728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

The Ryobi 20 in. Gas 46 cc Chainsaw is designed for aggressive cutting and ultimate control, and features a large 20 in. bar and chain with an automatic oiler for smooth, uninterrupted operation. The 46 cc 2-Cycle engine provides reliable performance time after time, and the anti-vibe handle reduces fatigue to help you get the job done fast. The side-a ccess chain tensioning and replacement make adjustments quick and easy.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product84 of 116reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(26)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product84 of 116reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from South Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked once......never again.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this chainsaw after reading the reviews about it. I have a 14 inch echo cs-310 but needed something a little larger to cut some mesquite at my ranch in south Texas. I used it once, and it worked alright. The second time it worked for 5 minutes then totally died. I couldnt start it, I cleaned it up, checked the fuel line, and put a new spark plug. I called the ryobi hot line and they told me to take it too northern cause it was under warranty, they said just take it, I went and northern and they said I needed the reciept which I found. Then took it back to them. They then said there would be a deposit of 35 dollars which may not be refunded. I just decided to return the chainsaw, and exchange it for a larger echo. Home depot is a very honest company, and I appreciate there understanding. Spend more money, get the echo you wont regret it.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used it once and worked fine, went to use it second time wouldn't start, got it repaired and went to use it again and starter assembly broke. Your better off to buy a good name saw
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Hyde Park, NY 12538, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Save your Money!!! Buy something else!!!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Underpowered! and unreliable. It was a dog out of the box, I should have returned it. Used is about 6 times. It came with a 3 year warranty It stopped running so I had it shipped to Ryobi for repair. They did not stand behind the product. Ryobi stated bad fuel mixture "Great Loop hole" funny how all of my other two cycle tools are running just fine on the same 25/1 fuel mixture, matter of fact i was using their own two cycle mix. Bottom line TERRIBLE Company! I will never buy another Ryobi product! SAVE YOUR MONEY buy a different brand!
Cons: Not Durable, ryobi will not stand behind the warranty!, powerless!
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Phila PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great a few times now it won't start.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it after a winter ice storm. Worked great for the cleanup. Pulled it out a few months later to drop a small tree. After about 1/3 through the tree is shut off. Now it won't start. Cleaned the carb and everything looked good. Looks like you get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't buy this saw

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this saw last summer. Every time I have used it I have spent more time doing PM and Trouble shooting then cutting. I took it out this past weekend for the first use this year. Changed the spark plug and Air filter put a new chain on and Fresh oil and gas. Took for ever to get it started. The chain would keep going when the saw was just idling. Then after making a few cuts it would just stop running. It would take me 20 min to get it going. After taking out the new air filter and cleaning it and going over all the over all the trouble shooting I called Roybi who told me to take it back to Home Depot for service. I will be buy a Sthil.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, garbabe
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

Wouldn't start

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spent nearly two hours trying to get the chainsaw to start, including half an hour on the phone with Ryobi technical support. Ryobi finally told me to take it back to Home Depot as it was probably defective. Annoying, as I am 1 hour from the nearest store and had taken the day off work with 2 friends to cut down trees. I'm sure this is a good saw if it works... but it seems to be a gamble whether you get a good one or bad one after reading other reviews. Good luck!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Central Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO Parts available

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is not listed in the Ryobi parts catalog. Looking up the previous Homelite Pro similar models (UT10520, 10522, 10519), it can be seen that the air filters are not in stock, indeed, in the several years I've owned one, they've never been in stock, and are not stocked in the local HD or online here either.
Mine ran poorly when new (100 pulls to start the first time), ran for 3 minutes, and never ran again. I've since pulled the carb apart and all the gaskets are good and diaphram still supple; comp and spark good, seems to be a massive air leak, maybe at the crank seals. After the last 200 pulls to try to start, the plastic starter cog broke against the metal pawls. Parts cost more than buying another one.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, no air filters available
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

dont buy this

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don’t waste your money on this saw. It’s under powered and cuts off at angels. If the chain pops off it chews it up were it won’t go in the bar. Don’t waste your money
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

Cheap quality

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not recommend this saw. It is cheap but it doesnt work well.
It took me a day to start it for the first time. The primer bulb would not pump gas, then when it finally did, the engine would not start either. After sitting for a while, it started. It was never easy to get it started after that, took a lot of rope pulling. Spark plug was fine, don't know what it is.
After 2 days of use, it died while cutting and never recovered
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Central Florida

