728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

The Ryobi 20 in. Gas 46 cc Chainsaw is designed for aggressive cutting and ultimate control, and features a large 20 in. bar and chain with an automatic oiler for smooth, uninterrupted operation. The 46 cc 2 Cycle engine provides reliable performance time after time, and the anti-vibe handle reduces fatigue to help you get the job done fast. The side-a ccess chain tensioning and replacement make adjustments quick and easy.
Overall rating:
3.664 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product77 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(21)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(25)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product77 of 106reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Central Florida

This is my first and las experience with a Ryobi product!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took the saw out of the case and followed the starting checklist. Noticed the priming bulb wasnt getting fuel through it. Tried the Ryobi help line and after an hour on hold I gave up. Can't reccomend a prouduct that doesn't start new out of the box and customer support is non existant.
-19points
9out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from South Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked once......never again.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this chainsaw after reading the reviews about it. I have a 14 inch echo cs-310 but needed something a little larger to cut some mesquite at my ranch in south Texas. I used it once, and it worked alright. The second time it worked for 5 minutes then totally died. I couldnt start it, I cleaned it up, checked the fuel line, and put a new spark plug. I called the ryobi hot line and they told me to take it too northern cause it was under warranty, they said just take it, I went and northern and they said I needed the reciept which I found. Then took it back to them. They then said there would be a deposit of 35 dollars which may not be refunded. I just decided to return the chainsaw, and exchange it for a larger echo. Home depot is a very honest company, and I appreciate there understanding. Spend more money, get the echo you wont regret it.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

Wouldn't start

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spent nearly two hours trying to get the chainsaw to start, including half an hour on the phone with Ryobi technical support. Ryobi finally told me to take it back to Home Depot as it was probably defective. Annoying, as I am 1 hour from the nearest store and had taken the day off work with 2 friends to cut down trees. I'm sure this is a good saw if it works... but it seems to be a gamble whether you get a good one or bad one after reading other reviews. Good luck!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for!

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this saw for yard work around the house. Out of all honesty, I had no problems getting the saw to fire right up. It idled great as well. I added new gas/oil as well as bar oil. I trimmed down some tree limbs and some fence rails. During that 4 hour period, I tightened the chain 3 times. The next day, I went to finish the job and cut some of those branches down to a manageable size only to end up spending another 45 minutes trying to get the chain tension straight. The minute you fire up the saw, it is either too tight and does not rotate or too loose with a ton of slack. I loaded it back up and returned it! It has decent power and mine started and ran fine but the chain tension just wouldn't hold and yes, I followed the directions and even asked my wife to read over them as I went thru it to make sure I didn't miss anything. Won't buy another one!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

Not Dependable

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First saw started immediately and ran great right out of box, but on the third time I started it it, the pull cord/starter disengaged from motor. Exchanged it at HD and the second saw also worked great for a couple of hours, but then stopped running suddenly and refused to restart. Returned it for a third saw which would not start at all right out of box. Returned it for a refund.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sand Springs, OK USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This chainsaw did not do the job,

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this chainsaw and used it for only 30 minutes before the clutch burned up. Took it directly back to HD and exchanged for another of the same kind thinking the 1st one was just a bad one out of the bunch. I used the second one for almost an hour before the clutch burned out again. I guess you get what you pay for.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from fort worth texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

high promise, low results

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Replaced old saw with this one based on good reviews. Got home, added new gasoline/oil mixture and bar oil. Took several pulls to start but it kept stopping---would not idle. Called 800 number provided and was told to take it to a service center for carb adjustment. I drove 10 miles to service center--- carb adjusted and ran fine in the shop. Got home and it ran well for 20 minutes while I cut most of a tree down ( 14 inch trunk max). It stopped running in mid cut. Will not start again. Called 800 #, was told to take back to the service shop for "repairs", No, I am returning to the store for my money back---sadly my old Poulan I got from a pawn shop ran better for past 7 years.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used it once and worked fine, went to use it second time wouldn't start, got it repaired and went to use it again and starter assembly broke. Your better off to buy a good name saw
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews, and was concerned with all the complaints about hard starting. They were not kidding. Bought it new, and took about 15 minutes and finally a shot of starting fluid to get started. I noticed that the starter would not always catch when pulling the rope. Once running has great power, but it is a note worthy feat to get started. I was thinking that the hard starting was because it was dry and need to get primed. So after I cut up some trees and limbs which took about 15 mins, and then cut it off, I figured the second start would be no big deal. Boy was I wrong. It took another 15 mins to get running again even in 60 degree weather. I am returning it and going back to Sthil.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Humboldt, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy it

