it, I LOVE IT, its great for keeping your chain sharp when cutting up logs on hard surfaces like concrete.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+57points
57out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent saw, with one caveat

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Ryobi 20-inch chainsaw is a real workhorse. It's easy to operate, and the anti-vibration feature is noticeably effective. It creates a LOT of sawdust in a short time.
I've rated Features, Quality, Ease of use, and Value as excellent. I've given it only four stars as overall rating for one minor reason. I discovered that it's necessary to check chain tension about every 30 - 60 minutes. Other models of saws I've used would operate just fine with the chain a little bit slack. With this saw, the chain may come off the bar. I'll have to admit, when that happened I was working the saw pretty hard in a large maple log.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting a 20-inch saw that won't dissapoint you. Just remember to check and adjust chain tension often. It's a quick, simple task.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome saw for the price, love it!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great, never had a problem starting, whether the saw was hot or cold. Just followed the instructions and it starts right up.
Comes with the standard multi tool for chain adjustments and maintenance. Also has a nice case that has slots to store files and othe tools. With the saw in the case, there is still room for a 1qt bottle of bar oil, and a little bottle of the pre-mix.
I left the saw in the case sitting upright. It dripped a small amount of bar oil into the case. It was coming from where the bar connects to the saw body. It didn't leak a lot and I think its stopped but nothing new should leak.
Vibration resistant hand made a huge difference after hours of cutting.
Overall, I'm totally satisfied with the saw. I cut down and cut up several trees with no problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked right out of the box. Took down and chopped up a 24" diameter oak tree. This saw cuts great when chain is new, but the oak dulls chain quickly. Get a 3/16 sharpening file when you get the saw. A chain upgrade might hold the edge better. Follow the starting instructions to the letter and it will start up on a few pulls. Warm starting is hard if you don't follow the instructions. I increased the idle just a tiny bit, but that might just be my saw. Light weight and very little vibration. Gas and bar oil tanks could be bigger for longer work time. All in all a great value that does what it is suppose to do.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Covington, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This chainsaw is perfect for the price.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this chainsaw to cut firewood for my lake house property when I am there. I opened the case, added some gas/oil mix, also added chain lube and this chainsaw started on the first pull. It cut the 16" diameter tree like a hot knife on butter. I have always been a huge fan of Ryobi products and this is another great product that they have produced.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: the nose guard gets in the way
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Ocala, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Ryobi 20 in. chainsaw works great!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
RYOBI 20 IN" 46 CC GAS CHAINSAW
Last year I got a good deal on a one acre wooded lot very close to were I live. A local realtor told me that if I cleared the lot it would make it more valuable and more sellable, that meant cutting down 90% of the trees which are as small as 2 inches in diameter and as large as 16 inches in diameter. My old gas chainsaw could not handle that much work, so I went on the Home Depot website and found the Ryobi 20 inch gas chainsaw for sale at a good price. After checking a lot of reviews on the saw I was convinced that it would work for me. So far I have cleared away about 50% of the lot with the Ryobi gas chainsaw with out any problems. I like the fact that this chainsaw has a lot of power and the saw automatically lubricates the chain as long as you keep the oil chamber full. Another good feature about this saw is that it is very easy to adjust the chain tension. So if any one out there is looking for a good gas chainsaw, the Ryobi 20 inch sold by Home Depot will do the job. John
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from pa

worth every penny

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Though only used about 6 times it has worked great so far...Would have preferred metal housing for durability but plastic does make it light. Someone told me it's hard to start in winter so i am solving that by keeping it indoors.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't buy this saw

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this saw last summer. Every time I have used it I have spent more time doing PM and Trouble shooting then cutting. I took it out this past weekend for the first use this year. Changed the spark plug and Air filter put a new chain on and Fresh oil and gas. Took for ever to get it started. The chain would keep going when the saw was just idling. Then after making a few cuts it would just stop running. It would take me 20 min to get it going. After taking out the new air filter and cleaning it and going over all the over all the trouble shooting I called Roybi who told me to take it back to Home Depot for service. I will be buy a Sthil.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, garbabe
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

good to start with

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good chainsaw to start with but it doesn't go through hard woods very well and the automatic chain oiler runs out of oil quick,but you do have aalot of control and it is a smooth running chainsaw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