This is my first and las experience with a Ryobi product!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took the saw out of the case and followed the starting checklist. Noticed the priming bulb wasnt getting fuel through it. Tried the Ryobi help line and after an hour on hold I gave up. Can't reccomend a prouduct that doesn't start new out of the box and customer support is non existant.
-18points
10out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews, and was concerned with all the complaints about hard starting. They were not kidding. Bought it new, and took about 15 minutes and finally a shot of starting fluid to get started. I noticed that the starter would not always catch when pulling the rope. Once running has great power, but it is a note worthy feat to get started. I was thinking that the hard starting was because it was dry and need to get primed. So after I cut up some trees and limbs which took about 15 mins, and then cut it off, I figured the second start would be no big deal. Boy was I wrong. It took another 15 mins to get running again even in 60 degree weather. I am returning it and going back to Sthil.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wasted money

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after reading reviews saying that it was a decent saw. Out of the box, I used it once, and it stopped working after 15 minutes. When I called to find a warranty repair shop in my area, I found that the first 4 listed stopped fixing the saws. I should have picked up that clue. I took it to the only place listed other than HD. They say it's not a warranty item because the oil ran out of the oil reservoir while using it, and it scored something inside that isn't covered by warranty. I wasted too much money on this saw.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Humboldt, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy it

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the 4620. Couldn't get it to start. Took it back, got another. Finally got it started. Worked great until I shut it down for refueling, couldn't get it started.. etc, etc. about 5 times. Worked ok when started.
Noticed primer bulb would run dry and not refil. Choke lever came off in hand... Took it back and got my money back..
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from wisconsin dells
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

mrnorm

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
do not like....VERY hard to start..hard to keep running till it warms up...very noisie...took it back and got a dif one...same thing.....i have been operating chain saws for 50 years...taking this one back also..
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this chainsaw in December 2011 and started using it in March 2012. It started leaking oil right away, but I continued to oil it when it was low. I only used it for light use, small branches. I never used it for large trees or stumps. When I tried to start it last week, March 2015 it would not start. I put it in a shop for repair and they told me that it has no compression and it not worth fixing. This saw was used less than 10 times over a two year period! Of course the warranty is over. Do not waste your money on this saw!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

cheap Quality, you get what you pay for

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a brain lapse when I decided to go low buget with this saw. it litterally worked for less than an hour before breaking. Chainsaws go through a tough workout so go for quality over price. this saw is made by homelite
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worthless

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I read these reviews before I bought it. I ignored the negatives but these people was right. Ran good for about a hour. Then it wouldnt run. Wished a thousand times I had got a different brand
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to help with some clearing of small trees on my property. Not knowing anything about chainsaws, I knew the name Ryobi and bought it.
On Day 1 It fired up after around 15 pulls or so and after cutting down my first tree the blade jumped the bar. After 2 trees I had to go get a new blade because the inside of the blade was mushroomed and it wouldn't ride the bar.
I got my family members to make check my work and make sure that the blade was tight enough but not over tight. But the chain kept jumping the bar after every cut. The adjuster screw on the case finally broke, and now 6 weeks my part is still on back order with no idea when it will be coming in. After 6 weeks and 4 chains, and the broken adjuster on the case I finally got too frustrated and went out and spent an extra $10 and bought a Husqvarna. Liked it so well I went and bought 2 of them (other is for my wife, lol) I have cut down 3 times the tree with my new Husqvarna and not one blade or chain issue. Starts on the 3rd pull every time and just more solidly built.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw

Don't buy!

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one. Used it for 30 minutes. Shut it off. Wouldn't start back up. Took it back. Exchanged it for the same one. Worked well for two or three days worth of use. Tried starting it the other day and wouldn't start at all. There's no reason a month old chainsaw should not be starting. They're flat out junk. Had a Ryobi weed trimmer that did the same thing that I had to return. Do yourself a favor and buy a decent brand. It really makes a difference.
Cons: junk
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 46 cc Gas Chainsaw
from fort worth texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

high promise, low results

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Replaced old saw with this one based on good reviews. Got home, added new gasoline/oil mixture and bar oil. Took several pulls to start but it kept stopping---would not idle. Called 800 number provided and was told to take it to a service center for carb adjustment. I drove 10 miles to service center--- carb adjusted and ran fine in the shop. Got home and it ran well for 20 minutes while I cut most of a tree down ( 14 inch trunk max). It stopped running in mid cut. Will not start again. Called 800 #, was told to take back to the service shop for "repairs", No, I am returning to the store for my money back---sadly my old Poulan I got from a pawn shop ran better for past 7 years.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>