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the 4620. Couldn't get it to start. Took it back, got another. Finally got it started. Worked great until I shut it down for refueling, couldn't get it started.. etc, etc. about 5 times. Worked ok when started.
Noticed primer bulb would run dry and not refil. Choke lever came off in hand... Took it back and got my money back..
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from La Grange, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 20" 50cm C4620

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Ryobi 20" 50cc C4620. Wore out the plastic pull starting trying to start each time I used it which was only about 6 times. Extremely hard to start. Took this one back, exchanged it for another. Same problem. Will not start. I follow the instructions. Just finished pull start about 100 times. Will not start. Don't buy! It is a pile of junk.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Hyde Park, NY 12538, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Save your Money!!! Buy something else!!!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Underpowered! and unreliable. It was a dog out of the box, I should have returned it. Used is about 6 times. It came with a 3 year warranty It stopped running so I had it shipped to Ryobi for repair. They did not stand behind the product. Ryobi stated bad fuel mixture "Great Loop hole" funny how all of my other two cycle tools are running just fine on the same 25/1 fuel mixture, matter of fact i was using their own two cycle mix. Bottom line TERRIBLE Company! I will never buy another Ryobi product! SAVE YOUR MONEY buy a different brand!
Cons: Not Durable, ryobi will not stand behind the warranty!, powerless!
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Central Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO Parts available

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is not listed in the Ryobi parts catalog. Looking up the previous Homelite Pro similar models (UT10520, 10522, 10519), it can be seen that the air filters are not in stock, indeed, in the several years I've owned one, they've never been in stock, and are not stocked in the local HD or online here either.
Mine ran poorly when new (100 pulls to start the first time), ran for 3 minutes, and never ran again. I've since pulled the carb apart and all the gaskets are good and diaphram still supple; comp and spark good, seems to be a massive air leak, maybe at the crank seals. After the last 200 pulls to try to start, the plastic starter cog broke against the metal pawls. Parts cost more than buying another one.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, no air filters available
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wasted money

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after reading reviews saying that it was a decent saw. Out of the box, I used it once, and it stopped working after 15 minutes. When I called to find a warranty repair shop in my area, I found that the first 4 listed stopped fixing the saws. I should have picked up that clue. I took it to the only place listed other than HD. They say it's not a warranty item because the oil ran out of the oil reservoir while using it, and it scored something inside that isn't covered by warranty. I wasted too much money on this saw.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worthless

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I read these reviews before I bought it. I ignored the negatives but these people was right. Ran good for about a hour. Then it wouldnt run. Wished a thousand times I had got a different brand
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

dont buy this

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don’t waste your money on this saw. It’s under powered and cuts off at angels. If the chain pops off it chews it up were it won’t go in the bar. Don’t waste your money
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

Cheap quality

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not recommend this saw. It is cheap but it doesnt work well.
It took me a day to start it for the first time. The primer bulb would not pump gas, then when it finally did, the engine would not start either. After sitting for a while, it started. It was never easy to get it started after that, took a lot of rope pulling. Spark plug was fine, don't know what it is.
After 2 days of use, it died while cutting and never recovered
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

cheap Quality, you get what you pay for

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a brain lapse when I decided to go low buget with this saw. it litterally worked for less than an hour before breaking. Chainsaws go through a tough workout so go for quality over price. this saw is made by homelite
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to help with some clearing of small trees on my property. Not knowing anything about chainsaws, I knew the name Ryobi and bought it.
On Day 1 It fired up after around 15 pulls or so and after cutting down my first tree the blade jumped the bar. After 2 trees I had to go get a new blade because the inside of the blade was mushroomed and it wouldn't ride the bar.
I got my family members to make check my work and make sure that the blade was tight enough but not over tight. But the chain kept jumping the bar after every cut. The adjuster screw on the case finally broke, and now 6 weeks my part is still on back order with no idea when it will be coming in. After 6 weeks and 4 chains, and the broken adjuster on the case I finally got too frustrated and went out and spent an extra $10 and bought a Husqvarna. Liked it so well I went and bought 2 of them (other is for my wife, lol) I have cut down 3 times the tree with my new Husqvarna and not one blade or chain issue. Starts on the 3rd pull every time and just more solidly built.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cheap construction

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used this saw maybe ten times. 1 hr max each time. spark plug tip was covered in silver, found out the piston cylinder was shredded. 10 times , really?
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>