Great inexpensive chainsaw!!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased today, started with ease, stayed running, did not overheat. I ran the saw for about 25 minutes. I made several cuts through 16 inch logs with ease. Just let the saw do the work, don't force it to cut it won't listen. I could cut with this saw all day, as its fairly light and doesn't vibrate your arm off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Freeport, Bahamas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

disaster

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We recently purchased this item. My husband followed the oil/gas mix instructions implicitly, using the oil provided. The saw worked well for the 1st. day. When he went to use it the second day it wouldn't start. We had to take it to a repair shop and have been told that it is burned up because there wasn't sufficient oil in the mix. We are VERY UNHAPPY. Obviously the instructions from Ryobi are wrong. This is not the first chainsaw we have owned, so my husband is not a novice. Because we live outside the US (& had the item shipped to us, paying shipping & customs duty, processing charges etc.) we probably have no recourse but that doesn't help.
Cons: wrong instructions, angry customer
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 20in. 45cc Gas Chainsaw

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I made short work of a large Ginco Tree and like my Ryobi 20in. Chainsaw a lot as I do the other Ryobi battary hand tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Neptune, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked right out of the box

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading other reviews on various chainsaws I opted for this model. I used the pre-mixed fuel and used the cold startup procedure. It started exactly as outlined for a cold start. I had some big limbs to to cut up, probably 10 - 12 inches in diameter and it went through them effortlessly. In all I had run it for about 1 hour with no problems. Nice case included in the price.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as it should

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hello, yesterday after lots of reading of reviews in affordable Chainsaws, i narrowed it down to price, power and cutting streangth. Ater speaking with chainsaw owners and how the Sthil and Husq are the ultimate saws, Well lets just say, too costly. Well I bought this saw and fired it up out of the box, I oiled the bar checked the tension, filled the oil tank and gased her up. The Ryobi cut several trunks of Mesquite, Pecan and Oak. She did pretty good, i used the saw on Juniper and the saw cut with ease. I used up about a tank and a half and cut almost a cord of the hard wood without hisitation. I had no issue in binding and the vibration was almost none. If your thinking about buying, this 20" 46cc you should consider it, i think you would be satisfied. Ray in Sahuarita Az.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This a quick follow up on my first review. I mentioned it took a minute of pulling out of the box first start. Since then perfect. Two pulls cold start, 1st pull warm start. Chain still sharp after two good size trees, tightens well. Nice power. My experience..can't go wrong for the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Hiddenite NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great saw

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great saw for the money. I am not real fond of the factory chain, But after a chain replacement it does a great job. I have cut toe to toe with other high dollar saws. It will cut with the best of them! Has great power. I would recomend this saw. It has cut mountains of fire wood for me, and it is still cutting.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Choctaw, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to start after adjusting the idle. Worth the effort.

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My old Poulan Wild Thing served me well for 9 1/2 years, but it finally bit the dust. I wanted something more powerful, so I bought the Ryobi last week. I found it hard to start and hard to keep running until I was able to get the idle adjusted right. Now it starts within a couple of pulls and it cuts incredibly well. The chain doesn't need constant adjustment like my Poulan, it has much better power, and the oiler doesn't leak oil constantly into the case like my Poulan. I would have hoped that the factory would have adjusted the idle better, but it was worth the effort to do it myself in order to get the results I get from this saw.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chainsaw

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this chainsaw to take down and cut up lots of trees in yard. Works wonderful and has cut threw Maple, dogwood and birch trees. Read instructions and have not had any problems. Order on line and got here on the day they said it would be here.
Pros: Great Engine, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Queensbury, NY

Excellent for the price

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to run out to the store during Irene to pickup a chainsaw for the cleanup of several downed trees in my yard.
I have used several higher end brands in the past and would not say this is equal to a professional saw, but for the price it is a very good machine. Started right out of the package with no problems. Have cut up over 10 large trees (one up to 30" diameter) without even a hiccup. It is now on rotation within my neighborhood with everyone else using it.
Very pleased with the price and performance. Hope the longevity is good, but with a three year warranty I am not going to worry for awhile.
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews, and was concerned with all the complaints about hard starting. They were not kidding. Bought it new, and took about 15 minutes and finally a shot of starting fluid to get started. I noticed that the starter would not always catch when pulling the rope. Once running has great power, but it is a note worthy feat to get started. I was thinking that the hard starting was because it was dry and need to get primed. So after I cut up some trees and limbs which took about 15 mins, and then cut it off, I figured the second start would be no big deal. Boy was I wrong. It took another 15 mins to get running again even in 60 degree weather. I am returning it and going back to Sthil.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>